California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire
- Losses at the four projects CarbonPlan listed were estimated at 1.38, 1.15, 3.95 and 0.21 million tCO2. CarbonPlan
California's forest offsets programme sets aside credits in a buffer pool to cover losses such as fire. Researchers estimate that fires have used up almost 40% of the pool, against 20% allocated for 100 years of fire risk.
CarbonPlan estimate, 2025.
Status As of the latest sources reviewed (September and December 2025): CarbonPlan estimated wildfire had consumed almost 40% of the pool, and Verra's durability pilot allowed insurance in place of buffer contributions from December 2025.
- Holders of credits from burned forest projects — Credits lost to fire are replaced from the pool; buyers are not charged CarbonPlan
- Microsoft — Bought about 240,000–265,000 credits from Klamath East and West in 2020–21; credits already used by buyers stand Inside Climate News
- The shared buffer pool — Nearly 11 million credits lost to wildfire out of about 33.5 million ever deposited (2023); almost 40% consumed against 20% allocated for 100 years of fire (2025) CarbonPlan
- Green Diamond (Klamath East project owner) — Project to be terminated, according to its filings as reported by OPB Inside Climate News
- Warm Springs project forest (Lionshead fire, 2020) — At least 1.38 million tCO₂ lost (CarbonPlan estimate); official figure still undisclosed CarbonPlan
- Klamath East project forest (Bootleg fire, 2021) — At least 1.15 million tCO₂ lost (CarbonPlan estimate) CarbonPlan
- Colville project forest — 3.95 million tCO₂ lost (official), plus a further 1.79 million in its seventh reporting period (2023) CarbonPlan
- Montesol project forest — 0.21 million tCO₂ lost CarbonPlan
What happened
Forest offset projects in California's programme contribute 2–4% of their credited carbon to a buffer pool for fire risk. When a credited forest burns, the California Air Resources Board (CARB) replaces the lost credits from the pool; buyers are not charged.
A peer-reviewed study by Badgley et al. (CarbonPlan), published on 5 August 2022, estimated wildfire losses of 5.7–6.8 million credits, at least 95% of the pool's 100-year fire allocation (upper estimate 114%). The total pool held about 31.0 million credits.
In December 2022 CarbonPlan estimated losses of at least 1.38 million tCO₂ at Warm Springs (Lionshead fire), at least 1.15 million at Klamath East (Bootleg fire), 3.95 million officially at Colville and 0.21 million at Montesol, and described the pool as "effectively insolvent".
In November 2023 CarbonPlan reported a further 1.79 million tCO₂ lost at Colville and programme-wide wildfire losses of nearly 11 million credits out of about 33.5 million ever deposited. In September 2025 it noted that Warm Springs' post-fire carbon stock was still undisclosed after about 60 months, although the rules require it within 23 months.
Microsoft bought about 240,000–265,000 credits from Klamath East and West in 2020–21. The Klamath East project is to be terminated, according to Green Diamond's filings as reported by OPB.
Verra, which runs a separate voluntary-market buffer pool for agriculture, forestry and other land use, said in a 2021 consultation that cancellations 'may be inadequate'. From December 2025 its durability pilot allows approved insurance policies to be used instead of buffer-pool contributions; CarbonPool and Kita were approved, followed by Artio.
- 2020Lionshead fire burns the Warm Springs project
- 2021Bootleg fire burns Klamath East; Microsoft credit purchases reported
- 2022Badgley et al.: fire losses at least 95% of 100-year allocation (5 Aug); CarbonPlan: pool "effectively insolvent" (1 Dec)
- 2023CarbonPlan: nearly 11m credits lost to wildfire of 33.5m deposited (29 Nov)
- 2024Lloyd's lineslip for carbon-credit insurance with Apollo, Hiscox and other syndicates (October)
- 2025CarbonPlan: almost 40% of pool consumed; Warm Springs stock still undisclosed (3 Sep); Verra durability pilot allows insurance in place of buffer contributions (from December)
What was said
“California's forest carbon offsets buffer pool is severely undercapitalized.”
“effectively insolvent”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Wildfire losses were at least 95 percent of the 100-year fire allocation; the pool is severely undercapitalized.
Frontiers in Forests and Global Change (Badgley et al.)Wildfire has consumed almost 40% of the pool against 20% allocated for fire over 100 years.
CarbonPlanIts 2021 consultation said buffer cancellations 'may be inadequate'.
International Seabed Authority submissionReports 28.3 million buffer credits, a figure that excludes Lionshead.
CarbonPlanEstimates about 33.5 million credits were ever deposited, with program-wide wildfire losses of nearly 11 million.
CarbonPlanHow it looked
Shown
- A shared buffer pool, filled from 2–4% of credited carbon for fire risk, as the programme's cover for losses of stored carbonCalifornia forest-offset programme rules, as described by Badgley et al. · Frontiers in Forests and Global Change (Badgley et al.)
