Tumeremo killings and armed control of gold mines in Bolívar
- At least 17 people died.Killed near the Bulla de Atenas mine on 4 March 2016 (UN Fact-Finding Mission; Public Prosecutor confirmed 17).
- Reportedly 140 people died.Killed in or around Arc mines in 16 violent incidents, March 2016–March 2020 (OHCHR); 9 women were also reportedly killed.
- Reportedly 9 people died.Killed in the same 16 incidents (OHCHR).
- 8 people died.Killed at Ikabarú on 22 November 2019 when a criminal group opened fire in a Pemon mining community.
On 4 March 2016 at least 17 people were killed near the Bulla de Atenas gold mine in Bolívar state. Twelve alleged members of the El Topo sindicato were charged; no verdict is on record. UN bodies describe armed groups collecting a share of mined ore across the Orinoco Mining Arc.
UN Fact-Finding Mission finding; the Public Prosecutor confirmed 17. Other officials gave 21 and 25; relatives reported 28 missing.
Status As of October 2026: 12 alleged sindicato members charged in 2016; the case was moved to the Caracas Criminal Judicial Circuit in September 2021; no verdict on record.
- Sindicatos and criminal or armed groups — About 10–20% of ore mined (OHCHR) UN Human Rights Office (OHCHR)
- Military units (alleged) — Alleged revenue from mine security, fuel and air transport control, cross-border mercury smuggling, checkpoint payments and gold smuggling; not adjudicated (UN Fact-Finding Mission) UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela
- Victims and their relatives — At least 17 people killed on 4 March 2016; relatives reported 28 missing UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela
- Miners in the Arc — 140 men and 9 women reportedly killed in or around Arc mines in 16 incidents, March 2016–March 2020 (OHCHR) UN Human Rights Office (OHCHR)
- Pemon community at Ikabarú — Eight killed on 22 November 2019 UN Human Rights Office (OHCHR)
What happened
The "Bulla de Atenas" gold deposit near the Atenas mine, about 45 minutes from Tumeremo in the Sifontes municipality of Bolívar state, was discovered in October 2015, and more than 2,000 people were working there by December 2015. The killings took place on 4 March 2016, ten days after Decree 2.248 created the Orinoco Mining Arc. The UN Fact-Finding Mission found reasonable grounds to believe that alleged members of the El Topo sindicato killed at least 17 people (15 men and 2 women); about 600 people were held at an improvised checkpoint during the day, and at least 14 of the victims died of a single gunshot to the head. Bodies were found on 14–16 March 2016, and a mass grave lay near the Hoja de Lata mine in Nuevo Callao.
The Public Prosecutor sought the arrest of the alleged leader of the sindicato, known as "El Topo", who was killed on 6 May 2016 in an operation by the SEBIN, National Guard and CICPC. By the end of 2016, 12 alleged sindicato members had been arrested and charged with murder, criminal association and aggravated robbery. In March 2016 the Tribunal 5º de Control de Puerto Ordaz ordered pretrial detention of one alleged lieutenant, according to Acceso a la Justicia. In September 2021 the Supreme Court (TSJ) transferred the case to the Caracas Criminal Judicial Circuit. No verdict is on record. The UN Mission wrote that judicial files show no investigation of the alleged participation of state agents and that "the State failed to comply with its obligation to investigate and punish".
OHCHR reported 16 violent incidents between March 2016 and March 2020 in which 140 men and 9 women were reportedly killed in or around Arc mines, with state security forces reportedly involved in some killings in eight incidents. In one, on 22 November 2019 in Ikabarú, a criminal group opened fire in a Pemon mining community and eight people were killed. OHCHR also reported that miners paid about 10–20% of ore to criminal or armed groups and that security forces were allegedly paid by groups to maintain a presence. The UN Mission attributed to military units alleged revenue from security for mines, fuel and air transport control, cross-border mercury smuggling, checkpoint payments and gold smuggling to Brazil and Colombia; these allegations have not been adjudicated.
The UN Mission reported intermittent presence of the ELN in Bolívar mining areas since at least 2018 and cited a CSIS estimate that the ELN is at least 60 per cent financed by mining in Venezuela; the government officially denies an ELN presence. The Mission also linked the sindicato economy to mercury-based processing in mills. The government did not reply to OHCHR requests on the 16 incidents or to the Mission's four letters, and the Mission was never allowed into the country.
