Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan
- After two tankers collided on 17 June 2025, the ADALYNN fire and spill put an 8 km oil slick on my Gulf waters, CEOBS wrote. Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS)
CEOBS described fires and damage at the Tehran refinery, South Pars Phase 14 and the Fajr Jam gas plant in June 2025. On 18 March 2026 Iranian state media reported strikes on South Pars gas plants at Asaluyeh, and QatarEnergy later estimated a roughly USD 20bn annual revenue loss from damage at Ras Laffan.
QatarEnergy's estimate (QR72.8bn), reported by Offshore Technology on 20 March 2026; it said repairs would take three to five years.
Status As of 11 August 2026: Iran's Oil Minister said four damaged refineries were being rebuilt; QatarEnergy's repair estimate is three to five years.
- QatarEnergy — Estimated revenue loss of roughly USD 20bn per year; force majeure on some contracts Offshore Technology
- ExxonMobil — Owner of 34% of LNG Train 4 and 30% of Train 6, both damaged Offshore Technology
- Iran's gas sector — Phase 14 production of 12 million m3 halted in June 2025; about 95 million cubic metres of output lost by August 2026, period not stated The National
- Hillside at the Fajr Jam gas plant — Scorched vegetation seen in satellite analysis Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS)
- Gulf waters near the ADALYNN — An 8 km oil slick after the 17 June 2025 tanker collision Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS)
What happened
In an overview dated 20 June 2025, the Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) described the environmental consequences of the June 2025 war between Israel and Iran, based only on remote analysis and the existing literature. It wrote that the Tehran (Shahr-e Rey) refinery, with "a refining capacity of 225,000 barrels per day", was attacked on 14 June and that fire was visible on 15 June, and it listed the pollutants typical of major oil fires: "particulate matter, NOx, nitrous acid, carbon monoxide, sulphur dioxide, VOCs such as formaldehyde, and potentially dioxins, furans, hydrocarbons and PAHs". That list is generic and does not report measurements.
At South Pars Phase 14, hit on 14 June, Iranian state media told Reuters that a fire broke out "in one of the four units of Phase 14 of South Pars", halting production of "12 million m3 of gas". CEOBS satellite analysis suggested damage to a processing centre and that two wells to the north "no longer appear to be operational or flaring". At the Fajr Jam gas plant CEOBS saw "scorched vegetation on a nearby hillside and damage to some of the processing infrastructure". On 17 June two tankers collided in the Gulf; the ADALYNN fire and spill "generated an 8 km oil slick", and CEOBS wrote that "It is thought that GPS spoofing linked to electromagnetic warfare may have contributed". Argus Media reported on 18 March 2026 that Phase 14 operations resumed "within two weeks".
On 18 March 2026 Iranian state media said US and Israeli drones struck gas treatment plants in Asaluyeh that process sour gas from phases 3, 4, 5 and 6, damaging four facilities; Asaluyeh governor Eskandar Pasalar said the facilities had "been taken offline" to control and prevent the spread of fire. Maritime Executive reported that Israel struck Asaluyeh, that a US defence official told Axios the strike was approved in advance by the White House, and that President Trump denied prior knowledge. Qatar's foreign ministry called the South Pars attacks "dangerous and irresponsible".
On 18–19 March 2026 Maritime Executive, under the headline "Iran Damages Ras Laffan LNG Terminal", reported damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan complex: QatarEnergy said the complex sustained "significant damage"; the outlet wrote that Pearl GTL was hit and that several LNG facilities suffered "extensive" damage; fires were put out and Qatar's interior ministry said teams were clearing unexploded munitions. QatarEnergy and its chief executive Saad Sherida Al-Kaabi said LNG Trains 4 and 6 (12.8 mtpa) were damaged and export capacity fell by about 17%, estimated the revenue loss at "roughly $20bn (QR72.8bn) per year", said the damage "will take between three to five years to repair" and declared force majeure "for up to five years on some long-term LNG contracts". Train 4 is owned 66% by QatarEnergy and 34% by ExxonMobil; Train 6 is owned 70% by QatarEnergy and 30% by ExxonMobil.
