Somaïr nationalisation, Orano's ICSID arbitration and the Niger uranium stock
- From 11 December 2010 more than 200,000 litres of radioactive sludge leaked from three cracked waste pools at the Somaïr mine, according to Greenpeace. Greenpeace
Niger's military government took over the Somaïr uranium mine at Arlit in June 2025, and Orano is pursuing ICSID arbitration case ARB/25/8, in which a tribunal ordered Niger on 23 September 2025 not to sell Somaïr uranium. Orano put the uranium stock at nearly $310 million in December 2025.
Orano's figures at other dates: about €250 million (February 2025), about $270 million (October 2025), €300 million (January 2026).
Status As of October 2026: ICSID case ARB/25/8 pending after the 23 September 2025 provisional-measures order; Arlit concession cancelled on 18 May 2026 and a draft decree of 21 August 2026 awards the permit to TSUMCO; Paris investigation open, no charges reported; no sale of the stock reported.
- State of Niger — Took full ownership of Somaïr's shares and assets by the ordinance of 19 June 2025 and, by the decree of 18 May 2026, the Arlit concession; a draft decree of 21 August 2026 awards the permit to TSUMCO SA Ecofin Agency
- Orano — Received 86.3% of the 80,518 tonnes sold since 1971, according to Niger's statement Wakat Séra (citing APA)
- Orano — Reports expropriation without compensation; impairments of €69 million for Imouraren in 2024 Orano
- Soil, water and biodiversity around the Arlit mining zone — Described by Niger's Council of Ministers in May 2026 as suffering 'dramatic impacts' Ecofin Agency
What happened
Somaïr was founded in 1968 and has produced uranium since 1971; before nationalisation Orano held 63.4% and SOPAMIN of Niger 36.6%. On 26 May 2014 Niger and Areva signed a strategic partnership agreement renewing the Somaïr and Cominak mining agreements under Niger's 2006 mining law, with Areva commitments of €90 million for the Tahoua–Arlit road, €10 million for a building for the mining companies and €17 million for development of the Irhazer valley. On 4 May 2023 a Global Partnership Agreement provided €40 million in social projects by 2030 and €85 million to test in-situ recovery at Imouraren; in its 2023 accounts Orano booked a €30 million provision for the societal commitment and €60 million of provisions for country risk.
After the coup of 26 July 2023 Somaïr could not export uranium from Arlit. On 4 December 2024 Orano recognised the loss of operational control of Somaïr, and on 21 January 2025 it announced a second arbitration procedure against Niger, later registered as ICSID case ARB/25/8. Orano deconsolidated Somaïr, Cominak and Imouraren from 1 December 2024; its chief executive described Somaïr (about 780 employees) in February 2025 as 'virtually bankrupt'. An Orano representative was detained in Niger from May 2025, and the Niamey Court of Appeal issued a decision in July 2025 calling for his release.
On 19 June 2025 Niger's Council of Ministers adopted a draft ordinance nationalising Somaïr: its shares and assets were to be transferred in full ownership to the State of Niger, the board dissolved and the former shareholders compensated taking account of all their legal obligations. Orano's 2025 report gives 19 June 2025 as the date of an expropriation that took place 'outside of any legal proceedings and without any compensation'. In the same statement Niger said that of 80,518 tonnes of uranium sold since 1971, Orano took 86.3% and SOPAMIN 9.2%, although the agreements provide for sharing by shareholding.
On 23 September 2025 the ICSID tribunal in ARB/25/8 ordered Niger 'not to sell, transfer, or even facilitate the transfer to third parties of uranium produced by SOMAIR' (Orano's quotation of the order), asked Niger to proceed with the release of the Orano representative, and rejected Niger's challenge to Orano's appointed arbitrator. About 1,000 tonnes left Arlit in late November 2025; Orano said on 27 November it was 'not the initiator of this shipment' and had no official information on its quantity, destination or transport conditions. Thirty-four trucks reached Niamey airport between 3 and 5 December 2025 (AFP satellite imagery). In April 2026 more than 1,000 tonnes of yellowcake were at Air Base 101 in Niamey on trucks that had not moved for weeks, and a Russian bulk carrier that waited off Lomé left empty (FPRI analysis). On 19 December 2025 the Paris prosecutor confirmed an investigation for organised-gang theft to serve the interests of a foreign power; no suspect or charge has been reported.
