Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A German foundation that took over the UN Environment Programme's tree campaign reported 13.6 billion trees planted. The figure has no independent verification; Die Zeit reported that older UN counts were mixed into it.
Foundation's own count.
- Plant-for-the-Planet — Control of the UN Environment Programme's tree-planting campaign and its count, reported at 13.6 billion trees (the foundation's own figure) Wikipedia
- Crowther Lab, ETH Zurich — Set up in 2017 with German Development Ministry funding channelled through the foundation (amount not on record) Wikipedia
- Eni, Frontera Energy and Adani Group — Listed as tree pledgers on the World Economic Forum's 1t.org platform, where 134.4 billion trees had been pledged and 2.6 billion planted or protected by May 2024 (Bloomberg analysis) REDD-Monitor
What happened
Plant-for-the-Planet, a German foundation, took over the UN Environment Programme's (UNEP) tree-planting campaign and reported that 13.6 billion trees had been planted. The figure has no independent verification. Die Zeit reported that older UN counts had been mixed into the total.
In 2016 the foundation applied for funding from the German Development Ministry. The Crowther Lab at ETH Zurich was set up in 2017 with this funding, channelled through the foundation.
In July 2019 the lab's Bastin and colleagues wrote in Science that 0.9 billion hectares of new forest could store 205 gigatonnes of carbon. The lab worked with a public-relations firm to promote the paper. A comment led by Joseph Veldman in October 2019 found the carbon estimate about five times too high and noted that grasslands and savannas had been counted as land for trees. The authors published a correction in 2020.
In November 2023 the same team found that 61% of a 226-gigatonne potential came from protecting existing forests.
The World Economic Forum's separate 1t.org platform, launched in 2020, had 134.4 billion trees pledged by May 2024, according to a Bloomberg analysis; 2.6 billion had been planted or protected. Pledgers included the oil company Eni, Frontera Energy and the Adani Group.
- 2011Foundation's role in the UN tree campaign (period covered by the record begins)
- 2016Foundation applies to German Development Ministry for funding
- 2017Crowther Lab at ETH Zurich set up with the funding
- 2019Bastin et al. in Science: 205 Gt carbon on 0.9bn ha (Jul); Veldman comment: estimate about 5× too high (Oct)
- 2020Authors publish correction; WEF's 1t.org launched
- 2023Same team: 61% of potential from protecting existing forests (Nov)
- 2024Bloomberg: 134.4bn trees pledged to 1t.org, 2.6bn planted or protected (May)
What was said
“Launched in 2020 in support of the UN Decade of Ecosystem Restoration.”
How it looked
Shown
- 13.6 billion trees planted
- Tree planting as the leading climate solution (2019 study)
- A trillion trees
Recorded
- 13.6 billion: the foundation's own count, no independent verification
- Older UN counts reported mixed into the total (Die Zeit)
- Lab behind the 2019 study set up with ministry funding channelled through the foundation
- 2019 carbon estimate found about five times too high; correction in 2020
- 1t.org: 134.4bn pledged, 2.6bn planted or protected (May 2024)
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
Money
- None on record German Development Ministry funding channelled through the foundation to set up the Crowther Lab — Amount not in the source record.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Record
- None on record How the 13.6 billion figure was counted and how many trees survive: no independent verification.
- Insufficient Reported, not verified: Die Zeit and Stern reported that some of the foundation's planting sites in Yucatán, Mexico, were already forested, burned or under up to two metres of water, and that a publisher suspended its support.
- None on record The amount of German Development Ministry funding channelled through the foundation.
- Disputed 1t.org's own legacy page gives 9.7 billion trees committed by 93 companies, against 134.4 billion pledged in the Bloomberg analysis; the difference is not explained.
Did the harm stop?
Not applicable.
Who paid?
Not quantified.
Sources
Company or project
- 1t.org legacy pageForest Future Alliance · current
- More than 2.5 billion trees to be conserved, restored, grown by 2030World Economic Forum · 2021-09-23
Press and investigations
- Plant-for-the-PlanetWikipedia · current
- Reforesting is a good idea, but it is necessary to know where and howAgência FAPESP · 2019-10-23
Communities and civil society
- Remember the headlines: tree planting…REDD-Monitor · 2019-10-05
- Can trees solve the climate crisis? Unfortunately, no (note on Bastin et al.'s erratum)Climate Interactive · 2020-08-14
- Billionaires aren't going to save… (citing Bloomberg)REDD-Monitor · 2024-08-12
Researchers
- Diverse forests hold huge carbon potential as long as we cut emissionsETH Zurich · 2023-11-13
Connected cases
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: Author of the 2011 Ogoniland assessment
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Adani Group became largest shareholder of NDTV India · 2022
- Adani Group (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: largest shareholder
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- APRIL pulp suppliers linked to forest loss and Cerrado eucalyptus growth Brazil · 2010–2024
- World Economic Forum (International organisation) — here: Launched the 1t.org platform; there: Convened the 1t.org tree-planting platform
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- Eni (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- Campaigners claim Suzano eucalyptus dried over 130 streams in Brazil Brazil · 2021–2022
- World Economic Forum (International organisation) — here: Launched the 1t.org platform; there: Ran the 1t.org tree initiative
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- DuPont CFC phase-out and the ozone treaty United States · 1974–2019
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: Hosts the Montreal Protocol ozone secretariat
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Eni bought Zambian forest credits as a community received about EUR 50,000 Zambia · 2021–2023
- Eni (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests
- Gaza reconstruction and the Board of Peace's first contract Palestine (Gaza Strip) · 2024–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: Estimated rubble clearance time and cost
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Half-Earth and 30x30 advocacy funding (Wyss Campaign for Nature) Global · 2016–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: Co-author of the Protected Planet Report 2024
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Client at the time of COP27
- Indian state allocated sacred groves to solar parks recorded as barren land India · 2023–2026
- Adani Group (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: Holder of the Nedan village allocation (cancelled) and Baiya oran land (returned)
- Insurers of the Carmichael coal mine Australia · 2015–2025
- Adani Group (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: Owner group of the mine
- Italy fined Eni 5 million euros over ads calling Diesel+ green Italy · 2020
- Eni (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: fined over Diesel+ advertising
- Kahuzi-Biega National Park: Batwa evictions and killings DR Congo · 1975–2024
- German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (Government) — here: Funder of the Crowther Lab via the foundation; there: Ministry on whose behalf KfW funds the park
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- Eni (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared
- MV Rak Carrier coal and oil spill (Mumbai) India · 2011–2016
- Adani Group (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: Ordered to pay Rs 5 crore for coal left on the seabed
- Net Zero Banking Alliance exits and closure International · 2023–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: UN body whose statement on the 2023 insurer exits was reported
- Net-Zero Insurance Alliance collapse and insurers’ fossil underwriting Global · 2021–2025
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: Convener of NZIA
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Northern Lights partner
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger (2021 list); there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- Tropical Forest Forever Facility Brazil · 2025
- German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (Government) — here: Funder of the Crowther Lab via the foundation; there: Pledged 1 billion euros over 10 years (via Germany's environment ministry)
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- Eni (Company) — here: 1t.org pledger; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: Convenes the negotiations; issued the announcement of the new chair
- UNEP estimate: about 2,000 tons of depleted uranium used in Iraq Iraq · date not stated
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Original owner of the tree campaign; there: Estimated the quantity of uranium used (about 2,000 tons)