Chad–Cameroon pipeline and Doba oil fields: World Bank conditions, revenue law, Inspection Panel and 2023 nationalisation
- In August 2006 the project's environmental management team raised a Level 1 non-compliance for excessive flaring above my fields. World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
- A study cited by IEG concluded the project failed to achieve its objective of minimizing its impact on land; about 900 households lost access to more than 20% of their land, and 509 of 549 well pads had been restored to the dimensions committed to. World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
- In 2002 the Inspection Panel found that a main water source of mine had been contaminated with sediment from road-construction runoff. World Bank Inspection Panel
- Infill drilling of up to 400 more wells, not foreseen in the original Environmental Impact Assessment, enlarges the footprint on my land. World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
- In 2011 complainants to the IFC's Compliance Advisor Ombudsman listed pollution of soils and waters among their complaints. Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (IFC/MIGA)
- 34 barrels of oil entered my waters.The one spill recorded by IEG; contained within a few hours.
- International bodies IFC: 2005. World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
- Company or project EEPCI (the operator): Mid-2008; the wells drilled in 2003–08 were development wells within the original spacing pattern. World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
The World Bank Group helped finance the Doba oil fields and the Chad–Cameroon export pipeline on conditions covering environmental safeguards and the use of oil revenue. Chad repaid its World Bank balances early in 2008, and in 2023 nationalised the assets ExxonMobil had agreed to sell to Savannah Energy for US$407 million.
IEG stated this was 17 times the projection of about US$250 million in direct revenue for 2005–08.
Status As of 25 August 2026: arbitration between Savannah's subsidiaries and the Republic of Chad pending before ICC tribunals; Savannah expects the main proceedings to conclude in H2 2026.
- Government of Chad — Oil revenue of almost US$4.4 billion in 2003–08, 17 times the World Bank's projection for direct revenue (IEG) World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
- ExxonMobil — US$407 million sale price for its Chad and Cameroon portfolio, closed 9 December 2022 Perivan
- Operator and complainant organisations — Compensation, studies and rehabilitation under the 2017 agreement; no amounts published Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (IFC/MIGA)
- Savannah Energy — Assets nationalised on 23 March 2023; claims in excess of US$775 million; states no compensation paid as of 25 August 2026 Savannah Energy PLC
- Government of Chad — Faces Savannah's claims and has counterclaimed approximately US$699.1 million Savannah Energy PLC
- About 900 households in the oil-field area — Lost access to more than 20% of their land World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
- Community water source in the oil-field area — A main water source contaminated with sediment from road-construction runoff (2002) World Bank Inspection Panel
- Land of the Doba fields — One recorded oil spill of 34 barrels; infill drilling of up to 400 more wells beyond the original assessment World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
What happened
The Doba basin oil fields in Logone Oriental, southern Chad, and an export pipeline of more than 1,000 km through Cameroon to an offshore loading facility near Kribi were financed mostly by private industry (ExxonMobil, Petronas, Chevron). The World Bank Group also lent and set two conditions: environmental and social safeguards, and a Petroleum Revenue Management Law (PRML, 1999) that tied oil revenue to poverty spending. The World Bank Board approved the project in June 2000 and the European Investment Bank (EIB) its financing in July 2000. Oil exports began in October 2003.
On 22 March 2001 a Request for Inspection was submitted to the World Bank Inspection Panel on behalf of Ngarlejy Yorongar, a member of parliament, and more than 100 residents. The Panel's Investigation Report of 17 July 2002 found non-compliance with the environmental assessment policy (OD 4.01), the economic evaluation policy (OP 10.04) and the poverty reduction policy (OD 4.15), and compliance with several others. On 12 September 2002 the Board approved Management's action plan. The Panel's site visit recorded a main water source contaminated with sediment from road-construction runoff.
On 29 December 2005 Chad amended the PRML, abolishing the Future Generations Fund (which held US$36 million) and adding justice, territorial administration and security to the priority sectors. The World Bank suspended disbursements about a week later and froze withdrawals from the escrow account. A July 2006 Memorandum of Understanding set at least 70% of budget resources for priority sectors; about 58% was spent on them in 2007. On 5 September 2008 Chad repaid its outstanding World Bank balances, which the World Bank's Independent Evaluation Group (IEG) put at US$65.7 million and Chad's Ministry of Economy and Planning at US$67.5 million.