In February 2026 General Abdourahamane Tiani said that France is entitled to 63.4% of the 156.231 tons produced and that everything produced since then belongs to Niger, which would pay for transport; Niger also said it had invested several tens of billions of CFA francs of public funds after July 2023 and extracted about 2,000 tonnes under Nigerien control. On 18 May 2026 a decree cancelled the 1968 Arlit concession (about 360 km², granted for 75 years) for unpaid surface fees, and Niger created TSUMCO; its Council of Ministers accused Orano of 'dramatic impacts' on soil, water resources and biodiversity and said Orano remained liable for its tax and environmental obligations. On 21 August 2026 a draft decree awarded the Arlit large mining permit (the 'In Azaoua' project) to TSUMCO SA. Orano's finance director said on 31 July 2026 that no conciliation was possible without a channel of discussion.
The Imouraren permit, about 80 km south of Arlit, was granted in 2009 to Imouraren SA (Orano Expansion 66.65%, State of Niger 33.35%; reserves above 200,000 tU) and its development was suspended in 2015. The permit was withdrawn in June 2024 'despite the resumption of activities at the Imouraren site', Orano said, ending the €85 million test budget agreed in 2023; Orano filed a request for arbitration on 20 December 2024 and recorded a €69 million impairment of Imouraren intangible mining assets in 2024.
- 1968Somaïr founded; production since 1971
- 2014Strategic partnership agreement renews the Somaïr and Cominak mining agreements (26 May)
- 2023Global Partnership Agreement (4 May); coup in Niger (26 July)
- 2024Imouraren permit withdrawn (June); Orano recognises loss of operational control of Somaïr (4 December); Imouraren arbitration request (20 December)
- 2025ICSID arbitration announced (21 January); expropriation (19 June); ICSID order (23 September); shipment leaves Arlit (late November); trucks reach Niamey (3–5 December); Paris investigation (19 December)
- 2026Tiani's offer on France's share (February); Arlit concession cancelled and TSUMCO created (18 May); draft decree awards the Arlit permit to TSUMCO (21 August)
What was said
“not to sell, transfer, or even facilitate the transfer to third parties of uranium produced by SOMAIR”
“Orano strongly condemns this systematic campaign to dispossess the group of its mining assets”
“not the initiator of this shipment and strongly condemns it”
“irresponsible, illegal and disloyal conduct”
“legitimate right to dispose of its natural riches”
“France is entitled to 63.4% of the 156.231 tons”
“near-judicial harassment”
“no conciliation was possible without a current channel of discussion”
“virtually bankrupt”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Claims offtake rights over production and condemns the shipment as one it did not initiate.
OranoOrdered Niger on 23 September 2025 not to sell, transfer or facilitate the transfer of Somaïr uranium to third parties (Orano's quotation).
OranoFrance is entitled to 63.4% of the 156.231 tons; everything produced since then belongs to Niger.
Ecofin AgencyAbout 1,300 tonnes of concentrate, about €250 million (Orano).
AFP via Connaissance des ÉnergiesMore than 1,500 tonnes, about $270 million (Orano).
Nuclear Engineering InternationalNearly 1,600 tonnes, nearly $310 million at market value (Orano).
AFP via DH€300 million (Orano board chair Claude Imauven).
AFP via Connaissance des ÉnergiesOver 1,800 tonnes, about $380 million; not attributed to Orano.
La Nouvelle TribuneOf 80,518 tonnes sold since 1971, Orano took 86.3% and SOPAMIN 9.2%, although the agreements provide for sharing by shareholding (63.4% / 36.6%).
Wakat Séra (citing APA)From 1971 to 2024 Orano received 86% of operating revenues against 9.2% for Niger; this wording differs from 'uranium sold'.
La Nouvelle TribuneNiger expropriated Orano outside any legal proceedings and without any compensation (Annual Activity Report 2025).
OranoFormer shareholders are to be compensated, taking account of all their legal obligations.
Wakat Séra (citing APA)How it looked
Shown
- Orano took 86.3% and SOPAMIN 9.2% of the 80,518 tonnes of uranium sold since 1971, although the agreements provide for sharing by shareholdingNiger's Council of Ministers, 19 June 2025, as reported by Wakat Séra · Wakat Séra (citing APA)
- Societal investment by Somaïr and Cominak of 'over 14 billion FCFA in 16 years' and a Niger stake of 'more than 30%' in the three mining companiesOrano, August 2023 · Orano
- Nigerien control of production: about 2,000 tonnes extracted after July 2023 and several tens of billions of CFA francs of public funds investedNiger, as reported by Ecofin, February 2026 · Ecofin Agency
Recorded
- ICSID tribunal order of 23 September 2025 in ARB/25/8 (Orano's quotation): Niger not to sell, transfer or facilitate the transfer of Somaïr uranium to third parties; no final award is on record.
- Orano's 2025 report states that Niger expropriated Orano on 19 June 2025 outside any legal proceedings and without compensation.
- Orano Mining Niger's 2024 payments to governments, in XOF: taxes 35,227,232; fees 782,797,389; infrastructure 14,208,935; other payments 597,359,458; total 1,429,593,014. Somaïr and Cominak, deconsolidated from 1 December 2024, do not appear in the table.
- Orano recorded a €69 million impairment of Imouraren intangible mining assets in 2024, and about €193 million of impairments and provisions for Imouraren and Somaïr in the first half of 2024 (AFP).
- The Paris prosecutor confirmed an investigation on 19 December 2025; no suspect or charge has been reported.
- Niger's Council of Ministers cancelled the 1968 Arlit concession on 18 May 2026 and a draft decree of 21 August 2026 awards the permit to TSUMCO SA.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- orano (20 June 2025): Strongly condemns this systematic campaign to dispossess the group of its mining assets. · Orano
- orano (2026 (Annual Activity Report 2025)): Niger expropriated Orano outside any legal proceedings and without any compensation. · Orano
- orano (27 November 2025): Not the initiator of the shipment from the Somaïr site, which it strongly condemns; no official information on the transport. · Orano
- orano (February 2026): Chief executive Nicolas Maes favours a negotiated solution. · AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
- orano (31 July 2026): Finance director David Claverie said no conciliation was possible without a current channel of discussion. · AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
- niger-government (19 June 2025): Former shareholders are to be compensated taking account of all their legal obligations. · Wakat Séra (citing APA)
- niger-government (February 2026): General Tiani said France is entitled to 63.4% of the 156.231 tons and that everything produced since belongs to Niger. · Ecofin Agency
- niger-government (4 May 2026): Mines Minister Ousmane Abarchi called the proceedings 'near-judicial harassment' and said talks with serious buyers continue. · La Nouvelle Tribune
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2025–OngoingOrano v. Republic of Niger (Somaïr), ICSID case ARB/25/8International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) · Arbitration · Orano → Republic of Niger
Orano announced the arbitration on 21 January 2025. On 23 September 2025 the tribunal ordered Niger 'not to sell, transfer, or even facilitate the transfer to third parties of uranium produced by SOMAIR' (Orano's quotation), asked Niger to proceed with the release of the Orano representative in line with a July 2025 Niamey Court of Appeal decision, and rejected Niger's challenge to Orano's appointed arbitrator. Nuclear Engineering International reports that the status of uranium produced after the takeover remains unresolved by the order. No final award is on record. Orano
- 2024–OngoingOrano request for arbitration over the Imouraren permitArbitral forum not named by Orano or World Nuclear News · Arbitration · Orano → State of Niger
Orano filed a request for arbitration on 20 December 2024 after the Imouraren permit was withdrawn in June 2024. No outcome is on record. Orano
- 2025–OngoingParis investigation into the disappearance of Somaïr uraniumParis prosecutor's office · Criminal · Paris prosecutor → No suspect named
On 19 December 2025 the Paris prosecutor confirmed an investigation for organised-gang theft to serve the interests of a foreign power. No suspect or charge has been reported. FPRI says Orano filed a criminal complaint in France. AFP via DH
- 2025–2025Outcome not on recordDetention of an Orano representative in NiameyNiamey Court of Appeal · Appeal · Orano representative → State of Niger
The representative was detained in May 2025. A July 2025 decision of the Niamey Court of Appeal called for his release, and the ICSID tribunal asked Niger on 23 September 2025 to proceed with it. Whether he has been released is not on record. Orano
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Money
- None on record Environmental remediation of the Somaïr pits and waste piles — No amount on record.
- None on record Payments to Niger's government by Orano Mining Niger, 2024 — XOF 1,429,593,014 in total; no conversion.
- None on record Value of the stock in US dollars: about $270 million (October 2025, over 1,500 t), nearly $310 million (December 2025, nearly 1,600 t) — Dollar figures; no conversion.
Court
- Unclear Detention of an Orano representative in Niamey: outcome not on record.
Accounts
Record
- Disputed Figures differ: Orano's value for the uranium stock rose from about €250 million (about 1,300 t, AFP, February 2025) to about $270 million (over 1,500 t, NEI, October 2025), nearly $310 million (nearly 1,600 t, AFP, December 2025) and €300 million (Orano board chair, AFP, January 2026); La Nouvelle Tribune (May 2026) gives over 1,800 t and about $380 million without attributing it to Orano.
- Disputed Figures differ: Niger's statement of 19 June 2025 (via Wakat Séra) gives 80,518 tonnes of uranium sold since 1971; Nuclear Engineering International gives 81,861 tU for 1971–2024 with the same percentages.
- Disputed Figures differ: AFP (February 2026) describes the share Tiani offered France as about a hundred tonnes; La Nouvelle Tribune (May 2026) gives about 95 tonnes.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amount of surface fees Niger said Orano Mining owed on the unleased part of the Arlit concession.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the text of the ICSID order of 23 September 2025; the quotation comes from Orano's statement, and the next ICSID hearing date has not been published by either party.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the forum, case number and status of the Imouraren arbitration.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the forums and number of Orano's proceedings against Niger; Orano's 2024 report refers to four proceedings before international courts and its 2025 report to several proceedings before the competent international arbitral courts.
- None on record None on record: Orano-specific provisions or amounts for Niger in Note 34 of Orano's 2025 Annual Activity Report.
- None on record None on record: Orano's quantity, destination or transport conditions for the shipment from Somaïr; Orano said it had no official information.
- Unclear Unclear: whether the detained Orano representative has been released after the July 2025 Niamey Court of Appeal decision calling for his release.
- Unclear Unclear: who holds the remediation liability for the Somaïr pits and waste piles after the award of the permit to TSUMCO.
- Disputed Disputed: ownership of the stock; Orano claims offtake rights over production, while Niger says only the pre-takeover share belongs to France.
Did the harm stop?
None on record.
Who paid?
Orano states that it received no compensation for the expropriation of 19 June 2025. Niger states that former shareholders are to be compensated taking account of their legal obligations, which Wakat Séra says include the cost of rehabilitating mining sites.
Sources
Company or project
- Orano signs a general partnership agreement with the government of NigerOrano · 2023-05-04
- Annual Activity Report 2025, Note 34 (Niger)Orano · 2026
- Annual Activity Report 2024, p. 342 (Note 5)Orano · 2025
- Annual Activity Report 2024, p. 380 (Note 34)Orano · 2025
- Orano condemns illegal shipment of uranium stored at the SOMAIR siteOrano · 2025-11-27
- Orano opposes nationalization plans of SOMAÏR in NigerOrano · 2025-06-20
- Orano in Niger: let's talk economicsOrano · 2023-08-03
Press and investigations
- Niger: la société des mines SOMAIR nationaliséeWakat Séra (citing APA) · 2025-06-20
- Tribunal decision supports Orano in Somaïr disputeWorld Nuclear News · 2025-09-30
- Orano sceptique sur un redémarrage rapide de sa production d'uranium au NigerAFP via Connaissance des Énergies · 2025-02-19
- Disparition d'uranium au Niger: enquête ouverte à Paris pour vol en bande organiséeAFP via DH · 2025-12-19
- Orano promet d'agir en justice contre quiconque voudrait mettre la main sur son uranium au NigerAFP via Connaissance des Énergies · 2026-01-22
- Uranium: Orano se dit favorable à une solution négociée avec la junte militaire au NigerAFP via Connaissance des Énergies · 2026-02
- Orano pénalisé par plusieurs arrêts de production, maintient ses objectifs 2026AFP via Connaissance des Énergies · 2026-07-31
- Niger reveals plans to sell Somaïr uraniumWorld Nuclear News · 2025-12-01
- Orano seeks arbitration over Niger mining licenceWorld Nuclear News · 2024-12
- Niger awards Arlit uranium mining permit to state-owned companyWorld Nuclear News · 2026-08
- Niger targets Orano over radwasteNuclear Engineering International · 2025-12-10
- Niger sets uranium share terms in dispute with France's OranoEcofin Agency · 2026-02-17
- Niger escalates dispute with Orano by revoking historic uranium licenseEcofin Agency · 2026-05-19
- Uranium du Niger: Niamey a gagné la bataille politique, Paris tient le verrou judiciaireLa Nouvelle Tribune · 2026-05-31
Communities and civil society
- Radioactive spill at AREVA uranium mine in Niger (archived blog)Greenpeace · 2010-12-18
Researchers
- Why Niger Can Seize Uranium but Cannot Sell ItForeign Policy Research Institute · 2026-04-24
Connected cases
- Arlit and Akokan uranium waste: Cominak closure, remediation provision and radioactivity measurements Niger · 1974–2026 Related matter
- Orano (Company) — here: Majority shareholder of Somaïr (63.4%); claimant in ICSID ARB/25/8; there: Majority shareholder of Cominak (59% in 2021); kept the €70 million rehabilitation provision
- SOPAMIN (Company) — here: Niger's state mining company; 36.6% shareholder in Somaïr; there: Niger's state mining company; 31% shareholder in 2021
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Nationalised Somaïr; cancelled the Arlit concession; there: Said Orano abandoned the rehabilitation; announced proceedings
- Aïr and Ténéré Natural Reserves, World Heritage in Danger: mining permits, gold panning and the funding gap Niger · 2025–2026
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Nationalised Somaïr; cancelled the Arlit concession; there: State Party; steps to revoke three mining permits
- Brisas gold-copper project: 2008 revocation of the environmental permit in Imataca and Gold Reserve's ICSID award Venezuela · 2007–2026
- International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) (International organisation) — here: Tribunal in ARB/25/8; order of 23 September 2025; there: Arbitral forum
- Cobalt child labour lawsuits against tech firms (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2024
- Paris prosecutor's office (Public authority) — here: Investigation opened on 19 December 2025; there: Prosecutor that decided not to prosecute
- Goumeri W-8 well eruption at the Agadem oil block, Niger (2026) Niger · 2026
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Nationalised Somaïr; cancelled the Arlit concession; there: Ministry of Petroleum; announced the investigation and precautionary measures
- Las Cristinas gold project: 2008 permit denial in the Imataca reserve, Crystallex ICSID award and court-ordered sale of CITGO's parent Venezuela · 2008–2026
- International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) (International organisation) — here: Tribunal in ARB/25/8; order of 23 September 2025; there: Arbitral forum
- Loulo-Gounkoto gold complex: Barrick–Mali dispute, provisional administration and settlement Mali · 2023–2026
- International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) (International organisation) — here: Tribunal in ARB/25/8; order of 23 September 2025; there: Arbitration filed by Somilo and Gounkoto against Mali
- Niger–Benin crude export pipeline (WAPCO): financing, land compensation and the June 2024 sabotage spill Niger · 2018–2024
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Nationalised Somaïr; cancelled the Arlit concession; there: 15% owner of WAPCo-Niger; environmental assessment through BNEE; inquiry into the sabotage
- Rockhopper v. Italy (Ombrina Mare): the ICSID award and who financed it Italy · 2015–2026
- International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) (International organisation) — here: Tribunal in ARB/25/8; order of 23 September 2025; there: Arbitration institution; annulment committee
- Rusoro Mining award for the El Callao gold mines: Venezuela's unquantified natural-resource counterclaim and Rusoro's role in the CITGO sale Venezuela · 2008–2026
- International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) (International organisation) — here: Tribunal in ARB/25/8; order of 23 September 2025; there: Arbitral forum
- Siembra Minera: the merged Brisas–Cristinas area in the Orinoco Mining Arc, the 2022 revocation and Gold Reserve's new arbitration Venezuela · 2016–2026
- International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) (International organisation) — here: Tribunal in ARB/25/8; order of 23 September 2025; there: Arbitral forum
- Termit and Tin Toumma National Nature Reserve: 2019 boundary change around CNPC oil blocks Niger · 2012–2023
- Government of Niger (Government) — here: Nationalised Somaïr; cancelled the Arlit concession; there: Announced the boundary change on 26 June 2019