ExxonMobil cut and restored Kearl oil-sands reserves as oil prices moved
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
ExxonMobil removed Canada's Kearl oil sands from its reported reserves after prices fell in 2016, then re-booked them when prices recovered. The bitumen in the ground did not change; the price used for reporting did.
- ExxonMobil — its reported reserves moved with the price rule; the company said the 2016 removal would not affect operations IndustryWeek / Bloomberg
What happened
IndustryWeek, citing Bloomberg, reported in February 2017 that ExxonMobil had removed about 3.3 billion barrels of oil equivalent, 19 percent of its reserves and mostly Kearl, at the end of 2016. The company said the removal would not affect its operations.
ExxonMobil said in February 2019 that 3.6 billion barrels, including Kearl, had been proved again at higher prices, within a total addition of 4.5 billion barrels.
Its 2020 SEC filing shows 3.1 billion barrels of Kearl bitumen removed from reserves at the end of 2020.
Under an SEC rule effective from 31 December 2008, reserves are priced on the average of the first-day prices over the previous 12 months rather than the year-end price.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: 2.4 billion barrels of Kearl bitumen re-added in 2021 at the SEC price floor.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: ExxonMobil's US gas reserves from its XTO acquisition fell by 9 trillion cubic feet and were recognised again in 2021 at higher prices.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: total reserves fell from 22.4 billion barrels to 15.2 billion barrels in 2020.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Company or project
- ExxonMobil adds 4.5 billion barrels to reservesExxonMobil · 2019-02-26
- ExxonMobil Form 10-K 2020ExxonMobil / SEC · 2021
Press and investigations
- Exxon caves to oil crash, historic global reserves cutIndustryWeek / Bloomberg · 2017-02-23
Connected cases
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines United States · 2020–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023
- ExxonMobil sues California attorney general and four green groups for defamation United States · 2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Plaintiff in the defamation suit
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Listed a Conservation International director in its 2026 proxy
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Kivalina village in Alaska still awaits relocation after 2008 suit against ExxonMobil United States · 1992–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Defendant in the 2008 suit
- Mobil advertorials cast doubt on climate science; media studios later sold oil content United States · 1970–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Ran Mobil and ExxonMobil advertorials and sponsored content
- Study finds Exxon's internal papers accepted warming; its advertorials cast doubt United States · 1977
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: company whose documents and advertorials were analyzed
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Defendant in California suit; six registered lobbyists at Geneva
- US chemical recycling plants run far below capacity, and some have closed United States · 2024–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: Operator of the Baytown plant
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: reported reserve reductions (not verified)
- US Supreme Court hears Boulder County's climate suit against Suncor and Exxon United States · 2018
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Reporting company; there: defendant and petitioner