In Salah shale gas pilot wells and protests, 2014–2015
- Government and regulators Officials: Put the pilot wells about 150 km from the town. Al Jazeera English
- Communities and civil society Abdelkader Bouhafs, Sonatrach engineer and Shems association activist: Said the drilling was about 35 km north of the town, not 150 km; Al Jazeera also located a Halliburton base camp about 10 km north of In Salah. Al Jazeera English
- Company or project Sonatrach: Did not respond to Al Jazeera's requests for comment in May 2015. Al Jazeera English
Sonatrach announced the completion of the first shale-gas pilot wells near In Salah on 27 December 2014 and a programme of at least US$70 billion over 20 years. Protests that began on 1 January 2015 included clashes on 28 February – 1 March 2015.
CEO Said Sahnoun on state radio, January 2015, via AFP: about 20 bcm a year from 200 drill sites.
Status As of August 2025: commercial terms with ExxonMobil and Chevron for the Ahnet basin were under negotiation, according to Bloomberg; no measured environmental data from the 2014 pilot wells is on record.
- Sonatrach — Announced a programme of at least US$70 billion over 20 years; 2024 preliminary agreements with ExxonMobil and Chevron for the same basin Gulf News (AFP)
- About 40 policemen — Injured in the clashes of 28 February – 1 March 2015, two seriously (interior ministry statement) Al Jazeera English
- Ahnet basin near In Salah — No measured data on water use, flowback, contamination or seismicity is on record
What happened
According to an activist, drilling began in June 2014 without public notice. On 27 December 2014 three ministers, including the energy minister, announced that Sonatrach had finished the first shale-gas pilot wells; Sonatrach, with Halliburton, had tested shale potential near In Salah, in the Ahnet basin about 1,200 km south of Algiers.
Protests and a sit-in on Somoud square in In Salah began on 1 January 2015. The first violent clashes took place on 28 February – 1 March 2015: the Algerian interior ministry said about 40 policemen were injured in two days of riots, two seriously. The head of the 6th military region met representatives of the movement and promised an investigation into alleged excessive police force, and a defence ministry communiqué demanded that protesters leave the square. President Bouteflika vowed to continue exploration, calling shale gas a 'gift from God'.
In January 2015 Sonatrach CEO Said Sahnoun told state radio, as reported by AFP, that the company planned to invest at least US$70 billion over 20 years in shale gas, about 20 bcm a year from 200 drill sites, and that the pilot well in In Salah was producing clean gas and its waste water was being managed. He also said the company had perhaps not communicated enough about the issue. In May 2015 Al Jazeera reported that Sonatrach did not respond to requests for comment.
In May 2024 Sonatrach and ExxonMobil signed a memorandum of understanding on the Ahnet and Gourara areas, and preliminary agreements were reported with ExxonMobil and Chevron in 2024. In August 2025 Bloomberg reported that commercial terms were still under negotiation; Alnaft chairman Samir Bekhti said that 'The technical aspects have more or less been agreed upon.' Bloomberg also reported that shale efforts had been shelved in 2016 after resident protests.
- 2014Drilling begins in June according to an activist; three ministers announce the first pilot wells finished (27 Dec)
- 2015Protests and sit-in on Somoud square from 1 Jan; first violent clashes 28 Feb – 1 Mar; Sonatrach announces at least US$70 billion programme (January); Al Jazeera reports Sonatrach did not respond to requests for comment (May)
- 2024Sonatrach–ExxonMobil memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara (May); preliminary agreements with ExxonMobil and Chevron
- 2025Commercial terms still under negotiation (August)
What was said
“The pilot well in In Salah is producing clean gas. The waste water is being managed.”
“Perhaps we haven't communicated enough about the issue.”
“ecological catastrophe”
“gift from God”
“The technical aspects have more or less been agreed upon.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Said the drilling was about 35 km north of the town, not 150 km; Al Jazeera also located a Halliburton base camp about 10 km north of In Salah.
Al Jazeera EnglishDid not respond to Al Jazeera's requests for comment in May 2015.
Al Jazeera EnglishHow it looked
Shown
- The first shale-gas pilot wells were finished.Three ministers including the energy minister, announcement of 27 December 2014 · Al Jazeera English
- The pilot well in In Salah is producing clean gas and the waste water is being managed.Sonatrach CEO Said Sahnoun, January 2015 · Gulf News (AFP)
Recorded
- About 40 policemen injured in two days of riots, two seriously (Algerian interior ministry statement, 28 February – 1 March 2015).
- Sonatrach plan of at least US$70 billion over 20 years, about 20 bcm a year from 200 drill sites.
- Bloomberg (August 2025): no dollar figure for the ExxonMobil and Chevron agreements; shale efforts shelved in 2016 after resident protests.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- sonatrach (January 2015): CEO said the pilot well was producing clean gas, the waste water was being managed and the company perhaps had not communicated enough about the issue. · Gulf News (AFP)
- sonatrach (May 2015): Did not respond to Al Jazeera's requests for comment. · Al Jazeera English
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
- Disputed Distance of the pilot wells from In Salah
Money
- None on record Compensation to residents or environmental monitoring budget — None on record.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
- None on record Sonatrach: Did not respond to Al Jazeera's requests for comment in May 2015.
