Paraquat litigation (Syngenta/Chevron) and the Paraquat Papers
Plaintiffs in the United States allege that the weed killer paraquat causes Parkinson's disease. Internal company documents released through litigation and published in 2022 and 2023 recorded decades of company findings on paraquat and the brain and efforts to influence science and regulators. By July 2026 more than 8,000 federal cases were pending and none had gone before a jury; Syngenta had settled without admitting liability and announced it would end Gramoxone sales.
Up from more than 5,800 in April 2025; none had gone before a jury (The New Lede).
Status As of July 2026: more than 8,000 federal cases pending, none tried before a jury; Syngenta had announced the end of Gramoxone sales by 31 December 2026; the EPA review was ongoing.
- Syngenta — A 2003 company document projected annual paraquat sales above $400 million; Brazil accounted for more than half of its paraquat sales in 2016 The New Lede (with The Guardian)
- Chevron — US distributor of paraquat from 1966 to 1986 The New Lede (with The Guardian)
- Jack Housenger, retired director of EPA's pesticide office — Became a company expert at $300 an hour. The New Lede / The Guardian
- Syngenta — Paid $187.5 million in 2021 and an undisclosed amount in 2025, without admitting liability
- Plaintiffs in the settlement — Said little would remain after liens and fees from payments that some lawyers estimated at $100,000 or less. The New Lede
- Plaintiffs alleging Parkinson's disease from paraquat — More than 8,000 federal cases by July 2026; some lawyers estimated an average payment of $100,000 or less; plaintiffs said little would remain after liens and fees The New Lede
- People in Paraná, Brazil — Diquat poisonings rose from 1–3 a year to 9 in 2023 as diquat took part of the market paraquat left
What happened
Paraquat is a contact weed killer that Imperial Chemical Industries (ICI) developed in 1961 and sold as Gramoxone. ICI's agricultural arm later became Syngenta. Chevron was the US distributor from 1966 to 1986. Syngenta's headquarters are in Switzerland, which banned paraquat in 1989. Syngenta says US and Australian regulators judge paraquat safe, that no properly designed study has established a link to Parkinson's disease, and that more than 1,200 studies do not show causation.
Internal records released through litigation, published by The New Lede and The Guardian in 2022 and 2023 (the further SWAT-team files in June 2023) as the "Paraquat Papers", show that in 1958 ICI saw a related compound affect the nervous system, in 1966 observed tremors in rats and mice, and in 1968 found at autopsy that paraquat accumulated in the brain. An autopsy of an agricultural worker in 1976 showed cell degeneration in the substantia nigra, the brain region where cell loss occurs in Parkinson's disease. A 1985 Chevron note compared the legal risk to asbestos; Chevron stopped selling paraquat in 1986, citing increased competition. A 2003 document called the product a blockbuster and projected annual sales above $400 million. A 2003 company mouse study found no neuron loss and was disclosed; a researcher who repeated it with independent scientists' method found significant neuron loss, and that result was not published and reached the EPA only around 2019, after a lawyer threatened to send the data himself. In 2005 Syngenta, through the industry association CropLife America and without being named, argued against a critical scientist joining an EPA panel; the EPA did not select her in 2005 or in 2010 to 2011. By 2011 at the latest a "PQ SWAT team" worked to answer new studies, aiming at an international scientific consensus against the hypothesis that paraquat is a risk factor for Parkinson's. A defence lawyer had scientists' statements edited in 2008 to 2009, and Jack Housenger, a retired director of the EPA's pesticide office, became a company expert at $300 an hour. The New Lede wrote that the documents do not show Syngenta believed in a Parkinson's link; they show efforts to protect sales, answer outside research and influence the regulator.
In 2021 Syngenta settled paraquat claims for $187.5 million without admitting liability. In the consolidated federal cases in Illinois (MDL 3004) a settlement letter with an undisclosed amount was signed in April 2025, when more than 5,800 federal cases were pending. By July 2026 there were more than 8,000 and none had gone before a jury. The judge sent those who refused the settlement to a special master for meetings and depositions; 183 of one law firm's 217 clients left the settlement. Some lawyers estimated the average payment at $100,000 or less, and plaintiffs said little would remain after liens and fees. Syngenta says the settlement is not an admission of causation and that the cases lack merit.
