Askania-Nova Biosphere Reserve under occupation, 2022–
- 33 animal deaths were recorded in my reserve; Ukrainian officials cited panic from low-flying Russian aircraft and insufficient care. Current Time
- Two large fires burned my steppe in August and September 2023; the August fire reached the Bolshoy Chapelsky enclosure. Current Time
- 33 people died.Animal deaths recorded, per Current Time (March 2025).
- Government and regulators Ukrainian officials (Olha Filina; Andriy Sydorenko, State Environmental Inspectorate): 33 animal deaths recorded from panic caused by low-flying Russian aircraft and insufficient care; animals removed; possible logging, poaching and disruption of water regimes documented. Current Time
- Government and regulators Bystryantsev, a former occupation official: Claimed the zoo animals were starving. Current Time
- Government and regulators Russian authorities: No official response in the article cited. Current Time
Ukrainian officials estimate damage of UAH 85.2 million for the removal of rare animals from the Askania-Nova Biosphere Reserve in occupied Kherson Oblast. In February 2025 Ukrainian prosecutors sent to court an indictment charging the occupation-appointed head of the reserve.
The calculating body is not named in the article cited.
Status As of April 2026: a Ukrainian court convicted the occupation-appointed director on 9 April 2026 (15 years, confiscation of property); the reserve remains under occupation.
- Ukrainian administration of the reserve — Control of the reserve since 20 March 2023; works from Kyiv with 30 staff Current Time
- Animals of the reserve — Removal of two each of four species; 33 deaths recorded Current Time
- Steppe of the reserve — Two large fires in August and September 2023; steppe ploughed during the 1 September fire response Current Time
What happened
The Askania-Nova Biosphere Reserve in Kherson Oblast, with steppe, a zoo and a dendrological park, has been under occupation since 24 February 2022. According to Current Time and Radio Svoboda's Novyny Pryazovia (30 March 2025), Russia registered the reserve as a “state autonomous institution” on 7 March 2023 and took full control on 20 March 2023. The Ukrainian administration, led by Director Viktor Shapoval with 30 staff and 15 scientists, works from Kyiv under the National Academy of Agrarian Sciences.
Olha Filina of the Kherson regional military administration said animals had been removed: two each of Chapman's zebra, American bison, Przewalski's horse and Père David's deer. Thirty-three animal deaths were recorded; Ukrainian officials cited panic from low-flying Russian aircraft and insufficient care. Two large fires burned in August and September 2023; the August fire was caused by a fallen missile fragment, according to the Ukrainian side as reported, and reached the Bolshoy Chapelsky enclosure, and steppe was ploughed during the response to the fire of 1 September. No hectare figures are given. Ukrainian officials, including Andriy Sydorenko of the State Environmental Inspectorate, document possible logging, poaching and disruption of water regimes.
The Ukrainian side puts the damage for the removal of rare animals at UAH 85.2 million. The occupation administration does not provide the necessary funds, and salaries have been delayed repeatedly. The total damage from the occupation has not been calculated. In February 2025 Ukrainian prosecutors sent to court an indictment charging Dmitry Meshcheryakov, the occupation-appointed head of the reserve, in connection with the removal of animals, including to the “Taigan” park in Crimea. Current Time (March 2025) reported no verdict at that time. The article reports no official response from the Russian side; Bystryantsev, a former occupation official, claimed that the zoo animals were starving.
On 9 April 2026, according to the Office of the Prosecutor General as reported by Kyiv Post (Ukrainian edition), a court convicted the Russian-installed “director” of the reserve over the removal of animals (Chapman’s zebras, American bison, Père David’s deer and Przewalski’s horses) to the “Taigan” park in Crimea and to reserves in Russia, and sentenced him to 15 years in prison with confiscation of property and a 15-year ban on holding public posts. The damage in the case was UAH 85.2 million. The conviction was under war-crime provisions, not under the ecocide article.
- 2022Occupation begins (24 Feb)
- 2023Russian legal entity registered (7 Mar); full Russian control (20 Mar); large fires in August and September
- 2025Indictment sent to court (February); Current Time report (30 Mar)
- 2026Court convicts the occupation-appointed director; 15 years and confiscation of property (9 Apr)
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
33 animal deaths recorded from panic caused by low-flying Russian aircraft and insufficient care; animals removed; possible logging, poaching and disruption of water regimes documented.
