Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Oil spill · Venezuela · 2020–2024

El Palito refinery spill into Golfo Triste and Morrocoy National Park, 2020

Nature's voice · report
The roots of my mangroves at Los Juanes were completely oiled, and the impact went far beyond what was visible, said Gustavo Carrasquero of Fundación Azul Ambientalistas (VOA, 18 August 2020).
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record. Disputed
Recorded
  • Effects on me could last up to 50 years or more, said Julia Álvarez of the Sociedad Venezolana de Ecología (EFE, 19 August 2020). EFE (via Diario Libre)
  • Warnings were issued about my mangroves and corals during their reproductive season (EFE, 19 August 2020). EFE (via Diario Libre)
  • If damage to my reefs is confirmed, the impact could be terrible because it would affect their future reproduction, said Eduardo Klein (BBC News Mundo, 15 August 2020). BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
  • A Universidad Simón Bolívar technical report found no sign that the oil spilled on me in July 2020 was contained (EFE, 19 August 2020). EFE (via Diario Libre)
  • In August 2024 a slick of about 225 km2 completely covered Morrocoy, according to Klein's satellite images, and hydrocarbons reached the beaches of Boca de Aroa (Reuters). Reuters (via Hydrocarbon Processing)
  • About 20,000 barrels of oil entered my waters. estimate
    Eduardo Klein (BBC News Mundo) and Velisa Morón, Sociedad Venezolana de Ecología (VOA).
  • More than 15.2 km of my coastline were oiled. self-reported
    Coast declared cleaned by vice-minister Lorca, 11 August 2020 (NTN24); self-reported.
What the record lacks: 7 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 2 self-reported only · 9 disputed · 2 unclear See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
Volume spilled
  • Researchers Eduardo Klein, Universidad Simón Bolívar (BBC News Mundo): About 20,000 barrels, possibly spreading over about 350 km2. BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
  • Communities and civil society Velisa Morón, Sociedad Venezolana de Ecología (VOA): About 20,000 barrels. Voz de América
  • Researchers Universidad Simón Bolívar technical report (EFE): 26,730 barrels between 19 and 22 July 2020. EFE (via Diario Libre)
Condition of reefs and coast after the spill
  • Government and regulators Oswaldo Barbera, Minister of Ecosocialism (VOA): A dive found that the coral reefs were not affected and the seabed was in perfect condition; containment barriers and absorbent booms were deployed. Voz de América
  • Government and regulators Josué Lorca, vice-minister (BBC News Mundo; EFE): 90% of the coasts of Morrocoy National Park and Golfo Triste had been cleaned; 90% of the oil removed in Morrocoy by 1,200 volunteers. BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
  • Communities and civil society Gustavo Carrasquero, Fundación Azul Ambientalistas (VOA): The mangrove roots at Los Juanes are completely oiled and the impact went far beyond what is visible. Voz de América
  • Communities and civil society An NGO representative quoted by EFE: Crews cleaned with shovels and brooms, without barriers. EFE (via Diario Libre)
  • Researchers Eduardo Klein (BBC News Mundo): If reef damage is confirmed, the impact could be terrible because it would affect their future reproduction. BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)

A slick of oil visible on satellite images from 22 July 2020 reached the coast of Falcón state and Morrocoy National Park. Estimates of the volume ranged from about 20,000 to 26,730 barrels; scientists, NGOs and the National Assembly pointed to the El Palito refinery, while the official version cited a cargo ship. No cost, fine or compensation is on record.

20,000–26,730 barrels estimateEstimates of oil spilled, July 2020
Estimates: about 20,000 barrels (Eduardo Klein; Sociedad Venezolana de Ecología) and 26,730 barrels (Universidad Simón Bolívar report). PDVSA gave no figure.

Status As of the latest reports in the sources (August 2024): no cost, fine, compensation or court case is on record for the 2020 spill; a further spill appearing to come from El Palito was reported in August 2024.

What?
An oil slick visible on satellite images from 22 July 2020 reached the coast of Falcón state and Morrocoy National Park; estimates of the volume ranged from about 20,000 to 26,730 barrels. BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
Where?
El Palito refinery, Puerto Cabello, Carabobo (about 10.48 N, 68.11 W); oil reached the coast of Falcón state, Morrocoy National Park (about 10.87 N, 68.27 W) and the Cuare wildlife refuge area. BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
When?
Spill dated 19–22 July 2020 on satellite evidence; public reports from early August 2020; a further spill reported on 17 August 2024. EFE (via Diario Libre)
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
  • Mangroves at Los Juanes, Morrocoy National Park — Roots completely oiled, according to Fundación Azul Ambientalistas Voz de América
  • Coral reefs and mangroves of Morrocoy — Warned to be at risk during their reproductive season; the Ministry of Ecosocialism said a dive found no effect on the reefs EFE (via Diario Libre)
  • Artisanal fishers at Boca de Aroa (2024 spill) — Fishing boats affected Reuters (via Hydrocarbon Processing)
Why?
Scientists, NGOs and the National Assembly attributed the spill to the El Palito refinery; the official version cited a cargo ship that left La Guaira; PDVSA gave no explanation. BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
How?
Clean-up was carried out by officials and about 1,200 volunteers according to vice-minister Lorca; no cost, fine, compensation or insurance payment is on record, and the National Assembly commission opened an inquiry. EFE (via Diario Libre)
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Satellite images showed an oil slick in Golfo Triste from 22 July 2020; Eduardo Klein of Universidad Simón Bolívar said it was absent on 19 July. He estimated about 20,000 barrels, possibly spreading over about 350 km2, and said the volume was 'more than double' that of the Mauritius spill (BBC News Mundo, 15 August 2020). A Universidad Simón Bolívar technical report, presented by María Gabriela Hernández, chair of the National Assembly environment commission, put the spill at 26,730 barrels between 19 and 22 July and found no sign that the spilled oil was contained (EFE, 19 August 2020). Velisa Morón of the Sociedad Venezolana de Ecología also estimated about 20,000 barrels.

Oil reached the coast of Falcón state and Morrocoy National Park. Fundación Azul Ambientalistas put the extent of the slick at about 260 km (EFE); BBC News Mundo reported that the oil travelled more than 80 km beyond Morrocoy. Hernández called it the third spill of the year, and VOA reported on 18 August 2020 that the type and quantity of hydrocarbon had not been disclosed.

Scientists, NGOs and the National Assembly attributed the spill to the El Palito refinery in Puerto Cabello. Klein disputed the official version that a ship that left La Guaira on 29 July was responsible, because the slick existed a week earlier. A February 2022 report by the Academia de Ciencias Físicas, Matemáticas y Naturales (25 pages) counted at least nine spills in 2020–2021 and cited a 26,730-barrel spill that reached Morrocoy; it gave two possible sources, the official account of a cargo ship that left a central port and the experts' and NGOs' attribution to El Palito. Reuters dated that spill to July 2021, whereas EFE in August 2020 gave 19–22 July 2020.

On 11 August 2020 vice-minister Josué Lorca said more than 15.2 km of coast had been cleaned, listing Punta Brava (2.7 km contaminated), Cayo Hat (1.5 km) and Mero Beach (943 m) (NTN24). He also said 90% of the oil had been removed in Morrocoy by 1,200 volunteers (EFE) and that 90% of the coasts of Morrocoy National Park and Golfo Triste had been cleaned (BBC News Mundo). Minister Oswaldo Barbera said on 10 August 2020 that a dive found no effect on the coral reefs and that the seabed was in perfect condition. The National Assembly environment commission opened an investigation in August 2020.

A later spill: Reuters reported on 17 August 2024 a new spill that appeared to come from El Palito, a refinery with a capacity of 146,000 barrels per day, contaminating Golfo Triste. Klein's satellite images showed about 225 km2 of slick, which he said completely covered Morrocoy. Hydrocarbons reached Boca de Aroa beaches and affected artisanal fishing boats. PDVSA and the oil ministry gave no immediate comment.

  1. 2020Slick visible on satellite images from 22 Jul; public reports from early Aug; Barbera says reefs unaffected (10 Aug); Lorca reports 15.2 km cleaned (11 Aug); BBC Mundo (15 Aug), VOA (18 Aug) and EFE (19 Aug) report estimates and the Assembly inquiry
  2. 2022Academia de Ciencias Físicas, Matemáticas y Naturales report counts at least nine spills in 2020–2021 (Reuters, 16 Feb)
  3. 2024New spill appearing to come from El Palito covers about 225 km2 and reaches Boca de Aroa (Reuters, 17 Aug)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“more than double that in Mauritius”

Eduardo Klein, Universidad Simón Bolívar, on the volume (BBC News Mundo; English rendering of the Spanish original) · August 2020 · translated from Spanish · BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)

“no sign that the spilled oil was contained”

Universidad Simón Bolívar technical report, presented by María Gabriela Hernández (EFE; English rendering of the Spanish original) · August 2020 · translated from Spanish · EFE (via Diario Libre)

“The mangrove roots are completely oiled and the impact went far beyond what is visible.”

Gustavo Carrasquero, Fundación Azul Ambientalistas, on Los Juanes (VOA; English rendering of the Spanish original) · August 2020 · translated from Spanish · Voz de América

“No technical or engineering explanation has been given; they have not really told us where it came from.”

