Ukraine's Joint Implementation credits and Kyoto unit sales to Japan and Spain, 2008–2021
- The same estimate put the undermining of the EU emissions trading target at about 400 million tonnes of CO2, with more than 560 million ERUs used in that system. Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
- An assessment of the project portfolios found significant integrity concerns for more than 80% of the ERUs from Russia and Ukraine. Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
- Local scavengers collected coal from my coal waste piles for many years, according to the same study. Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
- Researchers Stockholm Environment Institute: Coal waste pile projects implicitly claimed about 30% of all coal in Ukraine, which SEI called highly unrealistic; the three largest project types, almost 89% of ERUs, had questionable or low environmental integrity. Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
- Government and regulators SEIA official (via SEI): The agency did not make a big issue of additionality. Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
Ukraine hosted the largest number of Kyoto Joint Implementation projects, with 503.3 million emission reduction units issued, and sold surplus Kyoto allowances to Japan and Spain for money earmarked for emission-cutting and environmental projects. Criminal cases over the use of that money were brought; no verdict is on record.
278 registered projects, as of August 2014 (Stockholm Environment Institute). The state sold 47 million surplus allowance units to Japan and Spain, valued at €470 million in a 2015 press report and at about €320 million in a 2010 NGO report.
Status As of August 2021: the High Anti-Corruption Court set the LED-lighting Kyoto-funds case for trial on the merits; no verdict on record. Outcome of the 2010 charge against Yulia Tymoshenko: none on record.
- Ukrainian JI project owners and intermediaries — 503.3 million ERUs issued; SEI cites reports that intermediaries sometimes kept up to 50% of the units or their value. Revenue not stated. Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
- Ukrainian state — AAU sale proceeds, valued at €470 million (LB.ua, 2015) or about €320 million (CAN-International, 2010) LB.ua
- Sumitomo Corporation — Contract for 1,200 Toyota Prius hybrids for police under the GIS Interfax-Ukraine
- Agrotekhbud LLC — Won the LED tender on 70% prepayment, with UAH 480 million due to it; its director is among the accused Slovo i Dilo
- EU emissions trading system — Emission reduction target undermined by about 400 million tCO2, according to SEI's estimate for all JI Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
- Government of Japan — Received €5 million back of unspent proceeds; the amount still unspent was not disclosed Carbon Pulse
- Atmosphere — Global emissions may be about 600 million tCO2e higher because of JI worldwide (SEI estimate) Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
- Coal waste pile sites, Luhansk and Donetsk regions — Pile-extraction projects registered as fire prevention; no measurement of local effects on record Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
What happened
Ukraine was the largest host of Kyoto Protocol Joint Implementation (JI) projects. The Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) reported in August 2015 that Ukraine had 278 registered projects and 503.3 million emission reduction units (ERUs) issued, and that Ukraine and Russia together accounted for more than 90% of the almost 857 million ERUs issued. Three project types made up almost 89% of Ukrainian ERUs: coal waste pile fire prevention (219,288 thousand ERUs, 43.6%), energy efficiency in industry and power (143,668 thousand, 28.6%) and natural gas transport and distribution (82,705 thousand, 16.4%). SEI identified these types as having questionable or low environmental integrity. All registered coal waste pile projects were in the Luhansk and Donetsk regions.
SEI found that almost all coal waste pile projects were registered in 2012 but implemented at least four years earlier, and that together they implicitly claimed to have produced around 30% of all coal in Ukraine, which SEI called a highly unrealistic scenario. The start dates of the 30 Ukrainian gas projects fell between 2003 and 2006, while most received their letters of endorsement only in 2012. SEI cited personal communications and a Forbes.ua investigation for a report that, at the end of the first Kyoto commitment period, project participants were required to transfer ERUs through selected intermediary companies, which sometimes kept up to 50% of the units or their value; SEI described these as reported allegations. An official of the State Environmental Investment Agency (SEIA) told SEI the agency did not make a big issue of additionality.
Separately, the state sold surplus Assigned Amount Units (AAUs) under a Green Investment Scheme (GIS). On 18 March 2009 Japan's NEDO signed a contract to buy 30 million tonnes of AAUs from Ukraine, and the GIS Guideline signed the same day required the payment to be pooled in an account of the National Environmental Investment Agency (NEIA) for emission-cutting and environmental projects. The ministry's April 2013 total was 47 million units, 44 million to Japan and 3 million to Spain. LB.ua put the value at €470 million in October 2015; CAN-International's ECO newsletter had reported about €320 million in June 2010.
On the use of the money, the State Control and Audit Service (KRU) said in October 2010 that the State Treasury converted €200 million into about UAH 2.3 billion and moved it to the Single Treasury Account under a Cabinet order of 9 September 2009 that changed the funds' designated purpose; KRU could not trace the money to the Pension Fund, and the Cabinet said the funds had been returned. In December 2010 the Prosecutor General's Office charged former Prime Minister Yulia Tymoshenko over the use of Kyoto funds during her 2007–2010 premiership. By June 2014 about UAH 6 billion in green investment funds and 817 projects in 24 regions were reported, and the Finance Ministry had blocked project funding from March 2014. Between December 2015 and February 2016 Ukraine returned €5 million to Japan.
In January 2016 the government dismissed the acting Minister of Ecology and two other officials after an internal investigation into Kyoto money meant for LED lighting (UAH 550 million at stake), and the Prime Minister referred the case to the National Anti-Corruption Bureau (NABU). The High Anti-Corruption Court (HACC) set the case, in which several named people are accused of attempted embezzlement, for trial on the merits on 9 August 2021; no verdict is on record. In February 2018 the Prosecutor General's Office notified two people of suspicion over overpriced insulation works financed from Kyoto money.
- 2006Ukraine adopts its first Joint Implementation procedures (February); detailed project requirements published (August)
- 2008Japan–Ukraine memorandum on JI/GIS cooperation (14 July)
- 2009GIS Guideline signed in Kyiv and NEDO contract for 30 million t of AAUs (18 March); Cabinet order No. 1049 changes the designated purpose of the funds (9 September, per KRU)
- 2010KRU reports on the use of the funds (October); former Prime Minister Yulia Tymoshenko charged (December)
- 2011First Deputy Prosecutor General says in parliament that the Kyoto money was spent but not exclusively on pensions (1 June); surge of JI registrations in 2011–2012
- 2013Ministry reports 536 projects agreed with Japan and 47 million AAUs sold (April)
- 2014Finance Ministry blocks project funding (from March); Ukraine announces closure of the SEIA (September); LB.ua reports 817 projects (24 June)
- 2015Deadline for exchanging first-period credits into EU allowances (31 March); SEI study (August); Spain and Ukraine agree seven projects (22 October)
- 2016€5 million returned to Japan (reported 3 February); acting Minister of Ecology and two officials dismissed and case referred to NABU (27 January)
- 2018Prosecutor General's Office notifies two people of suspicion over insulation works (22 February)
- 2021HACC sets the LED-lighting Kyoto-funds case for trial on the merits (9 August)
What was said
“significant environmental integrity concerns for more than 80% of ERUs from Russia and Ukraine”
“in 2011–2012, numerous projects were registered in Ukraine and Russia which had started long before and were clearly not motivated by carbon credits. This was like printing money.”
“I paid pensions to people, but this is not a crime under Ukrainian law.”
“But I am telling you again: it is not true.”
“All the money provided for by the contracts is kept in special accounts at Ukreximbank”
“In total, Kyiv sold Spain and Japan 47 million units of emissions for €470 million”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
The money was used to pay pensions and was intact.
RFE/RLThe money was spent but not exclusively on pensions.
Kyiv PostCould not trace the money to the Pension Fund specifically; the Cabinet said the funds had been returned.
Radio Svoboda30 million tonnes of AAUs under the contract of 18 March 2009.
Ministry of the Environment, Japan44 million AAUs sold to Japan and 3 million to Spain, 47 million in total.
Interfax-UkraineThe Japanese counterparties were NEDO plus three private Japanese energy companies, with talks under way with a fourth.
LB.uaUkraine received about €320 million for AAUs.