IEG's 2009 assessment recorded government oil revenue of almost US$4.4 billion in 2003–08, an expansion from three to six fields, and infill drilling that could take the total from 300 to about 700–800 wells, up to 400 more than the original Environmental Impact Assessment foresaw. It also recorded one oil spill of 34 barrels, and that environmental regulations and oil spill response plans for the fields and pipeline had not been approved. A complaint to the IFC's Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (CAO) in 2011 led to a mediated agreement with the operator on 16 January 2017.
On 13 December 2021 ExxonMobil agreed to sell its Chad and Cameroon upstream and pipeline portfolio to Savannah Energy for US$407 million; Savannah declared the deal closed on 9 December 2022. On 23 March 2023 a presidential decree nationalised the assets of Esso Exploration and Production Chad Inc. and Esso Pipeline Investments Ltd. Savannah's subsidiaries began arbitration. As of 25 August 2026 Savannah's subsidiaries claim in excess of US$775 million for the nationalisation, Chad has counterclaimed approximately US$699.1 million, and Savannah expects the main proceedings to conclude in the second half of 2026.
- 1999Petroleum Revenue Management Law passed; escrow account for oil revenue set up in London
- 2000World Bank Board approves the project (June); EIB approves its financing (July); consortium pays Chad a US$25 million bonus (August)
- 2001Request for Inspection submitted (22 Mar)
- 2002Inspection Panel report to the Board (17 Jul); Board approves Management's action plan (12 Sep)
- 2003Oil exports begin (October)
- 2005Chad amends the revenue law (29 Dec); World Bank suspends disbursements about a week later
- 2006Memorandum of Understanding between Chad and the World Bank (July)
- 2008Chad repays its World Bank balances (5 Sep)
- 2011Complaint filed with the IFC's Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (October)
- 2012IFC exits the project after its loan is repaid
- 2017Mediated agreement between the operator and the complainant organisations (16 Jan)
- 2020CAO case closes (May)
- 2021ExxonMobil signs the sale of its Chad and Cameroon assets to Savannah Energy (13 Dec)
- 2022Savannah declares the US$407 million acquisition closed (9 Dec)
- 2023Presidential decree nationalises the assets (23 Mar); minister defends the law before the National Transition Council (29 Mar); Savannah's subsidiaries start arbitration
- 2026Savannah expects the main arbitration proceedings to conclude in H2 2026 (update of 25 Aug)
What was said
“The Bank therefore concluded that it could not continue to support this project under these circumstances.”
“the principal reason for its overall disappointing outcome was the lack of government ownership.”
“the revenue lockbox turned out to be made of tissue paper”
“The rigidity of the oil revenue management mechanism and the World Bank's lack of flexibility … became a straight jacket”
“without respect for the laws of the Republic”
“direct breach of the Conventions”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
US$65.7 million.
World Bank Independent Evaluation GroupUS$ 67,5 millions.
World Bank Independent Evaluation GroupThe amendment was unilateral; the Government's position is "not supported by the timing and tone of the letters sent to the Bank (and the IMF) in 2005".
World Bank Independent Evaluation GroupThe amendment was not unilateral: it was made at the behest of civil society groups opposed to the Fund, and by the Assembly.
World Bank Independent Evaluation GroupMid-2008; the wells drilled in 2003–08 were development wells within the original spacing pattern.
World Bank Independent Evaluation GroupThe sale ignored Chad's objections and right of first refusal and breached Article 30(1), which requires the State's prior approval of any transfer of petroleum assets.
TchadinfosChad's actions are a direct breach of the Conventions; the claims and counterclaims are pending before ICC tribunals.
Savannah Energy PLCHow it looked
Shown
- World Bank (September 2008): the arrangements behind its involvement "were not working".
- Government of Chad (2009): the World Bank took a "unilateral decision to disengage from the project".
- Government of Chad (March 2023): the transfer to Savannah was made without respect for the laws of the Republic and Savannah lacked the technical and financial capacity to run the pipeline.
- Savannah Energy (August 2026): it "remains ready and willing to discuss with the Government of the Republic of Chad an amicable solution" and calls Chad's counterclaims "baseless and without merit".
Recorded
- IEG recorded one oil spill, of 34 barrels, contained within a few hours.
- IEG recorded that environmental regulations for the oil fields and pipeline, and the oil spill response plans in both countries, had not been approved, and that there was no government presence in the oil fields for monitoring or reporting.
- About 900 households lost access to more than 20% of their land; 509 of 549 well pads had been restored to the dimensions committed to in the Environmental Management Plan (Barclay-Koppert report, cited by IEG).