- Buyers are not charged when burned credits are replaced from the poolCarbonPlan's description of the CARB mechanism · CarbonPlan
Recorded
- Wildfire losses of 5.7–6.8 million credits, at least 95 percent of the 100-year fire allocation (upper estimate 114%)
- Program-wide wildfire losses of nearly 11 million credits out of about 33.5 million ever deposited in the buffer
- Wildfire has consumed almost 40% of the pool, against 20% allocated for fire over 100 years (CarbonPlan estimate)
- Warm Springs post-fire carbon stock undisclosed after about 60 months; the rules require disclosure 'within 23 months'
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- carb (2025): CARB reported 28.3 million buffer credits, a figure that excludes Lionshead. · CarbonPlan
- verra (2021; December 2025): In a 2021 consultation, said buffer cancellations 'may be inadequate'; from December 2025 its durability pilot allows approved insurance in place of buffer-pool contributions. · Verra
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
- 2025Self-insuredCalifornia forest offsets buffer pool (programme self-insurance, administered by CARB) → Holders of credits from burned forest projects
CARB replaces credits lost to fire from the shared buffer pool; buyers are not charged. CarbonPlan
- 2024No policy foundLloyd's syndicates including Apollo and Hiscox → Carbon-credit buyers and projects (lineslip)
A Lloyd's lineslip with Apollo, Hiscox and other syndicates was recorded in October 2024. Verra
- 2025No policy foundCarbonPool, Kita and Artio → Forest-carbon projects under Verra's durability pilot
Verra's durability pilot, from December 2025, allows insurance in place of buffer-pool contributions. CarbonPool and Kita were approved, then Artio. Verra
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Insurers
Accounts
Record
- Not disclosed Warm Springs (ACR260) official reversal tonnage is still undisclosed.
- None on record No CARB buffer data after 2025 was found.
- Disputed Microsoft's credit volume differs between sources (about 240,000–265,000).
- None on record No insurer is involved; no commercial insurance claim for burned offset forests was found.
- None on record The total buffer pool: CARB reported 28.3 million credits, a figure that excludes Lionshead, while the 2022 study put the pool at about 31.0 million credits and CarbonPlan's later figure for credits ever deposited was about 33.5 million.
- Disputed Oka's approval status under Verra's durability work: reported but not independently verified. A Verra approval is recorded for CORSIA, and the company's own site mentions a 14 October 2026 'Verra durability placement'; the two accounts conflict.
Did the harm stop?
No. Burned credits are replaced from the buffer pool and the credits already used by buyers stand.
Who paid?
The shared buffer pool, which CarbonPlan estimates fire has consumed almost 40% of, against 20% set aside for 100 years.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Comments on the draft exploitation regulations, section 8 (reproduces Badgley et al., CarbonPlan and Verra figures)International Seabed Authority submission · 2025-09
Press and investigations
- US forest fires threaten carbon offsets as company-linked trees burnInside Climate News · 2021-08-04
Researchers
- California's forest carbon offsets buffer pool is severely undercapitalizedFrontiers in Forests and Global Change (Badgley et al.) · 2022-08-05
- Buffer analysis updateCarbonPlan · 2022-12-01
- Buffer update threeCarbonPlan · 2023-11-29
- Lionshead fifth anniversaryCarbonPlan · 2025-09-03
Standard-setters and registries
Connected cases
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated Related matter
- California Air Resources Board (Public authority) — here: Programme regulator; replaces burned credits from the buffer pool; there: California regulator of the offset programme
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- California Air Resources Board (Public authority) — here: Programme regulator; replaces burned credits from the buffer pool; there: Replaces burned credits from the buffer pool; reports the buffer balance
- CarbonPlan (NGO) — here: Research group; buffer pool analyses; there: Analysed the buffer pool and published the estimates
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Buyer of Klamath East and West credits
- Green Diamond (Company) — here: Klamath East project owner; there: Linked to the Klamath East credits
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- Big Tech data-centre emissions accounting (Microsoft, Google, Amazon, Meta) United States · 2007–2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: certification body that suspended accounts
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Registry; suspended the projects
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Frontier buyers' club, Microsoft and the Puro.earth / Exomad Green biochar deal Global · 2020–2030
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Largest buyer of long-term carbon removal
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Kenya suspends Microsoft and G42 geothermal data centre plan at Naivasha Kenya · 2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Planned partner in the geothermal data centre
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Microsoft forestry carbon deals and the Apple Restore Fund Brazil · 2024
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Credit buyer
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Buyer of carbon removal (500,000 tonnes over six years)
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Querétaro data-centre water use (Mexico) Mexico · 2025
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Operator of a campus in Querétaro, named by Oxfam
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Running Tide ocean carbon removal (Maine/Iceland) Iceland · 2017–2024
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Credit buyer (12,000 credits listed)
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026
- Sole bidder re.green wins first forest carbon-rights tender in Brazil Brazil · 2020–2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West); there: Buyer of re.green reforestation credits
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Carbon-credit registry
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance; there: Registry