Venezuela gas flaring and methane from oil and gas
- My atmosphere received an estimated 9.0 (4.7–9.6) Tg a-1 of methane from Venezuela, a factor of 2.5 above its UNFCCC report, according to East et al. (2025). Nature Communications (East, Jacob et al.)
- Venezuela's upstream oil and gas methane intensity was nearly six times the global average and its flaring intensity around 12 times higher, according to the IEA (2026). International Energy Agency
- A plume was detected at an oil and gas site in Punta de Mata, Monagas, on 9 March 2025, by EnMAP; no emission rate or notification status was given (UNEP IMEO). UNEP International Methane Emissions Observatory (Irakulis-Loitxate), IWGGMS-21
- Burnt material from flares falls on roofs at Potrerito, Monagas, according to a resident quoted by Reuters (2023). Reuters (via Hydrocarbon Processing)
- In 2024, 46% of Venezuela's gas output was flared and 8% vented, according to Energy Analytics Institute data cited by Global Witness. Global Witness
- International bodies World Bank, Global Gas Flaring Tracker 2025 (earlier method): 8.31 bcm in 2024; 8.59 bcm in 2020. World Bank
- International bodies World Bank, Global Gas Flaring Tracker 2026 (new method): 13.33 bcm in 2024 and 16.77 bcm in 2020; the new method gives higher estimates for Venezuela, 'better representing the volume of very large flares'. World Bank
- Researchers Nathan et al., Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics (2024): 7.5 (5.7–9.3) Tg a-1 nationally in 2019; emissions from oil exploitation about 1.6 times bottom-up inventories. Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics 24, 6845–6863 (Nathan et al.)
- Researchers East et al., Nature Communications (2025): 9.0 (4.7–9.6) Tg a-1, a factor of 2.5 above Venezuela's UNFCCC report; the oil-gas sector is 4.8 times larger than the UNFCCC prior. Nature Communications (East, Jacob et al.)
- International bodies IEA inventory, as cited by the NBER paper: About 3.6 Mt a-1 of methane from oil and gas. NBER Working Paper 35512 (Fioretti, FitzPatrick, Iaria)
The World Bank, the IEA and satellite studies record high flaring intensity and methane emissions from Venezuelan oil and gas operations, mainly in Monagas and around Lake Maracaibo. The World Bank changed its method in June 2026, raising its flare-volume estimates; an NBER paper estimates the climate damage of flaring and venting at about US$11 billion a year.
Estimate: about US$5 billion from flaring and US$6 billion from venting. A monetised damage estimate, not a payment.
Status As of July 2026: the World Bank Tracker (June 2026) puts Venezuela's 2025 flare volume at 13.46 bcm under its new method; no fine, charge or proceeding over flaring is on record.
- Residents of Potrerito, Monagas — Burnt material from flares falls on house roofs, according to a resident quoted by Reuters Reuters (via Hydrocarbon Processing)
- Atmosphere (climate) — National methane emissions estimated at 7.5 to 9.0 Tg a-1; flare volume of 13.33 bcm in 2024 (World Bank 2026 Tracker) Nature Communications (East, Jacob et al.)
What happened
The World Bank's Global Gas Flaring Tracker series for Venezuela changed with the June 2026 edition. The 2026 Tracker uses a new method that, according to the Tracker, better represents the volume of very large flares. For 2024 the 2025 Tracker gave 8.31 billion cubic metres (bcm) and the 2026 Tracker gives 13.33 bcm; for 2020 the figures are 8.59 and 16.77 bcm, for 2012 8.15 and 13.83 bcm. The 2026 Tracker gives 13.46 bcm for 2025. Flaring intensity in the 2026 series was 87.20 cubic metres per barrel in 2020, 42.29 in 2024 and 38.07 in 2025; the 2025 series gave 44.65 for 2020 and 26.38 for 2024. The global flaring intensity was 5.4 m3 per barrel in 2025. In the same World Bank file oil production falls from 2,500 thousand barrels a day in 2012 to 527 in 2020, then rises to 968 in 2025.
The June 2026 Tracker states that Venezuela's flaring intensity dropped 10% in 2025, 'the fourth consecutive year of steep intensity decline', while flare volume rose by under 1%. It adds that Venezuela 'retains one of the highest flaring intensities in the world' because of outdated infrastructure, gas-processing bottlenecks and the outage of the Muscar–Soto line. In a press release of 23 June 2026 the World Bank put global flaring in 2025 at 167 bcm and named Venezuela among nine countries that account for more than four-fifths of it.
