Gold mining inside Canaima National Park
- I lost 300 hectares of natural cover in 2024–2025, 72 of them at the foot of Chimantá tepui, according to SOS Orinoco. El Diario
- More than 49 dredging rafts were active on my Caroní River inside the park in 2026, according to SOS Orinoco. El Diario
- The UN Fact-Finding Mission wrote in 2022 that mining in my park has "devastating environmental and sociocultural impacts". UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela
- 300 hectares of my forest were lost. estimateNatural cover lost 2024–2025, including 72 ha at the foot of Chimantá tepui (SOS Orinoco).
- 1 people died.A Pemon man died in the 8 December 2018 shooting; two were injured.
- 2 people were injured.8 December 2018 shooting.
- Communities and civil society NGO estimate cited by the UN Fact-Finding Mission: 1,033 hectares affected as of 2020. UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela
- Communities and civil society SOS Orinoco / World Heritage Watch (January 2026): More than 1,500 hectares affected. Mongabay Latam
- Communities and civil society SOS Orinoco (July 2026): 1,852 hectares directly affected, from Planet Labs imagery. El Diario
- Government and regulators Government of Venezuela (as reported by SOS Orinoco): Described the impact as insignificant. El Diario
Mining has expanded inside Canaima National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in Bolívar state where mining is prohibited. NGO estimates of the area affected rose from 1,033 hectares (2020) to 1,852 hectares (2026).
NGO estimate reported in July 2026. The NGO estimate cited by the UN Fact-Finding Mission for 2020 was 1,033 ha.
Status As of October 2026: SOS Orinoco reported 1,852 hectares affected (July 2026); no court case or remediation budget on record; UNESCO monitoring mission blocked since September 2022 per SOS Orinoco.
- Canaima National Park — 1,852 hectares directly affected by mining (SOS Orinoco estimate, 2026) El Diario
- Pemon community — One Pemon man died and two people were injured when DGCIM agents opened fire on Indigenous artisanal miners on 8 December 2018 UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)
- Caroní River inside the park — More than 49 active dredging rafts (SOS Orinoco, 2026) El Diario
What happened
Canaima National Park (about 3,000,000 hectares, Gran Sabana municipality, Bolívar state, Pemon territory) was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1994. The UN Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela wrote in 2022 that since 2016 mining "has extended into protected areas, including. Canaima and Caura national parks, with devastating environmental and sociocultural impacts". The park lies outside the formal Orinoco Mining Arc.
SOS Orinoco reported to UNESCO and IUCN on 16 July 2018 and updated its account on 14 March 2020, stating that mining "continues to expand inside Canaima National Park". On 8 December 2018 agents of the military counter-intelligence directorate (DGCIM) opened fire on Indigenous artisanal miners inside the park; one Pemon man died and two were injured. The UN Mission found reasonable grounds to believe the attack was directed against unarmed Indigenous miners; official statements had said the agents were acting against illegal mining and were attacked.
Area estimates are by NGOs: 1,033 hectares affected as of 2020 (cited by the UN Mission); more than 1,500 hectares (SOS Orinoco and World Heritage Watch, January 2026); and 1,852 hectares directly affected, from Planet Labs imagery, with 300 hectares of natural cover lost in 2024–2025, 72 of them at the foot of Chimantá tepui, and more than 49 active dredging rafts on the Caroní River inside the park (SOS Orinoco, July 2026). SOS Orinoco put the rise in mining since 2016 at 1,300%. MAAP reported mining deforestation expanding in Canaima in 2017–2020 without giving a hectare total.
In February 2023 the armed forces announced a reforestation campaign in Canaima and Yapacana with the Ecosocialism and Water ministries; no budget was stated. SOS Orinoco and World Heritage Watch said in January 2026 that a UNESCO reactive monitoring mission had not been able to enter since September 2022. The World Heritage Watch Report 2026 was published on 24 June 2026, and SOS Orinoco spoke at the 48th World Heritage Committee session in Busan on 21 July 2026.
