Rabobank co-financed a Brazilian eucalyptus carbon plantation contested by locals
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Rabobank co-financed the Plantar eucalyptus plantation in Minas Gerais, Brazil, whose carbon credits were sold to a World Bank fund. Local communities say they were dispossessed, and offsets built on contested land raise questions for forests and the people who live on them.
- Rabobank — Co-financed the Plantar carbon project and held shares in the World Bank fund that bought its credits TNI and FIAN
- Local communities in Minas Gerais — Say they were dispossessed of land they did not regard as abandoned TNI and FIAN
What happened
Rabobank co-financed the Plantar carbon project in Minas Gerais from 2003, a 35,000-hectare eucalyptus plantation whose carbon credits were sold to the World Bank's Prototype Carbon Fund, in which Rabobank was a shareholder, according to TNI and FIAN.
Local communities told TNI and FIAN that the land was not abandoned and that they had been dispossessed; Rabobank said the loan was repaid in 2008.
In November 2022 Rabobank was among six companies that founded Biomas, a restoration initiative with a target of 4 million hectares over 20 years.
Rabobank's Rabo Farm Europe Fund, with 315 million euros, bought and leased farmland in Eastern Europe, according to TNI and FIAN.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: ING, Rabobank and ABN AMRO lent 3.1 billion euros to deforestation-risk commodities in 2016 to 2021, according to Milieudefensie and Profundo.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Dutch consumption uses about 2.5 times the country's land area, more than 80% of it abroad (2013 data).
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give the volume of Plantar's carbon credits or the price paid.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- The Netherlands and the Global Land and Water GrabTNI and FIAN · 2013
Connected cases
- Biomas restoration initiative Brazil · 2022
- Marfrig co-founded Biomas, a Brazilian forest-restoration company Brazil · 2022
- 1991 World Bank memo signed by Lawrence Summers on pollution in Africa Africa (regional) · 1991–1993
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Institution that issued the internal memo
- Cambodia fills Phnom Penh's Boeung Kak lake with sand under 99-year lease Cambodia · 2007–2011
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: lender whose land-titling programme was reviewed
- Campaigners claim Suzano eucalyptus dried over 130 streams in Brazil Brazil · 2021–2022
- Biomas (Company) — here: restoration initiative founded by six companies; there: Restoration venture formed by six partners
- Corio, ABP and forest land investments (Netherlands) Netherlands · 2000–2021
- Rabobank (Bank) — here: co-financier and fund shareholder; there: Co-financier of the Plantar project
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Results-based carbon payer
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Signed a carbon-credit agreement with the Green Belt Movement
- Ho Chi Minh City canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households Vietnam · 1993–2012
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: lender of the first-phase loan
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Lender
- Jamaica catastrophe bonds and the Hurricane Melissa payout Jamaica · 2021–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Issuer and arranger of the catastrophe bonds
- Jamaica's World Bank catastrophe bond did not pay after Hurricane Beryl Jamaica · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Brokered the bond
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Funder of a project in the Badia East area
- Mbeubeuss landfill plan to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers Senegal · 2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Inspection Panel finding on Boeung Kak land titling; lending freeze 2011
- Mongolia index livestock insurance Mongolia · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Author of the presentation describing the programme
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Funder of carbon payments (Forest Carbon Partnership Facility)
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Financier; its Inspection Panel reviewed the resettlement
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Funder of an earlier forest project (2007)
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Source of the paddy yield figure
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Lender (USD 800 million, October 2025)
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: issuer of the bond
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: lender; policy operation and REGROW financier
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Funder of the Kenya project; hosts the Inspection Panel
- World Bank inspection panel registers complaint over Rogun dam financing Tajikistan · 2024–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: financier
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Financier of the REGROW project
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Lender of the US$600m loan
- World Bank-backed Colombo flood work turned Beddagana wetland into a park Sri Lanka · 2010–2018
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: operator of the carbon fund; there: Funder whose support backed the programme