ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
ExxonMobil bought Denbury, which operated more than 1,300 miles of CO2 pipeline, for USD 4.9 billion in November 2023. The pipelines feed enhanced oil recovery, which injects CO2 to push more oil out of ageing fields, and the sources reviewed do not show how much of that carbon stays underground.
- ExxonMobil — Acquired the Denbury CO2 pipeline network, oil fields and proved reserves for USD 4.9 billion ExxonMobil
- ExxonMobil — Benefits from a 2025 change that gives CO2 used for enhanced oil recovery the same 45Q tax credit as CO2 that is stored
- Residents near the Satartia pipeline rupture in Yazoo County — More than 200 evacuated and at least 45 taken to hospital after the February 2020 rupture; some reported lasting headaches and concentration problems three years later
What happened
ExxonMobil said on 2 November 2023 that it had completed the USD 4.9 billion acquisition of Denbury, including more than 1,300 miles of pipeline and about 46,000 barrels of oil equivalent a day.
The acquired assets included more than 200 million barrels of proved reserves, and ExxonMobil said the combined assets could cut more than 100 million tonnes of emissions a year.
The sources reviewed say a CO2 pipeline rupture at Satartia in Yazoo County on 22 February 2020 led to more than 200 evacuations and at least 45 people taken to hospital, and that Denbury filed for bankruptcy about five months later.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: ExxonMobil is reported to hold a majority stake in Imperial Oil, which is in turn reported to take part in Pathways; this comes from a researcher's memory and was not checked.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Treasury's USD 36.2 billion estimate of the 45Q cost for 2024 to 2033, and the USD 14.2 billion added by the 2025 budget law; the primary document could not be opened.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a January 2025 proposal by the pipeline regulator of a further USD 2.4 million penalty, for welds tested without an inspector.
- None on record The outcome of the lawsuit brought by residents and neighbours over the Satartia rupture is not known from the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Company or project
- ExxonMobil completes acquisition of DenburyExxonMobil · 2023-11-02
Connected cases
- Satartia CO2 pipeline rupture (Mississippi) United States · 2020–2025
- Denbury (Company) — here: Operator of the CO2 pipeline network; operator of the Satartia pipeline; filed for bankruptcy in 2020; there: Owner of the Delta pipeline
- Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) (Public authority) — here: US pipeline safety regulator; proposed the Satartia penalty; there: Federal pipeline safety regulator
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- ExxonMobil cut and restored Kearl oil-sands reserves as oil prices moved Canada · 2016–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Reporting company
- ExxonMobil sues California attorney general and four green groups for defamation United States · 2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Plaintiff in the defamation suit
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Listed a Conservation International director in its 2026 proxy
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Kivalina village in Alaska still awaits relocation after 2008 suit against ExxonMobil United States · 1992–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Defendant in the 2008 suit
- Mobil advertorials cast doubt on climate science; media studios later sold oil content United States · 1970–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Ran Mobil and ExxonMobil advertorials and sponsored content
- Study finds Exxon's internal papers accepted warming; its advertorials cast doubt United States · 1977
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: company whose documents and advertorials were analyzed
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Defendant in California suit; six registered lobbyists at Geneva
- US chemical recycling plants run far below capacity, and some have closed United States · 2024–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: Operator of the Baytown plant
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: reported reserve reductions (not verified)
- US Supreme Court hears Boulder County's climate suit against Suncor and Exxon United States · 2018
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023; there: defendant and petitioner