Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Credits from upstream emission reduction projects in China were used to meet part of Germany's fuel quota. After re-examination, the environment agency rejected 215,000 credits in September 2024 and the system was closed.
- Shell — Named among companies that used the credits, as reported by ZDF Clean Energy Wire
- TotalEnergies — Named among companies that used the credits, as reported by ZDF Clean Energy Wire
- Holders of certificates from the suspect projects — No new credits are issued, but certificates already held can still be traded Clean Energy Wire
What happened
Clean Energy Wire reported in July 2024 that Germany's Federal Environment Agency (UBA) had re-examined 40 of 69 Chinese projects that German certification bodies had approved and verified.
ZDF estimated the value of the suspect projects at over 600 million euros, and Shell and TotalEnergies were named among the companies that used the credits.
ESG Post reported that in September 2024 UBA rejected the credits of eight projects, 215,000 credits worth about 18 million euros, and that Berlin prosecutors are investigating 17 people linked to verification bodies on suspicion of commercial fraud.
Clean Energy Wire reported that UBA suspended an official responsible for approvals.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record Not stated: whether Shell's or TotalEnergies' own credits were among those rejected.
- None on record Not stated: the outcome of the Berlin prosecutors' investigation.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Germany suspects serious environmental crime in Chinese CO2 reduction projectsClean Energy Wire · 2024-07-04
- German authorities reject 215,000 carbon credits following fraud investigationESG Post · 2024-09-06
Connected cases
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Credit buyer
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Claimant against Greenpeace France
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Northern Lights partner
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Northern Lights partner
- Amsterdam votes to ban fossil fuel and meat adverts; Paris court faults TotalEnergies Netherlands · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Defendant; the Paris court found its 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Majority shareholder (62%)
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Total SA: criminal liability upheld and held civilly liable (2012); could not rely on CLC channelling
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gabon planned 187 million sovereign carbon credits as TotalEnergies took a timber stake Gabon · 2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Credit buyer
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Later employer of the assessment's project manager
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Offshore wind wake effect disputes (Ørsted, UK and Germany) United Kingdom · 2020–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Lobbied on German tender rules
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Paris court finds TotalEnergies' 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading France · 2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Company found to have misled consumers
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- The Hague's fossil fuel advertising ban took effect in 2025 after court upheld it Netherlands · 2021
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Defendant in the Paris court ruling on carbon neutrality advertising
- TotalEnergies Batéké acacia carbon project (Congo) Republic of Congo · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Sub-lessee and carbon-credit sponsor of the plantation
- TotalEnergies reportedly abandoned Congo carbon plantation at 12.5% of target Uganda · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: developer of Tilenga and sponsor of the Batéké plantation
- TotalEnergies v Greenpeace France France · 2022–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Claimant
- TotalEnergies’ Tilenga oil fields in Uganda: biodiversity claims and insurance Uganda · 2021–2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: Developer of the Tilenga oil fields
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters