Koç and Sabancı named partners of COP31 climate summit in Antalya
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Koç and Sabancı holding companies were named COP31 partners, with Koç as global partner and Sabancı as electrification partner, and the fees were not disclosed. At stake for nature is how far sponsors whose businesses include oil refining and lignite power shape the climate talks.
- Koç Holding — Global business partner of COP31; fees not disclosed BloombergHT
- Sabancı Holding — Electrification partner of COP31; fees not disclosed CNBC-e
- Garanti BBVA, Türk Telekom and Bloomberg Philanthropies — Named COP31 partners; fees not disclosed
What happened
COP31 is scheduled for Antalya from 9 to 20 November 2026, with Murat Kurum as president and Chris Bowen as president of negotiations, according to the Australian Prime Minister's Office.
Koç Holding became the summit's global partner and Sabancı Holding its electrification partner, according to BloombergHT and CNBC-e.
Koç is the controlling partner of the refiner Tüpraş, and Sabancı is a partner in the Tufanbeyli lignite power plant; the partners' fees were not disclosed.
Global Witness counted 2,456 fossil-linked participants at COP28, 1,773 at COP29 and 1,602 at COP30, using KBPO's definition.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Not disclosed The fees paid by Koç, Sabancı, Garanti BBVA, Türk Telekom and Bloomberg Philanthropies were not disclosed.
- None on record How the partners were selected is not stated in the sources reviewed.
- Unclear Whether any partner's business influenced a negotiating position is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- COP to be hosted by Türkiye, Australia leading negotiationsAustralian Prime Minister's Office ·
Communities and civil society
Connected cases
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: NGO whose 2023 figures are cited
- Bloomberg, Steyer and Bezos money shapes coal and nature campaigns United States · 2008–2026
- Bloomberg Philanthropies (Foundation) — here: Named COP31 partner; there: Foundation funding coal-plant closures and state-level campaigns
- Cambodian sand exports to Singapore (Koh Kong, Mekong, Bassac) Cambodia · 2007–2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: NGO; 2010 report on the Koh Kong sand trade
- Malaysia banned sea-sand exports to Singapore in 2018, reported only in 2019 Singapore · 2018
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: Found Singapore's response inadequate
- Marange diamonds and the Kimberley Process (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2008–2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: NGO that left the Kimberley Process in 2011
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: NGO; 2010 report on Koh Kong sand exports and licences
- Myanmar Kachin heavy rare earth mining and Kok River arsenic Thailand · 2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: NGO; reported on heavy rare earth mining in Myanmar
- Myanmar rare earth mining districts lost 32,720 hectares of tree cover Myanmar · 2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: Investigating NGO; reported China's imports from Myanmar
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison
- Saweto killings Peru · 2014–2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: Published the participant counts; there: Reported the 2026 arrests