Record
- Not measured Not measured: water use, flowback, contamination or seismicity at the In Salah pilot wells.
- None on record None on record: compensation to residents or an environmental monitoring budget.
- None on record None on record: court records on the protests or the wells.
- None on record None on record: a statement from Halliburton.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: investment, reserve or water figures in Al Jazeera's reporting of the protests.
- Unclear Unclear: when the shale effort was shelved; Bloomberg (August 2025) reported 2016, while Al Jazeera reported protests in January–May 2015.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the signature status of ExxonMobil and Chevron shale contracts after August 2025.
Did the harm stop?
None on record. The pilot wells were announced finished on 27 December 2014; Bloomberg reported in August 2025 that shale efforts had been shelved in 2016 after resident protests.
Who paid?
None on record. No compensation to residents and no environmental monitoring budget is on record.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Q&A: 'We want to avoid an ecological disaster'Al Jazeera English · 2015-03-11
- Algeria's opposition flares up amid fracking plansAl Jazeera English · 2015-05-07
- Algeria looks to invest $70b in shale gas over 20 yearsGulf News (AFP) · 2015-01
- Algeria nears deals with Exxon, Chevron in shale gas pushWorld Oil (Bloomberg) · 2025-08-15
Connected cases
- Chad–Cameroon pipeline and Doba oil fields: World Bank conditions, revenue law, Inspection Panel and 2023 nationalisation Chad · 1999–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: Consortium member
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: operator of Gorgon LNG
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: agency client
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: agency client
- Tengizchevroil sulphur storage claims and emission fines (Kazakhstan) Kazakhstan · 2007–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: 25% owner of TCO through ExxonMobil Kazakhstan Ventures
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: 50% owner of TCO (2007/2025)
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- Halliburton (Company) — here: Named by Al Jazeera as testing shale potential with Sonatrach; there: Cementing contractor; 3% of fault; $1.1bn class settlement
- Chevron owns Richmond's 'local news' site, which carries no leak reporting United States · date not stated
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: owner of the news site
- Chevron pleads no contest to six counts over 2012 Richmond refinery fire United States · 2012–2013
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: company that pleaded no contest
- Chevron, Texaco and the Lago Agrio judgment: the RICO ruling and the Donziger cases Ecuador · 1995–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: Defendant in the Ecuadorian judgment; plaintiff in the US RICO case; claimant in the arbitration
- ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines United States · 2020–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023
- ExxonMobil cut and restored Kearl oil-sands reserves as oil prices moved Canada · 2016–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Reporting company
- ExxonMobil sues California attorney general and four green groups for defamation United States · 2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Plaintiff in the defamation suit
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Listed a Conservation International director in its 2026 proxy
- Hess agreed to buy at least $750m of Guyana forest credits Guyana · 2022–2032
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: acquired Hess
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Client at the time of COP27
- In Salah CO2 storage at Krechba (Sonatrach, BP, Statoil) Algeria · 2004–2011
- Sonatrach (Company) — here: Operator of the pilot wells; announced the US$70 billion programme; there: Joint venture partner and operator of the Krechba field
- Isle de Jean Charles relocation and a $744.6m Chevron coastal-loss verdict United States · 2016–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: Defendant in the Plaquemines Parish coastal-loss case
- Kivalina village in Alaska still awaits relocation after 2008 suit against ExxonMobil United States · 1992–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Defendant in the 2008 suit
- Lake Maracaibo chronic oil leaks Venezuela · 2010–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: Operator in Venezuela; declined to answer questions on its environmental role
- Mobil advertorials cast doubt on climate science; media studios later sold oil content United States · 1970–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Ran Mobil and ExxonMobil advertorials and sponsored content
- Paraquat litigation (Syngenta/Chevron) and the Paraquat Papers United States · 1958–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986
- Sakhalin-2 and Sakhalin-1 in 2022: transfer decrees, the ecological-audit deduction clause and write-downs Russia · 2022–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Sakhalin-1 interests terminated on 14 October 2022
- Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan Iran · 2025–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%)
- Study finds Exxon's internal papers accepted warming; its advertorials cast doubt United States · 1977
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: company whose documents and advertorials were analyzed
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Defendant in California suit; six registered lobbyists at Geneva
- US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing United States · 2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: Named inauguration-fund donor
- US chemical recycling plants run far below capacity, and some have closed United States · 2024–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: Operator of the Baytown plant
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: reported reserve reductions (unconfirmed)
- US Supreme Court hears Boulder County's climate suit against Suncor and Exxon United States · 2018
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara; there: defendant and petitioner
- Venezuela gas flaring and methane from oil and gas Venezuela · 2012–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: 2024 preliminary agreement; there: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41