Gustavo Carrasquero, Fundación Azul Ambientalistas (VOA; English rendering of the Spanish original) · August 2020 · translated from Spanish · Voz de América

“the coral reefs were not affected and the seabed is in perfect condition”

Oswaldo Barbera, Minister of Ecosocialism, after a dive (VOA; English rendering of the Spanish original) · 10 August 2020 · translated from Spanish · Voz de América

“90% of the coasts of Morrocoy National Park and Golfo Triste had been cleaned”

Josué Lorca, vice-minister (BBC News Mundo; English rendering of the Spanish original) · August 2020 · translated from Spanish · BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)

“both the government (in dispute) and the industry (state oil company) PDVSA have tried to cover up the ecological accident”

National Assembly environment commission, as reported by VOA (English rendering of the Spanish original); an allegation · 18 August 2020 · translated from Spanish · Voz de América

“I understand that many trained engineers have already left”

A former PDVSA engineer, on PDVSA's containment capacity (BBC News Mundo; English rendering of the Spanish original) · August 2020 · translated from Spanish · BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Origin of the oil
Researchers
Eduardo Klein, Universidad Simón Bolívar (BBC News Mundo)

Satellite images show the slick from 22 July and not on 19 July; he disputes the version of a ship that left La Guaira on 29 July, because the slick existed a week earlier.

BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
Government and regulators
National Assembly environment commission (opposition-led)

Asked for the refinery maintenance schedule and the insurance of the companies involved; scientists, NGOs and the Assembly attributed the spill to El Palito.

Voz de América
Government and regulators
Official version, as described in the Academia de Ciencias Físicas, Matemáticas y Naturales report (Reuters)

A cargo ship that left a central port was the source; the Academy gave this and the attribution to El Palito as the two possible sources.

Reuters (via LM Neuquén)
Company or project
PDVSA

No official statement or explanation in August 2020.

Voz de América
Volume spilled
Researchers
Eduardo Klein, Universidad Simón Bolívar (BBC News Mundo)

About 20,000 barrels, possibly spreading over about 350 km2.

BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
Communities and civil society
Velisa Morón, Sociedad Venezolana de Ecología (VOA)

About 20,000 barrels.

Voz de América
Researchers
Universidad Simón Bolívar technical report (EFE)

26,730 barrels between 19 and 22 July 2020.

EFE (via Diario Libre)
Date of the 26,730-barrel spill
Press and investigations
EFE via Diario Libre, 19 August 2020

19–22 July 2020.

EFE (via Diario Libre)
Press and investigations
Reuters, 16 February 2022

July 2021.

Reuters (via LM Neuquén)
Condition of reefs and coast after the spill
Government and regulators
Oswaldo Barbera, Minister of Ecosocialism (VOA)

A dive found that the coral reefs were not affected and the seabed was in perfect condition; containment barriers and absorbent booms were deployed.

Voz de América
Government and regulators
Josué Lorca, vice-minister (BBC News Mundo; EFE)

90% of the coasts of Morrocoy National Park and Golfo Triste had been cleaned; 90% of the oil removed in Morrocoy by 1,200 volunteers.

BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
Communities and civil society
Gustavo Carrasquero, Fundación Azul Ambientalistas (VOA)

The mangrove roots at Los Juanes are completely oiled and the impact went far beyond what is visible.

Voz de América
Communities and civil society
An NGO representative quoted by EFE

Crews cleaned with shovels and brooms, without barriers.

EFE (via Diario Libre)
Researchers
Eduardo Klein (BBC News Mundo)

If reef damage is confirmed, the impact could be terrible because it would affect their future reproduction.

BBC News Mundo (via Prensa Libre)
Public explanation of the spill
Government and regulators
National Assembly environment commission (VOA)

Alleged that both the government (in dispute) and PDVSA have tried to cover up the ecological accident (translated).

Voz de América
Communities and civil society
Gustavo Carrasquero, Fundación Azul Ambientalistas (VOA)

No technical or engineering explanation has been given and no one has said where the oil came from (translated).

Voz de América
Company or project
PDVSA

No official statement or explanation in August 2020.