- Compensation paid in the oil-field area by 2002 was CFAF 248 million (approximately US$350,000), of which 22% was paid in kind.
- Government oil revenue in 2003–08 was almost US$4.4 billion against a projection of about US$250 million in direct revenue for 2005–08.
- The 2017 agreement between the operator and the complainant organisations lists compensation, a hydrological study, removal of left-over materials and rehabilitation of wells and rural tracks, with no amounts published.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- world-bank (September 2008): The arrangements behind its involvement "were not working"; the Bank "could not continue to support this project under these circumstances". · climate-diplomacy.org (adelphi)
- chad-government (2009): Described the World Bank's "unilateral decision to disengage from the project"; said the 2005 amendment was not unilateral because it was made at the behest of civil society groups and by the Assembly. · World Bank Independent Evaluation Group
- chad-government (29 March 2023): The transfer of Esso's assets to Savannah was made without respect for the laws of the Republic; Savannah lacks the technical and financial capacity to run the pipeline. · Tchadinfos
- savannah-energy (March 2023 and August 2026): Chad's actions are a "direct breach of the Conventions"; remains ready and willing to discuss an amicable solution; calls Chad's counterclaims "baseless and without merit". · Savannah Energy PLC
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2001–2002Outcome not on recordInspection Panel Case 22: Request for Inspection on the Chad Petroleum Development and Pipeline ProjectWorld Bank Inspection Panel · International court · Ngarlejy Yorongar (member of parliament) and more than 100 residents → World Bank Management
Investigation Report No. 23999 of 17 July 2002 found non-compliance with OD 4.01 (Environmental Assessment: spatial context, regional and cumulative assessment, baseline data, environmental costs and benefits of alternatives, institutional capacity), OP 10.04 (Economic Evaluation) and OD 4.15 (Poverty Reduction), and compliance on EA categorisation, Natural Habitats, Forests, Involuntary Resettlement (OD 4.30) and Pest Management; OD 4.20 (Indigenous Peoples) was found not applicable. The Board approved Management's action plan, including a Regional Development Plan and closer supervision, on 12 September 2002. World Bank Inspection Panel
- 2011–2020SettledIFC CAO case Chad: Chad-Cameroon Pipeline-03/DobaCompliance Advisor Ombudsman (IFC/MIGA) · International court · GRAMPTC, CPPN, CPPL, ROSOC, RESAP-MC, EPOZOP and ADICAM → The operator (EEPCI), IFC client
Complaint filed 20 October 2011 (letter dated 10 October 2011). A mediated agreement with EEPCI was signed on 16 January 2017, covering compensation for farmers near facilities and for families affected by erosion, a hydrological study of the Nya river bridge, removal of left-over materials, rehabilitation of wells and rural tracks, and school equipment. Dispute resolution closed in January 2020; a compliance appraisal in May 2020 found no investigation merited. The CAO left security and oil-revenue management out of the mediation because they needed the government's participation. Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (IFC/MIGA)
- 2023–Ongoing$775m claimed, in excess of; plus interest estimated at in excess of 215, and costsSCI v. Republic of Chad (Doba rights; nationalisation)ICC arbitration · Arbitration · SCI and SMIL, subsidiaries of Savannah Energy → Republic of Chad
Chad's counterclaims are approximately US$699.1 million without interest and costs. Savannah expects the SCI and SMIL cases to conclude in H2 2026. JPT reported in March 2023 that ICC arbiters had ruled for Savannah in a first round on 7 January. Savannah Energy PLC
- 2023–Ongoing$330m claimed, approximately; plus interest in excess of 67, and costsSMIL arbitration over COTCo (Cameroon pipeline company)ICC arbitration · Arbitration · SMIL, subsidiary of Savannah Energy → Republic of Chad
Counterclaims by the Republic of Chad, SHT Overseas Petroleum (Cameroon), COTCo and others in the COTCo case are approximately US$58.7 million. Savannah Energy PLC
- Ongoing$136.9m upper end of the claimed range of 110.9 to 136.9, for alleged breaches of the Doba joint operating agreementDesignates of SHT v. SCI (Doba joint operating agreement)ICC arbitration · Arbitration · Designates of SHT → SCI (Savannah Energy subsidiary)
Expected to conclude in H1 2027, according to Savannah's update of 25 August 2026. Savannah Energy PLC
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed When infill drilling began
Money
- None on record Restoration of well pads — 509 of 549 well pads restored to committed dimensions; no cost stated.