- 2015Bulla de Atenas deposit discovered (Oct); more than 2,000 people working there by December
- 2016Killings (4 Mar); bodies found (14–16 Mar); alleged sindicato leader killed in an operation (6 May); 12 alleged members arrested and charged by year end
- 2019Ikabarú: eight killed when a criminal group opens fire in a Pemon mining community (22 Nov)
- 2020OHCHR reports 16 violent incidents since March 2016 (July)
- 2021Supreme Court transfers the case to the Caracas Criminal Judicial Circuit (Sep)
- 2022UN Fact-Finding Mission findings published (Sep–Nov)
What was said
“media campaign to terrorize the Venezuelan population”
“the State failed to comply with its obligation to investigate and punish”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
17 victims confirmed.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela21 bodies.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela25.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela28 reported missing.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on VenezuelaReasonable grounds to believe at least 17 people (15 men and 2 women) were killed.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)A struggle between two sindicatos for the deposit; Governor Rangel Gómez denied a massacre.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on VenezuelaSome attackers wore SEBIN and CICPC vests.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on VenezuelaThe testimonies do not allow it to reliably conclude that they were members; judicial files show no investigation of alleged state participation.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)Intermittent presence since at least 2018; cites a CSIS estimate that the ELN is at least 60 per cent financed by mining in Venezuela.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on VenezuelaOfficially denies an ELN presence.
UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on VenezuelaHow it looked
Shown
- The official version was a struggle between two sindicatos for control of the deposit.Venezuelan authorities, as summarised by the UN Fact-Finding Mission · UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net)
- Governor Rangel Gómez denied that a massacre had taken place.Governor of Bolívar, as quoted by the UN Fact-Finding Mission · UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela
Recorded
- The Public Prosecutor confirmed 17 victims; at least 14 died of a single gunshot to the head.
- By the end of 2016, 12 alleged sindicato members had been arrested and charged with murder, criminal association and aggravated robbery.
- In September 2021 the Supreme Court (TSJ) transferred the case to the Caracas Criminal Judicial Circuit.
- OHCHR: 16 violent incidents between March 2016 and March 2020, with 140 men and 9 women reportedly killed in or around Arc mines; state security forces reportedly involved in some killings in eight incidents.
- In March 2016 the Tribunal 5º de Control de Puerto Ordaz ordered pretrial detention of one alleged lieutenant.
- A SENAMECF internal report found forensic irregularities and recommended dismissals.
- The government did not reply to OHCHR requests on the 16 incidents or to the Mission's four letters; the Mission was never allowed into the country.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- venezuela-gov (2016-03): Governor Francisco Rangel Gómez denied that a massacre had taken place and described reports as a media campaign to terrorize the population; the official version was a struggle between two sindicatos for the deposit. · UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela
- venezuela-gov (2020): Did not reply to OHCHR requests on the 16 incidents or to four letters from the UN Fact-Finding Mission. · UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2016–OngoingCriminal case on the 4 March 2016 killings near Bulla de AtenasCaracas Criminal Judicial Circuit (case transferred by the Supreme Court in September 2021) · Criminal · Public Prosecutor → 12 alleged members of the El Topo sindicato (names not given), charged
By the end of 2016, 12 alleged sindicato members had been arrested and charged with murder, criminal association and aggravated robbery. The Tribunal 5º de Control de Puerto Ordaz ordered pretrial detention of one alleged lieutenant in March 2016. The alleged leader, sought by the Public Prosecutor, was killed on 6 May 2016 in an operation by the SEBIN, National Guard and CICPC. No verdict is on record. UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Accounts
Record
- Disputed Disputed: the death toll, 17 (Public Prosecutor), 21 bodies (then Attorney General Luisa Ortega Díaz in a TV interview of 14 March 2016), 25 (then Ombudsman Tarek William Saab) and 28 reported missing (relatives).
- None on record None on record: a conviction or sentence in the Tumeremo case as of 19 October 2026.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the current stage of the case before the Caracas Criminal Judicial Circuit.
- Not measured Not measured: harm to nature at the Bulla de Atenas deposit; the UN Mission links the sindicato economy to mercury-based processing in mills.
- None on record None on record: an investigation of the alleged participation of state agents; judicial files show none (UN Fact-Finding Mission).
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: government replies to OHCHR requests on the 16 incidents and to the Mission's four letters.
- Insufficient Insufficient: witnesses told the Mission that some attackers wore SEBIN and CICPC vests, but the Mission said the testimonies did not allow it to reliably conclude they were members.
Did the harm stop?
Not applicable as a single event; OHCHR reported 16 violent incidents between March 2016 and March 2020 and an eight-person killing at Ikabarú in November 2019.
Who paid?
None on record.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- Caso Tumeremo (Tumeremo case)Acceso a la Justicia · 2016-04-05
International bodies
- The human rights situation in the Arco Minero del Orinoco region and other areas of the Bolívar state (A/HRC/51/CRP.2, advance unedited version, mirror copy)UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela · 2022-09-20
- A/HRC/51/43 (report of the Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela)UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (via ecoi.net) · 2022-11-17
- Independence of the justice system. and situation of human rights in the Arco Minero del Orinoco region (A/HRC/44/54)UN Human Rights Office (OHCHR) · 2020-07-15
Connected cases
- Orinoco Mining Arc: decree, state gold business and measured harm Venezuela · 2011–2026 Related matter
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Issued Decree 2.248; mining ministry and state companies
- Supreme Court of Venezuela (TSJ) (Court) — here: Transferred the case to Caracas in September 2021; there: Nullity petition against Decree 2.248 pending
- UN Human Rights Office (International body) — here: A/HRC/44/54 report on 16 incidents; there: A/HRC/44/54 report
- UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (International organisation) — here: Findings on the 4 March 2016 killings; there: A/HRC/51/CRP.2 findings
- Gold mining inside Canaima National Park Venezuela · 2016–2026 Related matter
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Park authority and responsible state
- UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Venezuela (International organisation) — here: Findings on the 4 March 2016 killings; there: Findings on the 8 December 2018 attack
- Gold mining in Yapacana National Park and the 2023 military evictions Venezuela · 2021–2025 Related matter
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Ministry of Defence statements; National Guard post at the park entrance
- Las Cristinas gold project: 2008 permit denial in the Imataca reserve, Crystallex ICSID award and court-ordered sale of CITGO's parent Venezuela · 2008–2026 Related matter
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Respondent; judgment debtor
- Venezuelan gold exports to Turkey and the UAE and US sanctions on Minerven and the Central Bank Venezuela · 2018–2026 Related matter
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Exporting state
- Nissos Amorgos tanker spill, Gulf of Venezuela, 1997, and the US$60 million environmental-damage judgment Venezuela · 1997–2014
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Claimant State; awarded US$60 million
- Supreme Court of Venezuela (TSJ) (Court) — here: Transferred the case to Caracas in September 2021; there: Upheld the judgment in May 2013
- Brisas gold-copper project: 2008 revocation of the environmental permit in Imataca and Gold Reserve's ICSID award Venezuela · 2007–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Respondent
- Canaima National Park: fire suppression for the Guri catchment, mining pressure and the UNESCO decisions Venezuela · 1981–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: State Party to the World Heritage Convention
- Guri dam, drought and the 2010, 2016 and 2019 power crises: catchment, emergency contracts and prosecutions Venezuela · 2003–2023
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Decreed the electric emergency; attributed the 2019 blackout to sabotage
- Lake Maracaibo chronic oil leaks Venezuela · 2010–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Announced the July 2023 clean-up plan and pipeline replacement
- Lake Valencia: rising level, sewage and compensation for flooded homes Venezuela · 1976–2023
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Funded the clean-up programmes and the Pao-Cachinche transfer
- Marshall Islands nuclear tribunal awards over USD 2bn; payments are a small fraction Marshall Islands · 1946–2026
- UN Human Rights Office (International body) — here: A/HRC/44/54 report on 16 incidents; there: Called for full compensation (October 2026)
- Rusoro Mining award for the El Callao gold mines: Venezuela's unquantified natural-resource counterclaim and Rusoro's role in the CITGO sale Venezuela · 2008–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Respondent; counterclaimant
- Siembra Minera: the merged Brisas–Cristinas area in the Orinoco Mining Arc, the 2022 revocation and Gold Reserve's new arbitration Venezuela · 2016–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Respondent
- Unpaid Venezuelan contributions to the IOPC Funds, 2019–2026 Venezuela · 2019–2026
- Government of Venezuela (Government) — here: Responsible state; Public Prosecutor, security forces; there: Member State of the 1992 Fund; Ambassador in London approached by the Director