- 1994Canaima listed as a World Heritage Site
- 2018SOS Orinoco report to UNESCO and IUCN (16 Jul); DGCIM agents fire on Indigenous artisanal miners inside the park, one Pemon man dies (8 Dec)
- 2020SOS Orinoco update (14 Mar): mining continues to expand inside the park
- 2022UN Fact-Finding Mission findings published (20 Sep); UNESCO reactive monitoring mission unable to enter since September, per SOS Orinoco
- 2023Armed forces announce reforestation campaign in Canaima and Yapacana (Feb)
- 2026World Heritage Watch Report 2026 (24 Jun); SOS Orinoco statement at the 48th World Heritage Committee (21 Jul)
What was said
“has extended into protected areas, including. Canaima and Caura national parks, with devastating environmental and sociocultural impacts”
“continues to expand inside Canaima National Park”
“rather than diminish, continues to accelerate”
“the Maduro regime has no political interest in banning these mining operations”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
1,033 hectares affected as of 2020.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on VenezuelaMore than 1,500 hectares affected.
Mongabay Latam1,852 hectares directly affected, from Planet Labs imagery.
El DiarioDescribed the impact as insignificant.
El DiarioThe agents were combating illegal mining and were attacked.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)Found reasonable grounds to believe the attack was directed against unarmed Indigenous miners.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)How it looked
Shown
- The government described the impact in the park as insignificant, as reported by SOS Orinoco; no direct official statement is quoted.Government of Venezuela, as reported by SOS Orinoco via El Diario · El Diario
- Official statements on the 8 December 2018 incident said agents were combating illegal mining and were attacked.Venezuelan authorities, as summarised by the UN Fact-Finding Mission · UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)
Recorded
- SOS Orinoco (Planet Labs imagery, 2026): 1,852 hectares directly affected by mining; 300 hectares of natural cover lost in 2024–2025, 72 hectares at the foot of Chimantá tepui; more than 49 active dredging rafts on the Caroní inside the park; mining up 1,300% since 2016.
- SOS Orinoco and World Heritage Watch (January 2026): more than 1,500 hectares affected.
- An NGO estimate cited by the UN Mission put the area affected at 1,033 hectares as of 2020.
- On 8 December 2018 DGCIM agents opened fire on Indigenous artisanal miners inside the park; one Pemon man died and two were injured.
- MAAP #155 reported mining deforestation expanding in Canaima in 2017–2020, and a combined loss of more than 22,000 hectares from all causes in the Caura, Canaima and Yapacana national parks.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- venezuela-gov (2018-12): Official statements on the 8 December 2018 incident said agents were combating illegal mining and were attacked (summary by the UN Fact-Finding Mission). · UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2022–2022Outcome not on recordUN Fact-Finding Mission finding on the 8 December 2018 DGCIM attackUN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela · International court · UN Fact-Finding Mission (finding) → DGCIM agents (names not given)
The Mission found reasonable grounds to believe the attack was directed against unarmed Indigenous miners. No court proceeding is reported. UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed How much of Canaima National Park mining has affected
Court
- Unclear UN Fact-Finding Mission finding on the 8 December 2018 DGCIM attack: outcome not on record.
Accounts
- Disputed The 8 December 2018 shooting of Indigenous artisanal miners inside the park
Record
- Disputed Disputed: the area affected, 1,033 hectares (NGO estimate cited for 2020), more than 1,500 hectares (January 2026) and 1,852 hectares (July 2026); all are NGO estimates and differ by method and date.
- None on record None on record: a court case on the environmental damage in Canaima National Park.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the budget of the February 2023 armed forces reforestation campaign in Canaima and Yapacana.
- Self-reported only Self-reported only: SOS Orinoco and World Heritage Watch said a UNESCO reactive monitoring mission had been unable to enter the park since September 2022 and attributed the blockage to Delcy Rodríguez.
Did the harm stop?
No end of harm is recorded. SOS Orinoco reported in July 2026 that mining kept expanding in the park.
Who paid?
None on record: no remediation payment or fund for the park.
