Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Extraction

Pipeline

26 cases in 20 countries, 1994–2026. Most cases: United States (11), Russia (4), China (2), Netherlands (2), Canada (2).

Pipeline · United States · 2026

North Dakota judge cancels Summit Carbon Solutions storage permit

A North Dakota judge cancelled Summit Carbon Solutions' storage permit for its CO2 pipeline, and Iowa farmers call the pipeline a pipeline to nowhere. The cited sources do not say what the cancellation means for the route or for nature.

Insurance declined or withdrawn · Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026

EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues

Campaign groups counted about 30 insurers and reinsurers that publicly ruled out covering the East African Crude Oil Pipeline. Uganda's insurance regulator said a local consortium insures it, and by September 2026 about 98% of the line was reported built.

30 · 98%
Insurers that ruled it out vs pipeline built
Key earnings undisclosedCase pending / contested
Oil spill · Nigeria · 2021–2022

Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021)

On 29 January 2021 the Hague Court of Appeal held Shell Nigeria liable for damage from leaks in oil pipelines at Oruma and Goi. The matter was settled in December 2022 for €15 million, without an admission of liability.

€15 million
Settlement after the appeal ruling, no admission of liability
Court ruling existsNo independent ecological evaluation
Pipeline · Canada · 2021

Ruby River seeks $588m-$1bn from Canada over rejected Québec LNG plant

Ruby River Capital, a Delaware-registered company, is pursuing an investor-state claim against Canada after Québec and Ottawa rejected the GNL Québec liquefied natural gas plant and its pipeline in Saguenay. The Canadian government page gives the claim as $588.14 million, while other sources give $1.004 billion.

Pipeline · United States · 2020–2025

Satartia CO2 pipeline rupture (Mississippi)

On 22 February 2020 a landslide ruptured a carbon dioxide pipeline near Satartia, Mississippi. More than 200 people were evacuated and at least 45 were taken to hospital.

200+ / 45+
People evacuated / taken to hospital
Case pending / contested
Oil spill · Venezuela · 2020–2022

Venezuela coastal oil spills: Golfete de Coro (2020) and Lechería (2022)

PDVSA acknowledged a crude leak on the Ulé–Amuay pipeline near the Golfete de Coro in September 2020, and oil slicks closed several beaches at Lechería, Anzoátegui, in December 2022. No volume, cost or compensation is on record for either event.

None
Volume reported for either spill
Key earnings undisclosedNo court case
Pipeline · United States · 2020–2023

ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines

ExxonMobil bought Denbury, which operated more than 1,300 miles of CO2 pipeline, for USD 4.9 billion in November 2023. The pipelines feed enhanced oil recovery, which injects CO2 to push more oil out of ageing fields, and the cited sources do not show how much of that carbon stays underground.

Killings and repression of defenders · Mexico · 2019

Samir Flores killing and the Huexca power plant

Samir Flores Soberanes was killed on 20 February 2019 in Amilcingo, Morelos, days before the federal consultation on a state-owned power plant and gas pipeline he opposed. The only suspect was acquitted in March 2026.

None
Convictions for the killing
Court ruling existsDeaths reported
Insurance declined or withdrawn · Canada · 2018–2024

Trans Mountain pipeline insurers (Canada)

Trans Mountain, an oil pipeline owned by the Government of Canada, lost a series of private insurers between 2019 and 2022. In 2021 the regulator allowed the names of its insurers to be kept confidential, and a 2024 regulation allowed the Crown corporation to set up its own insurer.

17, then 18
Insurers reported to have refused or ended cover for the pipeline
No court caseKey earnings undisclosed
Killings and repression of defenders · United States · 2018–2025

Bayou Bridge pipeline arrests (Louisiana)

Sixteen protesters and one journalist were arrested at several events in 2018, beginning soon after Louisiana's critical-infrastructure trespass law took effect on 1 August. In July 2021 the district attorney said he would not prosecute them. A court challenge to the law failed and the law remains in force.

