Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Chemical pollution · Nigeria · 2021–2026

Ogijo battery recycling lead poisoning (Nigeria)

Nature's voice · report
My soil near the smelters held lead up to 186 times the hazard threshold, measured in November 2025.
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record. Disputed
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 2 insufficient · 1 disputed See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
Is battery recycling safe as presented?
  • Company or project Battery Council International: Lead batteries are the most recycled consumer product in the US, at 99%. Recycling Today
  • Press and investigations The Examination: Lead recycled for US batteries is poisoning people in Ogijo. The Examination
  • Company or project East Penn: Said that Nigerian lead was less than 5% of its supply, and stopped buying. The Examination

Journalists' blood and soil tests around lead smelters in Ogijo, Nigeria, found widespread lead poisoning; the smelters' lead went through a trader to a US battery maker. Authorities closed the plants in November 2025 and plants reopened from February 2026.

About 70% of 70Volunteers tested in Ogijo with harmful blood lead
Journalists' test, November 2025; all tested workers were poisoned (number of workers not disclosed).

Status As of February 2026: plants reopened after closures; fines and clean-up obligations reported; no compensation or court case found.

What?
Lead poisoning around battery-recycling smelters in Ogijo, Nigeria, whose lead reached a US battery maker. The Examination
Where?
Ogijo, Ogun State, Nigeria; lead sent to the United States. The Examination
When?
Lead trade over four years to 2025; tests November 2025; reopening from February 2026. The Examination
Who?
Gained
  • Trafigura — Traded the smelters' lead to a US buyer. The Examination
  • East Penn — Received recycled lead for batteries supplied to Ford, GM and Tesla. The Examination
Lost
  • People around the smelters — No compensation on record.
Harmed
  • Workers and children in Ogijo — Harmful blood lead in about 70% of 70 volunteers. The Examination
Why?
US rules on lead tightened and buyers turned to places such as Ogijo, per the sources reviewed.
How?
Imported lead-acid batteries were smelted in Ogijo; the lead went through the trader Trafigura to East Penn. The Examination
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Imported lead-acid batteries are smelted at Ogijo, in Nigeria. Reporting by The Examination, with the New York Times, said lead from True Metals and six other Nigerian smelters was carried over the previous four years by the trader Trafigura to the US battery maker East Penn, which supplies batteries to Ford, GM and Tesla.

In November 2025 blood tests were carried out on 70 volunteers living near and working in the smelters. About 70% showed harmful lead levels; all tested workers were poisoned (the number of workers was not disclosed). Of 14 children tested, 8 were above 5 µg/dL. ICIR reported workers' average blood lead of about 20 µg/dL and a highest value of 38 µg/dL. Soil lead was measured at up to 186 times the hazard threshold.

After publication, the federal ministry sealed two facilities and Ogun State closed seven. East Penn stopped buying lead from Nigeria, saying Nigerian lead was less than 5% of its supply. The Examination reported in December 2025 that half the children tested had levels associated with permanent brain damage.

From February 2026 the plants reopened. Fines of about $7,000 per factory and a clean-up obligation of about $150,000 across four companies were reported. No compensation to those affected is on record.

  1. 2021Start of the four-year period in which Trafigura carried Nigerian smelters' lead to the US
  2. 2023Industry group states 99% of US lead batteries are recycled (study it commissioned)
  3. 2025Blood tests of 70 volunteers (Nov); facilities sealed on 24 and 27 November; East Penn stops buying Nigerian lead
  4. 2026Plants reopen from February; fines and clean-up obligations reported

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Is battery recycling safe as presented?
Company or project
Battery Council International

Lead batteries are the most recycled consumer product in the US, at 99%.

Recycling Today
Press and investigations
The Examination

Lead recycled for US batteries is poisoning people in Ogijo.

The Examination
Company or project
East Penn

Said that Nigerian lead was less than 5% of its supply, and stopped buying.

The Examination

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • Lead batteries are the most recycled consumer product in the United States, with a recycling rate of 99%.
    Battery Council International (industry group), in a study it commissioned · Recycling Today

Recorded

  • About 70% of 70 volunteers tested had harmful blood lead; all tested workers were poisoned, number of workers not disclosed; 8 of 14 children tested were above 5 µg/dL; soil lead up to 186 times the hazard threshold.
  • Workers' average blood lead about 20 µg/dL, highest 38 µg/dL.
  • Half the children tested had levels associated with permanent brain damage; authorities closed plants; East Penn stopped buying lead from Nigeria.
  • The industry's 99% figure refers to US weight; the study was commissioned by the industry and there is no audit.
  • Plants reopened from February 2026; no compensation to victims.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
No figure published.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Currency: USD · Window: 2025–2026. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • East Penn (November–December 2025): Said that Nigerian lead was less than 5% of its supply, and stopped buying lead from Nigeria. · The Examination
  • Trafigura: Not on record in the sources reviewed.

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

  1. 2025-11-24–Ongoing
    Closure of Ogijo smelting facilities
    Federal ministry and Ogun State authorities · Administrative · Federal ministry and Ogun State → Operators of the smelting facilities

    The federal ministry sealed two facilities and Ogun State closed seven in November 2025. Plants reopened from February 2026; fines of about $7,000 per factory and a clean-up obligation of about $150,000 across four companies were reported.

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Soil lead
Up to 186 times threshold
Hazard threshold; November 2025 reporting
Volunteers with harmful blood lead
About 70% of 70
All tested workers poisoned
Compensation to those affected
None on record
Plants reopened from February 2026

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

  • Disputed Is battery recycling safe as presented?

Figures

  • Insufficient Fines: Reported fine per factory.
  • Insufficient Restoration spending: Clean-up obligation across four companies (an obligation, not paid).

Record

  • Not disclosed The number of workers tested was not disclosed.
  • None on record The volume of lead Trafigura carried and the collection of the fines are not on record.
  • None on record No compensation to victims is on record.
  • None on record No court case is on record; the actions reported are administrative closures.

Did the harm stop?

Plants were sealed or closed in November 2025 and reopened from February 2026.

Who paid?

People living and working around the smelters, whose blood lead was tested; no compensation is on record.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Insurance

Premium
The price paid for an insurance policy.