COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The December 2023 COP28 decision in Dubai encouraged carbon capture and left room for 'transition fuels'. Oil and gas companies that promote carbon capture also sit on its industry body, and the sources report that almost all 2023 carbon removal came from forestation.
- Oil and gas companies, including Shell, BP, TotalEnergies, ExxonMobil, Chevron and ADNOC — Members of the Global CCS Institute, described in the sources as the sector's international body
What happened
The COP28 decision adopted in Dubai in December 2023 encouraged carbon capture alongside a call to move away from fossil fuels, and left room for 'transition fuels', Down To Earth reported.
Global Witness reported in 2023 that Shell, BP, TotalEnergies, ExxonMobil, Chevron and the UAE's state oil company ADNOC are members of the Global CCS Institute, and that three of its six executives worked or work at Shell or BP.
The COP28 president was also chief executive of ADNOC, according to a November 2023 report.
Brad Crabtree, director of the Carbon Capture Coalition, which backs the 45Q tax credit, was appointed in April 2022 to head the Energy Department's office for fossil energy and carbon management.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the wording 'unabated fossil fuels' in draft texts has no agreed definition.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not show what the COP28 decision changed in national plans.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Think tanks, civil society caution that fossil fuels mention in GST is riddled with loopholesDown To Earth · 2023-12-14
Connected cases
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: operator of Gorgon LNG
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: agency client
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: agency client
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: agency client
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Credit buyer
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Claimant against Greenpeace France
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Client at the time of COP27
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Northern Lights partner
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Northern Lights partner
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- BP (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- Carbon Capture Coalition (Association) — here: Advocate for the 45Q tax credit; its director later led an Energy Department office; there: campaign for the 45Q credit; founding director later appointed to DOE
- Amsterdam votes to ban fossil fuel and meat adverts; Paris court faults TotalEnergies Netherlands · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Defendant; the Paris court found its 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading
- Bolivian carbon scheme claimed 55 million tonnes; review found at most 5.8 million Bolivia · 1997–2010
- BP (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here; there: company; partner in the scheme; donor to TNC
- BP “Beyond Petroleum” campaign and carbon footprint calculator United Kingdom · 2000–2025
- BP (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here; there: Launched the “Beyond Petroleum” brand and the carbon footprint calculator
- BP acquires majority stake in Finite Carbon, a US forest carbon developer United States · 2020
- BP (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here; there: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- BP (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here; there: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- BP (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here; there: Well operator and lease holder; pleaded guilty; paid $20.8bn civil settlement; self-insured
- BP's Gulf spill used Corexit; Nalco board had ex-BP and Exxon executives United States · date not stated
- BP (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here; there: Company responsible for the spill response and dispersant choice
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- Chevron owns Richmond's 'local news' site, which carries no leak reporting United States · date not stated
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: owner of the news site
- Chevron pleads no contest to six counts over 2012 Richmond refinery fire United States · 2012–2013
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: company that pleaded no contest
- Chevron, Texaco and the Lago Agrio judgment: the RICO ruling and the Donziger cases Ecuador · 1995–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Defendant in the Ecuadorian judgment; plaintiff in the US RICO case; claimant in the arbitration
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Danone, Unilever and BP scaled back sustainability goals between 2021 and 2025 Global · 2021–2025
- BP (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here; there: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Majority shareholder (62%)
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Total SA: criminal liability upheld and held civilly liable (2012); could not rely on CLC channelling
- ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines United States · 2020–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023
- ExxonMobil cut and restored Kearl oil-sands reserves as oil prices moved Canada · 2016–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Reporting company
- ExxonMobil sues California attorney general and four green groups for defamation United States · 2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Plaintiff in the defamation suit
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Listed a Conservation International director in its 2026 proxy
- Gabon planned 187 million sovereign carbon credits as TotalEnergies took a timber stake Gabon · 2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hess agreed to buy at least $750m of Guyana forest credits Guyana · 2022–2032
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: acquired Hess
- Isle de Jean Charles relocation and a $744.6m Chevron coastal-loss verdict United States · 2016–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Defendant in the Plaquemines Parish coastal-loss case
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Credit buyer
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Kivalina village in Alaska still awaits relocation after 2008 suit against ExxonMobil United States · 1992–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Defendant in the 2008 suit
- McKinsey advice to COP28 presidency and fossil clients United Arab Emirates · 2011–2025
- Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC) (Company) — here: State oil company of the UAE; its chief executive was COP28 president; there: State oil company whose chief executive was COP28 president
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Mobil advertorials cast doubt on climate science; media studios later sold oil content United States · 1970–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Ran Mobil and ExxonMobil advertorials and sponsored content
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Later employer of the assessment's project manager
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- Carbon Capture Coalition (Association) — here: Advocate for the 45Q tax credit; its director later led an Energy Department office; there: Coalition that campaigned for the 45Q credit
- Offshore wind wake effect disputes (Ørsted, UK and Germany) United Kingdom · 2020–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Lobbied on German tender rules
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Paraquat litigation (Syngenta/Chevron) and the Paraquat Papers United States · 1958–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986
- Paris court finds TotalEnergies' 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading France · 2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Company found to have misled consumers
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- Study finds Exxon's internal papers accepted warming; its advertorials cast doubt United States · 1977
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: company whose documents and advertorials were analyzed
- The Hague's fossil fuel advertising ban took effect in 2025 after court upheld it Netherlands · 2021
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Defendant in the Paris court ruling on carbon neutrality advertising
- TotalEnergies Batéké acacia carbon project (Congo) Republic of Congo · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Sub-lessee and carbon-credit sponsor of the plantation
- TotalEnergies reportedly abandoned Congo carbon plantation at 12.5% of target Uganda · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: developer of Tilenga and sponsor of the Batéké plantation
- TotalEnergies v Greenpeace France France · 2022–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Claimant
- TotalEnergies’ Tilenga oil fields in Uganda: biodiversity claims and insurance Uganda · 2021–2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Developer of the Tilenga oil fields
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Defendant in California suit; six registered lobbyists at Geneva
- US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing United States · 2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Named inauguration-fund donor
- US chemical recycling plants run far below capacity, and some have closed United States · 2024–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: Operator of the Baytown plant
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: reported reserve reductions (not verified)
- US Supreme Court hears Boulder County's climate suit against Suncor and Exxon United States · 2018
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Member of the Global CCS Institute; there: defendant and petitioner