17
People arrested on 9 Aug 2018 at the Bayou Bridge pipeline
Court ruling exists
Pipeline · Niger · 2018–2024

Niger–Benin crude export pipeline (WAPCO): financing, land compensation and the June 2024 sabotage spill

The WAPCO pipeline carries Niger's crude from the Agadem block to Benin's coast, financed by CNPC's finance arm. Niger's impact study identified forest and wetland impacts, Benin paid land compensation under a 2020 law, and a sabotage in June 2024 left a crude slick over more than 370 metres in Zinder region.

$1.3 bn
Total cost given on AidData's project page for the Niger section
Key earnings undisclosedNo court case
Killings and repression of defenders · United States · 2017–2026

Energy Transfer v Greenpeace (Dakota Access)

Energy Transfer sued Greenpeace entities over protests against the Dakota Access pipeline. A North Dakota jury awarded about $666.9 million in March 2025, the judge cut the award to about $345 million, and Greenpeace International sued Energy Transfer in Amsterdam under the EU anti-SLAPP directive.

$666.9m → $345m
Jury award vs judgment entered against the Greenpeace entities
Court ruling existsCase pending / contested
Oil spill · United States · 2015–2025

Refugio / Plains Line 901 oil spill (California)

A Plains All American pipeline released 2,934 barrels of oil in Santa Barbara County, California, in May 2015, 598 of them into the Pacific. Plains reported total costs of $870 million and lost an insurance arbitration in January 2025 over a $230 million class action settlement.

$870m vs about $280m
Total costs reported by Plains vs collected from insurers
Court ruling exists
Liability shifting (spin-offs, bankruptcy, closure bonds) · United Kingdom · 2013–2024

North Sea platform decommissioning tax relief (UK)

UK tax law lets oil and gas operators recover part of the cost of dismantling North Sea platforms. The regulator estimated the remaining cost to the Exchequer at GBP 10.8 billion.

GBP 10.8 billion
Remaining Exchequer cost of decommissioning (NSTA estimate, Dec 2024)
No court caseNo independent ecological evaluation
Pipeline · United States · 2013–2024

Consultant ERM wrote the Keystone XL environmental impact statement

ERM, a consulting firm, wrote the environmental impact statement for the Keystone XL pipeline for the US State Department. It was alleged that ERM did not disclose earlier work for TransCanada, and the cited sources do not establish that the conflict changed the review’s findings.

Oil spill · Russia · 2011–2023

Lukoil-Komi oil spills in the Usinsk area and the Kolva River, 2011–2023, damage claims and payments

Spills from Lukoil-Komi pipelines in the Usinsk area of the Komi Republic and on the Kolva River led to a RUB 615 million land-damage claim that was annulled on jurisdiction grounds, and to voluntary payments after the May 2021 Kolva spill reported as RUB 374,186,000 for water and RUB 130,069,000 for soil.

RUB 374.186m (water) + RUB 130.069m (soil)
Voluntary payments by Lukoil-Komi after the May 2021 Kolva spill, as reported
Court ruling exists
Oil spill · United States · 2010–2017

Enbridge Line 6B oil spill, Marshall, Michigan

An oil spill from Enbridge's Line 6B pipeline was recorded at Marshall, Michigan, on 25–26 July 2010. Insurers paid $547 million of a $650 million aggregate limit against a recorded total cost of $1.215 billion, and the company lost an arbitration against one insurer in 2017.

$547m of $1.215bn
Paid by insurers against the recorded total cost of the spill
Oil spill · Iran · 2009–2025

Crude-oil pipeline spills into Khuzestan rivers: Karkheh 2009 and Marun 2025

A pipeline rupture in February 2009 contaminated about 90 to more than 100 km of the Karkheh River and cut drinking-water supply to several towns; the Department of Environment said the Oil Ministry would not be fined. In May 2025 a crude line crossing the Marun River ruptured, and the Khuzestan Department of Environment demanded repairs and compensation from the National Iranian South Oil Company.