CAN-International (ECO)Spain and Japan paid €470 million for 47 million units.
LB.uaCoal waste pile projects implicitly claimed about 30% of all coal in Ukraine, which SEI called highly unrealistic; the three largest project types, almost 89% of ERUs, had questionable or low environmental integrity.
Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07The agency did not make a big issue of additionality.
Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07How it looked
Shown
- Payments for the AAUs were to be pooled in an NEIA account and spent on eligible categories: energy conservation, fuel switching, coal bed methane, renewables, non-CO2 greenhouse gas cuts, pollution reduction and capacity building.Governments of Japan and Ukraine (GIS Guideline, 2009) · Governments of Japan and Ukraine (Japan Ministry of the Environment)
- 536 projects agreed with Japan, valued at UAH 3.814 billion, with UAH 571 million sent for financing.Ukrainian ministry, April 2013 (via Interfax-Ukraine) · Interfax-Ukraine
- The contracts with the six companies questioned by the tax ministry comply with law.State agency administering the funds, June 2014 (via LB.ua) · LB.ua
Recorded
- Ukraine: 278 registered JI projects and 503.3 million ERUs issued, against 98 projects and 266.2 million ERUs for Russia (SEI Table 17).
- Ukraine endorsed 440 JI projects; 304 were approved, 278 registered (SEIA, 2013) and 217 generated ERUs.
- SEI: Ukrainian JI procedures and institutions aimed to ensure environmental integrity, but compliance with the rules was very low, particularly at the end of the first commitment period; Ukraine presented JI project data in a transparent manner.
- SEI estimated an AAU surplus of more than 2.5 billion AAUs, almost 57% of Ukraine's total first-period assigned amount.
- KRU (October 2010): the Treasury converted €200 million into about UAH 2.3 billion and moved it to the Single Treasury Account; KRU said the change of purpose under Cabinet order No. 1049 was contrary to law (the audit body's finding; no court ruling on the point is on record).
- Ministry (April 2013): 47 million AAUs sold, 44 million to Japan and 3 million to Spain; 1,200 Toyota Prius hybrids for police contracted with Sumitomo Corporation.
- LB.ua (June 2014): 817 projects since 2009 in 24 regions, mostly insulation and lift replacement in social facilities; the Finance Ministry blocked project funding from March 2014.
- In 2015 NEDO used remaining funds to upgrade 348 Interior Ministry patrol police vehicles and modernise Kyiv Metro cars; Spain and Ukraine agreed seven projects worth UAH 270.7 million.
- Ukraine returned €5 million of AAU sale proceeds to Japan that it was obliged to invest in domestic emission reduction projects but had not spent (Carbon Pulse, 3 February 2016).
- Under the EU rules, first-period credits had to be exchanged for EU allowances by 31 March 2015; the EU does not envisage international credits after 2020.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Yulia Tymoshenko (20 December 2010): Said she paid pensions with the money, that this was not a crime under Ukrainian law, and that the charge was a way of removing the main competitor of the President; she said the money was intact. · RFE/RL
- Prosecutor General's Office of Ukraine (1 June 2011): First Deputy Prosecutor General Renat Kuzmin told parliament the Kyoto money was spent but not exclusively on pensions and called Tymoshenko's account a deliberate lie. · Kyiv Post
- Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine (October 2010): Said the diverted funds had been returned. · Radio Svoboda
- Government of Japan (embassy) (2010): Planned to audit the funds and said the quota sale agreement was confidential. · Radio Svoboda
- State Environmental Investment Agency (June 2014): The contracts with the six companies questioned by the tax ministry comply with law; the companies paid UAH 10–30 million each in tender guarantees. · LB.ua
- SEIA official (via SEI) (2015): Did not make a big issue of additionality. · Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07
- Prime Minister of Ukraine (January 2016): Referred the attempted-theft case over Kyoto money meant for LED lighting to NABU. · Ukrinform
- Environmental groups (2016): Called for prosecution of officials over conduct in the carbon market under President Yanukovych. · Carbon Pulse
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2010–OngoingProsecutor General's Office v. Yulia Tymoshenko (use of Kyoto funds)Prosecutor General's Office of Ukraine (pre-trial) · Criminal · Prosecutor General's Office of Ukraine → Yulia Tymoshenko, former Prime Minister
Charged in December 2010 with abuse of power over the use of Kyoto funds during her 2007–2010 premiership; RFE/RL reported the sum as 320 million euros. She denied wrongdoing, saying she paid pensions with the money. None on record: outcome of this charge. RFE/RL
- 2017–OngoingUAH 336m potential damage per forensic economic expertiseNABU/SAP case over the Kyoto-funded LED lamp replacement projectHigh Anti-Corruption Court · Criminal · National Anti-Corruption Bureau and Specialised Anti-Corruption Prosecutor's Office → Vadym Levchenko (tried in absentia), Oleksiy Koval (former director of SE Ukrainian Environmental Investments), Oleksandr Prokopets, Dmytro Sokolov, Ihor Rakhimov, Oleksiy Altunin (director of Agrotekhbud LLC), Roman Kravchenko, Oksana Dobrylovska and one other
The accused are on trial for attempted embezzlement of Kyoto funds through an LED lamp replacement project. The tender was won by Agrotekhbud LLC on 70% prepayment, with UAH 480 million due to it; the forensic economic expertise put the potential damage at UAH 336 million. The court set the case for trial on the merits on 9 August 2021; part of the charges had been closed earlier because of decriminalisation. None on record: a verdict. Slovo i Dilo
- 2018–OngoingUAH 11m alleged overpricingProsecutor General's Office: overpriced insulation works financed from Kyoto moneyPechersk District Court (preventive measure) · Criminal · Prosecutor General's Office of Ukraine → A former acting director-general of Derzhinvestproekt and a former head of Intertekhenergo LLC
On 22 February 2018 the two were notified of suspicion over insulation works for schools and hospitals in 2012–2013, allegedly overpriced by UAH 11 million; the Pechersk District Court released them on personal recognisance. Intertekhenergo received UAH 634 million of orders from Derzhinvestproekt in 2013. The stage was suspicion; none on record: a verdict. Slovo i Dilo
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed Whether Ukrainian JI credits reflected additional emission cuts
Money
- None on record Spending on measured emission reductions or environmental outcomes from the AAU proceeds — None on record: no evaluation of emission reductions from the GIS-financed projects. UAH amounts are in the notes and metrics.
Accounts
Record
- None on record None on record: the unit price of the NEDO purchase. The Japanese Ministry of the Environment release does not state it, and the Japanese embassy described the quota sale agreement as confidential in 2010.
- None on record None on record: total revenue earned by project owners and intermediaries from ERU sales.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amount of unspent funds remaining after the €5 million return to Japan (Carbon Pulse, February 2016).
- Unclear Unclear: where the money moved to the Single Treasury Account in 2009–2010 ultimately went; KRU could not trace it to the Pension Fund specifically.
- None on record None on record: outcome of the 2010 charge against Yulia Tymoshenko over the use of Kyoto funds.
- None on record None on record: a verdict in the High Anti-Corruption Court case over the LED-lighting project, which was set for trial on the merits on 9 August 2021, or in the 2018 case over overpriced insulation works.
- Disputed Figures differ: the sum in the charge against Yulia Tymoshenko is given as €320 million by RFE/RL; other reports give €380 million or €200 million.
- Disputed Figures differ: AAUs sold to Japan are 30 million in the Japanese Ministry of the Environment release on the NEDO contract and 44 million in the ministry's 2013 total; proceeds are about €320 million (CAN-International, 2010) and €470 million (LB.ua, 2015).
- None on record None on record: price and volumes of the AAU sales to the private Japanese companies named by LB.ua.
- None on record None on record: data on project rejections in Ukraine's JI pipeline (SEI).
- None on record None on record: measurement of the local land, water or air effects of the coal waste pile extraction projects.
- None on record None on record: evaluation of whether the GIS-financed projects (insulation, police cars, metro cars) produced measured emission reductions.
Did the harm stop?