Court
- Unclear Inspection Panel Case 22: Request for Inspection on the Chad Petroleum Development and Pipeline Project: outcome not on record.
Accounts
Record
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: compensation amounts and the number of beneficiaries under the 2017 agreement between the operator and the complainant organisations (CAO conclusion report, January 2020).
- Unclear Unclear: the Nya river bridge hydrological study was still being planned, and removal of left-over materials and sharing of water studies were in progress, at the time of the CAO conclusion report (January 2020).
- None on record None on record: approved environmental regulations for the oil fields and pipeline, and approved oil spill response plans in both countries (IEG, 2009); IEG also states there is no government presence in the oil fields for monitoring or reporting purposes and that TOTCO is self-regulating.
- None on record None on record: an environmental liability figure, a sale price or a compensation amount in the Minister of Hydrocarbons' address of 29 March 2023, as reported by tchadinfos.
- Self-reported only Self-reported only: Savannah states that, as of 25 August 2026, no compensation has been paid by the Government of Chad, although the government has acknowledged the right of Savannah's subsidiaries to compensation.
- Disputed Figures differ: IEG gives Chad's 5 September 2008 repayment as US$65.7 million; Chad's Ministry of Economy and Planning gives US$67.5 million.
- None on record None on record: insurance covering environmental damage at the Doba fields.
Did the harm stop?
None on record. Production at Doba continued after the nationalisation, at about 28,000 barrels per day from seven producing fields (March 2023).
Who paid?
Households in the oil-field area received compensation of CFAF 248 million by 2002; no payment for harm to nature is on record.
Sources
Company or project
- 7M Operational and Financial UpdateSavannah Energy PLC · 2026-08-25
Press and investigations
- World Bank cancels oil deal with Chad (republishes the World Bank statement of 9 September 2008)climate-diplomacy.org (adelphi) · 2008-09-09
- Chad Nationalizes Doba Project, Derails Exxon's Asset Sale to Savannah EnergyJournal of Petroleum Technology (SPE) · 2023-03-28
- Chad says it has nationalised all assets owned by Exxon MobilAl Jazeera · 2023-03-24
International bodies
- Chad-Cameroon Pipeline Project: Outcome of Inspection Panel's investigationWorld Bank Inspection Panel · 2002-09-12
- Program Performance Assessment Report No. 50315: The World Bank Group Program of Support for the Chad-Cameroon Petroleum Development and Pipeline Construction (with Government of Chad borrower comments)World Bank Independent Evaluation Group · 2009-09-16
- Chad-Cameroon oil pipeline (topical brief)European Investment Bank · 2009
- Chad: Chad-Cameroon Pipeline-03/Doba (case page)Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (IFC/MIGA) · 2020
- Rapport de conclusion, résolution des différends, Tchad (Conclusion report, dispute resolution, Chad)Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (IFC/MIGA) · 2020-01
Connected cases
- Badila produced-water spill into the Nya Pendé river (2018) and the UK National Contact Point's Glencore statement Chad · 2018–2024 Related matter
- Government of Chad (Government) — here: Host government; nationalised the assets in 2023; there: Refused a controlled release; commissioned the Ecofilae report
- CNPC crude dumping in the Bongor basin: US$1.2 billion fine and US$400 million settlement Chad · 2013–2015 Related matter
- Government of Chad (Government) — here: Host government; nationalised the assets in 2023; there: Suspended operations, imposed the fine, withdrew permits, signed the settlement
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Financier; its Inspection Panel reviewed the resettlement
- World Bank Inspection Panel (International organisation) — here: Investigated the Request for Inspection (Case 22); there: Independent complaints body
- European Investment Bank (Bank) — here: Lender; there: Financier
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Funder of the Kenya project; hosts the Inspection Panel
- International Finance Corporation (IFC) (International organisation) — here: Lender; exited in 2012; there: Private-sector arm of the World Bank (Tata Mundra)
- Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (CAO) (International organisation) — here: Handled the 2011 complaint; mediated agreement 2017; there: Complaint body for IFC and MIGA
- Boké bauxite mining and the CBG expansion Guinea · 1974–2025
- International Finance Corporation (IFC) (International organisation) — here: Lender; exited in 2012; there: Lender; operator of the CAO complaint mechanism
- Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (CAO) (International organisation) — here: Handled the 2011 complaint; mediated agreement 2017; there: IFC accountability mechanism handling the Hamdallaye complaint
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: operator of Gorgon LNG
- Great Green Wall: USD 19bn tracked, USD 2.5bn disbursed by March 2023, and a restored area reported at between 1.66 and almost 18 million hectares Sahel (11 countries) · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Committed USD 5.6bn in the 11 countries
- European Investment Bank (Bank) — here: Lender; there: Donor; land restoration pillar USD 216 million
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: agency client
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: agency client
- In Salah shale gas pilot wells and protests, 2014–2015 Algeria · 2014–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: 2024 preliminary agreement
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Funder of a project in the Badia East area