Sources
Press and investigations
Communities and civil society
- Update: Current Gold Mining Situation in 2020 at Canaima National ParkSOS Orinoco · 2020-03-14
- World Heritage Watch Report 2026 (Full Report)SOS Orinoco · 2026-06-24
- MAAP #155: Deforestation Hotspots in the Venezuelan AmazonMAAP / Amazon Conservation · 2022-06-14
International bodies
- The human rights situation in the Arco Minero del Orinoco region and other areas of the Bolívar state (A/HRC/51/CRP.2, advance unedited version, mirror copy)UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela · 2022-09-20
- A/HRC/51/43 (report of the Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela)UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net) · 2022-11-17
Connected cases
- Orinoco Mining Arc: decree, state gold business and measured harm Venezuela · 2011–2026 Related matter
- SOS Orinoco (NGO) — here: NGO reporting the extent of mining; there: NGO monitoring mining in the south
- UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (International organisation) — here: Findings on the 8 December 2018 attack; there: A/HRC/51/CRP.2 findings
- MAAP / Amazon Conservation (NGO) — here: Forest-loss analysis; there: Forest-loss analysis
- Bolivarian National Armed Forces (FANB) (Public authority) — here: Announced reforestation campaign; there: Armed forces with powers under the decree; military-owned companies
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Issued Decree 2.248; mining ministry and state companies
- Canaima National Park: fire suppression for the Guri catchment, mining pressure and the UNESCO decisions Venezuela · 1981–2026 Related matter
- SOS Orinoco (NGO) — here: NGO reporting the extent of mining; there: NGO measuring mining inside the park
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: Decisions 44 COM 7B.199 to 48 COM 7B.87
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Advisory body to the World Heritage Committee
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: State Party to the World Heritage Convention
- Gold mining in Yapacana National Park and the 2023 military evictions Venezuela · 2021–2025 Related matter
- SOS Orinoco (NGO) — here: NGO reporting the extent of mining; there: Imagery partner
- MAAP / Amazon Conservation (NGO) — here: Forest-loss analysis; there: Deforestation analysis (MAAP #234)
- Bolivarian National Armed Forces (FANB) (Public authority) — here: Announced reforestation campaign; there: Carried out the 2022 and 2023 operations
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Ministry of Defence statements; National Guard post at the park entrance
- Las Cristinas gold project: 2008 permit denial in the Imataca reserve, Crystallex ICSID award and court-ordered sale of CITGO's parent Venezuela · 2008–2026 Related matter
- SOS Orinoco (NGO) — here: NGO reporting the extent of mining; there: Environmental organisation; reports on Las Claritas
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Respondent; judgment debtor
- Tumeremo killings and armed control of gold mines in Bolívar Venezuela · 2015–2026 Related matter
- UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (International organisation) — here: Findings on the 8 December 2018 attack; there: Findings on the 4 March 2016 killings
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces
- Venezuelan gold exports to Turkey and the UAE and US sanctions on Minerven and the Central Bank Venezuela · 2018–2026 Related matter
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Exporting state
- African Parks Odzala-Kokoua abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2010–2025
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: Inscribed the Forest Massif of Odzala-Kokoua in September 2023
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Recommended deferral of World Heritage listing in 2022
- Baikal Natural Territory: expertise exemptions and clear-cutting rules Russia · 2020–2026
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: 48th session, July 2026; draft decision proposed in-danger listing
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Joint reactive monitoring mission with UNESCO planned for August 2026
- UNESCO World Heritage listings and Indigenous rights Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Ethiopia, Uganda · 1991–2025
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: Decision-maker on listings (World Heritage Committee)
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Technical evaluator for natural sites
- Aïr and Ténéré Natural Reserves, World Heritage in Danger: mining permits, gold panning and the funding gap Niger · 2025–2026
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: World Heritage Committee; decisions 47 COM 7A.15 and 48 COM 7A.53
- Asiatic cheetah conservation project in Iran: 25 years of funding and a count of 26 animals Iran · 2000–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Executing partner in the GEF database; hosts the 2025 monitoring report
- Baikalsk Pulp and Paper Mill: closure and waste clean-up Russia · 1966–2026
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: Decisions 35 COM 7B.23 and 37 COM 7B.22
- Brisas gold-copper project: 2008 revocation of the environmental permit in Imataca and Gold Reserve's ICSID award Venezuela · 2007–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Respondent
- CAMPFIRE and elephant trophy hunting Zimbabwe · 2010–2015
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Policy guidance
- Caspian seal mass deaths, 2020–2025 Caspian Sea (Russia, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan) · 2020–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Endangered listing since 2008
- Caspian sturgeon and caviar: trade suspensions, fishing bans and the move to farmed caviar Caspian Sea (Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Iran) · 1998–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Red List assessments of sturgeon
- Colossal Biosciences: de-extinction ventures, funding and the Burgum remark United States · 2022–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Its Canid Specialist Group stated the pups are not dire wolves
- Endorois and Lake Bogoria enzyme extraction (Kenya) Kenya · 1970–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Technical evaluator whose recommendation led to the 2011 World Heritage listing
- Great Barrier Reef 'in danger' listing delayed Australia · 2021–2025
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: Body that postponed the listing decision
- Guri dam, drought and the 2010, 2016 and 2019 power crises: catchment, emergency contracts and prosecutions Venezuela · 2003–2023
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Decreed the electric emergency; attributed the 2019 blackout to sabotage
- Half-Earth and 30x30 advocacy funding (Wyss Campaign for Nature) Global · 2016–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Co-author of the Protected Planet Report 2024
- Hyrcanian forests logging moratorium: announced budgets, partial allocation and the 2025 Elit fire Iran · 2015–2025
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: Inscribed the Hyrcanian Forests on 5 July 2019
- Kaeng Krachan: Karen evictions and the disappearance of Billy Thailand · 1981–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Recommended against listing until Karen concerns were addressed
- Kiribati opens Phoenix Islands protected area to fishing; trust dissolved Kiribati · 2015–2021
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: reports the area's status in 2025
- Kiribati PIPA opened to fishing Kiribati · 2015–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Assessed the property (World Heritage Outlook)
- Lake Maracaibo chronic oil leaks Venezuela · 2010–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Announced the July 2023 clean-up plan and pipeline replacement
- Lake Valencia: rising level, sewage and compensation for flooded homes Venezuela · 1976–2023
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Funded the clean-up programmes and the Pao-Cachinche transfer
- Nissos Amorgos tanker spill, Gulf of Venezuela, 1997, and the US$60 million environmental-damage judgment Venezuela · 1997–2014
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Claimant State; awarded US$60 million
- Pacific tuna Vessel Day Scheme Pacific Islands (PNA members) · 2010–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Assessor of the Phoenix Islands Protected Area
- Paid markhor hunt in Surkhandarya, Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2024–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List
- Rio Tinto Juukan Gorge destruction Australia · 2020
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Conservation body in a Collaboration Agreement with Rio Tinto (2010)
- Rusoro Mining award for the El Callao gold mines: Venezuela's unquantified natural-resource counterclaim and Rusoro's role in the CITGO sale Venezuela · 2008–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Respondent; counterclaimant
- Siembra Minera: the merged Brisas–Cristinas area in the Orinoco Mining Arc, the 2022 revocation and Gold Reserve's new arbitration Venezuela · 2016–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Respondent
- Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics: environmental pledges and the Mzymta valley Russia · 2007–2018
- UNESCO World Heritage Committee (International organisation) — here: World Heritage listing and monitoring; there: Decision 34 COM 7B.24 on the Western Caucasus
- Termit and Tin Toumma National Nature Reserve: 2019 boundary change around CNPC oil blocks Niger · 2012–2023
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020
- Unpaid Venezuelan contributions to the IOPC Funds, 2019–2026 Venezuela · 2019–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Park authority and responsible state; there: Member State of the 1992 Fund; Ambassador in London approached by the Director
- US withdrawal from 66 international bodies and Paris/UNFCCC United States · 2025–2027
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Body the US withdrew from
- Western gray whales off Sakhalin and the company-funded IUCN advisory panel Russia · 2004–2022
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Convened and hosted the Western Gray Whale Advisory Panel
- Whale oil, kerosene and the 1986 whaling moratorium International · 1859–2022
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report; there: Assessed the humpback whale (2008)