Refugio / Plains Line 901 oil spill (California)
A Plains All American pipeline released 2,934 barrels of oil in Santa Barbara County, California, in May 2015, 598 of them into the Pacific. Plains reported total costs of $870 million and lost an insurance arbitration in January 2025 over a $230 million class action settlement.
As reported in Plains’ filings; a further $225m insurance receivable was written off in Q4 2024.
Status As of January 2025 (reported in Plains’ FY2024 Form 10-K): the insurance arbitration was lost and the $225 million receivable written off; no later ruling found.
- Insurers holding the remaining cover — The $175 million claim against them failed in arbitration in January 2025, per Plains’ disclosure. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
- Plains All American Pipeline — Reported total costs of $870 million, collected about $280 million from insurers, and wrote off a $225 million insurance receivable. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
- Pacific coast and ocean at Santa Barbara County — 598 barrels of oil entered the Pacific; natural resource damages of $22.3 million were recorded. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
What happened
In May 2015 the Line 901 pipeline of Plains All American Pipeline released 2,934 barrels of oil in Santa Barbara County, California. Of these, 598 barrels entered the Pacific Ocean.
Plains reported total costs of $870 million. Its 2015 insurance programme had a limit of $500 million, and Plains collected about $280 million, of which $275 million came from that programme.
A class action settlement of $230 million was paid in October 2022. Plains claimed it from its insurers in November 2022. In the fourth quarter of 2022, insurers responsible for the majority of the remaining cover “formally communicated a denial of coverage”. According to Plains’ filings, the insurers said the settlement damages were “not covered” and that earlier payments did not “properly exhaust the underlying policies”. The SEC questioned the receivable in May 2023.
Plains began arbitration against the insurers in March 2023, and the hearing ended in October 2024. Plains wrote off the full $225 million insurance receivable in the fourth quarter of 2024. In January 2025 the panel ruled that, in Plains’ words, “a substantial portion of our claims. were not covered under the applicable policy”. The $175 million claim failed, and the remaining $50 million against other insurers was judged “less than probable”.
Plains’ regulatory filings also list criminal fines of $3.35 million, a civil penalty of $24 million under a consent decree and natural resource damages of $22.3 million.
- 2015May: Line 901 releases 2,934 barrels in Santa Barbara County, 598 barrels into the Pacific; $500 million insurance programme in place
- 2022October: $230 million class action settlement paid; November: Plains claims it from insurers; Q4: insurers formally deny coverage
- 2023March: Plains begins arbitration; May: SEC questions the receivable
- 2024October: arbitration hearing ends; Q4: Plains writes off the $225 million receivable
- 2025January: panel rules a substantial portion of Plains’ claims were not covered; $175 million claim fails
What was said
“formally communicated a denial of coverage”
“not covered”
“properly exhaust the underlying policies”
“a substantial portion of our claims. were not covered under the applicable policy”
“less than probable”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Claimed the settlement from its insurers in November 2022 and arbitrated from March 2023; a $175 million claim and about $50 million more against other insurers were at issue.
Plains All American Pipeline / SECThe settlement damages were “not covered” and earlier payments did not “properly exhaust the underlying policies”.
Plains All American Pipeline / SECIn January 2025, “a substantial portion of our claims. were not covered under the applicable policy”; the $175 million claim failed.
Plains All American Pipeline / SECHow it looked
Shown
- Total costs of the incident of $870 million, of which about $280 million was collected from insurers.Plains All American Pipeline, FY2024 Form 10-K · Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
- A $225 million write-off of the insurance receivable in the fourth quarter of 2024.Plains All American Pipeline, FY2024 reporting · Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
Recorded
- 2,934 barrels released, 598 barrels into the Pacific.
- Insurance programme limit of $500 million; about $275–280 million recovered.
- $230 million class action settlement paid in October 2022; insurers formally denied coverage in Q4 2022.
- Arbitration from March 2023 to January 2025; the $175 million claim failed and the remaining $50 million was judged “less than probable”.
- Criminal fines of $3.35 million, consent decree civil penalty of $24 million and natural resource damages of $22.3 million (Plains XBRL data).
