US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The One Big Beautiful Bill Act lowered federal royalty shares for onshore oil and gas and for coal, and opens 4 million acres of coal land to leasing, according to the sources cited. The cited analysis says oil, gas and coal producers gain while the public's revenue share falls.
- Oil, gas and coal producers — Lower royalty rates and wider leasing, per the cited analysis
- US public, through its federal revenue share — Smaller federal royalty share, per the cited analysis
What happened
According to the sources cited (NPR, June 2025, and Outdoor Alliance, August 2026), the law lowered the federal royalty share for onshore oil and gas to 12.5 percent and for coal to 7 percent.
The same sources say 4 million acres of coal land will be opened to leasing, and that at least two Gulf lease sales a year will be held until 2039.
A US Interior Department source dated 22 July 2025 gives at least 19.15 million dollars from fossil-fuel-linked donors to the inauguration fund; 43 of 111 reviewed appointees had fossil-fuel ties.
Chevron, Exxon, ConocoPhillips and Occidental were named among the donors. The sources reviewed document an overlap between those donors and the sector that gains from the law, but not a causal link.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The Interior Department source is cited by date only; no link is given in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not show whether the donations influenced the law.
- Unclear Whether the new coal and Gulf leasing has led to lease sales or production is not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The Outdoor Alliance analysis (August 2026) is cited without a link in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- Global CCS Institute on the One Big Beautiful Bill Act and 45Q (July 2025)Global CCS Institute · 2025-07-08
Connected cases
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: recipient of DAC hub support, 2023
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- BP's Gulf spill used Corexit; Nalco board had ex-BP and Exxon executives United States · date not stated
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Company whose former executives sat on Nalco's board
- California v. ExxonMobil: plastics recycling claims and the Baytown plant United States · 2021–2026
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Operator of the Baytown advanced recycling plant; defendant in the California case; claimant in the defamation suit
- Chevron owns Richmond's 'local news' site, which carries no leak reporting United States · date not stated
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: owner of the news site
- Chevron pleads no contest to six counts over 2012 Richmond refinery fire United States · 2012–2013
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: company that pleaded no contest
- Chevron, Texaco and the Lago Agrio judgment: the RICO ruling and the Donziger cases Ecuador · 1995–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Defendant in the Ecuadorian judgment; plaintiff in the US RICO case; claimant in the arbitration
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Dark Basin hacking of climate groups (#ExxonKnew) United States · 2023
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Company that denied knowledge
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Tanker owner's parent; pleaded guilty; paid $900m civil damages and $507.5m punitive damages
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: operator of Gorgon LNG
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands (ExxonMobil)
- Hess agreed to buy at least $750m of Guyana forest credits Guyana · 2022–2032
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: acquired Hess
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: agency client
- Isle de Jean Charles relocation and a $744.6m Chevron coastal-loss verdict United States · 2016–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Defendant in the Plaquemines Parish coastal-loss case
- Leaked DOE list marks first tranches for two direct air capture hubs 'terminate' United States · 2021
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: lead of the South Texas hub
- Love Canal (New York) United States · 1980–1995
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Successor to Hooker; defendant and payer
- Love Canal: appeals court upholds insurer's pollution exclusion in plumber case United States · 1980–2017
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: defendant in insurers' Love Canal actions
- McKinsey advice to COP28 presidency and fossil clients United Arab Emirates · 2011–2025
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: McKinsey client; subject of the Massachusetts document order
- Occidental buys Holocene as US carbon removal staff is cut to one person United States · 2023–2025
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Acquirer of Holocene and Carbon Engineering
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- Occidental Petroleum (Hooker / OxyChem) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Owner and developer of Stratos
- Paraquat litigation (Syngenta/Chevron) and the Paraquat Papers United States · 1958–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986
- Plastic recycling symbol, resin codes and “advanced recycling” claims (United States) United States · 1970–2026
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Defendant in California's suit; operator of the Baytown facility; claimant in the defamation suit
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Producer funder of the study
- Satartia CO2 pipeline rupture (Mississippi) United States · 2020–2025
- Exxon Corporation (ExxonMobil from 1999) (Company) — here: Named inauguration-fund donor; there: Acquired Denbury in 2023