Danone, Unilever and BP scaled back sustainability goals between 2021 and 2025
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Danone replaced its chief executive, Unilever withdrew a plastic target and BP cut its low-carbon spending. Nature's stake: the plastic and emissions goals that were meant to reduce pressure on ecosystems.
- BP — Allocated 10 billion dollars to oil and gas after cutting low-carbon investment (KR4-93).
What happened
ESM Magazine reported that Danone's chief executive Emmanuel Faber, who had written social and environmental goals into the company's articles, was removed on 15 March 2021 after activist investor pressure. The sources cite share and sales performance as the reason.
Unilever withdrew a plastic reduction target in April 2024, replacing a goal of 50% with goals of 30% and 40% (KR4-92).
On 26 February 2025 BP cut its low-carbon investment to 1.5 to 2 billion dollars a year and put 10 billion dollars into oil and gas, during pressure from the activist fund Elliott, after a 2020 target to cut oil production by 40% (KR4-93).
A duty-of-vigilance lawsuit against Danone over its plastic use was settled with a commitment to add plastic risk to the company's vigilance plan, with no binding reduction path (Business & Human Rights Resource Centre).
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record Not in sources reviewed: a causal link between the sustainability targets and the leadership changes. The sources record them in the same period.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Danone confirms ousting of Faber as chairman and CEO after activist pressureESM Magazine · 2021-03-15
Communities and civil society
- France: Danone settles dispute with environmental groups over its plastic usageBusiness & Human Rights Resource Centre ·
Connected cases
- Bolivian carbon scheme claimed 55 million tonnes; review found at most 5.8 million Bolivia · 1997–2010
- BP (Company) — here: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025; there: company; partner in the scheme; donor to TNC
- BP “Beyond Petroleum” campaign and carbon footprint calculator United Kingdom · 2000–2025
- BP (Company) — here: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025; there: Launched the “Beyond Petroleum” brand and the carbon footprint calculator
- BP acquires majority stake in Finite Carbon, a US forest carbon developer United States · 2020
- BP (Company) — here: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025; there: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- BP (Company) — here: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025; there: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- BP (Company) — here: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025; there: Well operator and lease holder; pleaded guilty; paid $20.8bn civil settlement; self-insured
- BP's Gulf spill used Corexit; Nalco board had ex-BP and Exxon executives United States · date not stated
- BP (Company) — here: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025; there: Company responsible for the spill response and dispersant choice
- Coca-Cola and Unilever revise plastic packaging targets International · 2024
- Unilever (Company) — here: Company that withdrew a plastic reduction target in 2024; there: Revised its virgin plastic reduction target
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- BP (Company) — here: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here
- Danone plant in Puebla occupied by people, then cleared by state forces Mexico · 2022
- Danone (Company) — here: Company whose chief executive was removed in 2021; there: owner of the plant occupied in Puebla
- Danone settles duty-of-vigilance lawsuit over plastic use France · 2025
- Danone (Company) — here: Company whose chief executive was removed in 2021; there: defendant
- Livelihoods Fund mangrove project (Senegal) Senegal · 2009–2026
- Danone (Company) — here: Company whose chief executive was removed in 2021; there: Corporate investor / credit recipient
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- BP (Company) — here: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- Unilever sold The Vegetarian Butcher to JBS-owned Vivera in March 2025 Global · 2021–2025
- Unilever (Company) — here: Company that withdrew a plastic reduction target in 2024; there: Sold The Vegetarian Butcher