Termit and Tin Toumma National Nature Reserve: 2019 boundary change around CNPC oil blocks
- Fewer than 100 addax remained in me in 2022, possibly less than half that, against about 200–300 in 2007, according to members of the IUCN SSC Antelope Specialist Group. IUCN
- IUCN named disturbance from CNPC oil installations and heavy-vehicle traffic, and poaching by soldiers assigned to guard the oil industry, as causes of the addax decline (2016). IUCN
- Since the 2019 boundary change the addax zone in my Tin Toumma desert lies outside the protected area, according to members of the IUCN SSC Antelope Specialist Group. IUCN
- Noé estimated a decline of nearly 20% in my vegetation cover in the southern part of the reserve. EU Delegation to Niger (EEAS)
- International bodies IUCN, 2016: Disturbance from CNPC oil installations and heavy-vehicle traffic, and poaching by soldiers assigned to guard the oil industry. IUCN
- Communities and civil society John Newby, Sahara Conservation Fund, 2019: It is not the drilling but poaching by Niger's military units protecting the CNPC camps. Mongabay
In June 2019 Niger's government redrew the boundaries of the Termit and Tin Toumma National Nature Reserve, excluding an area in the east that overlapped CNPC oil blocks and adding land in the west. The addax habitat in the Tin Toumma desert ended up outside the reserve.
Figures differ: Mongabay (2019) gives nearly 45,000 km² removed out of nearly 100,000 km²; the EU delegation (2023) gives a reserve area of 86,215 km².
Status As of April 2023 (EU delegation note): the reserve is recorded at 86,215 km², the addax zone lies outside it, and no addax census after 2022 is on record.
- CNPC — Overlap with its oil concession blocks removed; investment of about $5 billion in wells, a 20,000 b/d refinery and an export pipeline Mongabay
- The reserve — About 50,000 km² in the east (IUCN SSC ASG members); nearly 45,000 km² per Mongabay IUCN
- Saharan addax — 3 animals found in March 2016; fewer than 100 in the wild in 2022 IUCN
- Vegetation of the southern reserve — Decline of nearly 20% in cover, per a Noé estimate EU Delegation to Niger (EEAS)
What happened
The Termit and Tin Toumma National Nature Reserve was created in 2012, and a management agreement with the NGO Noé was signed on 5 November 2018, according to Mongabay. On 26 June 2019 Niger's Council of Ministers announced a boundary change. About 50,000 km² in the east was excluded 'to remove overlap with oil concession blocks' and the reserve was extended westward, according to members of the IUCN SSC Antelope Specialist Group writing on 22 February 2022, who added that 'the addax zone in the Tin Toumma desert now lies outside the protected area'. Mongabay (2 August 2019) reported nearly 45,000 km² removed out of nearly 100,000 km², with CNPC holding exploration rights in part of the reserve and investing about $5 billion in wells, a 20,000 barrel-a-day refinery and an export pipeline.
The Saharan addax antelope was estimated at about 200 animals in 2010. An aerial survey in March 2016, covering 3,200 km of transects, and a 700 km ground survey found 3 animals, IUCN reported. In 2022 members of the IUCN SSC Antelope Specialist Group wrote that fewer than 100 remained in the wild, possibly less than half that, against about 200–300 in 2007. IUCN named disturbance from CNPC oil installations and heavy-vehicle traffic, and poaching by soldiers assigned to guard the oil industry, as causes in 2016. Noé estimated a decline of nearly 20% in vegetation cover in the southern part of the reserve, according to the EU delegation to Niger in April 2023.
Mongabay reported that the EU funded reserve management with 'millions' and gave no figure. The EU delegation's April 2023 note cites the EU's PAPBIO programme and future NaturAfrica support for the reserve without an amount, and gives the reserve area as 86,215 km². An IUCN mission in January 2020, at the government's invitation, was funded by an IUCN SOS Rapid Action Grant to Marwell Wildlife, co-funded by the EU; no amount is stated.
- 2012Reserve created
- 2016Aerial and ground survey finds 3 addax (March)
- 2018Management agreement with Noé signed (5 November)
- 2019Council of Ministers announces the boundary change (26 June); Mongabay report (2 August)
- 2020IUCN mission at the government's invitation (January)
- 2022IUCN Antelope Specialist Group members: addax zone lies outside the protected area (22 February)
- 2023EU delegation note: reserve area 86,215 km² (April)
What was said
“We are witnessing in real time the extinction of this iconic and once plentiful species”
“Those with commercial interests in the desert could make important contributions to the protection of the addax”
“human pressures are increasing faster than we can adapt given the current level of resource support for the Addax”
“We were shocked to learn this”
“It's not the drilling, but poaching by Niger's military units protecting the CNPC camps”
“The proposed land swap isn't the solution.”
