Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Killings and repression of defenders · Iran · 2018–2024

Persian Wildlife Heritage Foundation conservationists: arrests, a death in custody and prison sentences, 2018–2024

Nature's voice · report
Two of the people arrested for monitoring me were key cheetah field researchers; Houman Jowkar was national director of the Conservation of the Asiatic Cheetah Project in 2012.
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record.
Recorded
  • The IUCN Species Survival Commission chair said in 2018 that practically the only information about me, the Asiatic cheetah, comes from camera traps. Mongabay
  • In 2018, at least 63 conservationists, environmental scientists and activists were arrested in Iran, according to Amnesty International. Amnesty International
People
  • 1 people died.
    Kavous Seyed-Emami, in Evin Prison, 9 February 2018 (authorities' date).
What the record lacks: 1 none on record · 2 not disclosed · 1 not measured · 3 disputed · 3 unclear See the gaps

Revolutionary Guards arrested staff of the Persian Wildlife Heritage Foundation in January 2018 after they used camera traps to monitor Asiatic cheetahs. The founder died in custody, and on 20 November 2019 a Tehran Revolutionary Court branch convicted eight others of collaborating with the United States and sentenced them to 4–10 years; all those sentenced had been freed by April 2024.

4–10 yearsPrison terms imposed by Branch 15 of the Tehran Revolutionary Court, 20 November 2019
Eight defendants: seven received 6–10 years and one received 4 years. Niloufar Bayani was also ordered to return US$360,000. The foundation's founder, Kavous Seyed-Emami, died in custody on 9 February 2018, before trial.

Status As of April 2024: all eight convicted conservationists had been released; the convictions of 20 November 2019 stand in the court record and the 2024 releases were described as pardons; no independent investigation of Seyed-Emami's death has been allowed.

What?
Staff of the Persian Wildlife Heritage Foundation, who monitored Asiatic cheetahs with camera traps, were arrested in January 2018; the founder died in custody, and on 20 November 2019 a Tehran Revolutionary Court branch convicted eight of collaborating with the United States and sentenced them to 4–10 years. Human Rights Watch
Where?
Tehran: the foundation's office, Evin Prison Section 2-A under Revolutionary Guards control, and Branch 15 of the Revolutionary Court; field work in cheetah habitats including Touran, Semnan Province. Amnesty International
When?
Arrests on 24–25 January 2018; Seyed-Emami's death on 9 February 2018; trial in January–February 2019; verdicts on 20 November 2019; appeal decided on 18 February 2020; releases from September 2023 to April 2024. Human Rights Watch
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
  • Eight convicted PWHF conservationists — Prison terms of 4–10 years; all had been released by April 2024 Human Rights Watch
  • Niloufar Bayani — Ordered to return US$360,000 in “illicit funds” Human Rights Watch
  • Kavous Seyed-Emami and his family — He died in custody on 9 February 2018; his wife was banned from leaving the country until October 2019 Human Rights Watch
Harmed
  • Asiatic cheetah monitoring — Two of the defendants were key cheetah field researchers, and camera traps provide practically the only information on the species, according to the IUCN Species Survival Commission chair Mongabay
Why?
The Tehran prosecutor and the Revolutionary Guards said the camera traps gathered information on missile activities; the defendants, a government committee, UN experts, Amnesty and Human Rights Watch said there was no evidence of spying. The court convicted the eight of collaborating with the United States. Human Rights Watch
How?
Revolutionary Guards officers arrested staff, held them incommunicado in Evin Prison, and Branch 15 of the Revolutionary Court tried them in 2019; Amnesty reported that the trial relied almost entirely on “confessions” allegedly made under torture. Amnesty International
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

On 24–25 January 2018 Revolutionary Guards officials entered the office of the Persian Wildlife Heritage Foundation (PWHF) in Tehran, went through it and the staff's homes and arrested staff. Amnesty International described the eight as being among nine scientists arrested by the Revolutionary Guards in January 2018 and held incommunicado in Section 2-A of Evin Prison without access to a lawyer. The foundation had bought 45 camera traps from Panthera in early 2017 and used camera traps to monitor Asiatic cheetahs. On 14 February 2018 the Tehran prosecutor, Abbas Jafari Dolatabadi, said, as reported by Mehr, that a network had installed cameras ostensibly for environmental monitoring in strategic areas that in fact watched missile activities, acting under CIA and Mossad officers. Science, as reported by Mongabay, said the Revolutionary Guards alleged the team used camera traps to collect information on Iran's missile programme.

