Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments
- Heavily subsidized energy and water keep agricultural use of my aquifers high, according to Noori et al. (2021). PNAS 118(25) (Noori et al.)
The IMF estimated Iran's explicit energy subsidies at US$58.7 billion in 2019, almost 10% of GDP, according to the World Bank. Programmes to electrify diesel-powered agricultural wells were estimated at US$1.2 billion in 2019, and in 2024 the state utility Tavanir began paying farmers to cut pumping at peak hours.
Almost 10% of GDP. No figure for the share attributable to groundwater pumping is on record.
Status As of June 2024: Tavanir was paying farmers about 2,500 toman per kWh saved at peak hours; no quantified subsidy for groundwater pumping, court case or insurance is on record.
- Farmers operating agricultural wells — Subsidised electricity and diesel; payments of about 8–10 million toman per typical well under the 2024 scheme Ecoiran
- Iran Fuel Conservation Company and Tavanir — Parties to the October 2019 agreement to electrify 75,000 diesel wells at an estimated US$1.2 billion EghtesadOnline
- Public budget and utilities — Explicit energy subsidies of US$58.7 billion in 2019, almost 10% of GDP World Bank
- Iran's aquifers — Half of irrigation withdrawals come from groundwater, leading to overexploitation and depletion (World Bank, 2023) World Bank
What happened
The World Bank's Iran poverty diagnostic (Poverty Global Practice, Middle East and North Africa, November 2023) stated: "The IMF estimated that explicit energy subsidies amounted to US$58.7 billion in 2019, almost 10 percent of GDP." It reported that irrigation accounts for "as much as 92 percent of water withdrawals" and that "Half of these withdrawals come from groundwater, leading to overexploitation and depletion". It cited Taheripour et al. (2020) for the finding that a 20% cut in water supply could reduce GDP by up to 7.2% against 2016.
EghtesadOnline, citing International Energy Agency data on 5 October 2019, reported that Iran paid about US$45 billion in energy subsidies in 2017, of which US$12.3 billion for electricity and US$16.5 billion for oil products. Noori et al. (PNAS, 2021) stated that "heavily subsidized energy and water" keep agricultural use high.
In October 2019 Tavanir and the Iran Fuel Conservation Company agreed to electrify 75,000 diesel-powered farming wells at an estimated cost of US$1.2 billion, with a claimed saving of 750 million litres of diesel a year; Deputy Energy Minister Homayoun Haeri said the saved diesel could be exported at 30 cents per litre. The article reported smart meters on 100,000 agricultural wells by 2018. In March 2021 EghtesadOnline reported that the Majlis had ordered the Central Bank to provide US$80 million, via commercial banks, to Tavanir for electrifying agricultural wells.
In June 2024 Tavanir's chief executive, Mostafa Rajabi Mashhadi, described a scheme under which farmers who cut power during five summer peak hours receive free electricity for the other 19 hours, and Tavanir buys the saved electricity at about 2,500 toman per kWh, described as four times the supply cost; each typical well could receive about 8–10 million toman. Wells with 80% solar supply were exempt from load management (Ecoiran, 17 June 2024).
- 2014Smart metering phase 1 on agricultural wells begins
- 2017Iran pays about US$45 billion in energy subsidies, per IEA data cited in 2019
- 2018Smart meters reported on 100,000 agricultural wells
- 2019IMF estimate of US$58.7 billion explicit energy subsidies; Tavanir–Iran Fuel Conservation Company agreement to electrify 75,000 diesel wells (Oct)
- 2021Majlis orders the Central Bank to provide US$80 million to Tavanir for electrifying agricultural wells (6 Mar)
- 2024Tavanir scheme paying farmers to cut pumping at peak hours (17 Jun)
What was said
“The IMF estimated that explicit energy subsidies amounted to US$58.7 billion in 2019, almost 10 percent of GDP.”
“Half of these withdrawals come from groundwater, leading to overexploitation and depletion.”
“heavily subsidized energy and water”
How it looked
Shown
- Electrifying 75,000 diesel wells was presented as saving 750 million litres of diesel a year, which could be exported at 30 cents per litre.Deputy Energy Minister Homayoun Haeri (EghtesadOnline, 5 October 2019) · EghtesadOnline
- The peak-hour payment scheme was presented as load management, with saved electricity bought at about four times the supply cost.Tavanir CEO Mostafa Rajabi Mashhadi (Ecoiran, 17 June 2024) · Ecoiran
Recorded
- Explicit energy subsidies of US$58.7 billion in 2019, almost 10% of GDP (IMF estimate via World Bank).
- Irrigation accounts for as much as 92% of water withdrawals, half of them from groundwater.
- About US$45 billion in energy subsidies in 2017: US$12.3 billion for electricity and US$16.5 billion for oil products (IEA data via EghtesadOnline).
- Agreement to electrify 75,000 diesel farming wells at an estimated US$1.2 billion; US$80 million ordered from the Central Bank to Tavanir in 2021.
- Tavanir buys saved electricity at about 2,500 toman per kWh; about 8–10 million toman per typical well.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Tavanir (17 June 2024): Its chief executive presented the peak-hour payment scheme as load management. · Ecoiran
- Ministry of Energy (October 2019): Deputy Energy Minister Homayoun Haeri presented electrification of diesel wells as a diesel saving that could be exported at 30 cents per litre. · EghtesadOnline
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Money
- None on record Subsidy attributable to groundwater pumping — Not measured: no World Bank or IMF estimate of the subsidy attributable to groundwater pumping in Iran.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Record
- Not measured Not measured: the extra groundwater pumped because of subsidised electricity and diesel; sources link subsidised pumping to over-extraction without quantifying it.
- None on record None on record: an official figure for the cost price versus the tariff of agricultural electricity, or for the total pumping subsidy in rials.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the domestic diesel price or subsidy figure in the 2019 Tavanir–Iran Fuel Conservation Company agreement.
- None on record None on record: a World Bank or IMF estimate of the subsidy attributable to groundwater pumping in Iran.
- None on record None on record: court proceedings or insurance relating to the pumping subsidies.
Did the harm stop?
None on record. The most recent measure on record is the June 2024 Tavanir scheme paying farmers to cut power at peak hours.
Who paid?
Public budgets and utilities carry the subsidies; the aquifers carry the over-extraction that the World Bank and Noori et al. link to them. No figure splits the subsidy between groundwater pumping and other uses.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Electrification of Agro-Wells Gains MomentumEghtesadOnline · 2019-10-05
- Smart Water Use Remains a PriorityEghtesadOnline · 2021-03-06
- Farmers' electricity becomes freeEcoiran · 2024-06-17
Researchers
- Anthropogenic depletion of Iran's aquifersPNAS 118(25) (Noori et al.) · 2021-06-14
International bodies
- Iran poverty diagnostic, Poverty Global Practice, Middle East and North AfricaWorld Bank · 2023-11
Connected cases
- Iran's Groundwater Restoration and Balancing Plan: unlicensed wells, sealing, meters and budgets Iran · 2005–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Government; plan and budget bills
- Ministry of Energy of Iran (Government) — here: Deputy minister presented the diesel-saving claim; there: Runs the plan; capital budget source; sealing and metering
- Rafsanjan pistachio plain: aquifer decline, subsidence and export revenue Iran · 1960–2025 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Government; ministries cited on pistachio exports and water markets
- Ministry of Energy of Iran (Government) — here: Deputy minister presented the diesel-saving claim; there: Called Rafsanjan the most critical plain; announced the water market
- Land subsidence on the Tehran plain and across Iran Iran · 1968–2025 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Government; ministries and the Cartographic Center report subsidence data
- Saudi wheat cut and 2018 fodder ban; Almarai's alfalfa farms in Arizona Saudi Arabia · 1980 Related matter
- Venezuela gas flaring and methane from oil and gas Venezuela · 2012–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of the 2017 subsidy figures; there: Global Methane Tracker 2026
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Lender of the US$600m loan
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Source of the US$58.7 billion explicit subsidy estimate; there: Letter of intent on the sugar beet quota (May 2001)
- Zayandeh Rud and the Gavkhouni wetland: water transfers and farmers' protests in Isfahan Iran · 1953–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Promised farmers' aid and compensation
- Ministry of Energy of Iran (Government) — here: Deputy minister presented the diesel-saving claim; there: Water transfers and the Gavkhouni water right; accused by an MP of diverting farmers' water
- 1991 World Bank memo signed by Lawrence Summers on pollution in Africa Africa (regional) · 1991–1993
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Institution that issued the internal memo
- Afforestation of the dried Aral Sea bed in Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2018–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Donor of the restoration-value study
- Burkina Faso Forest Investment Program project: 3.78 million tCO2eq in emission reductions estimated with an ex-ante tool Burkina Faso · 2014–2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Administered the grants; completion report and rating
- Cambodia fills Phnom Penh's Boeung Kak lake with sand under 99-year lease Cambodia · 2007–2011
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: lender whose land-titling programme was reviewed
- Canaima National Park: fire suppression for the Guri catchment, mining pressure and the UNESCO decisions Venezuela · 1981–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Implementing agency of GEF project 2103
- Chad–Cameroon pipeline and Doba oil fields: World Bank conditions, revenue law, Inspection Panel and 2023 nationalisation Chad · 1999–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008
- Cobalt child labour lawsuits against tech firms (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2024
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of the 2017 subsidy figures; there: Source of the export-suspension policy record
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Results-based carbon payer
- Desalination plants hit in the 2026 war: Qeshm Island and Bahrain Iran · 2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Foreign minister's statement on Qeshm
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Co-author of RDNA3 and RDNA4
- Gotvand dam on the Karun: a reservoir on a salt formation Iran · 1996–2021
- Ministry of Energy of Iran (Government) — here: Deputy minister presented the diesel-saving claim; there: Dam owner side; remediation plan to pipe saline water to the Persian Gulf
- Great Green Wall: USD 19bn tracked, USD 2.5bn disbursed by March 2023, and a restored area reported at between 1.66 and almost 18 million hectares Sahel (11 countries) · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Committed USD 5.6bn in the 11 countries
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Signed a carbon-credit agreement with the Green Belt Movement
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Party to the 1973 Helmand treaty
- Ho Chi Minh City canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households Vietnam · 1993–2012
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: lender of the first-phase loan
- Hoor al-Azim wetland, oil-field development and dikes in Khuzestan Iran · 2007–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Government of Iran
- Hyrcanian forests logging moratorium: announced budgets, partial allocation and the 2025 Elit fire Iran · 2015–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Enacted the ban and set the budgets
- IMF whale-value paper and Baffinland narwhal pilot Canada · 2019–2026
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Source of the US$58.7 billion explicit subsidy estimate; there: Publisher of the whale-value article; the authors' employer when it was published
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Lender
- Iran associated-gas flaring and flare-gas recovery contracts Iran · 2012–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Publishes the satellite-based flare estimates and tracker report
- Iran–Iraq war (1980–88): environmental damage recorded by the UN expert team in 1991 and Iran's damage estimate Iran · 1980–1991
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Source of the damage figures; later reparations demands
- Iran's 2026 war-damage estimate of about USD 270bn and its calls for compensation and environmental accountability Iran · 2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands
- Iran's Clean Air Law and urban air pollution in Tehran and Ahvaz Iran · 2017–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Budget allocations for the law
- Jamaica catastrophe bonds and the Hurricane Melissa payout Jamaica · 2021–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Issuer and arranger of the catastrophe bonds
- Jamaica's World Bank catastrophe bond did not pay after Hurricane Beryl Jamaica · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Brokered the bond
- Kiribati PIPA opened to fishing Kiribati · 2015–2025
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Source of the US$58.7 billion explicit subsidy estimate; there: Reported fisheries share of GDP
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Funder of a project in the Badia East area
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Funded the programme
- Landmines and explosive remnants of the Iran–Iraq war in Iran's western provinces Iran · 1980–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Runs the state demining programme
- Mazut burning in Iranian power plants, 2020–2025 Iran · 2020–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Presidency; decisions on mazut use
- Mbeubeuss landfill plan to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers Senegal · 2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Inspection Panel finding on Boeung Kak land titling; lending freeze 2011
- Methane super-emitters in Turkmenistan's oil and gas fields Turkmenistan · 2017–2026
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of the 2017 subsidy figures; there: Global Methane Tracker estimates
- Mongolia index livestock insurance Mongolia · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Author of the presentation describing the programme
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Funder of carbon payments (Forest Carbon Partnership Facility)
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of the 2017 subsidy figures; there: International body (assessment of carbon capture)
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Financier; its Inspection Panel reviewed the resettlement
- Pakistan cancels five independent power contracts amid capacity-payment costs Pakistan · 2024–2025
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Source of the US$58.7 billion explicit subsidy estimate; there: Pressure behind the terminations
- Persian Gulf and Oman Sea desalinated water transfer to Kerman, Yazd and Isfahan Iran · 2016–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements
- Plans to move Iran's capital to the Makran coast, 2024–2025 Iran · 2024–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Proposed the relocation; president, vice president, spokeswoman and foreign minister made statements
- Rabobank co-financed a Brazilian eucalyptus carbon plantation contested by locals Brazil · 2003–2008
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: operator of the carbon fund
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Funder of an earlier forest project (2007)
- South Pars and Assaluyeh: sulphur dioxide emissions and the pollution levy Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Cabinet approved the improvement document and the 2020 decision
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Source of the paddy yield figure
- Strikes on Iranian nuclear sites, 2025 and 2026: IAEA statements on contamination and the Bushehr reactor Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr
- Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts
- Strikes on Tehran fuel depots, March 2026: smoke, black rain and Iran's "ecocide" claim Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Characterised the attack as ecocide; wrote to the UN
- Tree felling under the Tashkent moratorium: damage assessments, prosecutor cases and ministry counts Uzbekistan · 2020–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Tashkent air quality assessment (context)
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: RDNA damage and needs assessments
- Ulaanbaatar winter air pollution: stove programmes, the 2019 raw-coal ban and subsidised briquettes Mongolia · 2008–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Ulaanbaatar Clean Air Project
- UN Compensation Commission "F4" environmental claims by Iran for the 1990–91 Gulf War Iran · 1990–2013
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Claimant
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Lender (USD 800 million, October 2025)
- Venezuela tree cover loss, 2001–2024, and international forest finance Venezuela · 2001–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Agency for GEF project 2103
- Whale oil, kerosene and the 1986 whaling moratorium International · 1859–2022
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Source of the US$58.7 billion explicit subsidy estimate; there: Economists' 2019 valuation of a whale
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: issuer of the bond
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: lender; policy operation and REGROW financier
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Funder of the Kenya project; hosts the Inspection Panel
- World Bank inspection panel registers complaint over Rogun dam financing Tajikistan · 2024–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: financier
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Financier of the REGROW project
- World Bank-backed Colombo flood work turned Beddagana wetland into a park Sri Lanka · 2010–2018
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate; there: Funder whose support backed the programme
- Zagros oak forests: the UNDP/GEF Central Zagros project, its evaluation and the fires of 2024–2026 Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding; there: Allocated 13,193,669 to the project