Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
- Communities and civil society Greenpeace Unearthed: $375m provided and 119,000 t collected, against 132 Mt of polyethylene and polypropylene produced by five members over 2019–2023. Nation of Change
- Company or project Alliance to End Plastic Waste: Its 2025 progress report counted 378,147 t reduced and 418,529 t valorised cumulatively; it called the 15 Mt goal "too ambitious". Alliance to End Plastic Waste (via AAP / Cision)
- Researchers Planet Tracker: The Alliance had reached less than 1% of its target in its first three years (September 2022). KnowESG
- Company or project Alliance to End Plastic Waste: A "mutual termination" in October 2020, citing COVID-19.
- Press and investigations Reuters, as reported by Packaging Insights: The project collected under one tonne against a 450 t target for 2020 and closed in March 2020. Packaging Insights
An industry alliance founded in 2019 pledged $1.5 billion over five years and a 15 million tonne goal. Its Ganges project collected less than one tonne before closing in 2020, and its later progress reports and independent analyses give different figures for what it has removed.
Greenpeace Unearthed, November 2024: more than 1,000 times. The Alliance's own cumulative figures are higher and use different terms (378,147 t "reduced" to 2025).
Status As of September 2026: the Alliance's 2025 progress report gives 378,147 t reduced and 418,529 t valorised against a 15 Mt goal; Unearthed (2024) put collection at 119,000 t; Renew Oceans closed in 2020.
What happened
The Alliance to End Plastic Waste (AEPW) was launched in January 2019 by 28 companies, including BASF, Dow, ExxonMobil, Shell, Procter & Gamble and SABIC, with a pledge of "$1.5 billion over the next five years". More than $1bn was committed at launch, and the goal was 15 million tonnes.
Its Renew Oceans project on the Ganges at Varanasi, India, collected less than one tonne of plastic before closing in March 2020. Its targets had been 45 t for 2019 and 450 t for 2020. The Alliance said in October 2020 that the project's end was a "mutual termination" and cited COVID-19.
In November 2024 Greenpeace's Unearthed unit reported that the Alliance had provided $375m and that 119,000 t of plastic had been collected, while five member companies (Exxon, Shell, Chevron Phillips, Total and Dow) produced 132 Mt of polyethylene and polypropylene over 2019–2023, more than 1,000 times what the Alliance removed, using Wood Mackenzie data. The Alliance called its 15 Mt goal "too ambitious".
The Alliance's own reports give different figures. Its 2024 report counted 239,985 t diverted and 253,212 t recovered since 2019. Its 2025 progress report, published in September 2026, counted 378,147 t reduced and 418,529 t valorised cumulatively, and $641m "catalysed" from third parties. Its priority countries are Brazil, Saudi Arabia (the Gulf Cooperation Council region), India, Indonesia and South Africa, with $40m for Indonesia.
Planet Tracker compared the Alliance's $1.5bn with about $400bn planned industry-wide for new plastic capacity, and Recycling Netwerk counted $89.3bn in expansion projects by Alliance members between 2014 and 2030. In September 2022 Planet Tracker said the Alliance had reached less than 1% of its target in its first three years.
- 2019January: Alliance launched with a $1.5bn, five-year pledge and a 15 Mt goal
- 2020March: Renew Oceans (Ganges) closes having collected under 1 t; October: Alliance calls it a "mutual termination", citing COVID-19
- 2022September: Planet Tracker says the Alliance had reached less than 1% of its target in three years
- 2024November: Unearthed reports $375m provided and 119,000 t collected against 132 Mt produced by five members
- 2026September: Alliance 2025 progress report gives 378,147 t reduced, 418,529 t valorised and $641m catalysed
What was said
“$1.5 billion over the next five years”
“mutual termination”
“too ambitious”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
$375m provided and 119,000 t collected, against 132 Mt of polyethylene and polypropylene produced by five members over 2019–2023.
Nation of ChangeIts 2025 progress report counted 378,147 t reduced and 418,529 t valorised cumulatively; it called the 15 Mt goal "too ambitious".
Alliance to End Plastic Waste (via AAP / Cision)The Alliance had reached less than 1% of its target in its first three years (September 2022).
KnowESGA "mutual termination" in October 2020, citing COVID-19.
The project collected under one tonne against a 450 t target for 2020 and closed in March 2020.
Packaging InsightsThe $1.5bn compares with about $400bn planned industry-wide for new plastic capacity.
Planet TrackerAlliance members had $89.3bn in expansion projects, 2014–2030.
Recycling Netwerk (via Humusz)How it looked
Shown
- A pledge of $1.5 billion over five years and a goal of 15 million tonnesAlliance to End Plastic Waste, at launch
- 378,147 t "reduced", 418,529 t "valorised" and $641m "catalysed" from third parties, cumulative to 2025Alliance to End Plastic Waste, 2025 progress report · Alliance to End Plastic Waste (via AAP / Cision)
Recorded
- Renew Oceans (Ganges, Varanasi) collected less than 1 t (reported also as about 1 t) against targets of 45 t in 2019 and 450 t in 2020, and closed in March 2020.
