Persian Gulf and Oman Sea desalinated water transfer to Kerman, Yazd and Isfahan
- Government and regulators Isfahan governor Mehdi Jamalinejad (6 December 2025): Phase 1 could cut annual groundwater withdrawal in the Zayandeh Rud basin by 10–15%, over 40% in later phases, and help revive the Gavkhouni wetland (projection). Hamshahri Online (IRNA)
- Government and regulators Minister Seyed Mohammad Atabak (6 December 2025): The line brings Mobarakeh Steel's use of Zayandeh Rud water to zero. Hamshahri Online (IRNA)
- Researchers Haghshenas Haghighi & Motagh, Science Advances (2024): Water transfer from the Persian Gulf basin is a temporary solution that does not resolve downstream water scarcity issues and may exacerbate conflicts between local communities. Science Advances 10, eadk3039 (Haghshenas Haghighi & Motagh)
- Press and investigations Unnamed experts quoted by Donya-e-Eqtesad (23 May 2023): The fastest fix but the "worst option" because of high operating and renewal costs; some prefer relocating industry to Makran. Donya-e-Eqtesad
- Press and investigations EghtesadOnline (16 March 2021): Environmentalists and independent economists are skeptical of the project. EghtesadOnline (IRNA)
A pipeline and desalination programme carries seawater from the Persian Gulf and Oman Sea to mines and steel plants in Kerman, Yazd and Isfahan, financed by the National Development Fund, Iranian banks and the mining and steel companies that receive most of the water. The first 850 km line was reported at US$1 billion for 180 mcm per year.
180 mcm per year; about US$585 million from Chadormalu, Gol-Gohar and National Iranian Copper Industries (EghtesadOnline citing IRNA, March 2021).
Status As of December 2025: the Sirjan–Isfahan line was ordered into operation (about 6 December 2025); delivered volumes, brine and energy-use data are not on record.
- Gol-Gohar, Sarcheshmeh Copper Mine and Chadormalu — 45, 40 and 30 mcm per year of the 180 mcm per year on line 1 EghtesadOnline (IRNA)
- Mobarakeh Steel — Use of Zayandeh Rud water brought to zero by the Sirjan–Isfahan line, according to Minister Atabak Hamshahri Online (IRNA)
- Chadormalu, Gol-Gohar and National Iranian Copper Industries — Funded about US$585 million of the first US$1 billion line EghtesadOnline (IRNA)
- National Development Fund and Iranian-European Bank — Lent about US$360 million; National Development Fund allocated US$400 million in 2017 Entekhab (Eghtesad News)
- Aquifers of the Zayandeh Rud basin — Groundwater withdrawal that the Isfahan governor projected phase 1 would cut by 10–15% Hamshahri Online (IRNA)
What happened
EghtesadOnline, citing IRNA on 16 March 2021, reported an 850 km line carrying 180 mcm per year at a total cost of US$1 billion: about US$360 million borrowed from the National Development Fund and the Hamburg-based Iranian-European Bank (EIH, affiliated with the Bank of Industry and Mine), without a split; US$55 million invested by nine banks including Melli, Parsian, Tejarat and Sepah; and the remaining US$585 million from Chadormalu, Gol-Gohar and National Iranian Copper Industries. Water was allocated 45 mcm to Gol-Gohar, 40 mcm to the Sarcheshmeh Copper Mine and 30 mcm to Chadormalu, with the remainder for drinking water. Three further pipelines were estimated at US$6.5 billion for 550 mcm per year. The Persian Gulf Water Supply and Transmission Company began work in 2016, phase 1 to Gol-Gohar came online in November 2020, and the line to Sarcheshmeh and Chadormalu in March 2021, when President Rouhani ordered the start of line 2.