The first Kyoto commitment period ended in 2012. The European Commission set 31 March 2015 as the deadline for exchanging first-period credits for EU allowances and does not envisage international credits after 2020.
Who paid?
The atmosphere, according to SEI's estimate for Joint Implementation worldwide. Ukraine returned €5 million of unspent proceeds to Japan; the amount still unspent was not disclosed.
Sources
Government and regulators
- ウクライナとのグリーン投資スキーム(GIS)実施に向けたガイドラインへの署名及び割当量購入契約の締結について (Signing of GIS guideline with Ukraine and conclusion of AAU purchase contract)Ministry of the Environment, Japan · 2009-03-18
- Guideline for Implementing the Green Investment Scheme (GIS)Governments of Japan and Ukraine (Japan Ministry of the Environment) · 2009
- ウクライナとの割当量購入契約を締結 (AAU purchase contract with Ukraine concluded)NEDO (via Japan Ministry of the Environment) · 2009-03-18
- Use of international creditsEuropean Commission, DG CLIMA ·
Press and investigations
- Ukraine, Japan agree on 536 projects worth UAH 3.8 b under Kyoto protocol, says ministryInterfax-Ukraine · 2013-04-09
- Tymoshenko chargedRFE/RL · 2010-12-20
- Prosecutors: Tymoshenko did not spend Kyoto money on pensionsKyiv Post · 2011-06-01
- Ukraine returns €5 mln in unspent AAU funds to Japan, deal sought for remaining cashCarbon Pulse · 2016-02-03
Communities and civil society
- Ukraine's AAU black holeCAN-International (ECO) · 2010-06-08
Researchers
- Has Joint Implementation reduced GHG emissions? Lessons learned for the design of carbon market mechanismsStockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin), Working Paper 2015-07 · 2015-08
- Joint Implementation has undermined global climate ambition, study findsStockholm Environment Institute · 2015-08-14
Connected cases
- Russian Joint Implementation credits under the Kyoto Protocol, 2009–2012 Russia · 2009–2015 Related matter
- Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) (Research institution) — here: Researchers assessing JI integrity; there: Authors of the 2015 Joint Implementation study
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Regulation 550/2011; EU ETS credit data
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Co-author of the PDNA and RDNA reports; prosecuting authorities; claimant of environmental damage
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Criminal proceedings; ICC data
- Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding Ukraine · 2025–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Criminal case over the strike
- HFC-23 and SF6 Joint Implementation projects at KCKK Polymer and HaloPolymer Perm Russia · 2008–2015
- Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) (Research institution) — here: Researchers assessing JI integrity; there: Authors of the Nature Climate Change paper and working paper
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013
- Kerch Strait storm, November 2007: Volgoneft 139 fuel-oil spill and sulphur-ship sinkings Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Affected state; damage estimate over USD 1 billion
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Post-disaster needs assessment with UNEP
- Register of Damage for Ukraine, the Claims Commission convention and the money meant to pay claims Ukraine · 2024–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Claimant State; B3.1 filer
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer
- Ukraine's ban on raw-log exports and the EU–Ukraine Association Agreement arbitration, 2015–2026 Ukraine · 2015–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Imposed the export ban and the zero quotas; respondent
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Brought the dispute and published the memo
- Ukraine’s criminal proceedings over wartime environmental harm Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Prosecuting state
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Charged the Neutron Source officers; reported the Askania-Nova conviction
- Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant under Russian control, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Disputes Russian ownership; Prosecutor General opened proceedings
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Opened proceedings on 4 March 2022
- 62% of UK paraquat exports since 2015 went to poorer countries, analysis finds United Kingdom · 2015–2024
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Institution whose paraquat approval the EU court annulled
- AdBlue cartel (Daimler, BMW, VW) Germany · 2009–2014
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Competition authority that issued the decision
- Ammonia release at Sumykhimprom (Sumy) and nitric-acid explosions at Rubizhne, 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2024
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Notified suspicion to five Russian officers; stated the damage and ammonia figures
- Askania-Nova Biosphere Reserve under occupation, 2022– Ukraine · 2022–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court