The foundation's managing director and founder, the Iranian-Canadian professor Kavous Seyed-Emami, died in Evin Prison; Iranian authorities told his wife it happened on 9 February 2018 and informed the family on 10 February. The Tehran prosecutor told ILNA that he had committed suicide in prison. His son, Raam Seyed-Emami, said the family could not believe it and the family asked for an independent autopsy. Amnesty reported that authorities refused to release the body unless the family agreed to an immediate burial without an independent autopsy and that no independent investigation had been carried out. Human Rights Watch reported that his wife's travel ban lasted until October 2019. On 23 February 2018 four UN experts called it hard to fathom how work to preserve Iranian flora and fauna could be linked to espionage and called Seyed-Emami's death “extremely disturbing”.

In May 2018 a government committee of the ministers of intelligence, interior and justice and the president's legal deputy concluded that there was no evidence to suggest the detainees were spies, according to Amnesty and Human Rights Watch. On 22 May 2018 the head of the Department of Environment, Isa Kalantari, reported this. In March 2019 Amnesty reported pre-trial charges: efsad fil arz, a charge that can carry the death penalty, against Houman Jowkar, Niloufar Bayani, Morad Tahbaz and Taher Ghadirian; espionage against Amirhossein Khaleghi, Sepideh Kashani and Abdolreza Kouhpayeh; and, for Sam Rajabi, offences including cooperating with hostile states against the Islamic Republic. The trial took place in January and February 2019 at Branch 15 of the Revolutionary Court in Tehran. Bayani told the court that she had “confessed” only after being “broken” by torture and later retracted.

On 20 November 2019 the Revolutionary Court convicted the eight of “collaborating with the enemy state of the United States”: Morad Tahbaz to 10 years; Niloufar Bayani to 10 years and an order to return US$360,000 in “illicit funds”, calculated by multiplying her latest annual UNEP salary by her six years there; Houman Jowkar and Taher Ghadirian to 8 years each; Amirhossein Khaleghi, Sepideh Kashani and Sam Rajabi to 6 years each; and Abdolreza Kouhpayeh to 4 years on a lesser charge. A Tehran appeals court upheld the sentences on 18 February 2020. The judiciary spokesman, Gholamhossein Esmaili, had said on 14 October 2019 that the charge had been changed to cooperating with the United States and Israel.

Kouhpayeh, Khaleghi and Rajabi were released after serving their sentences. Tahbaz was freed on 18 September 2023 in a US–Iran exchange that followed the release of “nearly $6 billion” in frozen Iranian assets from South Korea to Qatar. Bayani and Jowkar were freed on 8 April 2024 and Kashani and Ghadirian on 9 April 2024; Iran International reported that they were pardoned. The monitoring of the Asiatic cheetah had been largely camera-trap work: the chair of the IUCN Species Survival Commission said in 2018 that practically the only information on the species comes from camera traps.

  1. 2018Revolutionary Guards arrest PWHF staff (24–25 Jan); Kavous Seyed-Emami dies in Evin Prison (9 Feb); UN experts' statement (23 Feb); government committee finds no evidence of spying (May)
  2. 2019Trial at Branch 15 of the Revolutionary Court (Jan–Feb); Amnesty urgent action (11 Mar); verdicts communicated (20 Nov)
  3. 2020Appeals court upholds the sentences (18 Feb)
  4. 2023Morad Tahbaz freed in a US–Iran exchange (18 Sep)
  5. 2024Niloufar Bayani and Houman Jowkar freed (8 Apr); Sepideh Kashani and Taher Ghadirian freed (9 Apr)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“he committed suicide in prison since he knew that many had made confessions against him.”