In August 2026 Iran's Oil Minister Mohsen Paknejad, quoted by The National on 11 August, said Iran lost "about 95 million cubic metres of natural gas output" because of the war, that four damaged refineries were being rebuilt and that "Debris removal, the first stage of the work, has been completed". The article does not say whether the gas figure is per day or a total, and no cost was given.
- 2025Tehran refinery attacked (14 Jun); South Pars Phase 14 hit (14 Jun); tanker collision and ADALYNN spill (17 Jun); CEOBS overview (20 Jun)
- 2026Iranian state media report strikes on Asaluyeh gas plants (18 Mar); QatarEnergy reports damage at Ras Laffan (18–19 Mar) and estimates annual revenue loss (20 Mar); Oil Minister Paknejad on lost gas output (11 Aug)
What was said
“At present little information is available on releases from the damaged facilities”
“taking precautions to avoid triggering a nuclear disaster”
“been taken offline”
“dangerous and irresponsible”
“roughly $20bn (QR72.8bn) per year”
“The damage sustained by the LNG facilities will take between three to five years to repair”
“Debris removal, the first stage of the work, has been completed”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
US and Israeli drones struck gas treatment plants in Asaluyeh.
Argus MediaIsrael struck Asaluyeh and the White House approved the strike in advance.
Maritime ExecutiveDenied prior knowledge, according to Maritime Executive.
Maritime ExecutiveHow it looked
Shown
- A fire broke out in one of the four units of Phase 14 of South Pars, halting production of 12 million m3 of gas.Iranian state media, via Reuters, as cited by CEOBS · Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS)
- US and Israeli drones struck gas treatment plants in Asaluyeh, damaging four facilities.Iranian state media, as reported by Argus Media · Argus Media
Recorded
- CEOBS: the overview is "an initial scoping exercise based only on remote analysis and the existing literature".
- QatarEnergy estimated the revenue loss at roughly USD 20bn (QR72.8bn) per year; LNG Trains 4 and 6 (12.8 mtpa) were damaged and export capacity fell by about 17%.
- Argus Media reported that Phase 14 operations resumed within two weeks.
- Iran's Oil Minister said four damaged refineries were being rebuilt and debris removal had been completed.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- QatarEnergy (2026-03-20): Said Ras Laffan sustained significant damage, estimated a roughly USD 20bn annual revenue loss and declared force majeure on some long-term LNG contracts. · Offshore Technology
- Government of Qatar (2026-03-18): Foreign ministry called the South Pars attacks "dangerous and irresponsible". · Argus Media
- Government of Israel (2025-06): As quoted by CEOBS in June 2025: "taking precautions to avoid triggering a nuclear disaster". · Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS)
- Government of Iran (2025–2026): State media reported a fire at South Pars Phase 14 in June 2025 and drone strikes on Asaluyeh gas plants on 18 March 2026; the Oil Minister said four refineries were being rebuilt. · The National
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Accounts
- Disputed Who struck Asaluyeh on 18 March 2026, and who approved it
Record
- Not measured Not measured: no measured emissions data from the June 2025 fires; open-source analysis was "hampered by. disinformation, AI generated content and miscaptioned footage" (CEOBS).
- Not measured Not measured: no emissions, flaring or spill data from either side for March 2026; Maritime Executive cites NASA FIRMS infrared detections without giving values.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: "Iranian authorities have not disclosed how much production was lost" at Asaluyeh (Argus Media, 18 March 2026).
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: environmental statements by QatarEnergy.
- Unclear Unclear: whether the 95 million cubic metres of lost gas output given by Iran's Oil Minister is per day or a total.
- Disputed Disputed: Iranian state media attributed the 18 March strike on Asaluyeh to US and Israeli drones; Maritime Executive reported that Israel struck; the US defence official's account and President Trump's denial of prior knowledge differ.
- None on record None on record: volumes of fuel burned at the Tehran refinery and a Department of Environment assessment for June 2025.
- None on record None on record: insurance; QatarEnergy declared force majeure on some long-term LNG contracts.
Did the harm stop?
Fires at the Asaluyeh facilities were being controlled on 18 March 2026 and Qatar's fires were put out by 19 March; Phase 14 operations resumed within two weeks of June 2025, according to Argus Media. No emissions data are on record.
Who paid?
None on record. QatarEnergy estimated its own revenue loss; Iran's Oil Minister gave no cost for rebuilding four refineries.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Iran says US, Israel hit South Pars gas facilitiesArgus Media · 2026-03-18
- Iran Damages Ras Laffan LNG TerminalMaritime Executive · 2026-03-18
- QatarEnergy estimates $20bn annual loss after Ras Laffan attackOffshore Technology · 2026-03-20
- Iran lost 95 million cubic metres of natural gas output due to warThe National · 2026-08-11
Communities and civil society
- The emerging environmental consequences of the Israel-Iran warConflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) · 2025-06-20
Connected cases
- Desalination plants hit in the 2026 war: Qeshm Island and Bahrain Iran · 2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Foreign minister's statement on Qeshm
- Government of Qatar (Government) — here: Foreign ministry condemned the South Pars attacks; there: Prime Minister described a contamination simulation
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Described the environmental risks of damage to desalination plants
- Strikes on Tehran fuel depots, March 2026: smoke, black rain and Iran's "ecocide" claim Iran · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Characterised the attack as ecocide; wrote to the UN
- Government of Israel (Government) — here: Quoted by CEOBS on precautions in June 2025; there: Military statement on targets; authorities' statement on legal principles
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Published risk summaries and imagery analysis
- Strikes on Iranian nuclear sites, 2025 and 2026: IAEA statements on contamination and the Bushehr reactor Iran · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr
- Al-Jaili refinery fires and wartime damage in Khartoum, 2023–2025 Sudan · 2023–2025 Related matter
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Satellite and incident analysis
- Iran's 2026 war-damage estimate of about USD 270bn and its calls for compensation and environmental accountability Iran · 2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands
- Ammonia release at Sumykhimprom (Sumy) and nitric-acid explosions at Rubizhne, 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2024
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Recorded the Rubizhne explosions and plumes
- Azovstal, Mariupol and the Sea of Azov, 2022– Ukraine · 2022–2023
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Satellite damage assessment and pre-war pollution summary
- Black Sea dolphin and porpoise deaths since 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Published 2022 mortality summary; states post-mortem results not public
- Chad–Cameroon pipeline and Doba oil fields: World Bank conditions, revenue law, Inspection Panel and 2023 nationalisation Chad · 1999–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Consortium member; sold its assets to Savannah
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments Iran · 2014–2024
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines United States · 2020–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023
- ExxonMobil cut and restored Kearl oil-sands reserves as oil prices moved Canada · 2016–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Reporting company
- ExxonMobil sues California attorney general and four green groups for defamation United States · 2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Plaintiff in the defamation suit
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Listed a Conservation International director in its 2026 proxy
- Fuel-depot fires at Kalynivka, Kriachky and Lutsk, 2022 Ukraine · 2022
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Measurement summaries for Kalynivka and Lutsk
- Gezira irrigation scheme: wartime losses in Al Gezira State Sudan · 2023–2026
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Satellite analysis of land and vegetation loss
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Gulf War compensation (UNCC) and Kuwait oil-damage remediation Kuwait · 1991–2025
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Research NGO reporting the environmental claims figures
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Party to the 1973 Helmand treaty
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Client at the time of COP27
- Hoor al-Azim wetland, oil-field development and dikes in Khuzestan Iran · 2007–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Government of Iran
- Hyrcanian forests logging moratorium: announced budgets, partial allocation and the 2025 Elit fire Iran · 2015–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Enacted the ban and set the budgets
- In Salah shale gas pilot wells and protests, 2014–2015 Algeria · 2014–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: 2024 memorandum of understanding on Ahnet and Gourara