The EPA's 2021 interim decision found the Parkinson's evidence insufficient; the Michael J. Fox Foundation and others sued over it. On 17 January 2025 the EPA said it wanted to withdraw the decision and asked for more data, and plaintiffs said they could not wait four more years. Paraquat was banned in more than 70 countries while US use stayed permitted during the review. Switzerland banned it in 1989. On 11 July 2007 the EU's Court of First Instance annulled the EU approval in a case brought by Sweden, supported by Denmark, Austria and Finland, ruling that the approval process had not adequately examined the Parkinson's link. Brazil's health surveillance agency ANVISA banned paraquat in September 2017 with a three-year transition; Brazil was the largest consumer, accounting for more than half of Syngenta's paraquat sales, and in 2016 Syngenta held 40% of a global market of about $1 billion. The agriculture ministry and the farm caucus in parliament pressed for the ban to be reversed. Unearthed, Greenpeace's investigative unit, reported that the UK exported 8,489 tonnes of banned pesticide active ingredients in 2023, 98% of it Syngenta's, including 2,771 tonnes of paraquat, all to the United States, and that the UK had made no commitment to limit the trade.
On 3 March 2026 Syngenta announced it would end Gramoxone production on 30 June and sales by 31 December 2026 at the latest, attributing the decision to competition from smaller producers. On 25 June 2026 the US Supreme Court held 7 to 2 in Monsanto v. Durnell that the federal pesticide law (FIFRA) bars state claims that would require a cancer warning not on the EPA-approved label. Part of the market that paraquat left was taken by diquat; diquat poisonings in Paraná, Brazil, rose from 1 to 3 a year to 9 in 2023. Sri Lanka banned paraquat, dimethoate and fenthion between 2008 and 2011; pesticide suicides fell 50% and all suicides 21% between 2011 and 2015, with rice yields unchanged, and because the three bans were measured together the effect of paraquat alone cannot be separated.
- 1958ICI sees a related compound affect the nervous system
- 1961ICI develops paraquat, sold as Gramoxone
- 1966Tremors seen in rats and mice; Chevron becomes the US distributor (1966 to 1986)
- 1968Autopsies show paraquat accumulating in the brain
- 1976Autopsy of an agricultural worker shows degeneration of substantia nigra cells
- 1985A Chevron note compares the legal risk to asbestos
- 1986Chevron stops selling paraquat, citing increased competition
- 1989Switzerland bans paraquat
- 2003Company document projects annual paraquat sales above $400 million; company mouse study finds no neuron loss
- 200711 July: EU Court of First Instance annuls the EU approval of paraquat
- 2011A 'PQ SWAT team' is working by this year at the latest; a 110-patient case-control study reports 2.5 times higher odds of reported rotenone or paraquat use among Parkinson's patients
- 2017September: Brazil's ANVISA bans paraquat with a three-year transition
- 2020October: Switzerland's Federal Council announces a ban on the export of five pesticides banned in Switzerland
- 2021Syngenta settles for $187.5 million without admitting liability; EPA interim decision finds the Parkinson's evidence insufficient
- 2022The New Lede and The Guardian publish the Paraquat Papers
- 2023June: further internal files on the SWAT team published
- 202517 January: EPA says it wants to withdraw its 2021 decision. April: settlement letter in MDL 3004, amount undisclosed; more than 5,800 federal cases
- 20263 March: Syngenta announces Gramoxone exit. 25 June: Monsanto v. Durnell decided 7 to 2. July: more than 8,000 federal cases, none before a jury
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
US and Australian regulators judge it safe; no properly designed study has established a link; more than 1,200 studies do not show causation.
The New Lede (with The Guardian)Its 2021 interim decision found the evidence insufficient; in January 2025 it said it wanted to withdraw that decision and asked for more data.
The New LedeAmong 110 patients and 358 controls, patients were 2.5 times as likely to report using rotenone or paraquat; exposure was self-reported and the result covers both substances together.
