Brazil: Operation Greenwashing
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
- Press and investigations Reuters: At least 24 of 36 projects reviewed had an actor fined by Ibama for illegal deforestation, and in 5 clearing took place inside the project boundary.
- Press and investigations Reuters: Found no evidence of failure against baseline in individual projects.
In June 2024 Brazil's Federal Police began an investigation into carbon credits sold from forest projects in Amazonas state. The police alleged that forged land titles were used to take about 538,000 hectares of federal public land; 31 people were named in October 2025 and no court ruling has been recorded.
Allegation made by the Federal Police in June 2024; no court ruling has been recorded.
Status As of October 2026: the Federal Police named 31 people in October 2025; the accused deny the allegations and no court ruling has been recorded.
- A family company network including a father and son of the Stoppe family and associates (alleged) — Carbon-credit sales of R$120–180 million (alleged) SBT News
- The Brazilian federal government (the Union) — Public land alleged to have been taken
What happened
In June 2024 the Brazilian Federal Police carried out an investigation it called Operação Greenwashing, centred on Lábrea, in Amazonas state. The police alleged that forged land titles were used to take about 538,000 hectares of federal public (Union) land, and that carbon credits were then sold from projects on that land. According to the research record, Verra suspended projects linked to the Stoppe family in the same month.
The police put the credit sales at about R$180 million; other summaries of the same investigation give a range of R$120 million to R$180 million. Companies reported as buyers of credits from the projects included Toshiba, Spotify, Boeing, Nestlé, PwC and GOL, and Boeing was reported to have bought from two separate projects. The police also alleged corruption of officials at Incra, Ipaam and land registry offices.
In October 2025 the Federal Police named 31 people in two final reports, and Mongabay reported the charges in November 2025. The step was a police indictment, not an indictment filed by prosecutors. The people named included a father and son of the Stoppe family, who were described as the centre of a family company network. The accused deny the allegations, and no court ruling has been recorded.
Related projects have also been reported. The projects of the carbon developer Carbonext were reported to appear in the investigation. Noticias Ambientales reported in November 2025 that the first shipment of a Brazilian lithium producer, Sigma, to China was described as carbon neutral on the basis of 59,000 credits from the Unitor project, which it said had been suspended following the Federal Police operation.
Earlier, in 2018, Verra's registry had suspended an indigenous REDD+ project in Rondônia, the Paiter Suruí project, which had sold credits to Natura in 2013 and to FIFA in 2014. Forest clearing in 2017 reached 653 hectares, 256% above the permitted limit, and Mongabay reported that the programme ended because of illegal mining.
- 2013Paiter Suruí REDD+ project (Rondônia) sells credits to Natura
- 2014Same project sells credits to FIFA to offset World Cup emissions
- 2017Clearing in the Suruí project area reaches 653 ha, 256% above the permitted limit
- 2018Suruí project suspended; Mongabay reports it ended because of illegal mining
- 2022Shell is reported to hold a stake in Carbonext described as R$200 million
- 2024Federal Police launch Operação Greenwashing (June); Verra suspends the Stoppe-linked projects (June); Amazonas state grants 21 REDD concessions on 11.9 million ha of public forest (May–August)
- 2025Federal Police name 31 people in two final reports (October); Mongabay reports the charges (November)
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Alleged that forged land titles were used to take about 538,000 ha of federal public land and that credits were sold from it.
Jornal de BrasíliaNo ruling has been recorded.
At least 24 of 36 projects reviewed had an actor fined by Ibama for illegal deforestation, and in 5 clearing took place inside the project boundary.
Found no evidence of failure against baseline in individual projects.
How it looked
Shown
- Forest-protection carbon projects (REDD+) on land the police later alleged was public land taken with forged titlesProject developers, as described in Federal Police allegations · Jornal de Brasília
Recorded
- The Federal Police alleged forged land titles were used to take about 538,000 ha of federal public land in the Lábrea area of Amazonas; the investigation began in June 2024.
- The Federal Police alleged corruption at Incra, Ipaam and land registry offices.
- The police estimated carbon-credit sales from the land at about R$180 million; other summaries give R$120–180 million.
- 31 people were named in two final police reports in October 2025; the defendants deny the allegations.
- Reported buyers of credits from the projects: Toshiba, Spotify, Boeing (two projects), Nestlé, PwC and GOL.
- Reuters analysed 36 Amazon forest-credit projects and found that at least 24 had an actor who had received an Ibama fine for illegal deforestation, and that in 5 clearing took place inside the project boundary; buyers included Boeing, Telefónica and Ecopetrol. Reuters found no evidence in individual projects of failure against the project baseline.
- Carbonext's projects were reported to appear in the Operation Greenwashing investigation; Shell is reported to hold a stake in Carbonext described as R$200 million (2022).
- In May–August 2024 Amazonas state granted 21 REDD concessions on 11.9 million ha of public forest; 483 communities were not consulted and federal prosecutors recommended suspension. Holders included Future Carbon (12 concessions), Ecosecurities (3), BR Carbon, Carbonext and Permian Global (2 each).
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- People named by the Federal Police (November 2025): Deny the allegations. · Mongabay
- Verra (June 2024): Suspended the Stoppe-linked projects.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2024-06–OngoingOperação Greenwashing: Federal Police criminal investigationBrazilian Federal Police; court not identified · Criminal · Brazilian Federal Police (prosecutorial step not recorded) → 31 people named in police reports, including a father and son of the Stoppe family
The Federal Police alleged forged land titles were used to take about 538,000 ha of federal public land and sell carbon credits from it. Thirty-one people were named in two final police reports in October 2025. The accused deny the allegations and no court ruling has been recorded. Mongabay
- 2024–Outcome not on recordAmazonas REDD concessions: recommendation to suspendFederal prosecutors (Ministério Público Federal) · Administrative · Federal prosecutors → State of Amazonas and concession holders
After the state granted 21 REDD concessions on 11.9 million ha of public forest in May–August 2024 without consulting 483 communities, federal prosecutors recommended that the concessions be suspended. The outcome has not been recorded.
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed Do Amazon forest-credit projects protect forest?
Court
- Unclear Amazonas REDD concessions: recommendation to suspend: outcome not on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Were the credited projects on lawfully held land?
- None on record Courts: No ruling has been recorded.
Record
- None on record No court ruling has been recorded: the case has produced police reports naming 31 people, not a court decision.
- None on record No amount of assets seized or recovered has been recorded.
- None on record Summaries give the value of credit sales as R$120 million to R$180 million; the figures have not been reconciled.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that the Reuters 36-project analysis and the Operation Greenwashing probe overlap in the projects they cover.
Did the harm stop?
Verra suspended the Stoppe-linked projects in June 2024, the month the Federal Police operation began. No ruling or seizure amount has been recorded.
Who paid?
Not established. The asset alleged to have been taken is federal public land; no ruling, seizure or restitution has been recorded.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Brazil charges 31 people in major carbon credit fraud investigationMongabay · 2025-11
- PF aponta organização criminosa e indicia 31 em maior fraude com créditos de carbono já investigadaJornal de Brasília · 2025
- ‘Green’ lithium under suspicion: environmental and community complaints surround a Canadian company operating in BrazilNoticias Ambientales · 2025-11-01
- World’s first indigenous REDD program ended due to illegal miningMongabay · 2018-09-11
Connected cases
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: Investigating authority; there: launched Operation Greenwashing
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: certification body that suspended accounts
- Carbonext (Company) — here: Credit developer; projects reported in the investigation; there: developer of REDD+ credit schemes in the Lábrea concessions
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: Investigating authority; there: launched Operation Greenwashing in June 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026
- Carbonext (Company) — here: Credit developer; projects reported in the investigation; there: REDD+ developer in which Shell took a minority stake
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Alter do Chão and Dia do Fogo fire allegations Brazil · 2019–2024
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: Investigating authority; there: Investigating authority
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- Brazilian court fines Sigma Lithium over blast damage in Jequitinhonha valley Brazil · 2025–2026
- Sigma Lithium (Company) — here: Used credits from the Unitor project (reported); there: Operator; labelled its lithium green; first shipment to China
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Coca-Cola plastic pledges and brand audits United States · 2018
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Reported credit buyer; there: Said it does not buy plastic credits
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Erikli water brand changes hands in Nestlé–Platinum Equity partnership Turkey · 2026
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Reported credit buyer; there: Partner in the 4.9 billion euro partnership that includes Erikli
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Client at the time of COP27
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Isthmus of Tehuantepec wind farms, including Mareña, faced local opposition Mexico · 2012–2022
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Reported credit buyer; there: Named corporate buyer of Isthmus wind power
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Michigan allows Nestlé to take up to 576,000 gallons of groundwater a day United States · 2018
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Reported credit buyer; there: operator of the groundwater withdrawal
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Nestlé black cumin patent application draws protest of over 300,000 signatures Switzerland · 2013–2014
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Reported credit buyer; there: Patent applicant
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Northern Lights partner
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Paris court finds Volvic recycling claims misleading; Coca-Cola, Nestlé change labels France · 2026
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Reported credit buyer; there: Dropped its claims in March 2026
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Facility owner
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; suspended the projects; there: Registry