“The addax zone in the Tin Toumma desert now lies outside the protected area”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
About 50,000 km² excluded in the east.
IUCNNearly 45,000 km² removed out of nearly 100,000 km².
MongabayReserve area of 86,215 km².
EU Delegation to Niger (EEAS)Disturbance from CNPC oil installations and heavy-vehicle traffic, and poaching by soldiers assigned to guard the oil industry.
IUCNIt is not the drilling but poaching by Niger's military units protecting the CNPC camps.
MongabayHow it looked
Shown
- A boundary change 'to remove overlap with oil concession blocks', with land added in the westNiger's Council of Ministers, 26 June 2019, as described by IUCN Antelope Specialist Group members · IUCN
- Land added in the west, described by Noé as having little ecological valueNoé (Sébastien Pinchon), 2019 · Mongabay
Recorded
- March 2016 survey: 3 addax found over 3,200 km of aerial transects and a 700 km ground survey; about 200 estimated in 2010.
- Fewer than 100 addax remained in the wild in 2022, possibly less than half that, against about 200–300 in 2007 (IUCN SSC Antelope Specialist Group members).
- IUCN (2016) named disturbance from CNPC oil installations and heavy-vehicle traffic, and poaching by soldiers assigned to guard the oil industry, as causes of the decline.
- Noé estimated a decline of nearly 20% in vegetation cover in the southern part of the reserve (EU delegation, 2023).
- The EU delegation's note gives no EU funding figure for the reserve.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- noe (2019): Noé's Sébastien Pinchon said the organisation was shocked to learn of the change and that the land added in the west has little ecological value. · Mongabay
- sahara-conservation-fund (2019): John Newby said the problem is poaching by military units protecting the CNPC camps rather than drilling, and that the proposed land swap is not the solution. · Mongabay
- iucn (2016): Jean-Christophe Vié said IUCN was witnessing the extinction of the addax in real time. · IUCN
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
Money
- None on record EU funding for reserve management ('millions' per Mongabay) — No figure given by Mongabay or the EU delegation's note.
- None on record IUCN SOS Rapid Action Grant to Marwell Wildlife for the January 2020 mission, EU co-funded — No amount stated.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Area removed from the reserve and total reserve area
Record
- Disputed Figures differ: members of the IUCN SSC Antelope Specialist Group (2022) give about 50,000 km² excluded; Mongabay (2019) gives nearly 45,000 km² excluded from nearly 100,000 km², attributed to Noé; the EU delegation (April 2023) gives a reserve area of 86,215 km².
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the decree number and date of the 2019 boundary change; only the Council of Ministers' announcement of 26 June 2019, as reported by Mongabay, is on record.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amount of EU funding for the reserve; Mongabay says 'millions' and the EU delegation's note gives no figure.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amount of the IUCN SOS Rapid Action Grant to Marwell Wildlife.
- None on record None on record: a statement from the Government of Niger or CNPC on the boundary change.
- None on record None on record: a court case about the boundary change.
- None on record None on record: an addax census after 2022.
Did the harm stop?
None on record.
Who paid?