Abbas Jafari-Dolatabadi, Tehran prosecutor, to ILNA · February 2018 · translated from Persian · RFE/RL

“They said he committed suicide. I still can't believe this.”

Raam Seyed-Emami, son of Kavous Seyed-Emami · February 2018 · RFE/RL

“It is hard to fathom how working to preserve the Iranian flora and fauna can possibly be linked to conducting espionage”

“Mr Emami's death is extremely disturbing.”

“merely a fishing rod”

Payam Derafshan, lawyer for the defendants, on the object state TV described as a spying device · May 2018 · translated from Persian · Radio Farda

“practically the only information we have on the Asiatic cheetah comes from camera traps.”

Jon Paul Rodríguez, chair of the IUCN Species Survival Commission · 2018 · Mongabay

“an unbelievable fictional scenario about espionage under the guise of protecting the environment”

Niloufar Bayani, in letters, describing the confession demanded of her · 2020 · Mongabay

“There is no evidence that the imprisoned individuals committed any crimes.”

David R. Boyd, UN Special Rapporteur · 2020 · Mongabay

“We at UNEP call for clemency.”

Inger Andersen, UNEP Executive Director · 2020 · Mongabay

“Such unjust sentences would be yet another hallmark of the abusive nature of Iran's revolutionary courts.”

“This is a very bizarre charge to bring against environmental activists.”

Tara Sepehri Far, Human Rights Watch · 2018 · Mongabay

“I am shocked.”

Bärbel Kofler, German human rights commissioner · November 2019 · RFE/RL

“It is not easy to explain why they are being freed at this particular time.”

Kaveh Madani, former deputy head of the Department of Environment · April 2024 · Iran International

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Whether the camera-trap monitoring was espionage
Government and regulators
Tehran prosecutor Abbas Jafari Dolatabadi (via Mehr, 14 February 2018)

The cameras installed for environmental monitoring in strategic areas in fact watched missile activities, under CIA and Mossad guidance.

Eghtesad News (Mehr)
Government and regulators
Revolutionary Guards (per Science, as reported by Mongabay, October 2018)

The team used camera traps to collect information on Iran's missile programme.

Mongabay
Courts
Branch 15, Tehran Revolutionary Court (20 November 2019)

Convicted eight defendants of collaborating with the enemy state of the United States.

Human Rights Watch
Government and regulators
Isa Kalantari, head of the Department of Environment (22 May 2018)

A government committee of the intelligence, interior and justice ministers and the president's legal deputy found no evidence they were spies.

Human Rights Watch
Government and regulators
Intelligence Minister Mahmoud Alavi (as reported by Radio Farda, May 2018)

These individuals are not spies.

Radio Farda
Communities and civil society
Niloufar Bayani

She told the court she “confessed” only after being “broken” by torture and later retracted; her letters describe at least 1,200 hours of interrogation.

Amnesty International
Communities and civil society
Payam Derafshan, lawyer for the defendants

The object described as a spy antenna was “merely a fishing rod”.

Radio Farda
International bodies
UN experts (23 February 2018)

It is hard to fathom how work to preserve Iranian flora and fauna can be linked to espionage; they called for release and an impartial investigation.

Center for Human Rights in Iran (reproducing the UN experts' statement)
International bodies
David R. Boyd, UN Special Rapporteur (2020)

There is no evidence against the imprisoned individuals.

Mongabay
Communities and civil society
Amnesty International (March 2019)

A “grossly unfair trial” that “relied almost entirely on ‘confessions’ allegedly made under torture”; it called the defendants prisoners of conscience.

Amnesty International
Communities and civil society
Human Rights Watch (November 2019)

Called the sentences unjust and said they reflected the abusive nature of Iran's revolutionary courts.

