California approves SB 54 packaging rules making producers pay USD 5 billion in 10 years
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The regulation, approved on 1 May 2026, puts the cost of packaging waste on producers, with targets of a 25% cut and 65% recycling by 2032. A producer program plan puts the five-year cost at USD 9.3–17.2 billion. For nature, the question is whether producer payments reduce packaging waste that is landfilled or burned.
- Companies named in the CAA program governance (Coca-Cola, PepsiCo, Amazon) — hold governance roles in the producer-funded program DLA Piper
- Packaging producers — must pay about USD 5 billion over ten years, according to CalRecycle CalRecycle
What happened
California approved the SB 54 regulation on 1 May 2026, under an extended producer responsibility model that makes packaging producers pay for waste management (CalRecycle, 2026).
The law sets targets of a 25% reduction against a 2023 baseline and 65% recycling by 2032, and producers are to pay USD 5 billion over ten years (CalRecycle, 2026).
The CAA's SB 54 program plan, reported by DLA Piper in June 2026, puts the five-year cost at USD 9.3–17.2 billion with a USD 500 million annual plastic pollution fund, and names Coca-Cola, PepsiCo and Amazon among those in its governance (DLA Piper, 2026).
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the governor withdrew an earlier draft of the rules in 2025 on cost grounds.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Waste Management's landfill revenue depends on waste volume, according to its 2022–2023 10-K risk factors.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Republic Services' recycled commodity price fell to USD 135 per ton in 2025, from USD 164 in 2024.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Waste Management targets USD 600 million EBITDA in 2026 from landfill gas converted to renewable natural gas.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the Superfund chemical tax returned in 2022, expected to raise about USD 14.4 billion over ten years.
- None on record Not stated in the sources reviewed: how much packaging has been recycled under SB 54 so far, and whether the CAA figures are budgets or estimates.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- SB 54 regulationsCalRecycle · 2026-05-01
- California's EPR program planDLA Piper · 2026-06-15
Connected cases
- Coca-Cola plastic pledges and brand audits United States · 2018
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Beverage company; pledges, plastic-credit buyer through affiliates, defendant
- PepsiCo (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Beverage company; co-defendant in the Los Angeles County suit
- Coca-Cola World Without Waste targets reset Global · 2018–2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Set and reset the World Without Waste targets
- PepsiCo (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Co-defendant in the Los Angeles County suit; second in the brand audit
- Keep America Beautiful and plastic industry recycling messages United States · 1953–2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Joined the group later
- PepsiCo (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Defendant in the 2024 Buffalo River case
- New York v PepsiCo and LA County v PepsiCo/Coca-Cola United States · 2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Defendant in the Los Angeles County suit
- PepsiCo (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Defendant in both suits
- Big Tech data-centre emissions accounting (Microsoft, Google, Amazon, Meta) United States · 2007–2026
- Amazon (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Company; claims 100% renewable matching
- Coca-Cola and ILSI: influence on obesity policy in China and India China / India · 1978–2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Founder-linked company; ILSI member until January 2021
- Coca-Cola and Unilever revise plastic packaging targets International · 2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Revised its packaging targets
- Coca-Cola reports replenishing 115% of the water it used in 2015 Global · 2015–2016
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Company that announced the 115% figure
- Coca-Cola's partner The Ocean Cleanup reports 25 million kg collected in 2025 International · 2021
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Named global partner since 2021
- Ellen MacArthur plastics pledge off track; Coca-Cola scales back targets Global · 2018–2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: company that cut its packaging targets
- Great Pacific Garbage Patch and The Ocean Cleanup International waters · 2013–2025
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Global partner since 2021 (river Interceptors); largest share of branded plastic waste in the Cowger et al. 2024 audit (11%)
- Keep America Beautiful founding and Crying Indian ad (US) United States · 1953–2023
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Later member
- Keep America Beautiful, founded by can and bottle makers, opposed bottle deposit laws United States · 1953–1981
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: later member
- Nature Conservancy began $10 million partnership with Dow Chemical in 2011 United States · 2007–2021
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: company; relationship with WWF
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- Amazon (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Reported buyer (not independently verified)
- Ocean Conservancy withdraws 2015 plastic incineration recommendation Global · 2015–2022
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Co-funder of the 2015 report
- Oregon bottle bill (1971) United States · 1953
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Later KAB member
- Pará state pre-sold 12 million REDD+ credits; federal prosecutors sue to cancel Brazil · 2023–2026
- Amazon (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Named buyer
- Paris court finds Volvic recycling claims misleading; Coca-Cola, Nestlé change labels France · 2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Changed its EU label
- PepsiCo potato variety registration (India) India · 2021–2024
- PepsiCo (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Holder of the FL-2027 potato variety registration
- SBTi funding, Scope 3 EAC announcement and CEO exit United Kingdom · 2021–2024
- Amazon (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: Past core donor; its SBTi commitment was removed in August 2023
- Tillamook faces suit over farm imagery as Fairlife settles for $21m United States · 2022
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement
- TNC chief scientist urged conservation groups to partner with companies United States · 2011–2015
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: named in CAA program governance; there: WWF partner (reported)