Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Verra suspended three REDD+ schemes in Portel, Pará, in September 2023 because they overlapped public land, after they had sold more than 23 million credits. At stake is the public land and the families living on it, with about 1,484 families in five farming settlements affected according to the reports.
- Air France, Delta, Bayer and Ecopetrol — were among the buyers of credits from the three suspended Portel schemes REDD-Monitor
- Philip Morris, Mastercard and BlackRock — used credits from the suspended Pacajaí scheme in emissions reports REDD-Monitor
- About 1,484 families in five farming settlements — were affected, according to the public defender's suit as reported Sumaúma
What happened
Sumaúma reported in July 2023 that Pará's public defender's office had sued over the Ribeirinho REDD+ scheme in Portel, which affected about 1,484 families in five farming settlements.
The same report says a decree by the Portel mayor prepared the ground for the scheme, and that an American businessman was a partner in 13 of the 38 companies in the area.
REDD-Monitor reported in November 2025 that Verra suspended three Portel schemes in September 2023 for overlapping public land, after they had sold more than 23 million credits to buyers including Air France, Delta, Bayer and Ecopetrol.
REDD-Monitor reported in March 2026 that more than 140 companies, including Philip Morris, Mastercard and BlackRock, used over 2 million credits from the suspended Pacajaí scheme between January 2024 and July 2025.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2023-07–Outcome not on recordPará public defender's lawsuit over the Ribeirinho REDD+ scheme in PortelNot stated in the sources reviewed · unknown · Pará public defender's office → Not stated in the sources reviewed
Sumaúma reported that the suit was filed in July 2023. The sources reviewed do not give its outcome. Sumaúma
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- Unclear Pará public defender's lawsuit over the Ribeirinho REDD+ scheme in Portel: outcome not on record.
Record
- None on record Not stated in the sources reviewed: the outcome of the public defender's lawsuit.
- None on record Not stated in the sources reviewed: whether the three suspended schemes have been reinstated.
- None on record Not stated in the sources reviewed: whether the buyers named in the reports kept or cancelled their credits.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Pará public defender accuses Portel mayor of complicity in land grabbingSumaúma · 2023-07-21
- Crooked carbon business: carbon offsetREDD-Monitor · 2025-11-13
- Verra suspended the Pacajaí REDD+ schemeREDD-Monitor · 2026-03-11
Connected cases
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Delta Air Lines (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Credit buyer
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- Bayer buys Monsanto for $66bn; four firms hold most seed and pesticide sales Global · 2018
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Acquirer of Monsanto (2018); large seed and pesticide seller
- Bayer's carbon program pays farmers per practice, not per tonne United States · 2024
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Runs the programme; measures, verifies and holds the carbon assets
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: certification body that suspended accounts
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Registry; suspended the projects
- Brazilian court halts Bayer licence fees on Intacta soy after patent expiry Brazil · date not stated
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Licence holder that sought fees on Intacta soy
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- Cali Fund (digital sequence information) Global · 2024–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Company commenting on legal uncertainty
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Court reverses $60 million punitive award in dicamba case United States · 2015–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Party in the dicamba litigation
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- Dicamba drift (Bader Farms) and EPA re-registration United States · 2015–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage
- Ecopetrol Lizama well blowout (Colombia) Colombia · 2018–2021
- Ecopetrol (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Operator of the Lizama 158 well; fined by ANLA
- EU bans three neonicotinoid pesticides outdoors in 2018; Turkey follows in part European Union · 2018
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: neonicotinoid manufacturer; bee-health programme; court challenge
- Glyphosate safety review retracted over undisclosed Monsanto ghostwriting Global · 2000–2025
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Company that responded for Monsanto
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Lake Turkana Wind Power and the Marsabit-Suswa transmission line delay Kenya · 2006
- BlackRock (Asset manager) — here: Company that used Pacajaí credits in emissions reports; there: Manager of the Climate Finance Partnership fund that bought the stakes
- Leonard Leo network and the anti-ESG campaign United States · 2020–2026
- BlackRock (Asset manager) — here: Company that used Pacajaí credits in emissions reports; there: Target of attorneys general letter and Texas suit
- Major agrochemical firms buy biological input makers and sell organic-approved lines Multiple countries · 2012–2023
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Acquirer of AgraQuest; organic seed launch
- Monsanto/Bayer PCB and Roundup insurance suit v AIG United States · 1967–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Claimant in the suit against AIG; owner of Monsanto
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- BlackRock (Asset manager) — here: Company that used Pacajaí credits in emissions reports; there: Investor ($550 million)
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Pará state pre-sold 12 million REDD+ credits; federal prosecutors sue to cancel Brazil · 2023–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Named buyer
- PCB pollution and the Monsanto Anniston settlement United States · 2002–2025
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Owner of Monsanto; party to the 2020 settlements; plaintiff against AIG
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry
- PPL Therapeutics collapse and transgenic sheep cull (Scotland, New Zealand) United Kingdom · 1987–2004
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Partner reported to have withdrawn in 2003
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Roundup litigation, settlements and legal shield (Bayer/Monsanto) United States · 2009–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Parent company of Monsanto; settlement payer
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: Crop-protection company that commented on the transition
- TASSC, Tozzi and Milloy: a tobacco-funded 'sound science' campaign United States · 1993–2003
- Philip Morris (Company) — here: Company that used Pacajaí credits in emissions reports; there: Co-founder of TASSC; paid Federal Focus, Tozzi and Weinberg Group
- Texas anti-ESG law SB 13 and the states' suit against BlackRock, Vanguard and State Street United States · 2021–2026
- BlackRock (Asset manager) — here: Company that used Pacajaí credits in emissions reports; there: Defendant; removed from the Texas list in June 2025
- The four biggest agrochemical firms each bought a biologicals company, 2012 to 2026 Global · 2012–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes; there: bought AgraQuest; carbon programme operator
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes; there: Registry