Human Rights Watch
Company or project
Panthera

Its last material interaction with the foundation was the 2017 sale of 45 camera traps.

Mongabay
How Kavous Seyed-Emami died
Government and regulators
Tehran prosecutor Abbas Jafari-Dolatabadi, to ILNA

He committed suicide in prison.

RFE/RL
Communities and civil society
Raam Seyed-Emami and the family

The family could not believe the suicide account and asked for an independent autopsy.

RFE/RL
Communities and civil society
Amnesty International (2019)

Authorities refused to release his body unless the family agreed to an immediate burial without an independent autopsy; no independent investigation was held.

Amnesty International
Communities and civil society
Human Rights Watch (2019)

The family described the circumstances as suspicious and authorities had not conducted an impartial investigation.

Human Rights Watch
International bodies
UN experts (23 February 2018)

His death was “extremely disturbing”; they called for an impartial investigation.

Center for Human Rights in Iran (reproducing the UN experts' statement)
Fairness of the 2019 trial and sentences
Government and regulators
Judiciary spokesman Gholamhossein Esmaili

Confirmed the verdicts of Branch 15 and, on 18 February 2020, the upholding of the sentences on appeal.

Mongabay
Communities and civil society
Human Rights Watch

Defendants were not allowed to read the full indictment or the evidence file.

Human Rights Watch
Communities and civil society
Amnesty International

The defendants had no lawyer of their own choosing at any stage.

Amnesty International
Government and regulators
Bärbel Kofler, German human rights commissioner

“I am shocked.” She urged the release of the conservationists.

RFE/RL

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • The cameras were installed ostensibly for environmental monitoring but in fact watched missile activities, under CIA and Mossad officers.
    Tehran prosecutor Abbas Jafari Dolatabadi, via Mehr · Eghtesad News (Mehr)
  • An “antenna” said to be a spying device belonging to Seyed-Emami was aired on state television.
    State television, as described by Radio Farda · Radio Farda
  • The charge was changed to collaborating with the United States and Israel “to spy for the CIA and Mossad”.
    Judiciary spokesman Gholamhossein Esmaili, as reported by Human Rights Watch · Human Rights Watch

Recorded

  • Branch 15 of the Tehran Revolutionary Court convicted eight defendants on 20 November 2019 of collaborating with the enemy state of the United States, with sentences of 4–10 years.
  • Niloufar Bayani was ordered to return US$360,000 in “illicit funds”, calculated from her UNEP salary over six years.
  • A Tehran appeals court upheld the sentences on 18 February 2020.
  • A government committee concluded in May 2018 that there was no evidence the detainees were spies.
  • Kavous Seyed-Emami died in custody on 9 February 2018; authorities gave suicide as the cause; no independent autopsy or investigation took place.
  • Amnesty recorded at least 63 conservationists, environmental scientists and activists arrested in Iran in 2018.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
No figure published.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Amount Niloufar Bayani was ordered to return as “illicit funds”$0.36m
Annual UNEP salary multiplied by six years (Human Rights Watch).
Currency: USD · Window: 2019 order. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • iran-judiciary (October 2019 – February 2020): Judiciary spokesman Gholamhossein Esmaili confirmed the Branch 15 verdicts and said the charge had been changed to cooperating with the United States and Israel; on 18 February 2020 he said seven were convicted of cooperating with the hostile state of the US, with 6–10 years, and one with 4 years. · Human Rights Watch
  • iran-doe (22 May 2018): The Department head, Isa Kalantari, said on 22 May 2018 that a government committee had found no evidence they were spies. · Human Rights Watch
  • panthera (December 2019): Said its last material interaction with the foundation was in early 2017, when the foundation purchased 45 camera traps from Panthera, and that unnamed authorities, presumably American, had asked it not to comment during the trial. · Mongabay
  • unep (2020): UNEP Executive Director Inger Andersen called for clemency. · Mongabay