The Paraquat Papers do not show that Syngenta believed in a Parkinson's link; they show efforts to protect sales, answer outside research and influence the regulator.
The New Lede (with The Guardian)Annulled the EU approval on 11 July 2007 on a challenge by Sweden, holding that the approval process had not sufficiently examined the Parkinson's link.
Public EyeThe settlement is not an admission of causation and the cases lack merit.
The New LedeSent those who refused the settlement to a special master for meetings and depositions.
The New LedeSome lawyers estimated the average payment at $100,000 or less; plaintiffs said little would remain after liens and fees.
The New LedeA 1985 Chevron note compared the legal risk to asbestos.
The New Lede (with The Guardian)Banned paraquat in September 2017 with a three-year transition.
Public EyePressed for the ban to be reversed.
Public EyeHow it looked
Shown
- US and Australian regulators judge paraquat safe, and no properly designed study has established a link to Parkinson's disease.Syngenta · The New Lede (with The Guardian)
- More than 1,200 studies do not show causation.Syngenta · The New Lede / The Guardian
- The settlement is not an admission of causation and the cases lack merit.Syngenta · The New Lede
- The decision to end Gramoxone production and sales reflects competition from smaller producers.Syngenta, 3 March 2026 · SDSU Extension
Recorded
- Internal ICI and Chevron records dated 1958 to 1986 describe nervous-system effects, brain accumulation, substantia nigra degeneration in a 1976 autopsy and a 1985 note comparing the legal risk to asbestos.
- A 2003 company mouse study found no neuron loss; a repeat by a researcher using independent scientists' method found significant neuron loss, was not published and reached the EPA around 2019.
- Syngenta conveyed its objection to a critical scientist's EPA panel nomination through CropLife America without being named; EPA did not select the scientist in 2005 or 2010–2011.
- A "PQ SWAT team" operated by 2011; a defence lawyer had scientists' statements edited in 2008–09; the retired head of EPA's pesticide office became a company expert at $300 an hour.
- A 2011 study with 110 patients and 358 controls found that Parkinson's patients were 2.5 times as likely to report using rotenone or paraquat. The exposure was self-reported and the figure covers both substances.
- Syngenta settled in 2021 for $187.5 million without admitting liability.
- More than 8,000 federal cases were pending in July 2026; none had gone before a jury; 183 of one firm's 217 clients left the settlement.
- EPA's 2021 interim decision found the Parkinson's evidence insufficient; on 17 January 2025 EPA said it wanted to withdraw it and ask for more data. Use remains legal in the US while the review continues.
- In 2023 the UK exported 8,489 tonnes of banned active ingredients, 98% of them Syngenta's. All 2,771 tonnes of paraquat went to the US, and the UK gave no commitment to limit this trade.
- On 25 June 2026 the US Supreme Court held 7 to 2 in Monsanto v. Durnell that the federal pesticide law (FIFRA) bars state-law claims that would require a warning not on the EPA-approved label.
- In October 2020 Switzerland's Federal Council announced a ban on the export of five pesticides banned in Switzerland.
- Part of the market left by paraquat was taken by diquat. Diquat poisonings in Paraná, Brazil, rose from 1–3 a year to 9 in 2023.
- Sri Lanka banned paraquat, dimethoate and fenthion between 2008 and 2011. Pesticide suicides fell 50% and all suicides 21% between 2011 and 2015, with rice yields unchanged. Because the three bans were measured together, the effect of paraquat alone cannot be separated.
- No final court ruling has settled whether paraquat causes Parkinson's disease.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- syngenta (2022–2023): US and Australian regulators judge paraquat safe; no properly designed study has established a Parkinson's link; later said more than 1,200 studies do not show causation. · The New Lede (with The Guardian)
- syngenta (April 2025): The settlement is not an admission of causation and the cases lack merit. · The New Lede
- syngenta (3 March 2026): Attributed the decision to end Gramoxone production and sales to competition from smaller producers. · SDSU Extension
- chevron (1986): Stopped selling paraquat in 1986, citing increased competition, according to the released documents. · The New Lede (with The Guardian)
- us-epa (2021; 17 January 2025): Found the Parkinson's evidence insufficient in its 2021 interim decision; said on 17 January 2025 that it wanted to withdraw the decision and asked for more data. · The New Lede
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- OngoingParaquat Products Liability Litigation, MDL 3004US federal court, Illinois (multidistrict litigation) · Civil · Plaintiffs alleging paraquat caused Parkinson's disease → Syngenta
A settlement letter with an undisclosed amount was signed in April 2025, when more than 5,800 federal cases were pending. By July 2026 there were more than 8,000 and none had gone before a jury. The judge sent those who refused the settlement to a special master; 183 of one firm's 217 clients left it. The New Lede
- 2021Settled$187.5m Millions; settlement without admission of liabilitySyngenta paraquat settlement, 2021United States (court not specified in the record) · Civil · Paraquat plaintiffs → Syngenta
Syngenta settled without admitting liability.
- 2007-07-11Claimant wonSweden v. Commission, annulment of EU paraquat approvalCourt of First Instance of the European Communities · Administrative · Sweden, supported by Denmark, Austria and Finland → European Commission
The court annulled the EU approval of paraquat, ruling that the approval process had not adequately examined the link to Parkinson's disease. Public Eye
- OngoingChallenge to the EPA's 2021 paraquat interim decisionUS court (forum not stated) · Administrative · Michael J. Fox Foundation and others → US EPA
The challengers contested EPA's 2021 interim decision that found the Parkinson's evidence insufficient. On 17 January 2025 EPA said it wanted to withdraw the decision and request more data; the plaintiffs said they could not wait four more years. The New Lede
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Figures
- Self-reported only Odds ratio: Odds of reporting rotenone or paraquat use among Parkinson's patients (110 patients, 358 controls); self-reported exposure, both substances combined.
Accounts
Record
- None on record The amount of the April 2025 settlement in MDL 3004 is confidential.
- None on record The amount Chevron paid in paraquat suits is not known.
- None on record The 2021 settlement is given as $187.5 million in one source section and as 'at least $187.5 million' in another, which is marked as.
- None on record No final court ruling has settled whether paraquat causes Parkinson's disease, and none of the more than 8,000 federal cases had reached a jury by July 2026.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a federal judge threatened a plaintiffs' lawyer with sanctions in October 2025.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: Syngenta's exit closes its Huddersfield plant in England, and paraquat is less than 1% of company sales.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: California's paraquat registration was cancelled in April 2026, with stocks saleable until 2028 and other companies' products unaffected.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: UK authorities approved export of more than 28,000 tonnes of paraquat mixtures in 2018 (Public Eye).
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: China banned domestic use in 2016 while continuing to export (production capacity of 105,000 tonnes a year in 2009), and about 78 million pounds reached the US from China in one year (WUFT).
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: Thailand decided in 2019 to ban paraquat, delayed the ban to June 2020 and dropped glyphosate from the ban after a US official's letter.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: ChemChina bought Syngenta in 2017 for about $43 billion and merged with Sinochem in 2021.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not list which five pesticides were covered by the Swiss export ban announced in October 2020.
Did the harm stop?
Syngenta announced in March 2026 that it would end Gramoxone production on 30 June and sales by 31 December 2026 at the latest. US use of paraquat remained permitted while the EPA review continued.
Who paid?