- World Bank Inspection Panel (International organisation) — here: Investigated the Request for Inspection (Case 22); there: Accountability mechanism; closed Badia East complaint
- Tengizchevroil sulphur storage claims and emission fines (Kazakhstan) Kazakhstan · 2007–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: 25% owner of TCO through ExxonMobil Kazakhstan Ventures
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: 50% owner of TCO (2007/2025)
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Lender (USD 800 million, October 2025)
- International Finance Corporation (IFC) (International organisation) — here: Lender; exited in 2012; there: Lender to Indorama Agro (USD 60 million)
- Venezuela gas flaring and methane from oil and gas Venezuela · 2012–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Operator of four joint ventures under OFAC General License 41
- World Bank inspection panel registers complaint over Rogun dam financing Tajikistan · 2024–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: financier
- World Bank Inspection Panel (International organisation) — here: Investigated the Request for Inspection (Case 22); there: complaints mechanism that registered the complaint
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Financier of the REGROW project
- World Bank Inspection Panel (International organisation) — here: Investigated the Request for Inspection (Case 22); there: Accountability body that investigated the complaint
- 1991 World Bank memo signed by Lawrence Summers on pollution in Africa Africa (regional) · 1991–1993
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Institution that issued the internal memo
- Afforestation of the dried Aral Sea bed in Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2018–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Donor of the restoration-value study
- APRIL pulp suppliers linked to forest loss and Cerrado eucalyptus growth Brazil · 2010–2024
- International Finance Corporation (IFC) (International organisation) — here: Lender; exited in 2012; there: Lender to a Suzano pulp mill
- Burkina Faso Forest Investment Program project: 3.78 million tCO2eq in emission reductions estimated with an ex-ante tool Burkina Faso · 2014–2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Administered the grants; completion report and rating
- Cambodia fills Phnom Penh's Boeung Kak lake with sand under 99-year lease Cambodia · 2007–2011
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: lender whose land-titling programme was reviewed
- Canaima National Park: fire suppression for the Guri catchment, mining pressure and the UNESCO decisions Venezuela · 1981–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Implementing agency of GEF project 2103
- Chad ends African Parks' management of Zakouma and Ennedi parks Chad · 2025
- Government of Chad (Government) — here: Host government; nationalised the assets in 2023; there: Government that revoked the authority and signed the 2026 agreements
- Chevron owns Richmond's 'local news' site, which carries no leak reporting United States · date not stated
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: owner of the news site
- Chevron pleads no contest to six counts over 2012 Richmond refinery fire United States · 2012–2013
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: company that pleaded no contest
- Chevron, Texaco and the Lago Agrio judgment: the RICO ruling and the Donziger cases Ecuador · 1995–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Defendant in the Ecuadorian judgment; plaintiff in the US RICO case; claimant in the arbitration
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Results-based carbon payer
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Co-author of RDNA3 and RDNA4
- Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments Iran · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate
- ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines United States · 2020–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023
- ExxonMobil cut and restored Kearl oil-sands reserves as oil prices moved Canada · 2016–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Reporting company
- ExxonMobil sues California attorney general and four green groups for defamation United States · 2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Plaintiff in the defamation suit
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Listed a Conservation International director in its 2026 proxy
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Signed a carbon-credit agreement with the Green Belt Movement
- Hess agreed to buy at least $750m of Guyana forest credits Guyana · 2022–2032
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: acquired Hess
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Ho Chi Minh City canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households Vietnam · 1993–2012
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: lender of the first-phase loan
- Hyphen green hydrogen project (Namibia) Namibia · 2020–2026
- European Investment Bank (Bank) — here: Lender; there: Announced loan of up to €500 million
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Lender
- Indorama Agro cotton project (Uzbekistan) Uzbekistan · 2021–2026
- International Finance Corporation (IFC) (International organisation) — here: Lender; exited in 2012; there: Lender
- Iran associated-gas flaring and flare-gas recovery contracts Iran · 2012–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Publishes the satellite-based flare estimates and tracker report
- Isle de Jean Charles relocation and a $744.6m Chevron coastal-loss verdict United States · 2016–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Defendant in the Plaquemines Parish coastal-loss case
- Jamaica catastrophe bonds and the Hurricane Melissa payout Jamaica · 2021–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Issuer and arranger of the catastrophe bonds
- Jamaica's World Bank catastrophe bond did not pay after Hurricane Beryl Jamaica · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Brokered the bond
- Japan plans cross-border CO2 storage in Malaysia by 2030 Malaysia · 2026–2030
- Petronas (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Malaysian state oil company named in the plan
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- European Investment Bank (Bank) — here: Lender; there: Memorandum signatory 2009; involvement on hold per Bankwatch
- Kivalina village in Alaska still awaits relocation after 2008 suit against ExxonMobil United States · 1992–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Defendant in the 2008 suit
- Lake Maracaibo chronic oil leaks Venezuela · 2010–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Operator in Venezuela; declined to answer questions on its environmental role
- Mbeubeuss landfill plan to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers Senegal · 2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Inspection Panel finding on Boeung Kak land titling; lending freeze 2011
- Methane super-emitters in Turkmenistan's oil and gas fields Turkmenistan · 2017–2026
- Petronas (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Operator of the Kiyanly onshore terminal
- Mobil advertorials cast doubt on climate science; media studios later sold oil content United States · 1970–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Ran Mobil and ExxonMobil advertorials and sponsored content
- Mongolia index livestock insurance Mongolia · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Author of the presentation describing the programme
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Funder of carbon payments (Forest Carbon Partnership Facility)
- Oyu Tolgoi copper-gold mine: Gobi water, Undai River diversion, herder complaints and project finance Mongolia · 2004–2025
- International Finance Corporation (IFC) (International organisation) — here: Lender; exited in 2012; there: Lender; environmental category A
- Paraquat litigation (Syngenta/Chevron) and the Paraquat Papers United States · 1958–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986
- Rabobank co-financed a Brazilian eucalyptus carbon plantation contested by locals Brazil · 2003–2008
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: operator of the carbon fund
- Sakhalin-2 and Sakhalin-1 in 2022: transfer decrees, the ecological-audit deduction clause and write-downs Russia · 2022–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Sakhalin-1 interests terminated on 14 October 2022
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Funder of an earlier forest project (2007)
- South Sudan oil fields: pollution in Unity and Upper Nile South Sudan · 1999–2025
- Petronas (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Majority shareholder in SPOC; assets taken over by Nilepet in August 2024
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Source of the paddy yield figure
- Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan Iran · 2025–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%)
- Study finds Exxon's internal papers accepted warming; its advertorials cast doubt United States · 1977
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: company whose documents and advertorials were analyzed
- Tree felling under the Tashkent moratorium: damage assessments, prosecutor cases and ministry counts Uzbekistan · 2020–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Tashkent air quality assessment (context)
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: RDNA damage and needs assessments
- Ulaanbaatar winter air pollution: stove programmes, the 2019 raw-coal ban and subsidised briquettes Mongolia · 2008–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Ulaanbaatar Clean Air Project
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Defendant in California suit; six registered lobbyists at Geneva
- US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing United States · 2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: Consortium member; there: Named inauguration-fund donor
- US chemical recycling plants run far below capacity, and some have closed United States · 2024–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: Operator of the Baytown plant
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: reported reserve reductions (unconfirmed)
- US Supreme Court hears Boulder County's climate suit against Suncor and Exxon United States · 2018
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah; there: defendant and petitioner
- Venezuela tree cover loss, 2001–2024, and international forest finance Venezuela · 2001–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Agency for GEF project 2103
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: issuer of the bond
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: lender; policy operation and REGROW financier
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Lender of the US$600m loan
- World Bank-backed Colombo flood work turned Beddagana wetland into a park Sri Lanka · 2010–2018
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008; there: Funder whose support backed the programme
- World Bank-backed dams displaced people, and reviews found incomes often not restored Global · 1985–2018
- World Bank Inspection Panel (International organisation) — here: Investigated the Request for Inspection (Case 22); there: Complaints unit set up in 1993 after the Sardar Sarovar review