90 to more than 100 km
River length contaminated, Karkheh, February 2009
No court caseNo independent ecological evaluation
Lobbying, PR and greenwashing · United States · 2005–2026

Tobacco groups' diversification into oil, food and shipping

Several large tobacco groups are reported to have owned oil, food, packaging and shipping businesses. The filings reviewed document the board roles of one Loews family member across insurance, pipeline and offshore-drilling companies.

2005–2021
Andrew H. Tisch, director of Boardwalk Pipelines general partner
No court case
Oil, gas and coal operations · Russia · 2005–2009

Sakhalin-2: 2006 approval revocation, Gazprom stake purchase, 2009 damage-claim settlement and lender exits

In September 2006 Russian authorities moved to cancel the environmental approval of the Sakhalin-2 oil and gas project; on 21 December 2006 Gazprom, Shell, Mitsui and Mitsubishi signed a protocol for Gazprom to take 50% plus one share for USD 7.45 billion. A claim of RUB 390 million was settled in July 2009 by counting RUB 647 million of company environmental spending.

RUB 390 million
Damage claim filed by the regulator, settled in 2009
Court ruling existsKey earnings undisclosed
Pipeline · Russia · 2005–2008

ESPO oil pipeline rerouted away from the Baikal shore (2006)

On 26 April 2006 President Vladimir Putin ordered Transneft to move the East Siberia–Pacific Ocean (ESPO) oil pipeline north of the Lake Baikal catchment, after a route about 800 m from the northern shore had received a positive state ecological expertise conclusion. Putin later put the extra cost at an additional $1 billion.

$1 billion
Extra cost of the reroute, as stated by the President
Court ruling exists
Pipeline · Chad · 1999–2026

Chad–Cameroon pipeline and Doba oil fields: World Bank conditions, revenue law, Inspection Panel and 2023 nationalisation

The World Bank Group helped finance the Doba oil fields and the Chad–Cameroon export pipeline on conditions covering environmental safeguards and the use of oil revenue. Chad repaid its World Bank balances early in 2008, and in 2023 nationalised the assets ExxonMobil had agreed to sell to Savannah Energy for US$407 million.

almost US$4.4 billion
Government oil revenue in 2003–08 (World Bank IEG)
Case pending / contestedKey earnings undisclosed
Protected area / relocation · United States · 1995–2014

Nature Conservancy gas drilling on Texas City Prairie Preserve

The Nature Conservancy drilled for gas on a Texas prairie that Mobil Oil had donated in 1995 and that was the last wild breeding area of the endangered Attwater's prairie chicken. The Washington Post reported in 2003 that the well earned about $8 million by January 2002 while the number of nesting birds fell.

about $8 million vs $5.6 million
Gas-well income to January 2002 vs TNC's net payment in the settlement
Key earnings undisclosed
Oil spill · Russia · 1994–2004

Usinsk pipeline spill (Komi, 1994) and the World Bank and EBRD emergency loans

Repeated failures of the Kharyaga–Usinsk oil pipeline in the Komi Republic in 1994 released oil into bogs, creeks and the Kolva River. The World Bank lent US$99 million and the EBRD US$25 million to the Russian Federation, on-lent to the pipeline operator Komineft; published estimates of the volume spilled differ widely.

US$99m + US$25m
Emergency loans to the Russian Federation, on-lent to Komineft
Killings and repression of defenders · United States · 2025

Standing Rock / Dakota Access: arrests, TigerSwan and the Greenpeace damages award

Law enforcement counted 761 arrests during the Dakota Access pipeline protests at Standing Rock; the Water Protector Legal Collective counted 841 prosecutions. A private security firm described the movement in leaked documents as an insurgency, and a North Dakota jury later awarded the pipeline developer damages against Greenpeace entities.

836 cases; 392 dismissed; 26 convictions at trial
State cases from the Standing Rock arrests (Water Protector Legal Collective final tally)
Court ruling existsCase pending / contested
Pipeline · Colombia · date not stated

Caño Limón-Coveñas pipeline suffered 1,500 attacks in 30 years

Attacks on Colombia's Caño Limón-Coveñas oil pipeline over 30 years released about 3.5 million barrels of oil, according to Portafolio. The cited sources do not describe the land or waters affected.

All cases, with filters →