- Iran–Iraq war (1980–88): environmental damage recorded by the UN expert team in 1991 and Iran's damage estimate Iran · 1980–1991
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Source of the damage figures; later reparations demands
- Iran's Clean Air Law and urban air pollution in Tehran and Ahvaz Iran · 2017–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Budget allocations for the law
- Iran's Groundwater Restoration and Balancing Plan: unlicensed wells, sealing, meters and budgets Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Government; plan and budget bills
- Jiyeh power plant oil spill (Lebanon, 2006) Lebanon · 2006–2025
- Government of Israel (Government) — here: Quoted by CEOBS on precautions in June 2025; there: State from which the resolution requests compensation
- Kivalina village in Alaska still awaits relocation after 2008 suit against ExxonMobil United States · 1992–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Defendant in the 2008 suit
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Funded the programme
- Land subsidence on the Tehran plain and across Iran Iran · 1968–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Government; ministries and the Cartographic Center report subsidence data
- Landmines and explosive remnants of the Iran–Iraq war in Iran's western provinces Iran · 1980–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Runs the state demining programme
- Makeshift oil refineries in northeast Syria linked to poisoned streams Syria · 2020
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Published the report on the refineries
- Mazut burning in Iranian power plants, 2020–2025 Iran · 2020–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Presidency; decisions on mazut use
- Mobil advertorials cast doubt on climate science; media studios later sold oil content United States · 1970–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Ran Mobil and ExxonMobil advertorials and sponsored content
- Munition residues and war damage in Ukrainian soils: measurements and state damage assessments Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Hosted the April 2024 joint statement on mine action and food security
- Persian Gulf and Oman Sea desalinated water transfer to Kerman, Yazd and Isfahan Iran · 2016–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements
- Plans to move Iran's capital to the Makran coast, 2024–2025 Iran · 2024–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Proposed the relocation; president, vice president, spokeswoman and foreign minister made statements
- Rafsanjan pistachio plain: aquifer decline, subsidence and export revenue Iran · 1960–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Government; ministries cited on pistachio exports and water markets
- Sakhalin-2 and Sakhalin-1 in 2022: transfer decrees, the ecological-audit deduction clause and write-downs Russia · 2022–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Sakhalin-1 interests terminated on 14 October 2022
- South Pars and Assaluyeh: sulphur dioxide emissions and the pollution levy Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Cabinet approved the improvement document and the 2020 decision
- South Sudan oil fields: pollution in Unity and Upper Nile South Sudan · 1999–2025
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Analysis of the Sudd and oil-field dumping
- Study finds Exxon's internal papers accepted warming; its advertorials cast doubt United States · 1977
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: company whose documents and advertorials were analyzed
- Sudan gold: mercury and cyanide in mining, and the wartime gold trade Sudan · 2008–2026
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Environmental analysis of the war
- Sudan gum arabic belt: wartime production losses and EU and GCF funding Sudan · 2013–2028
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Published the June 2025 overview; there: Analysis of gum arabic as a funding source for both parties
- Tengizchevroil sulphur storage claims and emission fines (Kazakhstan) Kazakhstan · 2007–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: 25% owner of TCO through ExxonMobil Kazakhstan Ventures
- UN Compensation Commission "F4" environmental claims by Iran for the 1990–91 Gulf War Iran · 1990–2013
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Claimant
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Defendant in California suit; six registered lobbyists at Geneva
- US chemical recycling plants run far below capacity, and some have closed United States · 2024–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: Operator of the Baytown plant
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: reported reserve reductions (unconfirmed)
- US Supreme Court hears Boulder County's climate suit against Suncor and Exxon United States · 2018
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Minority owner of LNG Train 4 (34%) and Train 6 (30%); there: defendant and petitioner
- Zagros oak forests: the UNDP/GEF Central Zagros project, its evaluation and the fires of 2024–2026 Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Allocated 13,193,669 to the project
- Zayandeh Rud and the Gavkhouni wetland: water transfers and farmers' protests in Isfahan Iran · 1953–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts; there: Promised farmers' aid and compensation