Syngenta paid $187.5 million in 2021 and an undisclosed amount in 2025. Plaintiffs said little would remain for them after liens and fees from payments that some lawyers estimated at $100,000 or less on average.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Secret paraquat papers reveal corporate tactics to protect weed killer linked to Parkinson's diseaseThe New Lede (with The Guardian) · 2022-10-20
- Syngenta moving to settle thousands of lawsuits claiming paraquat causes Parkinson's diseaseThe New Lede · 2025-04-15
- Judge pressures Parkinson's patients to accept Syngenta paraquat settlementThe New Lede · 2026-07-06
- EPA moves to withdraw decision on paraquat, delays report on risksThe New Lede · 2025-01-18
- Ultimate hypocrisy: UK exported 8,500 tonnes of banned pesticidesUnearthed (Greenpeace) · 2024-12-08
- Syngenta's SWAT team: internal files reveal secret strategies to influence scienceThe New Lede / The Guardian · 2023-06-02
- Supreme Court decides Monsanto v. Durnell (law-firm briefing)Faegre Drinker · 2026-06
Communities and civil society
- EU court reins in Syngenta: the beginning of the end for paraquatPublic Eye · 2007-07-12
- Brazil bans paraquat and the agribusiness lobby is gearing up for actionPublic Eye · 2017-10-23
- The Federal Council bans the export of five pesticides banned in SwitzerlandPublic Eye · 2020-10-14
Researchers
- Syngenta to stop production of GramoxoneSDSU Extension · 2026
Connected cases
- Paraquat bans, UK production for export and Chinese exports United Kingdom · 1989–2026 Related matter
- Syngenta (Company) — here: Paraquat maker (successor to ICI's agricultural arm); settlement defendant; there: Producer; made paraquat for export in the UK
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; interim decision of 2021 and January 2025 announcement
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026 Related matter
- Syngenta (Company) — here: Paraquat maker (successor to ICI's agricultural arm); settlement defendant; there: Exporter; reported to have moved some operations to Germany after the French ban
- Syngenta settles thousands of paraquat lawsuits and keeps selling diquat Global · 1976–2026 Related matter
- Syngenta (Company) — here: Paraquat maker (successor to ICI's agricultural arm); settlement defendant; there: Producer of paraquat and diquat; settled the lawsuits
- Chlorpyrifos: exports of an EU-banned pesticide Belgium · 2022–2025 Related matter
- US Supreme Court blocks state cancer-warning suits against pesticide makers United States · 2026
- Syngenta (Company) — here: Paraquat maker (successor to ICI's agricultural arm); settlement defendant; there: Paraquat producer; announced Gramoxone phase-out
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Approved the labels; announced the paraquat review
- 1,4-dioxane in Tide: Prop 65 settlement and New York limit United States · 2011–2024
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; revised risk determination
- 3M PFOS: internal evidence, EPA penalty and Minnesota settlement United States · 1979–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; TSCA charge closed 2006
- 62% of UK paraquat exports since 2015 went to poorer countries, analysis finds United Kingdom · 2015–2024
- Syngenta (Company) — here: Paraquat maker (successor to ICI's agricultural arm); settlement defendant; there: Paraquat producer named in the 2023 UK export figures
- ADM Decatur carbon storage site leaks about 8,000 tons, EPA finds United States · 2023–2024
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: regulator that found a violation
- AES coal ash sold as road fill in Guayama, Puerto Rico; arsenic above standard United States · 2021
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Federal regulator promising action
- After Sackett ruling, NRDC says at least 60% of individual wetlands are unprotected United States · 2023
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Defendant in Sackett; named in reported 2025 and 2026 proposals to narrow the test (not verified)
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Suspended BP from new federal contracts, 2012–2014
- California v. ExxonMobil: plastics recycling claims and the Baytown plant United States · 2021–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Rejected the mass balance method for its Safer Choice label, per ProPublica
- Chemours spin-off liabilities United States · 2015–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator in the December 2005 PFOA case
- Chevron owns Richmond's 'local news' site, which carries no leak reporting United States · date not stated
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: owner of the news site
- Chevron pleads no contest to six counts over 2012 Richmond refinery fire United States · 2012–2013
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: company that pleaded no contest
- Chevron, Texaco and the Lago Agrio judgment: the RICO ruling and the Donziger cases Ecuador · 1995–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: Defendant in the Ecuadorian judgment; plaintiff in the US RICO case; claimant in the arbitration
- Chlorothalonil metabolites in Swiss groundwater Switzerland · 1970–2020
- Syngenta (Company) — here: Paraquat maker (successor to ICI's agricultural arm); settlement defendant; there: Reported challenger of the revocation of approval (unverified)
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Court reverses $60 million punitive award in dicamba case United States · 2015–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Approved over-the-top dicamba use for 2026 and 2027
