Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Mining · Niger · 1974–2026

Arlit and Akokan uranium waste: Cominak closure, remediation provision and radioactivity measurements

Nature's voice · report
About 20 million tonnes of rock waste and ore residues lie on 120 hectares of me beside Arlit and Akokan, up to 35 metres high, after more than 40 years of mining, according to AFP (2023).
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record. Disputed
Recorded
  • CRIIRAD said in 2023 that radioactive waste had contaminated my groundwater and threatened drinking-water sources in the Arlit area for more than 100,000 people. Nuclear Engineering International
  • Drinking water drawn from me in December 2003 had gross alpha activity of 1.0 Bq/l (urban-zone network) and 11 Bq/l (industrial-zone network); CRIIRAD put these at 10 and 110 times the WHO screening value of 0.1 Bq/l. CRIIRAD
  • Areva stated in 2003, as quoted by CRIIRAD, that 270 million cubic metres had been pumped from my fossil aquifer since mining began, against reserves estimated in 1968 at 1,300 million cubic metres. CRIIRAD
  • Greenpeace reported in May 2010 that uranium exceeded WHO limits in four of five water samples taken in November 2009. Greenpeace
  • From 11 December 2010 more than 200,000 litres of radioactive sludge leaked from three cracked waste pools at the Somaïr mine; Aghir In'Man said two hectares were contaminated. Greenpeace
  • Niger's Mining Ministry inspectors reported in December 2025 about 400 barrels of radioactive core material at Madaouela near Arlit, with readings up to 10 µSv/h against a normal 0.5 µSv/h. Nuclear Engineering International
What the record lacks: 4 none on record · 2 not disclosed · 1 insufficient · 1 self-reported only · 9 disputed · 1 unclear See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
Who completes and pays for the Cominak remediation after December 2024
  • Company or project Orano: Keeps the obligation and the €70 million provision (chief executive Nicolas Maes, 19 February 2025). AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • Government and regulators Niger's Council of Ministers: Orano abandoned rehabilitation work at Cominak (19 June 2025, as reported by Wakat Séra citing APA). Wakat Séra (citing APA)
Whether the Arlit drinking water was contaminated
  • Company or project Cogema, 23 December 2003: Periodic analyses show no contamination (quoted in the CRIIRAD note). CRIIRAD
  • Communities and civil society CRIIRAD, 2005: Gross alpha of 1.0 and 11 Bq/l in the two networks sampled in December 2003, 10 and 110 times the WHO screening value of 0.1 Bq/l. CRIIRAD
Whether the planned cover will contain the waste for as long as needed
  • Company or project Cominak director general, 2023: The remediation is to leave a safe, healthy and non-polluting site. AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • Communities and civil society CRIIRAD (Bruno Chareyron): Orano should have sealed the waste off on a secure site; he doubts the planned cover will last as long as needed. Nuclear Engineering International
Origin of the barrels of radioactive material at Madaouela
  • Government and regulators Niger's Justice Minister, December 2025: Attributed the barrels to Orano and said Orano would face proceedings. Nuclear Engineering International
  • Company or project Orano: It does not hold an operating licence for Madaouela and has conducted no operations there. Nuclear Engineering International
  • Press and investigations World Nuclear News, August 2026: Madaouela was a GoviEx permit until 2024. World Nuclear News

The Cominak underground uranium mine in northern Niger stopped production on 31 March 2021 and left about 20 million tonnes of waste beside the towns of Arlit and Akokan. Remediation was reported at €150 million, Orano kept a €70 million provision after losing control in December 2024, and the works were suspended.

€150 millionCominak remediation cost reported by AFP (2023)
About 10 years of works plus at least 5 years of monitoring. After deconsolidating Cominak, Orano kept a €70 million provision for the site (AFP, February 2025).

Status As of October 2026: remediation works suspended since the end of 2024; Niger announced legal proceedings against Orano in January 2026; no filed case reported.

What?
The Cominak underground uranium mine near Arlit and Akokan in northern Niger stopped production on 31 March 2021 and left about 20 million tonnes of waste on site. Remediation was reported at €150 million, Orano kept a €70 million provision after losing control in December 2024, and the works were suspended. AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
Where?
Arlit and Akokan, Agadez region, northern Niger: the former Cominak underground mine beside the towns, and the Somaïr open pits about 7 km north-west of Arlit. CRIIRAD
When?
Cominak was created in 1974, began production in 1978 and stopped on 31 March 2021. Water was sampled in December 2003 and 2004–2005, in November 2009 and after a leak in December 2010; rehabilitation work was suspended after 1 December 2024. Orano
Who?
Gained
  • Cominak shareholders: Orano Mining 59%, SOPAMIN 31%, ENUSA 10% (2021) — More than 40 years of production and 75,000 tonnes of uranium extracted Orano
Lost
  • Orano — Kept a €70 million provision for rehabilitating the Cominak site after deconsolidation AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • OURD (Japan) — Contributed 25% of the dismantling and transition estimate when it sold its shares in 2021 Orano
Harmed
  • Land at Arlit and Akokan — About 20 million tonnes of waste on 120 ha, up to 35 m high AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • Groundwater and drinking water in the Arlit area — Said by CRIIRAD to be contaminated, with sources for more than 100,000 people threatened Nuclear Engineering International
  • The fossil aquifer — 270 million m³ pumped since mining began, against reserves estimated in 1968 at 1,300 million m³ CRIIRAD
Why?
Cominak's board decided on 23 October 2019 to stop mining because the deposit was exhausted; the waste from more than 40 years of mining remains on site. Orano
How?
The waste is to be reshaped and covered with 2 metres of material described as impermeable, financed in part by a fund built up by Cominak and its shareholders. Orano says it keeps the obligation and the €70 million provision; Niger says Orano abandoned the work. AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Cominak was created in 1974 and began production in 1978. Its board decided on 23 October 2019 to stop mining because the deposit was exhausted, and production stopped on 31 March 2021 after more than 40 years and 75,000 tonnes of uranium extracted, according to Orano's press release of that date. From late February 2021 Orano Mining held 59% of Cominak after buying out the Japanese shareholder OURD; SOPAMIN of Niger held 31% and ENUSA of Spain 10%. OURD contributed 25% of the dismantling and transition estimate when it sold.

Orano's release said remediation of the site should take less than about ten years, followed by environmental monitoring of at least five years, financed in part by a fund built up over several years by Cominak and its shareholders; it gave no amount for the fund. It also described a social component of 5 to 10 years, including the transfer of Cominak-run infrastructure to the State of Niger. A Global Partnership Agreement signed by Niger and Orano on 4 May 2023 covers the remediation of Cominak.

AFP described the remediation design in March 2023: about 20 million tonnes of rock waste and ore residues on 120 hectares, up to 35 metres high, to be reshaped and covered with 2 metres of material described as impermeable (argillite and sandstone), at a cost of €150 million. Orano reported a maximum dose on site of 8.6 mSv per year in 2022; Niger's regulatory limit for miners was cited as 20 mSv per year.

On 1 December 2024 Orano deconsolidated Cominak, Somaïr and Imouraren after losing operational control, and Cominak's rehabilitation work was suspended, according to AFP's report of Orano's statements. Orano kept a €70 million provision that Cominak had carried for rehabilitating the site; its chief executive Nicolas Maes said on 19 February 2025 that Orano keeps the obligation. On 19 June 2025 Niger's Council of Ministers said Orano had abandoned rehabilitation work at Cominak (Wakat Séra, citing APA). In May 2026 Niger created TSUMCO (Teloua Safeguarding Uranium Mining Company), named after the aquifer beneath the former Cominak mine.

Radioactivity around Arlit and Akokan has been measured by non-governmental groups and by Niger's mining ministry. CRIIRAD's note of 20 April 2005, prepared with Aghir In'Man and Sherpa, reported gross alpha activity in drinking water sampled in December 2003 of 1.0 Bq/l (urban-zone network) and 11 Bq/l (industrial-zone network), which CRIIRAD put at 10 and 110 times the WHO screening value of 0.1 Bq/l. Greenpeace's 'Left in the Dust' (May 2010), based on sampling in November 2009 with CRIIRAD and the Nigerien network ROTAB, found uranium above WHO limits in four of five water samples. More than 200,000 litres of radioactive sludge leaked from three cracked waste pools at the Somaïr mine from 11 December 2010, according to Greenpeace. In December 2025 Niger's Mining Ministry inspectors reported about 400 barrels of radioactive core material at Madaouela near Arlit, with readings up to 10 µSv/h against a normal 0.5 µSv/h. Orano told Reuters it does not hold an operating licence for Madaouela and has conducted no operations there.

  1. 1974Cominak created; production starts in 1978
  2. 2003CRIIRAD and Sherpa mission (December); drinking-water and scrap-metal samples taken in Arlit
  3. 2005CRIIRAD note 0517 published (20 April)
  4. 2010Greenpeace 'Left in the Dust' (May), based on sampling of November 2009; leak of more than 200,000 litres of radioactive sludge at Somaïr from 11 December
  5. 2019Cominak board decides to stop mining (23 October)
  6. 2021Production stops (31 March); Orano Mining holds 59% from late February
  7. 2023AFP describes the remediation design and the €150 million cost (15 March); Global Partnership Agreement covers Cominak remediation (4 May)
  8. 2024Orano deconsolidates Cominak; rehabilitation work suspended (1 December)
  9. 2025Orano says it keeps the €70 million provision (19 February); Niger says Orano abandoned rehabilitation (19 June); Niger reports barrels at Madaouela (December)
  10. 2026Niger's Justice Minister announces proceedings against Orano (January); TSUMCO created (May)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“A new era is opening for the COMINAK mine, which Orano is supporting to ensure a lasting social, societal and environmental transition”

Philippe Knoche, Orano chief executive · 31 March 2021 · translated from French · Orano

“a safe, healthy and non-polluting site, in line with national standards and international recommendations”

“natural radiation doses here are lower than in some other regions”

“there is no proven case of radioactivity-related illness”

“the biggest negative legacy uranium mining has left us”

“a sword of Damocles for the drinking-water supply”

“Orano should have sealed it off on a secure site, but this was not done”

“There is distrust, doubt and fear about radioactivity in our town; that is normal”

“we keep the obligation”

“This illegal dump illustrates Orano's persistent disregard for Niger and its people since the beginning of uranium mining”

“does not hold an operating license for the Madaouela site and has conducted no operations there”

“the bad practices at the AREVA uranium mines in Niger continue to threaten the health and safety of people”

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Who completes and pays for the Cominak remediation after December 2024
Company or project
Orano

Keeps the obligation and the €70 million provision (chief executive Nicolas Maes, 19 February 2025).

AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
Government and regulators
Niger's Council of Ministers

Orano abandoned rehabilitation work at Cominak (19 June 2025, as reported by Wakat Séra citing APA).

Wakat Séra (citing APA)
Whether the Arlit drinking water was contaminated
Company or project
Cogema, 23 December 2003

Periodic analyses show no contamination (quoted in the CRIIRAD note).

CRIIRAD
Communities and civil society
CRIIRAD, 2005

Gross alpha of 1.0 and 11 Bq/l in the two networks sampled in December 2003, 10 and 110 times the WHO screening value of 0.1 Bq/l.

CRIIRAD
Whether the planned cover will contain the waste for as long as needed
Company or project
Cominak director general, 2023

The remediation is to leave a safe, healthy and non-polluting site.

AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
Communities and civil society
CRIIRAD (Bruno Chareyron)

Orano should have sealed the waste off on a secure site; he doubts the planned cover will last as long as needed.

Nuclear Engineering International
Radiation-related illness in the Arlit area
Company or project
Orano (Gilles Récoché)

There is no proven case of radioactivity-related illness in the Arlit region.

AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
Communities and civil society
OSRA, the Agadez regional health observatory

Out of 2,000 consultations, about ten occupational diseases attributable to radiation were detected; six were recognised by its medical committee.

AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
Communities and civil society
A former Cominak worker (Hassan Souley)

People live 7 km from the pits and some are ill.

AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
Origin of the barrels of radioactive material at Madaouela
Government and regulators
Niger's Justice Minister, December 2025

Attributed the barrels to Orano and said Orano would face proceedings.

Nuclear Engineering International
Company or project
Orano

It does not hold an operating licence for Madaouela and has conducted no operations there.

Nuclear Engineering International
Press and investigations
World Nuclear News, August 2026

Madaouela was a GoviEx permit until 2024.

World Nuclear News
Date of Niger's announcement of the barrel measurements
Press and investigations
Ecofin (5 December 2025) and Nuclear Engineering International (10 December 2025)

Reported the announcement in December 2025.

Ecofin Agency
Press and investigations
La Nouvelle Tribune

Reported the same measurements (7–10 µSv/h; bismuth-207) from a press conference on 4 February 2026.

La Nouvelle Tribune

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • Periodic analyses 'show no contamination'
    Cogema statement of 23 December 2003, as quoted in the CRIIRAD note · CRIIRAD
  • Free access for the Greenpeace delegation in a 'full transparency' process
    Areva, February 2011, in its publication 'AREVA and Niger: a sustainable partnership' · AREVA
  • A remediation to leave 'a safe, healthy and non-polluting site'
    Cominak director general, 2023 · AFP via Connaissance des Énergies

Recorded

  • About 20 million tonnes of rock waste and ore residues on 120 hectares, up to 35 metres high, accumulated over more than 40 years (AFP, 2023).
  • Orano's 2021 release states that the works are financed in part by a fund built up by Cominak and its shareholders; no amount is given.
  • After deconsolidation Orano kept a €70 million provision for rehabilitating the Cominak site.
  • Orano's 2025 Annual Activity Report (Note 34, Niger) gives no Niger-specific provision and no Cominak remediation figure.
  • Gross alpha in drinking water, December 2003: 1.0 Bq/l (urban zone) and 11 Bq/l (industrial zone), against a WHO screening value of 0.1 Bq/l (CRIIRAD).
  • Greenpeace found uranium above WHO limits in four of five water samples taken in November 2009.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
Cominak remediation cost reported by AFP (about 10 years of works plus at least 5 years of monitoring)€150m
Provision kept by Orano for rehabilitating the Cominak site€70m
Cominak remediation fund built up by Cominak and its shareholders—
No amount given in Orano's 2021 release.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Orano group-wide provisions for mining site remediation (not broken down by site)€44m
Currency: EUR · Window: 2021–2025. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • orano (31 March 2021): The Cominak closure opens a new era that Orano is supporting to ensure a lasting social, societal and environmental transition; remediation should take less than about ten years followed by at least five years of monitoring. · Orano
  • orano (2023): Orano's Gilles Récoché said there is no proven case of radioactivity-related illness in the Arlit region. · AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • orano (19 February 2025): After deconsolidation Orano keeps the obligation to rehabilitate Cominak and the €70 million provision. · AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • orano (December 2025): Told Reuters that it does not hold an operating licence for the Madaouela site and has conducted no operations there. · Nuclear Engineering International
  • cominak (2023): The director general said the aim is a safe, healthy and non-polluting site in line with national standards and international recommendations. · AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • niger-government (19 June 2025): Orano abandoned rehabilitation work at Cominak. · Wakat Séra (citing APA)
  • niger-government (January 2026): Niger decided to start legal proceedings against Orano before national and foreign courts and set up an expert committee to document and quantify the alleged harm to health, environment and economy. · Le360 Afrique
  • greenpeace (2010): Called for a full independent study, which it said had not been done. · Greenpeace

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

  1. Outcome not on record
    Niger's announced proceedings against Orano (health, environment, economy)
    National and foreign courts (not specified) · Civil · Government of Niger → Orano

    In early January 2026 Justice Minister Alio Daouda set up an expert committee to document and quantify allegations against Orano on health, environment and economy, and said Niger had decided to start legal proceedings before national and foreign courts. Ecofin (5 December 2025) reported him saying Orano refused to comply with Nigerien court rulings ordering the removal of 'several million tons' of radioactive waste; the rulings were not identified. No filed case, court or case number has been reported. Le360 Afrique

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Waste left on site
About 20 million t
On 120 ha, up to 35 m high (AFP, 2023)
Remediation cost reported
€150 million
About 10 years of works plus at least 5 years of monitoring (AFP, 2023)
Provision kept by Orano
€70 million
After deconsolidation in December 2024 (AFP, 2025)
Gross alpha in drinking water
Up to 11 Bq/l
Industrial-zone network, December 2003; WHO screening value 0.1 Bq/l (CRIIRAD)

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

  • Disputed Who completes and pays for the Cominak remediation after December 2024
  • Disputed Whether the Arlit drinking water was contaminated
  • Disputed Whether the planned cover will contain the waste for as long as needed
  • Disputed Origin of the barrels of radioactive material at Madaouela

Money

  • None on record Cominak remediation fund built up by Cominak and its shareholders — No amount given in Orano's 2021 release.

Court

  • Unclear Niger's announced proceedings against Orano (health, environment, economy): outcome not on record.

Accounts

  • Disputed Radiation-related illness in the Arlit area
  • Disputed Date of Niger's announcement of the barrel measurements

Record

  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amount in the Cominak remediation fund, and the amount OURD contributed (25% of the dismantling and transition estimate); Orano's 2021 release gives neither.
  • None on record None on record: a Cominak-specific provision or progress figure in Orano's 2025 Annual Activity Report (Note 34, Niger).
  • Disputed Figures differ: AFP (March 2023) gives a remediation cost of €150 million over about 10 years; Afrik21 (March 2021) attributed 95 billion CFA francs (about €145 million) over 15 years to the Cominak director; Africanews (March 2023) gives about $160 million over 10 years.
  • Disputed Figures differ: Orano's 2021 release gives Orano Mining 59% of Cominak; AFP (2025) gives 69%.
  • Self-reported only Self-reported only: the maximum on-site dose of 8.6 mSv per year in 2022 is Orano's own figure.
  • Insufficient Insufficient: CRIIRAD described its 2004–2005 sampling as preliminary work needing deeper study, and Greenpeace called for a full independent study, which it said had not been done.
  • None on record None on record: a full measurement report from Niger for the December 2025 inspection at Madaouela.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amount of Niger's compensation claim against Orano; the Justice Minister said Niger would seek compensation 'for all losses' (Ecofin) without an amount.
  • None on record None on record: a filed case, court or case number for the proceedings Niger announced against Orano in January 2026, or the Nigerien court rulings on waste removal that the Justice Minister said Orano refused to comply with (Ecofin).
  • Disputed Disputed: who completes and pays for the Cominak remediation after December 2024; Orano says it keeps the obligation and the provision, Niger says Orano abandoned the work.

Did the harm stop?

Mining ended on 31 March 2021. The waste remains on site, and Cominak's rehabilitation work was suspended after December 2024, according to AFP's report of Orano's statements.

Who paid?

The remediation is financed in part by a fund built up by Cominak and its shareholders, in an amount not disclosed. Orano kept a €70 million provision for the site after deconsolidation. Niger said in June 2025 that Orano had abandoned the work.

Sources

Voices on record: ✓ Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Science and environment

Groundwater
Water held underground in soil and rock, drawn through wells.
Hectare (ha)
A unit of area equal to 10,000 square metres, about 2.5 acres. 100 hectares make one square kilometre.