Voz de América

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • Dive found that the coral reefs were not affected and the seabed was in perfect condition; containment barriers and absorbent booms were deployed
    Oswaldo Barbera, Minister of Ecosocialism, 10 August 2020 · Voz de América
  • More than 15.2 km of coast cleaned; Punta Brava 2.7 km contaminated, Cayo Hat 1.5 km, Mero Beach 943 m
    Josué Lorca, vice-minister, 11 August 2020 · NTN24
  • 90% of the oil removed in Morrocoy by 1,200 volunteers
    Josué Lorca, vice-minister, as reported by EFE · EFE (via Diario Libre)
  • A cargo ship that left a central port was the source of the spill
    Official account, as described in the February 2022 Academy report (Reuters) · Reuters (via LM Neuquén)

Recorded

  • Satellite images show the slick from 22 July 2020 and not on 19 July (Klein, BBC News Mundo).
  • A Universidad Simón Bolívar technical report put the spill at 26,730 barrels between 19 and 22 July 2020 and found no sign that the spilled oil was contained.
  • The National Assembly environment commission opened an investigation in August 2020 and asked for the refinery maintenance schedule and the insurance held by the companies involved; no answer was reported.
  • The Academia de Ciencias Físicas, Matemáticas y Naturales (February 2022) said PDVSA's 1986 contingency plan had not been applied efficiently in the last 20 years.
  • A later spill in August 2024 appeared to come from El Palito and covered about 225 km2 according to Klein's satellite images.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
Clean-up cost—
No source states a cost.
Fine or compensation—
None on record.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Currency: USD · Window: 2020. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • pdvsa (August 2020; August 2024): No official statement or explanation of the spill was reported in August 2020; no immediate comment on the August 2024 spill. · Voz de América
  • venezuela-ministry-ecosocialism (August 2020): Minister Oswaldo Barbera said a dive found no effect on the coral reefs and that the seabed was in perfect condition; vice-minister Josué Lorca said 90% of the coasts of Morrocoy National Park and Golfo Triste had been cleaned. · Voz de América

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

  1. 2020–Outcome not on record
    National Assembly environment commission inquiry into the 2020 spill
    National Assembly of Venezuela (opposition-led), environment commission · Administrative · National Assembly environment commission → None named

    The commission opened an investigation in August 2020 and asked for the refinery maintenance schedule and for the insurance held by the companies involved. No answer, finding or court proceeding was reported. Voz de América

Insurers

  1. 2020No policy found
    Not disclosed → The companies involved (not named in the request)
    Stated reason: No answer to the National Assembly commission's request was reported.

    Deputy María Gabriela Hernández asked for the refinery maintenance schedule and for 'the insurance held by the companies involved'; VOA reported no reply on 18 August 2020. Voz de América

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Oil spilled (estimates)
20,000–26,730 barrels
Klein and the Sociedad Venezolana de Ecología about 20,000; Universidad Simón Bolívar report 26,730
Slick area (estimate)
About 350 km2
Klein, BBC News Mundo, August 2020; about 225 km2 in August 2024
Clean-up cost
None stated
No source gives a cost
Fine or compensation
None on record
No source records either

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

Money

Court

  • Unclear National Assembly environment commission inquiry into the 2020 spill: outcome not on record.

Insurers

  • Unclear Not disclosed: no decision on record.

Figures

  • Self-reported only Coastline oiled (km): Coast declared cleaned by vice-minister Lorca, 11 August 2020 (NTN24); self-reported.

Accounts

Record

  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the type and quantity of hydrocarbon spilled; PDVSA gave no official statement or explanation in August 2020 (VOA, 18 August 2020).
  • None on record None on record: a clean-up cost; no source states one.
  • None on record None on record: a fine, compensation or insurance payment for the 2020 spill.
  • None on record None on record: an answer to the National Assembly commission's request for the insurance held by the companies involved (VOA, 18 August 2020).
  • None on record None on record: a court case or charge over the 2020 spill.
  • Self-reported only Self-reported only: the official clean-up figures, more than 15.2 km cleaned and 90% of the oil removed by 1,200 volunteers, given by officials of the Ministry of Ecosocialism.
  • Disputed Disputed: the origin of the oil. Scientists, NGOs and the National Assembly pointed to the El Palito refinery; the official version cited a cargo ship.
  • Disputed Figures differ: volume. About 20,000 barrels (Klein, BBC News Mundo; Sociedad Venezolana de Ecología, VOA) against 26,730 barrels (Universidad Simón Bolívar report, EFE).
  • Disputed Figures differ: extent of the slick. About 350 km2 (Klein, BBC News Mundo); about 260 km (Fundación Azul Ambientalistas, EFE); more than 80 km beyond Morrocoy (BBC News Mundo).
  • Disputed Disputed: date of the 26,730-barrel spill. EFE (August 2020) gives 19–22 July 2020; Reuters (February 2022) gives July 2021.

Did the harm stop?

Not recorded as stopped. A further spill appearing to come from the same refinery was reported on 17 August 2024.

Who paid?

None on record. No clean-up cost, fine, compensation or insurance payment appears in the sources; clean-up was carried out by officials and volunteers.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.