The IEA's Global Methane Tracker 2026 states that Venezuela's upstream oil and gas methane intensity is nearly six times the global average and its flaring intensity around 12 times higher, that about half of Central and South America's fossil-fuel methane (just under 8 Mt in 2025) came from Venezuelan oil and gas facilities, and that Venezuela is the only major regional producer that has not signed the Global Methane Pledge. Reuters (17 August 2023) cited the IEA ranking Venezuela the 17th largest emitter of methane from flaring and leaks in 2022; Global Witness cited the IEA's 2025 edition as six times and ten times the global average.
Satellite studies put the emissions higher than inventories. East et al. (Nature Communications, December 2025) estimated Venezuela's methane emissions at 9.0 (4.7–9.6) Tg a-1, a factor of 2.5 above its UNFCCC report, with the oil-gas sector 4.8 times larger than the UNFCCC prior. Nathan et al. (Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, 2024) estimated national emissions of 7.5 (5.7–9.3) Tg a-1 in 2019, with emissions from oil exploitation about 1.6 times bottom-up inventories. UNEP's International Methane Emissions Observatory showed an EnMAP detection at an oil and gas site in Punta de Mata on 9 March 2025. Global Witness reported that PDVSA's Santa Bárbara and Field 76 sites were among the top five flaring sites globally in 2024.
On money, Capterio estimated that about 13 billion m3 of gas is flared, vented or leaked each year, about US$1.4 billion in lost potential revenue (The News, 10 January 2026). Fioretti, FitzPatrick and Iaria (NBER Working Paper 35512, July 2026) estimated climate damage of about US$5 billion a year from flaring and about US$6 billion from venting, and attributed roughly US$7 billion a year of this to sanctions. They found that under the US licence that allowed Chevron to resume operations at its four Venezuelan joint ventures from November 2022 (OFAC General License 41), higher maintenance spending was associated with lower flaring.
- 2012Start of the World Bank flare-volume series used here (8.15 bcm in the 2025 Tracker; 13.83 bcm in the 2026 Tracker)
- 2019Nathan et al. estimate national methane emissions of 7.5 (5.7–9.3) Tg a-1
- 2022OFAC General License 41 allows Chevron to resume operations at its four joint ventures (Nov); Venezuela is the 17th largest emitter of methane from flaring and leaks (IEA via Reuters)
- 2023Reuters reports that PDVSA and the environment ministry gave no response and that pledges state no investment or timeline (17 Aug)
- 2024Santa Bárbara and Field 76 among the top five flaring sites globally (Global Witness)
- 2025EnMAP detection at Punta de Mata (9 Mar); East et al. published (11 Dec)
- 2026Global Witness warning (16 Jan); World Bank Tracker with new method (23 Jun); NBER Working Paper 35512 (Jul)
What was said
“about $5 billion (bn) of climate damage a year and the gas vented about $6 bn, some $11 bn in all, or forty dollars for every barrel Venezuela still produces”
“the fourth consecutive year of steep intensity decline”
“retains one of the highest flaring intensities in the world”
“nearly six times the global average”
“Venezuela's oil industry is among the most polluting and poorly maintained in the world.”
“Sometimes the flares expel burnt material, which falls on house roofs.”
“a one-percent rise in per-barrel upkeep is associated with about 0.54 percent lower flaring volume”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
8.31 bcm in 2024; 8.59 bcm in 2020.
World Bank13.33 bcm in 2024 and 16.77 bcm in 2020; the new method gives higher estimates for Venezuela, 'better representing the volume of very large flares'.
World Bank7.5 (5.7–9.3) Tg a-1 nationally in 2019; emissions from oil exploitation about 1.6 times bottom-up inventories.
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics 24, 6845–6863 (Nathan et al.)9.0 (4.7–9.6) Tg a-1, a factor of 2.5 above Venezuela's UNFCCC report; the oil-gas sector is 4.8 times larger than the UNFCCC prior.
Nature Communications (East, Jacob et al.)About 3.6 Mt a-1 of methane from oil and gas.
NBER Working Paper 35512 (Fioretti, FitzPatrick, Iaria)No response to Reuters in 2023.
