Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia)
A REDD+ carbon project run by Wildlife Alliance with Cambodia's Ministry of Environment received more than 27 million Verra credits. Human Rights Watch reported that Indigenous Chong families were not consulted for 31 months and that some were evicted, detained or beaten; Wildlife Alliance denied the abuses, Verra reinstated the project in September 2024, and a Chong farmer was arrested in his field in June 2024.
Covers about 500,000 ha and 29 villages; the research gives no revenue figure.
Status As of March 2025: Verra had reinstated the project with conditions (10 September 2024); Wildlife Alliance denied the abuses; a Chong farmer's suspended five-year sentence stood; credit buyers were not identified.
- Wildlife Alliance and the Ministry of Environment, as project partners — The project received more than 27 million credits; how any revenue was shared is not in the record.
- Chong families — Access to fields restricted; HRW reported six families evicted. Human Rights Watch
- Chong villagers — Human Rights Watch reported detentions without trial and beatings; one farmer received a suspended five-year sentence, a relative was injured and rice huts were reported demolished (CamboJA News, via REDD-Monitor). Wildlife Alliance denies the abuses. Human Rights Watch
What happened
The Southern Cardamom REDD+ project in the Cardamom Mountains of south-west Cambodia is run by Wildlife Alliance with Cambodia's Ministry of Environment. It covers about 500,000 hectares and 29 villages. It was approved under three Verra standards, activity began on 1 January 2015, and the project received more than 27 million credits.
On 28 February 2024 Human Rights Watch (HRW) published a 118-page report, “Carbon Offsetting's Casualties”, based on 91 interviews. It reported that the Indigenous Chong were not asked for consent for more than two years (consultation began 31 months after activity started), that six Chong families were evicted, that three people were held for months without trial, and that people were beaten with a gun butt in 2018 and 2021. HRW said patrols mixed ministry rangers, gendarmes and Wildlife Alliance staff. Wildlife Alliance denied the abuses.
Verra suspended issuance of credits to the project in June 2023, after a letter from HRW, and reinstated it on 10 September 2024 with conditions. The review was carried out by SCS Global Services, Aster Global and AENOR, which had approved the project earlier and were retained and paid by the developer. Carbon Market Watch complained to the Integrity Council for the Voluntary Carbon Market (ICVCM), calling this a clear conflict of interest. Verra said it had not conducted on-the-ground investigation; Mongabay reported that Verra “did not contact any project stakeholders or community members directly”.
On 27 June 2024, while issuance was suspended, Pork Nget, a Chong farmer, and his wife Chey Nov were weeding their field with their children less than three kilometres from their home in Thmar Dounpov commune. According to CamboJA News as carried by REDD-Monitor, Environment Ministry rangers and Wildlife Alliance staff arrived, said the field lay inside the REDD+ project, and arrested him. He was sentenced to five years in prison for encroachment (also rendered in the reporting as an occupation charge); the sentence was suspended but the conviction stands. His family showed land documents issued to villagers under a 2013 decree, and the commune administration recognises the field. In October 2024 his brother broke a kneecap fleeing military police and Wildlife Alliance staff, and police fired a warning shot; the brother's wife said the family's rice huts had been demolished. Nget said he no longer dared to enter his field.
Wildlife Alliance told that report that the communities supported the project overwhelmingly, that it spent about $3 million on livelihoods in 2023–2024, and that it has no law-enforcement authority. It said it had objected to 1,851 hectares measured for inclusion in the commune and had agreed a map with officials in 2015 that left this land outside the commune.
- 2013A decree under which, the farmer's family said, villagers received land documents
- 2015Project activity begins (1 January); Wildlife Alliance says it agreed a map with officials leaving 1,851 ha outside the commune
- 2018Beating with a gun butt reported by HRW (a second in 2021)
- 2023Verra suspends issuance of credits (June) after a letter from HRW
- 2024HRW report (28 Feb); farmer arrested in Thmar Dounpov (27 Jun); Verra reinstates the project with conditions (10 Sep); warning-shot incident and sign about prison for tree cutting recorded (Oct)
- 2025REDD-Monitor publishes CamboJA News report on the arrest and its aftermath (17 Mar)
What was said
“did not contact any project stakeholders or community members directly”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
No consent from the Chong for more than two years; six Chong families evicted; three people held for months without trial; beatings with a gun butt in 2018 and 2021.
