Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Shell settled an investor class action for $352.6 million plus administrative costs, and the SEC took no action against three Shell executives in 2006. The sources reviewed report the 2004 reserve cut itself only as unverified.
- European investors in Shell — received a $352.6 million class action settlement, plus administrative costs Natural Gas Intelligence
What happened
Oil Change International reported in August 2006 that the SEC took no action against three Shell executives over the reserves overstatement, and that no criminal prosecution was recorded.
The same record puts Shell's total over-declaration at 4.5 billion barrels, or 23%.
Shell settled a class action with more than 50 European investors for $352.6 million plus administrative costs, according to Natural Gas Intelligence.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Shell cut its reserves in 2004 by about 20% at first, and by 23% in total (4.5 billion barrels) after later corrections.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Shell settled with the SEC for $120 million and with the UK Financial Services Authority for £17 million, without admitting guilt.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the company's chief executive resigned after the reserve cut.
- None on record Not stated: the date of the class action settlement, and whether a court approved it.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Natural Gas Intelligence item on the Shell class actionNatural Gas Intelligence ·
Communities and civil society
- Oil Change International item on the SEC decision regarding ex-Shell executivesOil Change International · 2006-08-31
Connected cases
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: $525m settlement with BP
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Deutsche Bank's DWS paid penalties in US and Germany over ESG claims Germany · 2023–2025
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: Imposed 19 million dollar penalty in 2023
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Fresh Del Monte closure of four Costa Rica banana farms Costa Rica · 2019
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: Recipient of the company's quarterly filing
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Northern Lights partner
- NYSE natural asset company proposal withdrawn United States · 2021–2024
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: Regulator that opened a formal review in December 2023
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Ohio HB6 bribery scandal United States · 2017–2026
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: Recorded a $100m payment by the company
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Named credit buyer
- Refugio / Plains Line 901 oil spill (California) United States · 2015–2025
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: Questioned the insurance receivable in May 2023
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: company whose reserves were restated; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- Simandou iron ore project, Guinea Guinea · 2008–2026
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: Regulator; settlement with Rio Tinto
- US regulator said Keurig did not disclose recycler doubts about pod recycling United States · 2022–2024
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: US regulator
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: regulator that changed the reserve pricing rule
- Vale Brumadinho dam collapse Brazil · 2019–2027
- US Securities and Exchange Commission (Public authority) — here: regulator; took no action against three executives in 2006; there: US securities regulator; $55.9m settlement