None on record.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Africa's largest reserve may lose half its area to oil developmentMongabay · 2019-08-02
International bodies
- Saharan Addax antelope faces imminent extinctionIUCN · 2016-05-06
- Protéger la plus grande réserve terrestre d'AfriqueEU Delegation to Niger (EEAS) · 2023-04-18
Connected cases
- Niger–Benin crude export pipeline (WAPCO): financing, land compensation and the June 2024 sabotage spill Niger · 2018–2024 Related matter
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Announced the boundary change on 26 June 2019; there: 15% owner of WAPCo-Niger; environmental assessment through BNEE; inquiry into the sabotage
- China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC) (Company) — here: Holds exploration rights in part of the reserve; investment of about $5 billion; there: Majority owner and, through CNPC Finance (HK), lender
- Aïr and Ténéré Natural Reserves, World Heritage in Danger: mining permits, gold panning and the funding gap Niger · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Announced the boundary change on 26 June 2019; there: State Party; steps to revoke three mining permits
- Goumeri W-8 well eruption at the Agadem oil block, Niger (2026) Niger · 2026 Related matter
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Announced the boundary change on 26 June 2019; there: Ministry of Petroleum; announced the investigation and precautionary measures
- African Parks Odzala-Kokoua abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2010–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Recommended deferral of World Heritage listing in 2022
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Funder (€6m for 2018–2023; 46% of the park budget in 2020)
- Al-Jaili refinery fires and wartime damage in Khartoum, 2023–2025 Sudan · 2023–2025
- China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC) (Company) — here: Holds exploration rights in part of the reserve; investment of about $5 billion; there: Co-owner of the refinery
- Arlit and Akokan uranium waste: Cominak closure, remediation provision and radioactivity measurements Niger · 1974–2026
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Announced the boundary change on 26 June 2019; there: Said Orano abandoned the rehabilitation; announced proceedings
- Asiatic cheetah conservation project in Iran: 25 years of funding and a count of 26 animals Iran · 2000–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Executing partner in the GEF database; hosts the 2025 monitoring report
- Baikal Natural Territory: expertise exemptions and clear-cutting rules Russia · 2020–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Joint reactive monitoring mission with UNESCO planned for August 2026
- Banc d'Arguin National Park, the BACoMaB trust fund and fishing pressure Mauritania · 2002–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Fisheries-agreement sectoral support, including EUR 1 million a year for the PNBA in 2008–2012
- Burkina Faso Forest Investment Program project: 3.78 million tCO2eq in emission reductions estimated with an ex-ante tool Burkina Faso · 2014–2021
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: EU Trust Fund grant of EUR 7.30 million, amended to EUR 6.5 million
- Buzachi Operating: KZT 8.4 billion for gas losses and unauthorised flaring (Mangystau, 2025) Kazakhstan · 2019–2026
- China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC) (Company) — here: Holds exploration rights in part of the reserve; investment of about $5 billion; there: 50% owner
- CAMPFIRE and elephant trophy hunting Zimbabwe · 2010–2015
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Policy guidance
- Canaima National Park: fire suppression for the Guri catchment, mining pressure and the UNESCO decisions Venezuela · 1981–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Advisory body to the World Heritage Committee
- Caspian seal mass deaths, 2020–2025 Caspian Sea (Russia, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan) · 2020–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Endangered listing since 2008
- Caspian sturgeon and caviar: trade suspensions, fishing bans and the move to farmed caviar Caspian Sea (Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Iran) · 1998–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Red List assessments of sturgeon
- CNPC crude dumping in the Bongor basin: US$1.2 billion fine and US$400 million settlement Chad · 2013–2015
- China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC) (Company) — here: Holds exploration rights in part of the reserve; investment of about $5 billion; there: Parent of the operating unit CNPC International Chad
- Colossal Biosciences: de-extinction ventures, funding and the Burgum remark United States · 2022–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Its Canid Specialist Group stated the pups are not dire wolves
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Co-author of RDNA3 and RDNA4; statement at the OSCE
- Endorois and Lake Bogoria enzyme extraction (Kenya) Kenya · 1970–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Technical evaluator whose recommendation led to the 2011 World Heritage listing
- EU bans offset-based neutrality claims from 27 September 2026 European Union · 2024–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: adopted the directive
- EU court rejects Austria's challenge to green label for gas and nuclear European Union · 2022–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: set the taxonomy rules
- EU Deforestation Regulation delays and trade pressure European Union · 2022
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Regulator
- EU mirror measure on antimicrobials and Brazil beef exclusion Brazil · 2019–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Regulator that adopted the measure and decided the list
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Adopted the narrowed directive and postponed the EUDR
- EU seal-product ban's Inuit exemption found ineffective Canada · 2014
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Seal-product ban with an Inuit exemption
- FSC suspension of Russia and Belarus and birch plywood sanctions cases in the EU Russia · 2022–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Council Regulation (EU) 2022/576 wood import ban
- Gold mining inside Canaima National Park Venezuela · 2016–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report
- Half-Earth and 30x30 advocacy funding (Wyss Campaign for Nature) Global · 2016–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Co-author of the Protected Planet Report 2024
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Funder of the €10 million restoration project
- Hoor al-Azim wetland, oil-field development and dikes in Khuzestan Iran · 2007–2026
- China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC) (Company) — here: Holds exploration rights in part of the reserve; investment of about $5 billion; there: South Azadegan contractor (US$2.5 billion)
- Jadar lithium project Serbia · 2022–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Defendant in the strategic-status case (European Commission)
- Kaeng Krachan: Karen evictions and the disappearance of Billy Thailand · 1981–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Recommended against listing until Karen concerns were addressed
- Kenyan forest guards shoot dead Sengwer herder Robert Kirotich during evictions Kenya · 2018–2024
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: donor; suspended support for the WaTER programme
- Kenyan water-tower forest evictions followed the 2018 shooting of a Sengwer herder Kenya · 2016–2024
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: funder of the WaTER programme
- Kiribati opens Phoenix Islands protected area to fishing; trust dissolved Kiribati · 2015–2021
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: reports the area's status in 2025
- Kiribati PIPA opened to fishing Kiribati · 2015–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Assessed the property (World Heritage Outlook)
- Mangistaumunaigas fines for wastewater injection, drilling waste and furnace emissions (Mangystau, 2024) Kazakhstan · 2024–2025
- China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC) (Company) — here: Holds exploration rights in part of the reserve; investment of about $5 billion; there: 50% owner
- Mauritania fishmeal industry, sardinella stocks and foreign fishing agreements Mauritania · 2008–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Party to the Sustainable Fisheries Partnership Agreement and protocol
- Messok Dja ecoguard abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2008–2020
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Funder; suspended about €1 million in 2020
- Methane super-emitters in Turkmenistan's oil and gas fields Turkmenistan · 2017–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Methane import rules apply to gas contracts from 2027
- Morocco says it cut cadmium in phosphate fertilisers; EU cannot verify the claim Morocco · 2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: acknowledges it cannot verify Morocco's claim
- Nonylphenol ethoxylates: Swiss ban and EU restriction Switzerland · 1984–2014
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Adopted Directive 2003/53/EC
- Pacific tuna Vessel Day Scheme Pacific Islands (PNA members) · 2010–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Assessor of the Phoenix Islands Protected Area
- Paid markhor hunt in Surkhandarya, Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2024–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List
- Plastic waste imports into Türkiye (Adana) Türkiye · 2016–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Assessed Türkiye under Article 45(5) of the Waste Shipment Regulation
- Posidonia oceanica meadows (Balearics, Mediterranean) Spain · 2018–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Habitats Directive: Posidonia beds are a priority habitat
- Prestige Spain · 2002–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Provided more than €275m in aid
- Register of Damage for Ukraine, the Claims Commission convention and the money meant to pay claims Ukraine · 2024–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan
- Rio Tinto Juukan Gorge destruction Australia · 2020
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Conservation body in a Collaboration Agreement with Rio Tinto (2010)
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Funder of the WaTER programme
- Somaïr nationalisation, Orano's ICSID arbitration and the Niger uranium stock Niger · 2023–2026
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Announced the boundary change on 26 June 2019; there: Nationalised Somaïr; cancelled the Arlit concession
- South Sudan oil fields: pollution in Unity and Upper Nile South Sudan · 1999–2025
- China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC) (Company) — here: Holds exploration rights in part of the reserve; investment of about $5 billion; there: Named by AP among companies that did not respond
- Sudan gum arabic belt: wartime production losses and EU and GCF funding Sudan · 2013–2028
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Funder of the gum arabic programme
- Trade rules curb green industrial policy; WTO rules against Indonesia nickel ban Global · 2013–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Complainant in the Indonesia nickel case; respondent in the palm oil and CBAM disputes
- Ukraine's ban on raw-log exports and the EU–Ukraine Association Agreement arbitration, 2015–2026 Ukraine · 2015–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Complainant in the arbitration
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Mobilised over EUR 360 million for demining since 2022 (EEAS)
- UNESCO World Heritage listings and Indigenous rights Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Ethiopia, Uganda · 1991–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Technical evaluator for natural sites
- US withdrawal from 66 international bodies and Paris/UNFCCC United States · 2025–2027
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Body the US withdrew from
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Trade partner (trade preference)
- Wadi El Ku catchment project, North Darfur Sudan · 2013–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Funder, EUR 6.45 million for phase 1
- Western gray whales off Sakhalin and the company-funded IUCN advisory panel Russia · 2004–2022
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Convened and hosted the Western Gray Whale Advisory Panel
- Whale oil, kerosene and the 1986 whaling moratorium International · 1859–2022
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020; there: Assessed the humpback whale (2008)
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Funder of the WaTER programme
- WTO panel backs EU on palm biofuel rules in Malaysia case Global · 2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Respondent; set the renewable-status rules
- WTO panel found Indonesia's raw nickel export ban breached rules Indonesia · 2020–2022
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme); there: Brought the complaint at the WTO