Gabon planned 187 million sovereign carbon credits as TotalEnergies took a timber stake
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
In 2022 Gabon planned 187 million sovereign forest carbon credits, while TotalEnergies bought 49 per cent of CBG, a timber company holding a 600,000-hectare logging concession. At stake for nature is how a whole country's forest is turned into tradable credits.
- Government of Gabon — planned 187 million sovereign credits, of which about 90 million could be sold REDD-Monitor
- TotalEnergies — bought 49 per cent of CBG, which holds a 600,000-hectare logging concession REDD-Monitor
What happened
REDD-Monitor reported in July 2022 that Gabon planned 187 million sovereign credits on behalf of the country's forest.
According to the same report, about 90 million of those credits could be sold, worth about 291 million dollars according to Bloomberg.
The same report says TotalEnergies bought 49 per cent of CBG in 2022, a timber company with a logging concession of 600,000 hectares.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record Not stated in the sources reviewed: whether any of the sovereign credits were issued or sold.
- None on record Not stated in the sources reviewed: the price TotalEnergies paid for its 49 per cent stake in CBG.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Gabon plans the world's biggest-everREDD-Monitor · 2022-07-06
Connected cases
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Amsterdam votes to ban fossil fuel and meat adverts; Paris court faults TotalEnergies Netherlands · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Defendant; the Paris court found its 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading
- Boké bauxite mining and the CBG expansion Guinea · 1974–2025
- Compagnie des Bauxites de Guinée (CBG) (Company) — here: Timber company holding the logging concession; there: Bauxite miner; borrower of the 2016 expansion loan
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Claimant against Greenpeace France
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Majority shareholder (62%)
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Total SA: criminal liability upheld and held civilly liable (2012); could not rely on CLC channelling
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gabon debt-for-nature swap Gabon · 2023
- Government of Gabon (Government) — here: Government planning the sovereign credits; there: Issuer of the bond
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Credit buyer
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Later employer of the assessment's project manager
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Northern Lights partner
- Offshore wind wake effect disputes (Ørsted, UK and Germany) United Kingdom · 2020–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Lobbied on German tender rules
- Paris court finds TotalEnergies' 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading France · 2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Company found to have misled consumers
- The Hague's fossil fuel advertising ban took effect in 2025 after court upheld it Netherlands · 2021
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Defendant in the Paris court ruling on carbon neutrality advertising
- TotalEnergies Batéké acacia carbon project (Congo) Republic of Congo · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Sub-lessee and carbon-credit sponsor of the plantation
- TotalEnergies reportedly abandoned Congo carbon plantation at 12.5% of target Uganda · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: developer of Tilenga and sponsor of the Batéké plantation
- TotalEnergies v Greenpeace France France · 2022–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Claimant
- TotalEnergies’ Tilenga oil fields in Uganda: biodiversity claims and insurance Uganda · 2021–2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: Developer of the Tilenga oil fields
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters