Sellafield decommissioning and Hanford cleanup budgets
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Two state-funded nuclear clean-up programmes, Hanford in the United States and Sellafield in the United Kingdom, carry cost estimates of hundreds of billions of dollars and many decades of work. At Hanford, contractors settled False Claims Act cases in 2016 and 2020.
Completion given as 2086. Estimate as reported by Tri-Cities Business News.
Status As of April 2025: the Department of Energy gave a Hanford clean-up estimate of $364–589.4 billion ending in 2086; the 2016 and 2020 settlements were concluded.
What happened
Hanford, on the Columbia River in Washington state, holds nuclear waste left from the wartime Manhattan Project. A waste treatment plant (WTP) is being built there by contractors including Bechtel and URS, the latter now part of AECOM.
In November 2016 the US Department of Justice announced the settlement of a lawsuit against Energy Department contractors. The settlement, of $125 million, covered allegations that Bechtel and URS billed the government for defective nuclear-quality material and used federal contract money for a multi-year lobbying campaign aimed at keeping the plant funded.
In September 2020 Bechtel and AECOM settled a second suit, over allegations that they billed the government for idle labour hours at Hanford, for $57.8 million. The same report gave the cost of the waste treatment plant as $16.8 billion.
In April 2025 the Department of Energy gave a Hanford clean-up cost estimate of $364 billion to $589.4 billion, with completion in 2086.
Sellafield, in the United Kingdom, is a separate decommissioning programme. A National Audit Office press release in October 2024 said the site was not yet achieving value for money. Cost figures attributed to the National Audit Office for Sellafield are listed under unknowns because they are not independently verified.
- 1943Hanford waste begins to accumulate from the Manhattan Project
- 2016Bechtel and URS settle the Department of Justice case for $125 million
- 2020Bechtel and AECOM settle an idle-labour billing suit for $57.8 million
- 2024National Audit Office says Sellafield is not yet achieving value for money (October)
- 2025Department of Energy gives Hanford clean-up cost as $364–589.4 billion, ending in 2086 (April)
How it looked
Shown
- The Department of Energy and its contractor Bechtel said they were committed to the Hanford clean-up (paraphrase; wording not on record).US Department of Energy and Bechtel
Recorded
- Bechtel and URS settled the Department of Justice case for $125 million in November 2016.
- Bechtel and AECOM settled the idle-labour billing claim for $57.8 million in September 2020.
- The Department of Energy put the total Hanford clean-up cost at $364–589.4 billion, with completion in 2086 (April 2025).
- The waste treatment plant cost was given as $16.8 billion (September 2020 report).
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- us-doe (undated): Said it was committed to the clean-up (paraphrase; wording not on record).
- bechtel (undated): Said it was committed to the clean-up (paraphrase; wording not on record).
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2016-11Settled$125m settlement, millionsUnited States v. Energy Department contractors (Bechtel and URS): mischarging and lobbyingUS federal court · Civil · United States (Department of Justice) → Bechtel and URS (now AECOM)
The government alleged the contractors billed it for defective nuclear-quality material and used federal contract funds for a multi-year lobbying campaign to keep the waste treatment plant funded. The case ended in a $125 million settlement. US Department of Justice
- 2020-09Settled$57.8m settlement, millionsHanford idle-labour billing suitUS federal court · Civil · United States → Bechtel and AECOM
The government alleged the contractors billed for idle labour hours at the Hanford clean-up site. The suit was settled for $57.8 million. ENR
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: Sellafield figures attributed to the National Audit Office, namely a decommissioning cost estimate of £136 billion (March 2024), £2.7 billion spent on the site in 2023-24, and clean-up continuing to 2125.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a US Department of Energy Environmental Management budget of about $8.5 billion for fiscal year 2025, a Hanford request of $3.1 billion, and the Bechtel vitrification plant described as about $17 billion.
- Unclear Whether Bechtel or AECOM admitted liability in either Hanford settlement is not stated in the sources reviewed.
- Not disclosed The contractors' profit from Hanford is not published in the sources reviewed.
- None on record No source reviewed reports a criminal charge against any individual in connection with the Hanford settlements.
Did the harm stop?