- Bottom trawling in European marine protected areas European Union · 2017–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Proposed the non-binding phase-out target
- Bou Craa phosphate mine and Morocco green hydrogen in Western Sahara Western Sahara (controlled in large part by Morocco) · 1975–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Negotiated the EU-Morocco arrangements
- Carpathian beech, IKEA's supply chain and FSC certification: Earthsight's 2020 findings and the responses Ukraine · 2018–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Notified officials of suspicion in 2025 logging cases
- Chornobyl Exclusion Zone: Russian occupation of 2022 and fires, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025)
- End-of-life vehicle recycling cartel (EU carmakers, ACEA) European Union · 2002–2017
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Regulator
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Made the 2020 pledge; reported to have withdrawn it in 2026
- EU bans three neonicotinoid pesticides outdoors in 2018; Turkey follows in part European Union · 2018
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: adopted the outdoor ban
- EU Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism burden on Turkish exporters Turkey · 2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Regulator of CBAM
- EU Deforestation Regulation delays and trade pressure European Union · 2022
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Proposer of simplification review
- EU taxonomy hydropower exemption and California large hydro exclusion European Union / United States · 2002–2021
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Author of the taxonomy rule
- Fukushima nuclear damage compensation financing (Japan) Japan · 2011–2025
- Government of Japan (Government) — here: Buyer of AAUs; planned an audit; there: Issuer of bonds; held 50.11% of TEPCO voting rights from 2012
- Fukushima treated water discharge and Chinese seafood ban Japan · 2023–2025
- Government of Japan (Government) — here: Buyer of AAUs; planned an audit; there: Authorised the discharge; set up seafood funds
- Germany agreed €2.6bn and €1.75bn coal exit payments to RWE and LEAG Germany · 2019–2023
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: approved the RWE payment
- Great Green Wall: USD 19bn tracked, USD 2.5bn disbursed by March 2023, and a restored area reported at between 1.66 and almost 18 million hectares Sahel (11 countries) · 2007–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Donor; land restoration pillar USD 208 million
- Japan plans cross-border CO2 storage in Malaysia by 2030 Malaysia · 2026–2030
- Government of Japan (Government) — here: Buyer of AAUs; planned an audit; there: plans the storage and the deduction
- Japan plastic waste exports to Asia Japan · 2021–2025
- Ministry of the Environment, Japan (Government) — here: Signed the GIS Guideline; there: Published the export figures
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Letter to an MEP on EIB and EBRD financing conditions
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026
- Government of Japan (Government) — here: Buyer of AAUs; planned an audit; there: Grants through UNDP
- Lliuya v RWE Peru · 2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Approved the German compensation payment to RWE (13 December 2023)
- Mauritania fishmeal industry, sardinella stocks and foreign fishing agreements Mauritania · 2008–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Negotiator and evaluator of the SFPA; publishes the protocol terms
- Prestige Spain · 2002–2026
- Government of Spain (Government) — here: Buyer of AAUs; there: Claimant; paid advance compensation to fishers
- Spain: environmental liability financial guarantee (EU Directive Art. 14) Spain · 2004
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Evaluated the directive and reported on mandatory financial security
- Suspicion notices over UAH 49.2 million in farmland demining contracts, Mykolaiv oblast Ukraine · 2024–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018); there: Notified six people of suspicion
- Thunder fishing vessel chase São Tomé and Príncipe · 2013–2018
- Government of Spain (Government) — here: Buyer of AAUs; there: Brought the civil case against the owner
- Torrey Canyon spill and creation of the IOPC Funds United Kingdom · 1967–2026
- Government of Spain (Government) — here: Buyer of AAUs; there: Claimant in the Prestige case
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Sets contamination figures; runs the demining strategy
- Ukraine’s official count of war damage to the environment Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Publisher of the damage figures
- Used cooking oil and POME biofuel certification: fraud allegations (ISCC, EU/UK) European Union · 2016–2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Set rules on use of international credits; there: Regulator; anti-dumping duties; recognition of ISCC
- War-related greenhouse-gas emissions and Ukraine’s planned climate damage claim Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects; there: Intended claimant