Current TimeClaimed the zoo animals were starving.
Current TimeHow it looked
Shown
- What is happening to the Askania-Nova reserve under Russian occupation (headline)Current Time, 30 March 2025 · Current Time
Recorded
- Removed animals, per Olha Filina (Kherson regional military administration): two each of Chapman's zebra, American bison, Przewalski's horse and Père David's deer.
- 33 animal deaths recorded; causes cited by Ukrainian officials: panic from low-flying Russian aircraft, insufficient care.
- Two large fires in 2023 (August and 1 September); the August fire was caused by a fallen missile fragment, per the Ukrainian side as reported.
- Damage for the removal of rare animals: UAH 85.2 million (Ukrainian side as reported; the calculating body is not named).
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Russian side (30 March 2025): No official response is recorded in the article; a former occupation official, Bystryantsev, claimed that the zoo animals were starving. · Current Time
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2025–Outcome not on recordUkrainian prosecutors v. Dmitry Meshcheryakov (removal of animals from the Askania-Nova reserve)Ukrainian court (indictment sent in February 2025) · Criminal · Ukrainian prosecutors → Dmitry Meshcheryakov, head of the reserve appointed by the occupation administration
In February 2025 prosecutors sent to court an indictment charging him in connection with the removal of animals, including to the “Taigan” park in Crimea (Current Time, March 2025). Current Time
- 2026-04-09Claimant wonUAH 85.2m damage in the case, UAH 85.2 millionVerdict against the occupation-appointed director of Askania-Nova (removal of animals)Ukrainian court · Criminal · Ukrainian prosecutors → The Russian-installed director of the reserve (name not given in the article)
On 9 April 2026 a court convicted the Russian-installed director of the reserve and sentenced him to 15 years in prison with confiscation of property and a 15-year ban on holding public posts, according to the Office of the Prosecutor General as reported by Kyiv Post. The conviction was under war-crime provisions, not the ecocide article. Kyiv Post
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed Condition and care of the reserve's animals
Court
- Unclear Ukrainian prosecutors v. Dmitry Meshcheryakov (removal of animals from the Askania-Nova reserve): outcome not on record.
Accounts
- None on record Russian authorities: No official response in the article cited.
Record
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: The body that calculated the UAH 85.2 million figure.
- Not measured Not measured: The area burned or ploughed in the 2023 fires; no hectare figures are given.
- Insufficient Insufficient: The total damage from the occupation has not been calculated, and no budget figures for the reserve are given.
- None on record None on record: An official response from the Russian side in the article cited.
- None on record None on record: enforcement of the confiscation order, or a Russian response to the verdict.
- Unclear Unclear: whether the April 2026 verdict concerns the same person named in the February 2025 indictment; the article on the verdict gives no name.
Did the harm stop?
None on record.
Who paid?
None on record.
Sources
Press and investigations
Connected cases
- Ukraine’s criminal proceedings over wartime environmental harm Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Charged the Neutron Source officers; reported the Askania-Nova conviction
- Sviati Hory National Nature Park, Donetsk Oblast, 2022– Ukraine · 2022–2024 Related matter
- Ukraine’s official count of war damage to the environment Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Wildfires in Ukraine's war zone and on the Kinburn Spit, 2022–2025 Ukraine · 2022–2025 Related matter
- Ammonia release at Sumykhimprom (Sumy) and nitric-acid explosions at Rubizhne, 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2024
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Notified suspicion to five Russian officers; stated the damage and ammonia figures
- Carpathian beech, IKEA's supply chain and FSC certification: Earthsight's 2020 findings and the responses Ukraine · 2018–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Notified officials of suspicion in 2025 logging cases
- Chornobyl Exclusion Zone: Russian occupation of 2022 and fires, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025)
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Criminal proceedings; ICC data
- Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding Ukraine · 2025–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Criminal case over the strike
- Suspicion notices over UAH 49.2 million in farmland demining contracts, Mykolaiv oblast Ukraine · 2024–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Notified six people of suspicion
- Ukraine's Joint Implementation credits and Kyoto unit sales to Japan and Spain, 2008–2021 Ukraine · 2008–2021
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018)
- Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant under Russian control, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court; there: Opened proceedings on 4 March 2022