Reuters (via Hydrocarbon Processing)How it looked
Shown
- Environmental efforts that, according to Reuters, do not address spills and flaring and state no investment or timelinePDVSA and the environment ministry, as reported by Reuters · Reuters (via Hydrocarbon Processing)
Recorded
- World Bank flare volume for Venezuela in 2024: 8.31 bcm (2025 Tracker) and 13.33 bcm (2026 Tracker, new method); 2025: 13.46 bcm (2026 Tracker).
- World Bank flaring intensity for Venezuela in 2024: 26.38 m3 per barrel (2025 Tracker) and 42.29 (2026 Tracker); 38.07 in 2025 against a global 5.4.
- IEA: about half of Central and South America's fossil-fuel methane (just under 8 Mt in 2025) came from Venezuelan oil and gas facilities; the IEA's inventory gives about 3.6 Mt a year for oil and gas, as cited by the NBER paper.
- Global Witness: 2024 gas output of 3,895 million cubic feet a day, 46% flared and 8% vented (Energy Analytics Institute data); flaring and venting would rise from 76 Mt CO2 a year (at 1.4 million barrels a day) to 250 Mt CO2 a year (at 3 million) with no improvement in gas capture (an estimate).
- World Bank press release (23 June 2026): global flaring of 167 bcm in 2025, with Venezuela one of nine countries accounting for more than four-fifths of it; the release puts the value of wasted gas at about US$54 billion globally.
- Capterio estimated that about 13 billion m3 of gas is flared, vented or leaked in Venezuela each year, about US$1.4 billion in lost potential revenue (reported January 2026).
- Gas Energy Latin America estimated that PDVSA burns and vents about 1.7 billion cubic feet a day in Monagas, and that the Amuay refinery flares about 24 million cubic feet a day (Reuters, 2023).
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- pdvsa (17 August 2023): PDVSA and the oil ministry did not respond to Reuters' request for comment. · Reuters (via Hydrocarbon Processing)
- world-bank (June 2026): The June 2026 Tracker states that Venezuela's flaring intensity dropped 10% in 2025 and that it retains one of the highest flaring intensities in the world. · World Bank
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Response to Reuters on spills and flaring
- None on record PDVSA and the oil ministry: No response to Reuters in 2023.
Record
- None on record None on record: a fine, charge or proceeding over flaring or venting in Venezuela.
- None on record None on record: a plan with stated investments or timelines; Reuters (2023) reported that pledges by PDVSA and the environment ministry do not address spills and flaring.
- Disputed Figures differ: World Bank flare volume for Venezuela. The 2025 Tracker gives 8.31 bcm for 2024 and the 2026 Tracker 13.33 bcm, after the Bank changed its method.
- Disputed Figures differ: methane totals. 7.5 Tg a-1 for 2019 (Nathan et al.), 9.0 Tg a-1 (East et al.) and about 3.6 Mt a-1 for oil and gas (IEA inventory, as cited by the NBER paper); the figures cover different scopes and years.
- Self-reported only Self-reported only: the lost-revenue estimate of about US$1.4 billion comes from Capterio, as reported by The News (January 2026).
- Insufficient Insufficient: the EnMAP detection at Punta de Mata (9 March 2025) gives no emission rate or notification status.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: a response from PDVSA or the oil ministry to Reuters in 2023.
Did the harm stop?
No. The World Bank 2026 Tracker gives 13.46 bcm flared in 2025 and states that flare volume rose by under 1% that year.
Who paid?