Entekhab (Eghtesad News), on 14 March 2021, described four lines across seven provinces with stated investments of 23,000 billion toman (line 1), 47,000 (line 2), 35,000 (line 3, Isfahan) and 39,000 (line 4, Chabahar–Zabol) and a stated total of 140,000 billion toman. The National Development Fund allocated US$400 million in Iranian year 1396 (2017) to start, of which US$280 million had been used, according to Minister Alireza Razm-Hosseini. Financiers of line 2 were named as Mobarakeh Steel, Gol-Gohar, Chadormalu, National Iranian Copper Industries, Sangan, Opal Parsian and Khorasan Steel, and of line 3 Mobarakeh Steel, Esfahan Steel (Zob Ahan) and the Isfahan Refinery. No construction contractors were named.
Donya-e-Eqtesad (23 May 2023) reported the Oman Sea–Isfahan line's phase 1 at 25,000 billion toman and phase 2 at 50,000 billion toman, and Mobarakeh Steel's chief executive, Tayebnia, as saying Mobarakeh had put in the most capital, partly in steel sheets, with six contractors. Fararu (30 September 2023) put phase 2 at 113,000 billion toman over a 980 km route, with a phase 1 target of 70 mcm per year and later 400 mcm per year, most of it for industry according to Energy Minister Mehrabian; costs were to be covered by large Isfahan industries, and 14 contractors worked at 24 sites, none named. President Raisi launched phase 2 of the Isfahan line around 29 September 2023.
On about 6 December 2025 President Pezeshkian ordered the Sirjan–Isfahan line into operation (Hamshahri citing IRNA and the Presidential Office; Nabz-e Bourse; Etemad): investment of 35,000 billion toman, with "major participation" of the Mobarakeh Steel Group, 800 km, built over two years. Minister Seyed Mohammad Atabak said the line brings Mobarakeh Steel's use of Zayandeh Rud water to zero; Isfahan governor Mehdi Jamalinejad said phase 1 could cut annual groundwater withdrawal in the Zayandeh Rud basin by 10–15%, and by over 40% in later phases, and help revive the Gavkhouni wetland.
The Science Advances study (May 2024) described water transfer from the Persian Gulf basin as a temporary solution that does "not resolve downstream water scarcity issues and may exacerbate conflicts between local communities". Mobarakeh Steel's chief executive said the transfer was economically justified because the plant cannot be moved; unnamed experts quoted by Donya-e-Eqtesad in 2023 called it the fastest fix but the "worst option" because of high operating and renewal costs; EghtesadOnline wrote in 2021 that "Environmentalists and independent economists are skeptical of the project".
- 2016Persian Gulf Water Supply and Transmission Company starts work
- 2017National Development Fund allocates US$400 million to start the lines (Iranian year 1396)
- 2020Phase 1 to Gol-Gohar online (November)
- 2021Line to Sarcheshmeh and Chadormalu online; President Rouhani orders start of line 2 (March)
- 2023Donya-e-Eqtesad gives phase costs (23 May); President Raisi launches phase 2 of the Isfahan line (about 29 Sep)
- 2025President Pezeshkian orders the Sirjan–Isfahan line into operation (about 6 Dec)
What was said
“major participation of Mobarakeh Steel Group”
“not resolve downstream water scarcity issues and may exacerbate conflicts between local communities”
“Environmentalists and independent economists are skeptical of the project.”
“worst option”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Phase 1 could cut annual groundwater withdrawal in the Zayandeh Rud basin by 10–15%, over 40% in later phases, and help revive the Gavkhouni wetland (projection).
Hamshahri Online (IRNA)The line brings Mobarakeh Steel's use of Zayandeh Rud water to zero.
Hamshahri Online (IRNA)Water transfer from the Persian Gulf basin is a temporary solution that does not resolve downstream water scarcity issues and may exacerbate conflicts between local communities.
Science Advances 10, eadk3039 (Haghshenas Haghighi & Motagh)The fastest fix but the "worst option" because of high operating and renewal costs; some prefer relocating industry to Makran.
Donya-e-EqtesadEnvironmentalists and independent economists are skeptical of the project.
EghtesadOnline (IRNA)Phase 1 at 25,000 billion toman; phase 2 at 50,000 billion toman.
Donya-e-EqtesadPhase 2 at 113,000 billion toman over a 980 km route; phase 1 figure printed as 5/25 thousand billion toman.
FararuLine 3 (Isfahan) at 35,000 billion toman.
Entekhab (Eghtesad News)The 800 km Sirjan–Isfahan line at 35,000 billion toman, built over two years.
Hamshahri Online (IRNA)How it looked
Shown
- The Sirjan–Isfahan line brings Mobarakeh Steel's use of Zayandeh Rud water to zero.Minister Seyed Mohammad Atabak (6 December 2025) · Hamshahri Online (IRNA)
- Phase 1 could cut annual groundwater withdrawal in the Zayandeh Rud basin by 10–15%, over 40% in later phases, and help revive the Gavkhouni wetland.Isfahan governor Mehdi Jamalinejad (6 December 2025), a projection · Hamshahri Online (IRNA)
- The transfer is economically justified because the plant cannot be moved.Mobarakeh Steel chief executive Tayebnia (23 May 2023) · Donya-e-Eqtesad
Recorded
- First line: 850 km, 180 mcm per year, US$1 billion; US$585 million from Chadormalu, Gol-Gohar and National Iranian Copper Industries; about US$360 million from the National Development Fund and the Iranian-European Bank; US$55 million from nine banks.
- Water allocation on line 1: Gol-Gohar 45 mcm, Sarcheshmeh 40 mcm, Chadormalu 30 mcm, the remainder drinking water.
- Fararu: most water on the Isfahan line to industry (Energy Minister Mehrabian); costs to be covered by large Isfahan industries.
- National Development Fund: US$400 million allocated in 1396 (2017), US$280 million used by March 2021.
- Sirjan–Isfahan line: 800 km, 35,000 billion toman, built over two years, major participation of Mobarakeh Steel Group.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Mobarakeh Steel (23 May 2023): Its chief executive said the transfer was economically justified because the plant cannot be moved and that Mobarakeh had put in the most capital, partly in steel sheets. · Donya-e-Eqtesad
- Ministry of Industry (March 2021): Minister Alireza Razm-Hosseini said the region faced huge challenges in meeting demand. · Entekhab (Eghtesad News)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
- Disputed Whether the transfer helps or harms water scarcity in the receiving regions
Money
- None on record Measured spending on brine discharge or energy use — Not measured: no figures on brine discharge into the Persian Gulf or Oman Sea or on energy use per m³.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Cost of the Isfahan line
Record
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the split between the National Development Fund and the Iranian-European Bank (EIH) of the about US$360 million borrowed for line 1.
- Not measured Not measured: brine discharge into the Persian Gulf or Oman Sea, and energy use per m³ of transferred water; the December 2025 inauguration report does not mention either.
- Disputed Figures differ: Entekhab gave a total of 140,000 billion toman for four lines while its per-line figures were 23,000, 47,000, 35,000 and 39,000 billion toman.
- Disputed Figures differ: phase 1 of the Isfahan line was given as 25,000 billion toman (Donya-e-Eqtesad, May 2023) and, in a form that may be a misprint, as 5/25 thousand billion toman (Fararu, September 2023); phase 2 as 50,000 billion toman (Donya-e-Eqtesad) and 113,000 billion toman (Fararu); the Sirjan–Isfahan line as 35,000 billion toman (December 2025).
- None on record None on record: construction contractors named in any official-sourced article; Fararu gave 14 contractors at 24 sites and Donya-e-Eqtesad six contractors, none named.
- None on record None on record: capacity and cost in the December 2025 inauguration report of Etemad.
- None on record None on record: a drinking-water share for the Isfahan line.
- None on record None on record: delivered volumes after December 2025.
- None on record None on record: repayment terms of the National Development Fund loan.
- None on record None on record: insurance relating to the project.
Did the harm stop?
None on record. The Sirjan–Isfahan line was ordered into operation on about 6 December 2025, and no measurements of brine discharge or energy use are on record.
Who paid?
Mining and steel companies funded about US$585 million of the first US$1 billion line, with the National Development Fund, the Iranian-European Bank and nine banks funding the rest; for the Isfahan line the sources name Mobarakeh Steel, Esfahan Steel (Zob Ahan) and the Isfahan Refinery as financiers. The receiving environment of the intake and discharge is unmeasured.
Sources
Press and investigations
- 850-km Pipeline to Divert Water From Persian Gulf to Kerman, YazdEghtesadOnline (IRNA) · 2021-03-16
- Start of operations on the Persian Gulf and Oman Sea water transfer linesEntekhab (Eghtesad News) · 2021-03-14
- Oman water reaches IsfahanFararu · 2023-09-30
- Is the end of the drought near?Donya-e-Eqtesad · 2023-05-23
- Pezeshkian orders Oman Sea water transferHamshahri Online (IRNA) · 2025-12-06
- Inauguration of the Oman Sea–central plateau lineNabz-e Bourse · 2025-12-06
- Sea water reaches IsfahanEtemad · 2025-12-06
Researchers
- Uncovering the impacts of depleting aquifers: A remote sensing analysis of land subsidence in IranScience Advances 10, eadk3039 (Haghshenas Haghighi & Motagh) · 2024-05-10
Connected cases
- Zayandeh Rud and the Gavkhouni wetland: water transfers and farmers' protests in Isfahan Iran · 1953–2025 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Promised farmers' aid and compensation
- Mobarakeh Steel (Company) — here: Financier and recipient of Isfahan-line water; there: Main financier of the sea-water pipeline to Isfahan (Presidential Office)
- Iran's Groundwater Restoration and Balancing Plan: unlicensed wells, sealing, meters and budgets Iran · 2005–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Government; plan and budget bills
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Funded the programme
- Land subsidence on the Tehran plain and across Iran Iran · 1968–2025 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Government; ministries and the Cartographic Center report subsidence data
- Plans to move Iran's capital to the Makran coast, 2024–2025 Iran · 2024–2025 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Proposed the relocation; president, vice president, spokeswoman and foreign minister made statements
- Rafsanjan pistachio plain: aquifer decline, subsidence and export revenue Iran · 1960–2025 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Government; ministries cited on pistachio exports and water markets
- Desalination plants hit in the 2026 war: Qeshm Island and Bahrain Iran · 2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Foreign minister's statement on Qeshm
- Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments Iran · 2014–2024
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Party to the 1973 Helmand treaty
- Hoor al-Azim wetland, oil-field development and dikes in Khuzestan Iran · 2007–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Government of Iran
- Hyrcanian forests logging moratorium: announced budgets, partial allocation and the 2025 Elit fire Iran · 2015–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Enacted the ban and set the budgets
- Iran–Iraq war (1980–88): environmental damage recorded by the UN expert team in 1991 and Iran's damage estimate Iran · 1980–1991
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Source of the damage figures; later reparations demands
- Iran's 2026 war-damage estimate of about USD 270bn and its calls for compensation and environmental accountability Iran · 2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands
- Iran's Clean Air Law and urban air pollution in Tehran and Ahvaz Iran · 2017–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Budget allocations for the law
- Landmines and explosive remnants of the Iran–Iraq war in Iran's western provinces Iran · 1980–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Runs the state demining programme
- Mazut burning in Iranian power plants, 2020–2025 Iran · 2020–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Presidency; decisions on mazut use
- South Pars and Assaluyeh: sulphur dioxide emissions and the pollution levy Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Cabinet approved the improvement document and the 2020 decision
- Strikes on Iranian nuclear sites, 2025 and 2026: IAEA statements on contamination and the Bushehr reactor Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr
- Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts
- Strikes on Tehran fuel depots, March 2026: smoke, black rain and Iran's "ecocide" claim Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Characterised the attack as ecocide; wrote to the UN
- UN Compensation Commission "F4" environmental claims by Iran for the 1990–91 Gulf War Iran · 1990–2013
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Claimant
- Zagros oak forests: the UNDP/GEF Central Zagros project, its evaluation and the fires of 2024–2026 Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements; there: Allocated 13,193,669 to the project