No source reviewed says that the clean-up has been completed at either site; the Department of Energy's April 2025 estimate puts completion at Hanford in 2086.
Who paid?
The Hanford settlements were paid by the contractors; the plant and the clean-up are federally funded.
Sources
Government and regulators
- United States settles lawsuit against Energy Department contractorsUS Department of Justice · 2016-11
- Sellafield nuclear site not yet achieving value for moneyNational Audit Office · 2024-10
- Decommissioning Sellafield: managing risks from the nuclear legacy (summary)National Audit Office · 2024-10
Press and investigations
- Report: Hanford cleanup to cost tens of billions more, take years longer based on latest estimatesTri-Cities Business News · 2025-04
- DOE request would trim 2025 cleanup budget, increase Hanford spendExchange Monitor · 2024
Connected cases
- Hanford contractors settle false-claims suits as cleanup estimates rise United States · 1943–2086 Related matter
- Bechtel (Company) — here: Hanford waste treatment plant contractor; there: Hanford contractor; party to the 2016 and 2020 settlements
- AECOM (Company) — here: Owner of URS, Hanford contractor; there: Former URS, now AECOM; party to the 2020 settlement
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Hanford owner and funder; there: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Hanford owner and funder; there: administers carbon management funds
- ACCCE clean coal advertising and forged letters (US) United States · 2008–2009
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Hanford owner and funder; there: Ran the Clean Coal programme, 1986–1993
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Prosecutor and civil claimant
- China small hydropower closures, Yangtze Economic Belt China · 2018–2020
- National Audit Office (Public authority) — here: UK auditor reporting on Sellafield; there: Auditor whose finding on interrupted flow was reported
- Dark Basin hacking of climate groups (#ExxonKnew) United States · 2023
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Prosecuting authority (Southern District of New York)
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Prosecutor and civil claimant
- Kerr-McGee / Anadarko fraudulent transfer settlement United States · 2014–2015
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Announced the settlement
- Leaked DOE list marks first tranches for two direct air capture hubs 'terminate' United States · 2021
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Hanford owner and funder; there: ran the hub funding and the list
- Monsanto faces US bribery charge over Indonesian environmental review Indonesia · 2005
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: prosecuting authority; issued the press release
- Montrose DDT insurance case United States · 1947–2020
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Announced the December 2000 DDT settlement
- Mosaic settles US hazardous-waste case over phosphogypsum handling United States · 2015
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Co-signatory of the settlement
- NextEra unit ESI Energy admits at least 150 eagle deaths at US wind farms United States · 2012–2022
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: prosecutor that described the permit policy
- North Sea platform decommissioning tax relief (UK) United Kingdom · 2013–2024
- National Audit Office (Public authority) — here: UK auditor reporting on Sellafield; there: Auditor; 2019 estimate reported
- Occidental buys Holocene as US carbon removal staff is cut to one person United States · 2023–2025
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Hanford owner and funder; there: Federal department whose carbon removal staff was reduced
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Hanford owner and funder; there: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022
- Ohio HB6 bribery scandal United States · 2017–2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Prosecuted; recorded a $230m payment by the company
- Plastic waste imports into Türkiye (Adana) Türkiye · 2016–2026
- National Audit Office (Public authority) — here: UK auditor reporting on Sellafield; there: Audited the UK packaging recycling obligations (2018)
- Roundup litigation, settlements and legal shield (Bayer/Monsanto) United States · 2009–2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Supported Monsanto in Durnell
- Syrah declares force majeure at Mozambique graphite mine after unrest Mozambique · 2024
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Hanford owner and funder; there: lender; loan defaulted
- UK packaging recycling notes (PRN) system and export fraud United Kingdom · 2009–2025
- National Audit Office (Public authority) — here: UK auditor reporting on Sellafield; there: Auditor of the PRN/PERN system
- US bird flu indemnity and egg prices United States · 2022–2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Egg-price inquiry
- US indictment alleges Adani solar bribery; three charges later dismissed India · 2024–2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Prosecution; requested dismissal of three charges
- US Supreme Court blocks state cancer-warning suits against pesticide makers United States · 2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Government party in the settled cases; there: Supported Monsanto in the case