- Unearthed reported that the Alliance had provided $375m and 119,000 t had been collected, while five member companies produced 132 Mt of polyethylene and polypropylene over 2019–2023.
- The Alliance called its 15 Mt goal "too ambitious".
- Alliance 2024 report: 239,985 t diverted and 253,212 t recovered since 2019.
- Alliance 2025 progress report (September 2026): 378,147 t reduced, 418,529 t valorised, $641m catalysed from third parties; priority countries Brazil, Saudi Arabia, India, Indonesia and South Africa; $40m for Indonesia.
- Planet Tracker (September 2022): the Alliance had reached less than 1% of its target in its first three years.
- Planet Tracker: the $1.5bn compares with about $400bn planned industry-wide for new plastic capacity.
- Recycling Netwerk: $89.3bn in expansion projects by Alliance members, 2014–2030.
- Packaging Insights (10 February 2023) reported about 34,000 t in the first four years, 2019–2022.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste (October 2020): Described the end of Renew Oceans as a "mutual termination" and cited COVID-19.
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste (November 2024): Called its 15 Mt goal "too ambitious". · Nation of Change
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste (2026-09-08): Its 2025 progress report counted 378,147 t reduced, 418,529 t valorised and $641m catalysed from third parties. · Alliance to End Plastic Waste (via AAP / Cision)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
- Disputed How much plastic has the Alliance removed or prevented?
- Disputed Why did the Ganges project end after collecting under one tonne?
Accounts
- Disputed Is the Alliance's funding proportionate to the scale of industry plastic production?
Record
- None on record The Alliance's actual spend by its own accounts was not found; the $375m figure is as reported by Unearthed.
- Disputed The Alliance's cumulative figures ("diverted", "recovered", "reduced", "valorised") and Unearthed's figure ("collected") use different terms and are not reconciled in the record.
- None on record Renew Oceans collected "less than 1 t" in one account and "about 1 t" in another.
Did the harm stop?
Not established in the record. Renew Oceans closed in March 2020; the Alliance continues to publish progress reports (most recently September 2026).
Who paid?
Not documented in the record; Unearthed reported $375m provided by the Alliance over its first five years.
Sources
Company or project
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste releases 2025 Progress ReportAlliance to End Plastic Waste (via AAP / Cision) · 2026-09-08
Press and investigations
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste accused of producing more plastic waste than it collectsPackaging Europe · 2024-11
- Report: Alliance to End Plastic Waste's progress slow, clearer targets neededKnowESG · 2022-09-05
Communities and civil society
- Planet Tracker analysis of industry-wide planned plastic capacityPlanet Tracker · 2022
- Over $89 billion in plastic expansion projectsRecycling Netwerk (via Humusz) · 2022
Connected cases
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Claimant against Greenpeace France
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Defendant in all three suits
- Coca-Cola plastic pledges and brand audits United States · 2018
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste (Association) — here: Industry alliance; launched January 2019; there: Industry alliance, subject of a Greenpeace analysis
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Analyst of the alliance's results
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Credit buyer
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Credit buyer
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands (ExxonMobil)
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- McKinsey advice to COP28 presidency and fossil clients United Arab Emirates · 2011–2025
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: McKinsey client; subject of the Massachusetts document order
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Author of the 2011 report on McKinsey's cost curves
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Northern Lights partner
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Northern Lights partner
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Producer funder of the study
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Producer funder of the study
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Claimant
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Defendant; paid the RNLI and accepted exclusion zones
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste (Association) — here: Industry alliance; launched January 2019; there: Industry alliance with a 15-million-tonne pledge
- Dow (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Seven registered lobbyists at Geneva
- 1,4-dioxane in Tide: Prop 65 settlement and New York limit United States · 2011–2024
- Procter & Gamble (Company) — here: Founding member; there: Maker of Tide (reported tests and settlement unverified)
- Amsterdam votes to ban fossil fuel and meat adverts; Paris court faults TotalEnergies Netherlands · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Defendant; the Paris court found its 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading
- Bayer buys Monsanto for $66bn; four firms hold most seed and pesticide sales Global · 2018
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: Bought businesses sold to win approval
- Bien Hoa dioxin cleanup and Agent Orange suit (Tran To Nga) Vietnam · 2020
- Dow (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Defendant named in the French suit
- BP's Gulf spill used Corexit; Nalco board had ex-BP and Exxon executives United States · date not stated
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Company whose former executives sat on Nalco's board
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- Brent Spar decommissioning controversy (North Sea) United Kingdom · 1995–2019
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Campaigner in the Brent Spar controversy
- California v. ExxonMobil: plastics recycling claims and the Baytown plant United States · 2021–2026
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Operator of the Baytown advanced recycling plant; defendant in the California case; claimant in the defamation suit
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Dark Basin hacking of climate groups (#ExxonKnew) United States · 2023
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Company that denied knowledge
- Dicamba drift (Bader Farms) and EPA re-registration United States · 2015–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: Dicamba seller; co-defendant in the Bader case
- Dow to cut air pollution at four US chemical plants under Clean Air Act settlement United States · 2021
- Dow (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: company party to the settlement
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Majority shareholder (62%)
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- EDF spying on Greenpeace (France) France · 2011–2013
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Organisation placed under surveillance; awarded damages at first instance
- Energy Transfer v Greenpeace (Dakota Access) United States · 2017–2026
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Defendant in the federal suit
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Total SA: criminal liability upheld and held civilly liable (2012); could not rely on CLC channelling
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: Largest exporter (over 33,000 t in 2024)
- EU bans three neonicotinoid pesticides outdoors in 2018; Turkey follows in part European Union · 2018
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: campaigner and reporter on exports
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- EU seal-product ban's Inuit exemption found ineffective Canada · 2014
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Campaigner; apology issuer (unverified)
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Tanker owner's parent; pleaded guilty; paid $900m civil damages and $507.5m punitive damages
- Gabon planned 187 million sovereign carbon credits as TotalEnergies took a timber stake Gabon · 2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Greenpeace leaves the Forest Stewardship Council in 2018 Global · 2018
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Organisation that ended its FSC membership
- Greenpeace says fisheries scientist Ray Hilborn got $3.56m from seafood groups United States · 2003–2016
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: complainant; reported the funding figures
- Halmahera nickel complex (IWIP, Weda Bay) and the Hongana Manyawa Indonesia · 2018–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: Withdrew from a project with Eramet in 2024
- Hefty EnergyBag plastic marketed as recycling was burned in cement kilns United States · 2017–2020
- Dow (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: programme partner
- Hess agreed to buy at least US$750 million of Guyana forest credits Guyana · 2011–2032
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Campaign group that criticised the plan
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Indian indigo area and exports fell sharply, 1895 to 1956 India · 1895–1956
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: Named as an early seller of synthetic indigo (reported, not verified)
- Indonesia's forest moratorium: ministry cited 38% less clearing, Greenpeace disputed it Indonesia · 2011–2019
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: critic; published satellite analysis
- Jury awards $250 million punitive damages over dicamba drift, later overturned United States · 2020–2022
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: defendant
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Credit buyer
- Keep America Beautiful founding and Crying Indian ad (US) United States · 1953–2023
- Dow (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Partner in the Hefty EnergyBag programme
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Major agrochemical firms buy biological input makers and sell organic-approved lines Multiple countries · 2012–2023
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: Ranked third in 2023 biologicals sales
- Marine genetic sequence patents (BASF) and BBNJ Global · 2018–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: Holder of 47% of counted patented marine sequences (reported)
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Later employer of the assessment's project manager
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Ocean Conservancy withdraws 2015 plastic incineration recommendation Global · 2015–2022
- Dow (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Co-funder of the 2015 report
- Offshore wind wake effect disputes (Ørsted, UK and Germany) United Kingdom · 2020–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Lobbied on German tender rules
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Paris court finds TotalEnergies' 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading France · 2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Company found to have misled consumers
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Plastic recycling symbol, resin codes and “advanced recycling” claims (United States) United States · 1970–2026
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Defendant in California's suit; operator of the Baytown facility; claimant in the defamation suit
- Plastic waste imports into Türkiye (Adana) Türkiye · 2016–2026
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Reported UK plastic at Adana dumping sites (2021)
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Named credit buyer
- Raja Ampat nickel licences revoked Indonesia · 2025
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Campaign organisation; reported more than 500 hectares destroyed
- Resolute Forest Products v Greenpeace Canada · 2012–2024
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Defendant in the US case; campaigner
- Russia declares WWF and Greenpeace 'undesirable' organisations Russia · 2023
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Declared undesirable and closed in Russia
- Russia labels WWF Russia a foreign agent, then an undesirable organisation Russia · 2023
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Declared undesirable on 19 May 2023
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Satartia CO2 pipeline rupture (Mississippi) United States · 2020–2025
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Acquired Denbury in 2023
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- The four biggest agrochemical firms each bought a biologicals company, 2012 to 2026 Global · 2012–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Founding member; there: bought AgBiTech
- The Hague's fossil fuel advertising ban took effect in 2025 after court upheld it Netherlands · 2021
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Defendant in the Paris court ruling on carbon neutrality advertising
- TotalEnergies Batéké acacia carbon project (Congo) Republic of Congo · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Sub-lessee and carbon-credit sponsor of the plantation
- TotalEnergies reportedly abandoned Congo carbon plantation at 12.5% of target Uganda · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: developer of Tilenga and sponsor of the Batéké plantation
- TotalEnergies v Greenpeace France France · 2022–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Claimant
- TotalEnergies’ Tilenga oil fields in Uganda: biodiversity claims and insurance Uganda · 2021–2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Developer of the Tilenga oil fields
- Turmeric, neem, basmati, Nap Hal patent revocations India · 2004–2022
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: Declared victory on the Nap Hal wheat revocation
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- UK packaging recycling notes (PRN) system and export fraud United Kingdom · 2009–2025
- Greenpeace (NGO) — here: Its Unearthed unit published the 2024 comparison; there: NGO; found UK plastic at sites in Adana
- US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing United States · 2025
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed; there: Named inauguration-fund donor