Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Occidental is building a direct air capture plant in Texas with a planned capacity of 500,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide a year. The plant draws on federal tax credits, a federal hub allocation and outside investment, and its start-up has slipped to the end of 2026.
Planned capacity of Stratos against the largest operating plant, as stated in the sources; Stratos's start-up target is end-2026.
Status As of August 2026: start-up target given as end-2026 after a May 2026 fault; no actual capture figures found.
- Occidental — Sells carbon removal; BlackRock invested $550 million; the Department of Energy allocated up to $500 million to its hub; the amount of 45Q credit it claims is not public. World Oil
What happened
Stratos is Occidental's direct air capture (DAC) plant in Texas. DAC pulls carbon dioxide out of open air with large fans; because the gas is very dilute in air, the method uses much energy, and its cost in 2025 was reported at $600 to $1,000 per tonne. Stratos has a planned capacity of 500,000 tonnes a year, against 36,000 tonnes a year for the largest operating DAC plant. Construction began in May 2023 and the plant was scheduled to operate by the end of 2024. Stratos is presented as the world's largest carbon removal plant.
In August 2023 Occidental agreed to buy the DAC company Carbon Engineering for about $1.1 billion; at that date the Stratos start-up was given as mid-2025. BlackRock invested $550 million in the project, and Occidental and its 1PointFive unit secured Class VI permits for the plant, covering three wells with a combined storage figure of about 722,000 tonnes a year. In July 2024 Microsoft agreed to buy 500,000 tonnes of carbon removal over six years; the contract says the carbon will be stored in saline formations and not used in oil production, and the price was not disclosed.
The United States' 45Q provision of the income-tax code gives a company a tax credit for each tonne of carbon captured and stored. After the 2022 Inflation Reduction Act the credit was $85 per tonne for permanent storage from point sources and $180 for DAC, and $60 and $130 where the carbon is used in enhanced oil recovery (EOR) or otherwise used. A July 2025 budget law removed the distinction, so carbon used in EOR now receives the same credit as permanent storage. Enverus calculated that the change cut the break-even price of EOR from $28 to $16 a barrel. The 2021 infrastructure law set aside $3.5 billion for regional DAC hubs; the Department of Energy allocated up to $500 million to Occidental's South Texas hub, of which about $50 million, the first tranche, was received.
In March 2023 Occidental's chief executive Vicki Hollub described DAC as giving the oil and gas industry a licence to continue to operate for 60, 70 or 80 years. In April 2022 Brad Crabtree, the founding director of the coalition that campaigned for the 45Q credit (first called the National Enhanced Oil Recovery Initiative, since 2018 the Carbon Capture Coalition), became the Department of Energy's Assistant Secretary for Fossil Energy and Carbon Management, whose office oversaw the DAC hubs. The record shows the post and the programme link; it does not show his personal role in the decision on Occidental's hub.
In May 2026 a fault caused a new delay at Stratos, and in August 2026 the start-up target was given as the end of 2026. Occidental's new chief executive, Richard Jackson, told investors the company could not keep investing in low-carbon projects without support from regulators or other companies, and said it aimed to sell carbon capture to data centres.
- 2021Infrastructure law sets aside $3.5 billion for DAC hubs
- 2022Inflation Reduction Act raises 45Q credit; Brad Crabtree becomes Department of Energy Assistant Secretary (April)
- 2023Stratos construction starts (May); Hollub 'licence to operate' remark (March); Occidental agrees to buy Carbon Engineering for about $1.1 billion (August); DOE hub allocation of up to $500 million (August); BlackRock invests $550 million (November)
- 2024Microsoft contracts for 500,000 tonnes of removal over six years (July); original operating target (end of 2024) passes
- 2025Occidental buys Holocene and DOE carbon removal team is down to one person (April); 45Q equalised for EOR in July budget law; leaked list marks hub first tranches 'terminate' (October)
- 2026Fault and new delay (May); start-up target given as end-2026 (August); Richard Jackson succeeds Hollub as chief executive
What was said
“license to continue to operate”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Described direct air capture as the technology that would help protect the industry over time, giving it a licence to continue to operate for 60, 70 or 80 years (March 2023).
Climate Home NewsSaid in November 2023 that the sector should drop the belief that very large amounts of carbon capture are the solution.
Said in February 2025 that CO2 EOR could add 50 to 70 billion barrels of oil to US supply.
Noted that there is not enough carbon dioxide for that quantity.
About 0.01 million tonnes a year for 27 plants.
About 100,000 tonnes a year for the same 27 plants.
How it looked
Shown
- Stratos described as the world's largest carbon removal plant.As reported by E&E News, 2026
- Direct air capture presented as 'net zero oil' and carbon removal.Occidental
Recorded
- Stratos: planned capacity 500,000 tonnes a year; largest operating DAC plant 36,000 tonnes a year.
- Operating target moved from end-2024 to mid-2025 (August 2023) to end-2026 (August 2026) after a May 2026 fault.
- BlackRock invested $550 million in Stratos.
- Occidental and 1PointFive secured Class VI permits for three wells at Stratos.
- Microsoft's contract is for 500,000 tonnes over six years, stored in saline formations and not used in oil production; the price was not disclosed.
- A July 2025 law set 45Q for EOR at the same value as permanent storage ($85 per tonne for point sources).
- Department of Energy: $3.5 billion for DAC hubs (2021 law); up to $500 million allocated to Occidental's South Texas hub, about $50 million received as first tranche; a leaked October 2025 list marked such first tranches 'terminate'.
- In April 2025 the Department of Energy's carbon removal team was down to one employee.
- In 2023 the world removed about 2 billion tonnes of carbon a year, nearly all from afforestation; DAC and similar new methods removed about 1.35 million tonnes a year, under one-thousandth of the total.
- The IEA's head, Fatih Birol, said in November 2023 that the oil and gas sector should drop the belief that very large amounts of carbon capture are the solution. The IEA said reaching 1.5 degrees on current consumption projections would need 32 billion tonnes of capture by 2050, 23 billion from air.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- occidental (2026): Chief executive Richard Jackson told investors the company could not keep investing in low-carbon projects without support from regulators or other companies, and that it aimed to sell carbon capture to data centres.
- occidental (February 2025): Then chief executive Vicki Hollub said in February 2025 that CO2 enhanced oil recovery could add 50 to 70 billion barrels of oil to US supply.
- microsoft (July 2024): Its contract states that the carbon will be stored in saline formations and not used in oil production.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Figures
- Insufficient Carbon credits sold: Amazon, over 10 years; reported, not independently verified.
- Insufficient Carbon credits sold: Airbus; reported, not independently verified.
Accounts
Record
- None on record The Internal Revenue Service does not disclose which companies receive the 45Q credit or how much; even the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration did not name 10 companies.
- None on record No actual capture figures for Stratos for 2024–2026 were found in the sources reviewed.
- Not disclosed The price of Microsoft's contract was not disclosed.
- Unclear No primary Department of Energy document on the status of the hub funds was found, between the October 2025 leaked list marking first tranches 'terminate' and an April 2026 trade-press report that the department would keep the funds ($1.2 billion, base unclear).
- Disputed Global DAC capture figures conflict: for 27 plants the IEA gives about 0.01 million tonnes a year, NBC (2023) about 100,000 tonnes a year; one may be capacity and the other output.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: Amazon agreed to buy 250,000 tonnes over 10 years and Airbus 400,000 tonnes from Stratos.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: the Treasury estimated the cost of 45Q at $36.2 billion for 2024–2033, and the Joint Committee on Taxation said the 2025 law adds $14.2 billion (cited to Taxpayers for Common Sense; the primary documents could not be checked).
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: the 45Q credit was $10 per tonne for EOR and $20 for pure storage in 2008.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: Occidental agreed in December 2023 to buy the Permian Basin oil producer CrownRock for about $12 billion, closing in August 2024 at $12.4 billion (figures of Occidental's annual report).
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: Hollub's 2023 remark was made at CERAWeek in Houston; the pages reviewed do not name the conference.
Did the harm stop?
Not applicable: no harm to nature is recorded in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not on record in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Company or project
- Occidental Petroleum annual report (Form 10-K) for 2024Occidental / SEC · 2025
Press and investigations
- BlackRock invests $550 million in Occidental carbon capture project (via Bloomberg)World Oil · 2023-11-08
- Occidental to acquire direct air capture technology company for $1.1 billionOil & Gas Journal · 2023-08-15
- Occidental buys HoloceneHeatmap · 2025-04-16
- Direct air capture, carbon dioxide removal and Occidental's Vicki HollubClimate Home News · 2023-08-15
Researchers
- Keeping up with carbon: key changes for 45Q tax credits under the One Big Beautiful Bill Act and possible impactsPayne Institute, Colorado School of Mines ·
Connected cases
- Leaked DOE list marks first tranches for two direct air capture hubs 'terminate' United States · 2021 Related matter
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Owner and developer of Stratos; there: lead of the South Texas hub
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022; there: ran the hub funding and the list
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Owner and developer of Stratos; there: recipient of DAC hub support, 2023
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022; there: administers carbon management funds
- Carbon Capture Coalition (Association) — here: Coalition that campaigned for the 45Q credit; there: campaign for the 45Q credit; founding director later appointed to DOE
- Occidental buys Holocene as US carbon removal staff is cut to one person United States · 2023–2025
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Owner and developer of Stratos; there: Acquirer of Holocene and Carbon Engineering
- Carbon Engineering (Company) — here: DAC company acquired by Occidental, August 2023; there: Direct air capture company acquired in 2023
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022; there: Federal department whose carbon removal staff was reduced
- Big Tech data-centre emissions accounting (Microsoft, Google, Amazon, Meta) United States · 2007–2026
- ACCCE clean coal advertising and forged letters (US) United States · 2008–2009
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022; there: Ran the Clean Coal programme, 1986–1993
- California approves SB 54 packaging rules making producers pay USD 5 billion in 10 years United States · 2026–2032
- Amazon (Company) — here: Reported buyer (not independently verified); there: named in CAA program governance
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West)
- Cobalt child labour lawsuits against tech firms (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2024
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: International body (assessment of carbon capture); there: Source of the export-suspension policy record
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Carbon Capture Coalition (Association) — here: Coalition that campaigned for the 45Q credit; there: Advocate for the 45Q tax credit; its director later led an Energy Department office
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Credit buyer
- Frontier buyers' club, Microsoft and the Puro.earth / Exomad Green biochar deal Global · 2020–2030
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Largest buyer of long-term carbon removal
- Hanford contractors settle false-claims suits as cleanup estimates rise United States · 1943–2086
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022; there: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate
- Kenya suspends Microsoft and G42 geothermal data centre plan at Naivasha Kenya · 2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Planned partner in the geothermal data centre
- Lake Turkana Wind Power and the Marsabit-Suswa transmission line delay Kenya · 2006
- BlackRock (Asset manager) — here: Investor ($550 million); there: Manager of the Climate Finance Partnership fund that bought the stakes
- Leonard Leo network and the anti-ESG campaign United States · 2020–2026
- BlackRock (Asset manager) — here: Investor ($550 million); there: Target of attorneys general letter and Texas suit
- Love Canal (New York) United States · 1980–1995
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Owner and developer of Stratos; there: Successor to Hooker; defendant and payer
- Love Canal: appeals court upholds insurer's pollution exclusion in plumber case United States · 1980–2017
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Owner and developer of Stratos; there: defendant in insurers' Love Canal actions
- Microsoft forestry carbon deals and the Apple Restore Fund Brazil · 2024
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Credit buyer
- Pará state pre-sold 12 million REDD+ credits; federal prosecutors sue to cancel Brazil · 2023–2026
- Amazon (Company) — here: Reported buyer (not independently verified); there: Named buyer
- Querétaro data-centre water use (Mexico) Mexico · 2025
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Operator of a campus in Querétaro, named by Oxfam
- Running Tide ocean carbon removal (Maine/Iceland) Iceland · 2017–2024
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Credit buyer (12,000 credits listed)
- SBTi funding, Scope 3 EAC announcement and CEO exit United Kingdom · 2021–2024
- Amazon (Company) — here: Reported buyer (not independently verified); there: Past core donor; its SBTi commitment was removed in August 2023
- Sellafield decommissioning and Hanford cleanup budgets United States · 1943–2086
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022; there: Hanford owner and funder
- Sole bidder re.green wins first forest carbon-rights tender in Brazil Brazil · 2020–2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Buyer of re.green reforestation credits
- Syrah declares force majeure at Mozambique graphite mine after unrest Mozambique · 2024
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022; there: lender; loan defaulted
- Texas anti-ESG law SB 13 and the states' suit against BlackRock, Vanguard and State Street United States · 2021–2026
- BlackRock (Asset manager) — here: Investor ($550 million); there: Defendant; removed from the Texas list in June 2025
- US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing United States · 2025
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Owner and developer of Stratos; there: Named inauguration-fund donor
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- BlackRock (Asset manager) — here: Investor ($550 million); there: Company that used Pacajaí credits in emissions reports
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years); there: Buyer of Klamath East and West credits