Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
On 29 January 2021 the Hague Court of Appeal held Shell Nigeria liable for damage from leaks in oil pipelines at Oruma and Goi. The matter was settled in December 2022 for €15 million, without an admission of liability.
Settled December 2022, as reported in the sources reviewed.
Status As of December 2022: Hague Court of Appeal ruling of 29 January 2021 followed by a €15 million settlement; no later development found in the sources reviewed.
What happened
On 29 January 2021 the Hague Court of Appeal ruled on oil-pipeline leaks at Oruma and Goi in Nigeria. According to the court's news release as quoted in secondary sources, the court found: "Shell Nigeria is therefore liable for the damage resulting from the leakage of those pipelines."
The report of the ruling states that Shell Nigeria had attributed leaks to sabotage and that the court placed a heavy burden of proof on a company that makes that claim.
In December 2022 the matter was settled for €15 million. The settlement was made without an admission of liability.
- 202129 January: Hague Court of Appeal holds Shell Nigeria liable for damage from the leaking pipelines at Oruma and Goi
- 2022December: settlement of €15 million, no admission of liability
What was said
“Shell Nigeria is therefore liable for the damage resulting from the leakage of those pipelines.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Held Shell Nigeria liable for the damage from leakage of the Oruma and Goi pipelines; a secondary summary says the court placed a heavy burden of proof on a company that invokes sabotage.
Rechtspraak, Gerechtshof Den HaagReported that joint investigation visits run by the companies determine the cause of a spill, that a sabotage finding reduces compensation, and gave examples of wrong attribution.
Amnesty InternationalHow it looked
Shown
Recorded
- Hague Court of Appeal, 29 January 2021: Shell Nigeria liable for oil-pipeline leaks at Oruma and Goi.
- Settlement of €15 million in December 2022, without admission of liability.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2021-01-29Claimant wonOruma and Goi pipeline leaks (Hague Court of Appeal)Hague Court of Appeal · Civil · Not named in the sources reviewed → Shell Nigeria
The court held Shell Nigeria liable for the damage resulting from the leakage of the pipelines at Oruma and Goi. A €15 million settlement without admission of liability followed in December 2022. Rechtspraak, Gerechtshof Den Haag
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Were pipeline leaks caused by sabotage, and who bears the burden of proving it?
Record
- None on record The settlement was concluded without an admission of liability by Shell.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: the research could not open the court's news page (the site returned an access error); the ruling and quote were taken from a search result.
Did the harm stop?
the sources reviewed does not state whether the leaks at Oruma and Goi were stopped or the sites cleaned up.
Who paid?
Shell Nigeria, through a €15 million settlement made without admission of liability (December 2022).
Sources
Courts
- Shell Nigeria liable for oil spills in Nigeria (court news release, taken from a search result)Rechtspraak, Gerechtshof Den Haag · 2021-01-29
Communities and civil society
- Bad Information: Oil Spill Investigations in the Niger DeltaAmnesty International · 2013-11
Connected cases
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Northern Lights partner
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent group of Shell Nigeria; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022