- The SEC questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Plains All American Pipeline (FY2024 Form 10-K): Wrote off the full $225 million insurance receivable in Q4 2024 and said a substantial portion of its claims were not covered under the applicable policy. · Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
- Insurers under Plains’ programme (not named in the sources reviewed) (2022–2025): Said the settlement damages were not covered and that earlier payments did not properly exhaust the underlying policies, as described in Plains’ filings. No direct statement from the insurers was found. · Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2022-10Settled$230m $230 million, paid October 2022Class action settlement over the Line 901 releaseNot stated in the sources reviewed · Class action · Plaintiff class (not described in the sources reviewed) → Plains All American Pipeline
Plains paid a $230 million class action settlement in October 2022 and then claimed it from its insurers. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
- 2023-03–2025-01Defendant won$175m $175 million claim failed; about $50 million further claim against other insurers judged “less than probable”Plains v. insurers: arbitration over coverage of the settlementArbitration panel · Arbitration · Plains All American Pipeline → Insurers holding the remaining cover (not named in the sources reviewed)
The hearing ended in October 2024. Plains wrote off the full $225 million receivable in Q4 2024. In January 2025 the panel ruled, in Plains’ words, that a substantial portion of its claims were not covered under the applicable policy. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
- Outcome not on record$3.35m criminal fines (millions of dollars)Criminal case over the Line 901 releaseNot stated in the sources reviewed · Criminal · Not stated in the sources reviewed → Plains (entity not specified)
Criminal fines of $3.35 million are recorded in Plains' XBRL data. The charging authority, court and charges are not stated in the sources reviewed. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
- Settled$24m civil penalty (millions of dollars)Consent decree over the Line 901 releaseNot stated in the sources reviewed · Civil · Not stated in the sources reviewed → Plains (entity not specified)
A civil penalty of $24 million under a consent decree is recorded in Plains' XBRL data. The parties, court and dates are not stated in the sources reviewed. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
Insurers
- 2015Partly paid$280m about $280 million collected, of which $275 million from the $500 million programmeInsurers under the 2015 programme (not named in the sources reviewed) → Plains All American Pipeline
The 2015 programme had a limit of $500 million; Plains collected about $275–280 million. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
- 2022Claim refused$225m $225 million receivable written off in Q4 2024Insurers responsible for the majority of the remaining cover (not named in the sources reviewed) → Plains All American PipelineStated reason: The insurers said the settlement damages were “not covered” and that earlier payments did not “properly exhaust the underlying policies”.
Insurers formally communicated a denial of coverage in Q4 2022. Plains arbitrated from March 2023 and lost in January 2025: the $175 million claim failed and the remaining $50 million against other insurers was judged “less than probable”. Plains All American Pipeline / SEC
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Court
- Unclear Criminal case over the Line 901 release: outcome not on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Was the $230 million class action settlement covered by Plains’ insurance?
Record
- None on record Insurers’ stated grounds and the panel’s reasoning: not found beyond the passages Plains quoted in its filings.
- None on record Forum, claimants and date of the class action; forum and parties of the criminal fines, consent decree and natural resource damages: not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The arbitration panel's own reasoning was not found; the outcome is known only through Plains' filings.
- None on record The cause of the Line 901 release is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
The record shows the volume released (2,934 barrels, 598 into the Pacific) and payments, not the state of the coast after cleanup.
Who paid?
Plains reported total costs of $870 million, of which about $280 million was collected from insurers and $225 million of further insurance claims was written off after the January 2025 arbitration ruling.
Sources
Company or project
- Plains All American Pipeline, Form 10-K for fiscal year 2024Plains All American Pipeline / SEC · 2025
- Plains All American Pipeline, Exhibit 99.1 (SEC filing)Plains All American Pipeline / SEC · 2025-02
- Plains All American Pipeline, SEC filing financial report page R57Plains All American Pipeline / SEC · 2024
- Plains All American Pipeline investor relations release (node 16171)Plains All American Pipeline · 2025
Connected cases
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: $525m settlement with BP
- Deutsche Bank's DWS paid penalties in US and Germany over ESG claims Germany · 2023–2025
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: Imposed 19 million dollar penalty in 2023
- Fresh Del Monte closure of four Costa Rica banana farms Costa Rica · 2019
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: Recipient of the company's quarterly filing
- NYSE natural asset company proposal withdrawn United States · 2021–2024
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: Regulator that opened a formal review in December 2023
- Ohio HB6 bribery scandal United States · 2017–2026
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: Recorded a $100m payment by the company
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006
- Simandou iron ore project, Guinea Guinea · 2008–2026
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: Regulator; settlement with Rio Tinto
- US regulator said Keurig did not disclose recycler doubts about pod recycling United States · 2022–2024
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: US regulator
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule
- Vale Brumadinho dam collapse Brazil · 2019–2027
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023; there: US securities regulator; $55.9m settlement