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

  1. 2018–2019Claimant won$0.36m ordered returned by Niloufar Bayani as “illicit funds”
    Prosecution of PWHF conservationists for collaborating with the United States
    Branch 15, Revolutionary Court, Tehran · Criminal · Tehran prosecutors → Morad Tahbaz, Niloufar Bayani, Houman Jowkar, Taher Ghadirian, Amirhossein Khaleghi, Sepideh Kashani, Sam Rajabi, Abdolreza Kouhpayeh

    Trial in January–February 2019. On 20 November 2019 the court convicted the eight of “collaborating with the enemy state of the United States” and sentenced Morad Tahbaz to 10 years; Niloufar Bayani to 10 years and the return of US$360,000; Houman Jowkar and Taher Ghadirian to 8 years; Amirhossein Khaleghi, Sepideh Kashani and Sam Rajabi to 6 years; and Abdolreza Kouhpayeh to 4 years on a lesser charge (“collusion”, per Mongabay). Pre-trial charges reported by Amnesty in March 2019 were efsad fil arz (which can carry the death penalty), espionage, and cooperating with hostile states. Morad Tahbaz was also ordered to repay “illicit income”; the amount was not reported. Human Rights Watch

  2. 2019–2020Defendant won
    Appeal by the PWHF defendants
    Court of appeal, Tehran · Appeal · The defendants (appellants) → State prosecution

    On 18 February 2020 the appeals court upheld the sentences. Judiciary spokesman Gholamhossein Esmaili said seven were convicted of cooperating with the hostile state of the United States and sentenced to 6–10 years, and Abdolreza Kouhpayeh to 4 years. Mongabay

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Prison terms, 2019
4–10 years
Eight convictions at Branch 15 of the Tehran Revolutionary Court
Order to return funds
US$360,000
Niloufar Bayani, calculated from six years of UNEP salary
Environmental activists arrested in Iran, 2018
at least 63
Amnesty International
Death in custody
1
Kavous Seyed-Emami, 9 February 2018

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Accounts

  • Disputed Whether the camera-trap monitoring was espionage
  • Disputed How Kavous Seyed-Emami died
  • Disputed Fairness of the 2019 trial and sentences

Record

  • Not measured Not measured: the effect of the arrests on cheetah monitoring in Iran.
  • None on record None on record: an independent investigation into the death of Kavous Seyed-Emami; Amnesty (2019), Human Rights Watch (2019) and the family (2020) state that none was allowed.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the written judgments. Human Rights Watch reports that the defendants were not allowed to read the full indictment or evidence file; Amnesty reports they had no lawyer of their own choosing at any stage.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amount of the “illicit income” Morad Tahbaz was ordered to repay.
  • Unclear Unclear: the exact release dates of Abdolreza Kouhpayeh, Amirhossein Khaleghi and Sam Rajabi.
  • Unclear Unclear: whether the “illicit funds” orders were enforced or ended with the 2024 pardons.
  • Unclear Unclear: the arrest date: 24 January 2018 in most sources; one Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty article body gives “February 24”.

Did the harm stop?

Not on record. The eight convicted were released between 2020 and April 2024 and the founder died in custody in February 2018; no source describes the state of cheetah monitoring afterwards.

Who paid?

The defendants served prison terms of up to 10 years, Niloufar Bayani was ordered to return US$360,000, and Kavous Seyed-Emami died in custody. Whether the order was enforced is not on record.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project✓ Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers✓ International bodies

Communities and civil society

  1. Iran: Environmentalists Sentenced
    Human Rights Watch · 2019-11-22

International bodies

  1. UN Experts: Iran's Spying Charges Against Wildlife Activists “Hard to Fathom”
    Center for Human Rights in Iran (reproducing the UN experts' statement) · 2018-02-23

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Institutions

IUCN Red List
The International Union for Conservation of Nature and its global list assessing species' risk of extinction.

Carbon and conservation finance

Voluntary carbon market
Trade in carbon credits bought by choice, mostly by companies, outside legally binding emission schemes.