- Diamond Shamrock Lister Avenue dioxin, Passaic River United States · 1984–1993
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Selected the 2016 lower Passaic remedy
- Dicamba drift (Bader Farms) and EPA re-registration United States · 2015–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026
- DuPont PFOA (C8) at Washington Works, Parkersburg, and the Tennant farm United States · 1981–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; 2005 penalty
- EPA repeals 2009 greenhouse gas endangerment finding on legal grounds United States · 2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Issued the repeal
- EU bans three neonicotinoid pesticides outdoors in 2018; Turkey follows in part European Union · 2018
- Syngenta (Company) — here: Paraquat maker (successor to ICI's agricultural arm); settlement defendant; there: neonicotinoid manufacturer; pollinator programme; court challenge
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Federal regulator in the 1991 settlement
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Withdrew the Range Resources emergency order in 2012
- GE ran a 'Let Nature Clean Up the Hudson' campaign against EPA dredging United States · 2009–2015
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator that ordered and certified the dredging
- GenX chemical found in Cape Fear River, a DuPont and Chemours replacement for PFOA United States · 2009
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Found in 2021 that GenX was more toxic than previously thought
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: operator of Gorgon LNG
- Greens report: parts of German glyphosate assessment copied Monsanto file Germany · 2015–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: US regulator; former staff moved to Monsanto; Rowland remark reported
- Gulf of Mexico dead zone (Mississippi nutrient runoff) United States · 1985–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Clean Water Act regulator
- Hess agreed to buy at least $750m of Guyana forest credits Guyana · 2022–2032
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: acquired Hess
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: agency client
- Holcim Geocycle and brand-cement plastic co-processing Global · 2021–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; found no meaningful climate benefit from burning plastic instead of coal in kilns (as reported)
- Isle de Jean Charles relocation and a $744.6m Chevron coastal-loss verdict United States · 2016–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: Defendant in the Plaquemines Parish coastal-loss case
- Make Sunsets stratospheric balloon launches (Mexico) Mexico · 2022–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator that requested information
- Monsanto/Bayer PCB and Roundup insurance suit v AIG United States · 1967–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; the sources reviewed say it told Bayer it would not accept a cancer warning
- Mosaic settles US hazardous-waste case over phosphogypsum handling United States · 2015
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator that inspected the sites and signed the settlement
- Nonylphenol ethoxylates: Swiss ban and EU restriction Switzerland · 1984–2014
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Published the nonylphenol ethoxylate action plan
- PFAS water utility settlements by 3M, DuPont, Chemours and Corteva United States · 2023–2036
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; drinking-water limits for PFOA and PFOS
- Portland Harbor Superfund cleanup plan (Willamette River, Oregon) United States · 2016–2017
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator; issued the draft plan and the final Superfund decision
- Roundup litigation, settlements and legal shield (Bayer/Monsanto) United States · 2009–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Approved the Roundup label; said it would not accept a cancer warning
- Starbase launch site, Boca Chica, Texas: environmental review, penalties and Starship debris United States · 2022–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Federal environmental regulator; found Clean Water Act violations
- Stockholm Convention agrees chlorpyrifos phase-out with 22 uses exempted United States · 2021–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: regulator
- Syngenta paid $105m to settle atrazine water-treatment claims United States · 2000–2012
- Syngenta (Company) — here: Paraquat maker (successor to ICI's agricultural arm); settlement defendant; there: settling defendant; company behind internal communications
- Trump's EPA keeps Biden-era veto on Alaska's Pebble mine United States · 2023–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Issued and reaffirmed the veto
- US bans DDT in 1972; bald eagle breeding pairs rebound United States · 1972–2019
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: issued the 1972 DDT ban
- US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing United States · 2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986; there: Named inauguration-fund donor
- US coal ash ponds, groundwater contamination and EPA delay United States · 2015–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Regulator
- US power-plant sulfur emissions fell over 95%, EPA says United States · 1990–2022
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: published the programme results
- US Superfund tax and funding shortfall United States · 1980–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal; there: Administers Superfund; reports responsible-party commitments