Chornobyl Exclusion Zone: Russian occupation of 2022 and fires, 2022–2026
- Greenpeace measured 7.7 µSv/h at a junction next to my Red Forest and soil caesium-137 from 45,000 Bq/kg to below 500 Bq/kg in areas used by troops in July 2022. Greenpeace International
- My red deer and red foxes reduced their night-time activity during the 2022 occupation, and my brown hares and red deer became more active at night in response to forest fires, according to camera-trap data published in Science in 2026. University of Freiburg (on Kudrenko et al., Science 392:1282–1286)
- More than 2,600 hectares of my forest were covered by fire in September 2024, according to Ukraine's Ministry of Environmental Protection. TASS
- Caesium-137 in the air near an active fire in my Opachychi area measured 680 µBq/m³ on 8 May 2026, according to Ukraine's nuclear regulator. Ukrinform
- Government and regulators Russia's Ministry of Defence: “Radiation levels are normal in the NPP area.” (25 February 2022) Interfax (Russia)
- Government and regulators Ukraine's Prosecutor General's Office: Indicators in the zone had increased 4.6 to 15.7 times compared with the annual average, per the Automated Radiation Control System (4 March 2022). Interfax-Ukraine
- International bodies IAEA (Rafael Grossi, via AFP and Interfax; and via BASE): “The radiation level, I would say, is normal”, with levels having gone up at times because of heavy equipment (26 April 2022); the rise from vehicle dust was assessed as low (BASE entry of 2 May 2022). Interfax (Russia)
- Communities and civil society Greenpeace: Its readings were at least three times the IAEA's April 2022 estimates; 7.7 µSv/h at a junction next to the Red Forest. Greenpeace International
- Researchers Hu et al., Scientific Reports (2023): About 70 km² burned in the zone in March 2022; a visual estimate by Protsak et al. of about 74 km². Scientific Reports 13:5236 (Hu et al.)
- Government and regulators Ukraine's environment minister (Ruslan Strilets): “Almost 12,000 hectares” of the Chornobyl Reserve destroyed by fire (19 May 2022). Ukrinform
- Government and regulators Ukraine's State Emergency Service (Kyiv region), as reported by Ukrinform: The fire of 14 May 2026 was caused by the downing of Russian drones. Ukrinform
- Government and regulators State Agency of Ukraine on Exclusion Zone Management, as reported by Meduza: The fires of 25 June 2026 were started by crashed Russian drones. Meduza
- Government and regulators Chornobyl Reserve: The 7 May fire started “as a result of a drone crash”; the post does not name the drone's origin. Kyiv Post
- Government and regulators Russia: No statement on the fires on record.
Russian forces held the Chornobyl Exclusion Zone from 24 February 2022 until the end of March 2022. Ukrainian agencies reported looted laboratories and lost machinery, and a peer-reviewed satellite study found about 70 km² burned in March 2022; further fires followed in 2024 and 2026.
Estimate from satellite imagery (Hu et al., Scientific Reports, 2023). Ukraine's environment minister gave “almost 12,000 hectares” of the Chornobyl Reserve destroyed by fire on 19 May 2022.
Status As of October 2026: fires in the zone in May and June 2026 attributed by Ukrainian agencies to crashed Russian drones; a suspicion notice under Article 438 was issued on 7 February 2025; no court ruling on record.
- State Agency of Ukraine on Exclusion Zone Management — Central Analytical Laboratory (valued at EUR 6 million), more than 300 vehicles and, per the EBRD, more than 90 per cent of its specialised firefighting and forestry machinery EBRD
- Chornobyl NPP and zone enterprises — Estimated looting losses of USD 135 million (company figure, April 2026) Chornobyl NPP (state enterprise)
- Forest of the Chornobyl Exclusion Zone — About 70 km² burned in March 2022 (satellite study); more than 2,600 ha in September 2024; about 1,100 ha in May 2026 Scientific Reports 13:5236 (Hu et al.)
- Wildlife (red deer, red foxes, brown hares, roe deer) — Changes in night-time activity and detections during the 2022 occupation and fires (camera-trap study) University of Freiburg (on Kudrenko et al., Science 392:1282–1286)
- Radiation monitoring system — Shut down during the occupation; only “several posts” reactivated by 19 May 2022 Ukrinform
What happened
Russia's Ministry of Defence said on 25 February 2022 that units of the Russian Airborne Forces had taken full control of the area around the Chornobyl nuclear power plant on 24 February. The plant lost external power on 9 March; Ukraine's Ministry of Energy reported a reconnection on 13 March, the line was disconnected again on 14 March and reconnected on 15 March. According to the German regulator BASE's chronology, Russian troops withdrew from the zone on 31 March 2022, and on 1 April Ukraine said all Russian forces had left the zone and that Russia had confirmed this.
Radiation in the zone was reported differently by the parties. On 25 February 2022 Ukraine's nuclear agency (not named in the article) said gamma radiation had exceeded control levels and attributed it to heavy military vehicles disturbing topsoil; Russia's Ministry of Defence said radiation levels in the plant area were normal. On 4 March Ukraine's Prosecutor General's Office said that, according to the Automated Radiation Control System, indicators in the zone had risen 4.6 to 15.7 times compared with the annual average. The IAEA said on 7 April, according to BASE, that drone footage it cited indicated Russian troops had dug trenches in the contaminated area and that it could not confirm reports of high radiation doses among the troops; BASE recorded on 2 May that the IAEA assessed the rise in radiation from dust raised by military vehicles as low. On 26 April IAEA Director General Rafael Grossi said, as reported by AFP, that the radiation level was normal and that levels had gone up at times because of heavy equipment moved by Russian forces. In July 2022 Greenpeace, with a team led by Greenpeace Germany and the cooperation of Ukraine's zone agency, published readings of 0.18–2.5 µSv/h near the Russian camp at Stantsiya Yanov and 7.7 µSv/h at a junction next to the Red Forest.
Ukraine's State Agency on Exclusion Zone Management (SAEZM) reported on 23 March 2022 that the Central Analytical Laboratory in Chornobyl, valued at EUR 6 million, had been looted and destroyed, and on 10 April that 133 sources of ionizing radiation with a total activity of about 7 million becquerels had been stolen and destroyed. Environment minister Ruslan Strilets said on 19 May 2022 that nearly 100 units of equipment at the laboratory were destroyed, that preliminary damage to the zone was UAH 2.5 billion and that only “several posts” of the radiation monitoring system had been reactivated. On 3 June he gave losses of UAH 2 billion so far. In August 2023 SAEZM's deputy head Maksym Shevchuk put the occupation damage at EUR 100 million, said more than 300 vehicles had been lost, about six hectares of trenches were visible on satellite imagery, and a 10-part recovery plan would cost EUR 200 million. The EBRD said that more than 90 per cent of the zone administration's specialised firefighting and forestry machinery was destroyed or displaced; donors approved a grant of up to EUR 1.1 million to the EBRD-managed International Chernobyl Cooperation Account (ICCA) on 14 November 2022 for fire-safety equipment.
A peer-reviewed satellite study (Hu et al., Scientific Reports, 31 March 2023) found about 0.4 km² burned in the zone in February 2022 and about 70 km² in March 2022; it cited a visual estimate of about 74 km² by Protsak et al. and did not measure radiation. Ukraine's parliament reported seven fires covering over 2 km² on 22 March 2022. Later fires followed. Ukraine's Ministry of Environmental Protection said on 7 September 2024 that more than 2,600 hectares had been covered by fire and that the radiation background was normal. On 7–8 May 2026 a forest fire started in the Opachychi area “as a result of a drone crash”, according to the Chornobyl Reserve; Ukraine's State Emergency Service gave more than 1,100 ha and the IAEA, according to BASE, about 1,100 ha with no abnormal radiation. Ukraine's State Nuclear Regulatory Inspectorate reported caesium-137 in near-surface air of 680 µBq/m³ on 8 May 2026, 30–150 m from the active fire. A further fire from 14 May exceeded 412 ha by 20 May, and new fires on 25 June 2026 were attributed by the zone agency to crashed Russian drones.
A Science paper (Kudrenko et al., 2026), based on camera traps, found that red deer and red foxes reduced night-time activity during the 2022 occupation and that brown hares and red deer became more active at night in response to thermal anomalies, mainly conflict-related forest fires. On 4 March 2022 Ukraine's Prosecutor General's Office opened proceedings that cite Article 441 (ecocide) of the Criminal Code over the seizure of the Chornobyl and Zaporizhzhia plants. On 7 February 2025 it notified a suspicion under Article 438 (violation of the laws and customs of war) to a Russian major general over the looting and destruction of property of Chornobyl enterprises between 24 February and 31 March 2022, with damage stated as over UAH 1.038 billion; no conviction is on record.
- 2022Russian forces take control of the plant and zone (24 Feb); Ukraine's Prosecutor General opens proceedings (4 Mar); power lost (9 Mar); seven fires over 2 km² reported (22 Mar); laboratory looting reported (23 Mar); Russian troops withdraw (31 Mar); Greenpeace readings published (20 Jul); ICCA grant of up to EUR 1.1m approved for fire-safety equipment (14 Nov)
- 2023Satellite study of 2022 burned area published (31 Mar); zone agency puts occupation damage at EUR 100m (Aug)
- 2024Fire covers more than 2,600 ha (7 Sep, Ministry of Environmental Protection)
- 2025Suspicion notified to a Russian major general under Article 438 (7 Feb)
- 2026Fire from 7 May, about 1,100 ha; caesium-137 in air measured 8 May; new fire 14 May, over 412 ha by 20 May; fires of 25 June; Chornobyl NPP puts looting losses at USD 135m (13 Apr); university release on the Science wildlife study (19 Jun)
What was said
“units of the Russian Airborne Forces took full control of the area around the Chernobyl NPP”
“Radiation levels are normal in the NPP area.”
“the indicators in the exclusion zone have increased from 4.6 to 15.7 times compared to the annual average.”
“The enemy creates threats of an ecocatastrophe in Ukraine and Europe.”
“The radiation level, I would say, is normal”
“The Russian occupiers looted and destroyed the modern Central Analytical Laboratory in Chornobyl”
“The occupiers stole and destroyed 133 sources with a total activity of about 7 million becquerels”
“The Russian military occupation of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant site left a trail of devastation.”
“decided not to make an effort to fully investigate”
“Now, there is no access to 25-30% of the territory because mines are scattered there”
“It was impossible to enter the forest to extinguish the center of this fire”
“We are sure that Rosatom must be held accountable as must Russia as a whole.”
“The radiation background in the area is normal.”
“The measured value exceeds the control levels established for these territories”
“In some forest sectors, firefighting operations are temporarily suspended due to the threat of explosive objects.”
“This doesn't mean radiation is good for wildlife.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
“Radiation levels are normal in the NPP area.” (25 February 2022)
Interfax (Russia)Indicators in the zone had increased 4.6 to 15.7 times compared with the annual average, per the Automated Radiation Control System (4 March 2022).
Interfax-Ukraine“The radiation level, I would say, is normal”, with levels having gone up at times because of heavy equipment (26 April 2022); the rise from vehicle dust was assessed as low (BASE entry of 2 May 2022).
Interfax (Russia)Its readings were at least three times the IAEA's April 2022 estimates; 7.7 µSv/h at a junction next to the Red Forest.
Greenpeace InternationalUAH 2.5 billion preliminary damage (19 May 2022); UAH 2 billion losses so far (3 June 2022).
UkrinformOccupation damage of EUR 100 million; recovery plan of EUR 200 million (August 2023).
RubrykaUSD 135 million estimated looting losses across zone enterprises (April 2026).
Chornobyl NPP (state enterprise)Damage of over UAH 1.038 billion in the criminal case (7 February 2025).
ArmyInform (Ukraine Ministry of Defence news agency, relaying the Prosecutor General's Office)About 70 km² burned in the zone in March 2022; a visual estimate by Protsak et al. of about 74 km².
Scientific Reports 13:5236 (Hu et al.)“Almost 12,000 hectares” of the Chornobyl Reserve destroyed by fire (19 May 2022).
UkrinformThe fire of 14 May 2026 was caused by the downing of Russian drones.
UkrinformThe fires of 25 June 2026 were started by crashed Russian drones.
MeduzaThe 7 May fire started “as a result of a drone crash”; the post does not name the drone's origin.
Kyiv PostNo statement on the fires on record.
How it looked
Shown
- Reports that Russian vehicles raised radiation levels in the zone, with figures of 4.6 to 15.7 times the annual averageUkraine's Prosecutor General's Office · Interfax-Ukraine
- A statement that radiation levels in the plant area were normalRussia's Ministry of Defence · Interfax (Russia)
- Reports of looted laboratories, 133 stolen radiation sources and more than 300 lost vehiclesState Agency of Ukraine on Exclusion Zone Management · Rubryka
- Radiation readings near areas used by Russian troops, described as at least three times the IAEA's April 2022 estimatesGreenpeace · Greenpeace International
- Attribution of the May and June 2026 fires to crashed Russian dronesUkrainian agencies (State Emergency Service, zone agency) · Ukrinform
Recorded
- Satellite study: about 0.4 km² burned in the zone in February 2022 and about 70 km² in March 2022; the authors state that the majority of the burned area detected was burned in the course of the Russian invasion, and the study measured no radiation.
- The EBRD recorded that the April 2020 fires, before the war, destroyed about 50,000 ha, roughly 20% of the zone.
- The IAEA could not confirm reports of high radiation doses among Russian troops (7 April 2022, according to BASE).
- The IAEA assessed the rise in radiation levels from dust raised by military vehicles as low, and the power loss of 9 March 2022 as having no safety-relevant effects (BASE entry of 2 May 2022).
- Zone radiation monitoring: only “several posts” reactivated by 19 May 2022 (environment minister); IAEA safeguards remote data from Chornobyl were cut in March 2022 and fully restored on 11 May 2022 (BASE).
- Greenpeace reported soil caesium-137 from 45,000 Bq/kg to below 500 Bq/kg in areas used by troops, and said the trench material qualified as low-level nuclear waste.
- Pre-war census (Current Biology, 2015): no sign that radiation reduced mammal abundance; wolves about seven times more numerous than in nearby uncontaminated reserves; elk, roe deer and wild boar numbers rising in the decade after 1986.
- Camera-trap study (Science, 2026; 11 species, 2022 data 19 January–6 May against 19 January–21 March 2021): roe deer detections declined as daily conflict intensity rose, while red deer detections increased.
- Regulator, May 2026: caesium-137 in air 680 µBq/m³ (0.00068 Bq/m³) against a national limit of 0.8 Bq/m³; the redistribution “does not create additional risks that would require intervention measures”.
- Reserve, May 2026: background in the fire area 0.19–0.35 µSv/h.
- June 2026: the Ukrainian Hydrometeorological Institute said the fires worsened air quality in Kyiv and Kyiv-region districts on 27–28 June; Sentinel-5P showed plumes up to 170 km with elevated carbon monoxide and particulate matter.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- russia-ministry-defence (25 February 2022): “Radiation levels are normal in the NPP area.” · Interfax (Russia)
- iaea (April–May 2022): Could not confirm reports of high radiation doses among Russian troops (7 April 2022, according to BASE); assessed the rise in radiation from dust raised by vehicles as low (BASE entry of 2 May 2022). · BASE (Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management, Germany)
- ebrd (14 November 2022): “The Russian military occupation of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant site left a trail of devastation.” · EBRD
- greenpeace-international (20 July 2022): The IAEA “decided not to make an effort to fully investigate”. · Greenpeace International
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2022–No defendant leftUkraine Prosecutor General's proceedings over the seizure of the Chornobyl and Zaporizhzhia plantsProsecutor General's Office of Ukraine (pre-trial investigation) · Criminal · Prosecutor General's Office of Ukraine → No defendant named
On 4 March 2022 the Prosecutor General's Office said it had opened proceedings over the seizure of the Chornobyl and Zaporizhzhia plants, citing Part 2 of Article 28, Article 441 (ecocide) and Part 2 of Article 258 (terrorist act) of Ukraine's Criminal Code. The status is investigation; no court ruling is on record. Interfax-Ukraine
- 2025–OngoingUAH 1.04bn damage stated by prosecutors (over)Suspicion notice to a Russian major general over property of Chornobyl enterprisesProsecutor General's Office of Ukraine · Criminal · Prosecutor General's Office of Ukraine → A Russian major general, deputy chief of Russia's Radiation, Chemical and Biological Protection Troops (armament and research work)
On 7 February 2025 the Prosecutor General's Office notified a suspicion under Part 2 of Article 28 and Part 1 of Article 438 (violation of the laws and customs of war) for participating in the looting and destruction of property of SSE Chornobyl NPP, the Chornobyl Radiation and Ecological Biosphere Reserve, SSE Pivnichna Pushcha, SSE Ecocentre and SSE Central Enterprise for Radioactive Waste Management between 24 February and 31 March 2022, with damage of over UAH 1.038 billion. The status is a notified suspicion; no conviction is on record. ArmyInform (Ukraine Ministry of Defence news agency, relaying the Prosecutor General's Office)
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
Accounts
- Disputed What was the total damage from the occupation?
- None on record Russia: No statement on the fires on record.
Record
- Disputed Figures differ: Ukrainian officials gave UAH 2.5 billion (19 May 2022) and UAH 2 billion (3 June 2022) for losses at the zone; the zone agency's deputy head gave EUR 100 million (August 2023); Chornobyl NPP gave USD 135 million for looting losses across zone enterprises (April 2026); the Prosecutor General's case cites over UAH 1.038 billion. Scopes and dates differ, and no reconciled total is on record.
- Disputed Figures differ: the 2022 satellite study gives about 70 km² burned in March 2022 (a visual estimate cited in it: about 74 km²); Ukraine's environment minister gave almost 12,000 hectares of the Chornobyl Reserve destroyed by fire (19 May 2022).
- Disputed Figures differ: the occupation is dated as ending on 31 March 2022 (Ukraine's Prosecutor General's Office, BASE) or 1 April 2022 (Ukraine's statement that all forces had left); other sources give a later date.
- Disputed Figures differ: the area of the May 2026 fire was given as more than 1,100 ha (State Emergency Service; IAEA via BASE), and other outlets gave 1,180 ha and 1,200 ha; the Chernihiv regional governor gave up to 40 km².
- None on record None on record: a burned-area figure for the zone for 2023 or 2025.
- None on record None on record: a cumulative burned-area figure for 2022–2026 from an official or satellite source.
- None on record None on record: a cost figure for firefighting operations in the zone in 2024–2026.
- None on record None on record: a court ruling in the proceedings Ukraine's Prosecutor General's Office opened on 4 March 2022 citing Article 441, or a conviction in the Article 438 case.
- None on record None on record: a statement by Russia on the 2026 fires.
- Not measured Not measured: radiation in the 2023 satellite burned-area study, which did not include radiation measurements.
- Insufficient Insufficient: the IAEA said it could not confirm reports of high radiation doses among Russian troops (7 April 2022, according to BASE).
- Insufficient Insufficient: the zone agency's deputy head said in 2023 that 25–30% of the zone was inaccessible because of mines.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the cause of the September 2024 fire, which the ministry's statement did not give.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: whose drone started the fire of 7 May 2026; neither the Chornobyl Reserve's post nor Kyiv Post says.
- Disputed Disputed: whether radiation levels in the zone during the occupation were significant. Russia's Ministry of Defence and the IAEA (via BASE and Interfax) described levels as normal or the rise as low; Ukraine's Prosecutor General's Office cited increases of 4.6 to 15.7 times; Greenpeace measured readings at least three times the IAEA's April 2022 estimates. The instruments, places and dates differ.
Did the harm stop?
