US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
In December 2008 the US Securities and Exchange Commission changed how oil and gas companies report proved reserves, using a 12-month average price instead of the year-end price. Companies present reserves to investors as a measure of their future, and the sources show reported reserves moving with the price used.
What happened
The SEC's Release 33-8995, dated 31 December 2008, replaced the year-end one-day price with the average of first-day prices over the previous 12 months, effective from fiscal 2009, according to Deloitte's guide.
Reserve data cited in the sources show the SEC average price at end-2014 was $94.42 a barrel, against a WTI close of $53.27 on 31 December 2014.
The same data show Chesapeake's proved reserves fell from 2.469 billion to 1.504 billion barrels of oil equivalent in 2015, a price-driven drop of 1.098 billion, before rising 14% in 2016.
Imperial Oil's 0.6 billion barrels of Cold Lake bitumen left its proved reserves in 2020 and returned in 2021, according to its 2021 10-K filing.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: ConocoPhillips removed 1.75 billion barrels of oil equivalent from its reserves in 2016, about 70% of it Canadian oil sands, and said its development plans would not be significantly affected.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: ExxonMobil's proved reserves fell from 22.4 to 15.2 billion barrels in 2020, and 9 trillion cubic feet of US gas from its XTO acquisition fell out before being counted as proved again in 2021.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Kearl oil sands in Canada moved in and out of ExxonMobil's proved reserves four times between 2016 and 2021; no source entry is given.
- None on record Not stated: who gained from the rule change, or whether companies changed how they reported reserves.
- None on record Not stated: whether the rule changed production or investment plans.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Company or project
- Imperial Oil 10-K annual report 2021 (SEC filing)Imperial Oil · 2021
Connected cases
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: $525m settlement with BP
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Deutsche Bank's DWS paid penalties in US and Germany over ESG claims Germany · 2023–2025
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: Imposed 19 million dollar penalty in 2023
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines United States · 2020–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023
- ExxonMobil cut and restored Kearl oil-sands reserves as oil prices moved Canada · 2016–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Reporting company
- ExxonMobil sues California attorney general and four green groups for defamation United States · 2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Plaintiff in the defamation suit
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Listed a Conservation International director in its 2026 proxy
- Fresh Del Monte closure of four Costa Rica banana farms Costa Rica · 2019
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: Recipient of the company's quarterly filing
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Client at the time of COP27
- Indigenous people not informed of industrial development for about nine months Canada · 2024
- Imperial Oil (Company) — here: reported Cold Lake bitumen removed and returned, 2020 to 2021; there: defendant in the lawsuit
- Kivalina village in Alaska still awaits relocation after 2008 suit against ExxonMobil United States · 1992–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Defendant in the 2008 suit
- Mobil advertorials cast doubt on climate science; media studios later sold oil content United States · 1970–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Ran Mobil and ExxonMobil advertorials and sponsored content
- NYSE natural asset company proposal withdrawn United States · 2021–2024
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: Regulator that opened a formal review in December 2023
- Ohio HB6 bribery scandal United States · 2017–2026
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: Recorded a $100m payment by the company
- Refugio / Plains Line 901 oil spill (California) United States · 2015–2025
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006
- Sierra Club donations from Chesapeake Energy United States · 2007–2012
- Chesapeake Energy (Company) — here: reported price-driven reserve fall in 2015; there: Natural gas producer whose head and associates gave the money
- Simandou iron ore project, Guinea Guinea · 2008–2026
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: Regulator; settlement with Rio Tinto
- Study finds Exxon's internal papers accepted warming; its advertorials cast doubt United States · 1977
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: company whose documents and advertorials were analyzed
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Defendant in California suit; six registered lobbyists at Geneva
- US chemical recycling plants run far below capacity, and some have closed United States · 2024–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: Operator of the Baytown plant
- US regulator said Keurig did not disclose recycler doubts about pod recycling United States · 2022–2024
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: US regulator
- US Supreme Court hears Boulder County's climate suit against Suncor and Exxon United States · 2018
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: reported reserve reductions (not verified); there: defendant and petitioner
- Vale Brumadinho dam collapse Brazil · 2019–2027
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule; there: US securities regulator; $55.9m settlement