Human Rights WatchSaid communities supported the project overwhelmingly and that it has no law-enforcement authority.
REDD-MonitorSuspended issuance in June 2023 and reinstated the project on 10 September 2024 with conditions.
MongabayTold the farmer the field was inside the REDD+ project and arrested him; he was later sentenced to five years (suspended) for encroachment.
REDD-MonitorShowed land documents issued to villagers under a 2013 decree; the commune administration recognises the field.
REDD-MonitorObjected to 1,851 hectares measured for inclusion in the commune and agreed a 2015 map with officials that left this land outside the commune.
REDD-MonitorComplained to ICVCM that the review, done by firms that had approved the project earlier and were paid by the developer, was a clear conflict of interest.
Said it had not conducted on-the-ground investigation and was unaware of the farmer's arrest.
REDD-MonitorHow it looked
Shown
- The project was approved under three Verra standards and received more than 27 million credits.Verra registry record, according to secondary reports
- Communities supported the project overwhelmingly; about $3 million was spent on livelihoods in 2023–2024; Wildlife Alliance has no law-enforcement authority.Wildlife Alliance · REDD-Monitor
Recorded
- HRW (Feb 2024): no consent from the Chong for more than two years; six Chong families evicted; three people held for months without trial; beatings with a gun butt in 2018 and 2021.
- Consultation with the Chong began 31 months after activity started on 1 January 2015.
- Verra suspended issuance in June 2023 and reinstated the project on 10 September 2024 with conditions.
- The reinstatement review was done by three firms that had approved the project earlier: SCS Global Services, Aster Global and AENOR.
- Pork Nget was arrested on 27 June 2024 and sentenced to five years in prison for encroachment; the sentence was suspended but the charge stands.
- No project sign was at the field on the day of the arrest; in October 2024 CamboJA News reporters saw a sign warning of up to 10 years in prison for tree cutting and burning.
- In October 2024 the arrested farmer's brother broke a kneecap fleeing military police and Wildlife Alliance staff; his wife said the family's rice huts had been demolished; the farmer said he no longer dared to enter his field.
- Verra said it was not aware of the arrest and conducts no on-the-ground investigations.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- wildlife-alliance (September 2024): Denied the abuses described by Human Rights Watch. · Mongabay
- wildlife-alliance (reported March 2025): Said communities supported the project overwhelmingly, that it spent about $3 million on livelihoods in 2023–2024, and that it has no law-enforcement authority; said it had objected to 1,851 hectares measured for inclusion in the commune and agreed a 2015 map that left the land outside it. · REDD-Monitor
- verra (reported March 2025): Said it was unaware of the farmer's arrest and had not conducted on-the-ground investigation. · REDD-Monitor
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- Claimant wonProsecution of Pork Nget for encroachment, Thmar Dounpov communeNot stated in the record · Criminal · Cambodian authorities (arrest made by Environment Ministry rangers) → Pork Nget
The farmer was arrested on 27 June 2024 in his field and sentenced to five years in prison for encroachment. The sentence was suspended but the charge stands. His family showed land documents issued under a 2013 decree. REDD-Monitor
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Figures
- Insufficient Livelihood spend reported: Wildlife Alliance's own figure for 2023–2024; not independently verified.
Accounts
Record
- None on record Who bought the credits: the research did not identify any buyer.
- Unclear Whether Verra has issued credits to the project since its reinstatement in September 2024: not found.
- Unclear Whether the Ministry of Environment has responded to the HRW findings: no statement is in the record.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that warnings about the 31-month consultation gap were already in audit reports submitted to the certifier.
- None on record The court, date and prosecuting body in the case of Pork Nget are not stated in the record.
- None on record The charge against Pork Nget is described as encroachment in some of the reporting and as an occupation charge in other reporting; the sources reviewed do not give the court's wording.
Did the harm stop?
Not established. Issuance was suspended in June 2023 and reinstated on 10 September 2024 with conditions; the arrest of Pork Nget took place on 27 June 2024, during the suspension, and in the latest report reviewed (March 2025) he said he no longer dared to enter his field.
Who paid?
According to HRW and the CamboJA News report, Chong villagers bore the costs: evictions, detentions, loss of access to fields and, in one case, a suspended five-year sentence.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Cambodian carbon credit project hit by rights abuse claims is reinstatedMongabay · 2024-09
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project (CamboJA News report, via REDD-Monitor)REDD-Monitor · 2025-03-17
Communities and civil society
- Carbon Offsetting's CasualtiesHuman Rights Watch · 2024-02-28
Connected cases
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Wildlife Alliance (NGO) — here: Project operator; there: Project developer with the Ministry of Environment
- Ministry of Environment (Cambodia) (Government) — here: Project partner; rangers made the arrest; there: Project partner; rangers took part in patrols
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: Author of the 2024 report
- Carbon Market Watch (NGO) — here: Filed complaint with ICVCM; there: Filed complaint with ICVCM about the re-review
- SCS Global Services (Company) — here: Validation and verification body; there: Auditor of the project and of the 2024 re-review
- Aster Global (Company) — here: Validation and verification body; there: Auditor of the project and of the 2024 re-review
- AENOR (Company) — here: Validation and verification body; there: Auditor of the project and of the 2024 re-review
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Carbon Market Watch (NGO) — here: Filed complaint with ICVCM; there: Complainant to the ICVCM about the Southern Cardamom review
- Integrity Council for the Voluntary Carbon Market (ICVCM) (Standard-setter) — here: Recipient of the complaint; there: Quality council for the voluntary carbon market
- SCS Global Services (Company) — here: Validation and verification body; there: Auditor involved in the Southern Cardamom review
- Aster Global (Company) — here: Validation and verification body; there: Auditor involved in the Southern Cardamom review
- AENOR (Company) — here: Validation and verification body; there: Auditor involved in the Southern Cardamom review
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: published the 2024 report on the voluntary carbon market
- Carbon Market Watch (NGO) — here: Filed complaint with ICVCM; there: complainant to the ICVCM over the Southern Cardamom review
- Integrity Council for the Voluntary Carbon Market (ICVCM) (Standard-setter) — here: Recipient of the complaint; there: council that approved three REDD+ methodologies
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon Market Watch (NGO) — here: Filed complaint with ICVCM; there: NGO analysing the raters
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- Boké bauxite mining and the CBG expansion Guinea · 1974–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: Researcher and reporter
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: certification body that suspended accounts
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry; suspended the projects
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Chepang man dies in army custody after Chitwan park detention; homes reportedly burned Nepal · 2020
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: Reported the case
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- India exempts critical mineral mines from public consultation India · 2024–2026
- Ministry of Environment (Cambodia) (Government) — here: Project partner; rangers made the arrest; there: Issued the consultation exemption circular
- Japan declares mongoose eradicated on Amami Oshima island Japan · 2024
- Ministry of Environment (Cambodia) (Government) — here: Project partner; rangers made the arrest; there: Ministry that declared the eradication
- Japan imposes administrative sanction over unapproved GM silkworm strain Japan · 2017–2019
- Ministry of Environment (Cambodia) (Government) — here: Project partner; rangers made the arrest; there: imposed the sanction
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Marange diamonds and the Kimberley Process (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2008–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: NGO that reported the killings
- Ngorongoro and Loliondo relocations Tanzania · 1992–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: NGO; reported services cut
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Plastic waste imports into Türkiye (Adana) Türkiye · 2016–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: Reported health impacts on recycling workers and residents (2022)
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- UK packaging recycling notes (PRN) system and export fraud United Kingdom · 2009–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: NGO; interviewed workers in Turkey
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: Human rights investigator
- Uzbek cotton clusters took farmers' land and set quotas, rights group reports Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Author of the 2024 report; there: Published the 2026 report
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry