Cases / Law, regulation and treaties · Multi-country (Sahel) · 2020
Great Green Wall core area reported at about 4% of its 100 million hectare target
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The UNCCD reported about 4 million hectares in the Sahel core area in 2020, roughly 4% of the 100 million hectare target. The stake is whether land restoration in the Sahel reaches that target.
What?
The Great Green Wall core area in the Sahel was reported at about 4 million hectares, or about 4% of the 100 million hectare target. UNCCD
Where?
Sahel, Africa: the core area of the Great Green Wall UNCCD
When?
Figures from the UNCCD report of September 2020. UNCCD
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
The sources reviewed report the area in hectares; they do not describe the restoration methods used. UNCCD
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who
What happened
The record, in order.
The UNCCD's first status report on the Great Green Wall, published in September 2020, put the core area at about 4 million hectares.
The report gives this as about 4% of the initiative's 100 million hectare target.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record Beneficiaries, losers and harmed groups are not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record No later area figure for the core is in the sources reviewed; the 2020 figure is the latest recorded here.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not state how much of the core area is under restoration, or how much of it survives.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers