Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan)
- Standard-setters and registries Verra: "100,000 hectares already restored". Verra
- Company or project Pollination: 73,000 ha (March 2022). Pollination
- Company or project Trafigura: More than 75,000 ha (October 2023).
- Press and investigations Mongabay interviewees: One put survival at 40–45% initially, rising with restocking; another at 90% including restocking. Mongabay
- Researchers Hussain & Rahman (2022), via Mongabay: Pakistan's mangrove area grew from 48,331 ha (1986) to 143,930 ha (2020). The figures are national and not attributed to the project. Mongabay
- Company or project Developer: "Tens of millions" of seedlings planted; 73,000–100,000 ha restored.
A 60-year partnership between the Government of Sindh and Indus Delta Capital restores mangroves in the Indus Delta and sells carbon credits. Reported revenue to the province ranges from $14.7 million to about $50 million, and no community share has been published.
No figure for the community share of revenue has been published.
Status As of the latest sources reviewed (January 2025 for revenue; March 2025 for issuance): revenue figures for Sindh remain unreconciled, no independent audit of restoration or survival was found, and no community-share figure is published.
- Government of Sindh — USD 14.7 million from DBC-1 per Sindh Forest Department filings reported by Dawn; other reported figures are $40 million and about $50 million. Dawn
- Credit buyers, including Microsoft, Trafigura, Carbon Growth Partners and Respira — Offtake of up to three million credits announced in March 2022, prices not disclosed; Trafigura is described on its website as the anchor off-taker. Pollination
- Pakistan — Gave up counting these removals toward its Nationally Determined Contribution through corresponding adjustments.
- Indus Delta mangroves — Upstream dams have reduced freshwater flows and 4 of 8 mangrove species have vanished, according to a person quoted by Mongabay. The sources do not attribute this to the project. Mongabay
What happened
Delta Blue Carbon-1 (Verra project VCS 2250; DBC-2 is VCS 5063) is a 60-year public-private partnership between the Government of Sindh and Indus Delta Capital, signed in 2015 and renewable to 100 years. One source lists Pollination as a partner. The project covers 350,000 hectares in the Indus Delta, of which 226,000 hectares of degraded tidal land are for afforestation, reforestation and revegetation. It claims 142 million tonnes of CO2 removed over 60 years. Verra's case study says "100,000 hectares already restored" and gives 600,000 hectares for DBC-1 and DBC-2 together.
In March 2022 Pollination reported an offtake of "up to three million" credits to Carbon Growth Partners, Microsoft, Trafigura and Respira, with prices not disclosed. In November 2022 a Climate Impact X/Respira auction sold 250,000 credits of vintage 2021 at USD 27.80 per tonne, against a reserve of USD 27.50. In August 2023 the Sindh Forest Department said 3.1 million credits were "worth $40 million", with a price range of USD 12–50; the research's own estimate is an average of about USD 12.9 per credit, and Business Recorder reported an average of USD 13. Trafigura's website describes it as the "anchor off-taker". Retirements on the registry include BMO and Commerzbank.
Reported figures for the Sindh government's revenue differ. Dawn reported in May 2023, from Sindh Forest Department filings, USD 14.7 million from DBC-1. NPR described the USD 40 million as going "to the provincial government". In January 2025 Sindh's Chief Minister said the province had earned "about $50 million". The sources opened could not be reconciled with one another. Pakistan's federal Economic Coordination Committee allowed Sindh to sell credits until 2042 with corresponding adjustments and gave Sindh a USD 200–220 million earning envelope, and Pakistan gave up counting these removals toward its Nationally Determined Contribution.
On the ground, the developer reported "tens of millions" of seedlings planted and 73,000–100,000 hectares restored. Other restored-area figures were 73,000 hectares (Pollination, March 2022), more than 75,000 hectares (Trafigura, October 2023) and about 74,000 hectares by the end of 2021 (Mongabay, citing project documents). Independent national satellite figures show Pakistan's mangrove area growing from 48,331 hectares in 1986 to 143,930 hectares in 2020 (Hussain & Rahman 2022, via Mongabay); these are not attributed to the project. Survival rates quoted by Mongabay run from 40–45% initially, rising with restocking, to 90% including restocking. The research found no published independent satellite or survival audit of VCS 2250; Verra audits only. Upstream dams have reduced freshwater flows, and 4 of the delta's 8 mangrove species have vanished, according to a person quoted by Mongabay.
Verra cites 43,000 people in 60 villages and "15,000 jobs"; Dawn reports about 21,000 green jobs. A fisherman in Keti Bandar said his catch had increased and that his family's meals had gone from one to three a day. Polly Hemming of the Australia Institute said the project is "just another form of carbon colonialism". Delta Blue Carbon "declined to respond to a detailed list of questions" and Trafigura "declined to comment", NPR reported on 10 November 2023.
- 2015Government of Sindh and Indus Delta Capital sign the 60-year partnership
- 2021About 74,000 ha reported restored by the end of the year (Mongabay, citing project documents)
- 2022Offtake of up to three million credits announced (March); 250,000 credits auctioned at USD 27.80 (November)
- 2023Dawn reports USD 14.7 million to Sindh (May); Sindh Forest Department cites 3.1 million credits worth $40 million (August); Trafigura cites more than 75,000 ha restored (October); NPR reports that the project and Trafigura declined to answer questions (November)
- 2025Sindh Chief Minister says the province earned "about $50 million" (January); 6,961,950 blue carbon credits issued worldwide by 15 March, 69% of them in Pakistan
What was said
“it's just another form of carbon colonialism.”
“100,000 hectares already restored”
“3.1 million credits… worth $40 million”
“about $50 million”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
USD 14.7 million from DBC-1, from Sindh Forest Department filings.
DawnMore than 75,000 ha (October 2023).
One put survival at 40–45% initially, rising with restocking; another at 90% including restocking.
MongabayPakistan's mangrove area grew from 48,331 ha (1986) to 143,930 ha (2020). The figures are national and not attributed to the project.
Mongabay"Tens of millions" of seedlings planted; 73,000–100,000 ha restored.
How it looked
Shown
- A 60-year partnership covering 350,000 ha, claiming 142 million tonnes of CO2 removed over 60 years.Delta Blue Carbon project
- "100,000 hectares already restored"; 43,000 people in 60 villages and "15,000 jobs".Verra case study · Verra
- "Tens of millions" of seedlings planted; 73,000–100,000 ha restored.Developer figures
- The project says proceeds go to the project, the government and communities.Delta Blue Carbon project
Recorded
- Pakistan's mangrove area grew from 48,331 ha (1986) to 143,930 ha (2020), according to independent national satellite figures. The figures are not attributed to the project.
- No published independent satellite or survival audit of VCS 2250 was found. Verra audits only.
- Upstream dams have reduced freshwater flows, and 4 of 8 mangrove species have vanished from the delta, according to a person quoted by Mongabay.
- By 15 March 2025, 6,961,950 blue carbon credits had been issued worldwide and 3,651,383 (about 48%) retired; Pakistan holds 69% of issued blue carbon credits. The 2022 VCS price for Pakistan was USD 27.8.
- Pakistan gave up counting these removals toward its Nationally Determined Contribution through corresponding adjustments.
- Retirements on the registry include BMO and Commerzbank.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- delta-blue-carbon (10 November 2023): Declined to respond to a detailed list of questions. · NPR
- trafigura (10 November 2023): Declined to comment. · NPR
- sindh-forest-department (August 2023): Said 3.1 million credits were worth $40 million, with a price range of USD 12–50. · Arab News
- government-of-sindh (30 January 2025): The Chief Minister said Sindh had earned "about $50 million". · Dawn
- delta-blue-carbon (undated): The project says proceeds go to the project, the government and communities.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
- Disputed How much mangrove has the project restored?
- Disputed How well did the planted mangroves survive, and did the project cause the national increase in mangrove area?
Accounts
- Disputed How much of the credit revenue went to the Sindh government?
- Disputed Is the project a form of carbon colonialism?
- None on record Delta Blue Carbon: Declined to respond to a detailed list of questions.
- None on record Trafigura: Declined to comment.
Record
- None on record Community share of revenue: no figure has been published.
- None on record Revenue to Sindh: $14.7 million (Dawn, May 2023), $40 million (Arab News, August 2023) and about $50 million (Sindh Chief Minister, January 2025) cannot be reconciled from the sources opened.
- Insufficient Revenue split: Earth Journalism Network and the Express Tribune reported 40% to the government and 60% to the private firm; the contract was not seen and the figure is reported but not independently verified. The research's estimate of a developer share of about USD 22–24 million (60% of USD 36.75–40 million) rests on that unverified split.
- None on record No published independent satellite or survival audit of VCS 2250 was found.
- Disputed Restored area: figures differ between 73,000 and 100,000 hectares.
- Not disclosed Prices of the March 2022 offtake were not disclosed.
- Not disclosed Resale margins are unknown. About 20% of the blue carbon credits that could be traced, market-wide, were bought by resellers whose final price and destination are not disclosed (Farahmand, Hilmi & Duarte 2025).
Did the harm stop?
The sources do not record a point at which any harm stopped; the project and its credit sales are described as continuing to at least 2025.
Who paid?
Credit buyers paid for the credits; Pakistan gave up counting these removals toward its own climate commitment through corresponding adjustments. The community share of revenue has not been published.
Sources
Company or project
- Global blue carbon market (media post)Pollination · 2022-03
- Delta Blue case study (carbon trading)Trafigura ·
Press and investigations
- Landmark auction of 250,000 tonne blue carbon credits at USD 27.80 per tonneGreen.Earth · 2022-11
- Pakistan bucks global trend with 30-year mangrove expansionMongabay · 2024-02
- NPR report on Pakistan's mangrove carbon creditsNPR · 2023-11-10
- Dawn report quoting Sindh's Chief Minister on carbon credit earningsDawn · 2025-01-30
Researchers
- Blue carbon credit market analysisFarahmand, Hilmi & Duarte, npj Ocean Sustainability · 2025
Standard-setters and registries
- Delta Blue Carbon case studyVerra ·
Connected cases
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Microsoft forestry carbon deals and the Apple Restore Fund Brazil · 2024
- Pollination (Company) — here: Reported partner; announced the March 2022 offtake; there: Partner in Climate Asset Management
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Credit buyer
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- Big Tech data-centre emissions accounting (Microsoft, Google, Amazon, Meta) United States · 2007–2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: certification body that suspended accounts
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Registry; suspended the projects
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry
- Frontier buyers' club, Microsoft and the Puro.earth / Exomad Green biochar deal Global · 2020–2030
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Largest buyer of long-term carbon removal
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry
- Kenya suspends Microsoft and G42 geothermal data centre plan at Naivasha Kenya · 2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Planned partner in the geothermal data centre
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Lead shipped by Trafigura from Nigerian smelters linked to Ogijo poisonings Nigeria · 2025–2026
- Trafigura (Company) — here: Credit buyer; "anchor off-taker"; there: Trader that carried lead from Nigerian smelters to East Penn
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years)
- Ogijo battery recycling lead poisoning (Nigeria) Nigeria · 2021–2026
- Trafigura (Company) — here: Credit buyer; "anchor off-taker"; there: Trader that carried the smelters' lead to the US
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry
- Querétaro data-centre water use (Mexico) Mexico · 2025
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Operator of a campus in Querétaro, named by Oxfam
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry
- Running Tide ocean carbon removal (Maine/Iceland) Iceland · 2017–2024
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Credit buyer (12,000 credits listed)
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026
- Sole bidder re.green wins first forest carbon-rights tender in Brazil Brazil · 2020–2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Buyer of re.green reforestation credits
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Carbon-credit registry
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250); there: Registry