None on record. The NBER estimate of climate damage is a monetised valuation, not a payment; no fine or charge is on record.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Venezuela fails to curb oil leaks, gas flaring despite pledgesReuters (via Hydrocarbon Processing) · 2023-08-17
- Venezuela no logra frenar los derrames de petróleo y quema de gas (Venezuela fails to stop oil spills and gas flaring)Reuters (via LM Neuquén) · 2023-08-17
- Venezuela's failing energy grid spewing giant plumes of methaneThe News (Pakistan) · 2026-01-10
Communities and civil society
- Ramping up Venezuela oil production could risk 'methane bomb', data showsGlobal Witness · 2026-01-16
Researchers
- Worldwide inference of national methane emissions by inversion of satellite observations with UNFCCC prior estimatesNature Communications (East, Jacob et al.) · 2025-12-11
- Assessing methane emissions from collapsing Venezuelan oil production using TROPOMIAtmospheric Chemistry and Physics 24, 6845–6863 (Nathan et al.) · 2024-06-13
- The Environmental Costs of Sanctions: Flaring and Venting in VenezuelaNBER Working Paper 35512 (Fioretti, FitzPatrick, Iaria) · 2026-07
International bodies
- Flare volume and intensity estimates 2012–2025 (xlsx)World Bank · 2026-06
- Flare volume and intensity estimates 2012–2024 (xlsx)World Bank · 2025-07
- Global Gas Flaring Tracker Report, June 2026 (copy hosted by DevelopmentAid)World Bank · 2026-06-23
- Global Flaring Rises Three Years in a Row, Undermining Energy SecurityWorld Bank · 2026-06-23
- Global Methane Tracker 2026: Regional insightsInternational Energy Agency · 2026
- UNEP's IMEO Methane Alert and Response System: current statusUNEP International Methane Emissions Observatory (Irakulis-Loitxate), IWGGMS-21 · 2025
Connected cases
- Lake Maracaibo chronic oil leaks Venezuela · 2010–2026 Related matter
- PDVSA (Company) — here: State oil company; operator of the flaring sites; there: State oil company; operator of the lake's installations and pipelines
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: Operator in Venezuela; declined to answer questions on its environmental role
- El Palito refinery spill into Golfo Triste and Morrocoy National Park, 2020 Venezuela · 2020–2024 Related matter
- PDVSA (Company) — here: State oil company; operator of the flaring sites; there: State oil company; operator of the El Palito refinery
- Iran associated-gas flaring and flare-gas recovery contracts Iran · 2012–2026 Related matter
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Publishes the satellite-based flare estimates and tracker report
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022 Related matter
- Kashagan gas flaring: KZT 134.2 billion damage order (2014) and KZT 3.6 billion award (2025) Kazakhstan · 2013–2025 Related matter
- Chad–Cameroon pipeline and Doba oil fields: World Bank conditions, revenue law, Inspection Panel and 2023 nationalisation Chad · 1999–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: Consortium member
- Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments Iran · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Global Methane Tracker 2026; there: Source of the 2017 subsidy figures
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Inspection Panel finding on Boeung Kak land titling; lending freeze 2011
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: NGO; 2010 report on Koh Kong sand exports and licences
- 1991 World Bank memo signed by Lawrence Summers on pollution in Africa Africa (regional) · 1991–1993
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Institution that issued the internal memo
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: NGO whose 2023 figures are cited
- Afforestation of the dried Aral Sea bed in Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2018–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Donor of the restoration-value study
- Burkina Faso Forest Investment Program project: 3.78 million tCO2eq in emission reductions estimated with an ex-ante tool Burkina Faso · 2014–2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Administered the grants; completion report and rating
- Cambodia fills Phnom Penh's Boeung Kak lake with sand under 99-year lease Cambodia · 2007–2011
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: lender whose land-titling programme was reviewed
- Cambodian sand exports to Singapore (Koh Kong, Mekong, Bassac) Cambodia · 2007–2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: NGO; 2010 report on the Koh Kong sand trade
- Canaima National Park: fire suppression for the Guri catchment, mining pressure and the UNESCO decisions Venezuela · 1981–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Implementing agency of GEF project 2103
- Chevron owns Richmond's 'local news' site, which carries no leak reporting United States · date not stated
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: owner of the news site
- Chevron pleads no contest to six counts over 2012 Richmond refinery fire United States · 2012–2013
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: company that pleaded no contest
- Chevron, Texaco and the Lago Agrio judgment: the RICO ruling and the Donziger cases Ecuador · 1995–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: Defendant in the Ecuadorian judgment; plaintiff in the US RICO case; claimant in the arbitration
- Cobalt child labour lawsuits against tech firms (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2024
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Global Methane Tracker 2026; there: Source of the export-suspension policy record
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Results-based carbon payer
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Co-author of RDNA3 and RDNA4
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: operator of Gorgon LNG
- Great Green Wall: USD 19bn tracked, USD 2.5bn disbursed by March 2023, and a restored area reported at between 1.66 and almost 18 million hectares Sahel (11 countries) · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Committed USD 5.6bn in the 11 countries
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Signed a carbon-credit agreement with the Green Belt Movement
- Hess agreed to buy at least $750m of Guyana forest credits Guyana · 2022–2032
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: acquired Hess
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: agency client
- Ho Chi Minh City canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households Vietnam · 1993–2012
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: lender of the first-phase loan
- In Salah shale gas pilot wells and protests, 2014–2015 Algeria · 2014–2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: 2024 preliminary agreement
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Lender
- Isle de Jean Charles relocation and a $744.6m Chevron coastal-loss verdict United States · 2016–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: Defendant in the Plaquemines Parish coastal-loss case
- Jamaica catastrophe bonds and the Hurricane Melissa payout Jamaica · 2021–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Issuer and arranger of the catastrophe bonds
- Jamaica's World Bank catastrophe bond did not pay after Hurricane Beryl Jamaica · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Brokered the bond
- Koç and Sabancı named partners of COP31 climate summit in Antalya Türkiye · 2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: Published the participant counts
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Funder of a project in the Badia East area
- Las Cristinas gold project: 2008 permit denial in the Imataca reserve, Crystallex ICSID award and court-ordered sale of CITGO's parent Venezuela · 2008–2026
- PDVSA (Company) — here: State oil company; operator of the flaring sites; there: Owner of the attached PDVH shares
- Malaysia banned sea-sand exports to Singapore in 2018, reported only in 2019 Singapore · 2018
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: Found Singapore's response inadequate
- Marange diamonds and the Kimberley Process (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2008–2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: NGO that left the Kimberley Process in 2011
- Mbeubeuss landfill plan to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers Senegal · 2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported
- Methane super-emitters in Turkmenistan's oil and gas fields Turkmenistan · 2017–2026
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Global Methane Tracker 2026; there: Global Methane Tracker estimates
- Mongolia index livestock insurance Mongolia · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Author of the presentation describing the programme
- Myanmar Kachin heavy rare earth mining and Kok River arsenic Thailand · 2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: NGO; reported on heavy rare earth mining in Myanmar
- Myanmar rare earth mining districts lost 32,720 hectares of tree cover Myanmar · 2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: Investigating NGO; reported China's imports from Myanmar
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Funder of carbon payments (Forest Carbon Partnership Facility)
- Nissos Amorgos tanker spill, Gulf of Venezuela, 1997, and the US$60 million environmental-damage judgment Venezuela · 1997–2014
- PDVSA (Company) — here: State oil company; operator of the flaring sites; there: Settled claimant for clean-up and preventive measures
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Global Methane Tracker 2026; there: International body (assessment of carbon capture)
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Financier; its Inspection Panel reviewed the resettlement
- Paraquat litigation (Syngenta/Chevron) and the Paraquat Papers United States · 1958–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison
- Rabobank co-financed a Brazilian eucalyptus carbon plantation contested by locals Brazil · 2003–2008
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: operator of the carbon fund
- Saweto killings Peru · 2014–2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Reported flaring and venting shares and projections; there: Reported the 2026 arrests
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Funder of an earlier forest project (2007)
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Source of the paddy yield figure
- Tengizchevroil sulphur storage claims and emission fines (Kazakhstan) Kazakhstan · 2007–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: 50% owner of TCO (2007/2025)
- Tree felling under the Tashkent moratorium: damage assessments, prosecutor cases and ministry counts Uzbekistan · 2020–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Tashkent air quality assessment (context)
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: RDNA damage and needs assessments
- Ulaanbaatar winter air pollution: stove programmes, the 2019 raw-coal ban and subsidised briquettes Mongolia · 2008–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Ulaanbaatar Clean Air Project
- US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing United States · 2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41; there: Named inauguration-fund donor
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Lender (USD 800 million, October 2025)
- Venezuela coastal oil spills: Golfete de Coro (2020) and Lechería (2022) Venezuela · 2020–2022
- PDVSA (Company) — here: State oil company; operator of the flaring sites; there: State oil company; reported the Ulé–Amuay leak; did not reply on Lechería
- Venezuela tree cover loss, 2001–2024, and international forest finance Venezuela · 2001–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Agency for GEF project 2103
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: issuer of the bond
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: lender; policy operation and REGROW financier
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Funder of the Kenya project; hosts the Inspection Panel
- World Bank inspection panel registers complaint over Rogun dam financing Tajikistan · 2024–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: financier
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Financier of the REGROW project
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Lender of the US$600m loan
- World Bank-backed Colombo flood work turned Beddagana wetland into a park Sri Lanka · 2010–2018
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026; there: Funder whose support backed the programme