Russian troops withdrew from the zone on 31 March 2022 (BASE chronology). Fires in the zone recurred in September 2024 and in May and June 2026.
Who paid?
Donors, through the EBRD-managed ICCA, approved up to EUR 1.1 million for fire-safety equipment on 14 November 2022. None on record: compensation paid by a party held responsible.
Sources
Company or project
- ChNPP Director General: the IAEA should punish Rosatom…Chornobyl NPP (state enterprise) · 2026-04-13
Government and regulators
- On the current situation in UkraineBASE (Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management, Germany) · 2022–2026 (running chronology)
- «Розграбовував майно Чорнобильської АЕС: повідомлено про підозру генерал-майору зс рф» (Looted Chornobyl NPP property: Russian Armed Forces major general notified of suspicion)ArmyInform (Ukraine Ministry of Defence news agency, relaying the Prosecutor General's Office) · 2025-02-07
Press and investigations
- Russian forces take control of Chernobyl NPP – Defense MinistryInterfax (Russia) · 2022-02-25
- Grossi on Chernobyl radiation (AFP correction)Interfax (Russia) · 2022-04-26
- Russia seizes Chernobyl, radiation levels risingFortune · 2022-02-25
- Russian troops looted modern laboratory located in ChornobylUkrinform · 2022-03-23
- Russian troops inflict over UAH 2.5B damage on Chornobyl zoneUkrinform · 2022-05-19
- Russians robbed laboratoriesLB.ua · 2022-04-10
- Damage caused to Ukraine's environment (Strelets)LB.ua · 2022-06-03
- Russian general charged with looting Chornobyl NPPUkrainska Pravda · 2025-02-07
- Fire area in Chernobyl exclusion zone exceeds 2,600 hectaresTASS · 2024-09-08
- Chornobyl forest fire triggered by drone crashKyiv Post · 2026-05-08
- Chornobyl Exclusion Zone wildfire spreads as land mines hamper crewsScripps News (10News) · 2026-05
- Fire continues in Chornobyl Exclusion Zone after Russian drone strikeUkrinform · 2026-05-20
- Fires in Chornobyl exclusion zone send toxic smoke over KyivMeduza · 2026-06-29
Communities and civil society
- Greenpeace investigation challenges nuclear agency on Chornobyl radiation levelsGreenpeace International · 2022-07-20
Researchers
- Application of a tuning-free burned area detection algorithm to the Chornobyl wildfires in 2022Scientific Reports 13:5236 (Hu et al.) · 2023-03-31
- Wildlife in Chornobyl is changing its behaviour during Russian invasionUniversity of Freiburg (on Kudrenko et al., Science 392:1282–1286) · 2026-06-19
- Long-term census data reveal abundant wildlife populations at ChernobylUniversity of Portsmouth research portal (Current Biology 25(19)) · 2015-10-05
- International research team finds thriving wildlife populations in ChernobylUniversity of Georgia Savannah River Ecology Laboratory · 2015-10-05
International bodies
- The EBRD's ICCA steps up support for ChernobylEBRD · 2022-11-14
- EU and UK make contributions to EBRD-managed Chornobyl ICCA fundEBRD · 2025-06-26
Connected cases
- Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding Ukraine · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Chornobyl NPP (state specialised enterprise) (Company) — here: State enterprise; reported looting losses of USD 135m; there: Plant operator; reported damage and restoration plan
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Criminal case over the strike
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE; there: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate
- BASE (Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management, Germany) (Public authority) — here: German regulator whose chronology records IAEA statements; there: German regulator whose chronology records IAEA statements
- Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant under Russian control, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Opened proceedings on 4 March 2022
- Ministry of Defence of Russia (Government) — here: Reported taking control of the plant area; said radiation was normal; there: Blamed Ukrainian saboteurs for the projectile of March 2022
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE; there: Reported on power losses and cooling water, per BASE; staff at the plant since 1 September 2022
- BASE (Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management, Germany) (Public authority) — here: German regulator whose chronology records IAEA statements; there: German regulator whose chronology records IAEA statements
- Ammonia release at Sumykhimprom (Sumy) and nitric-acid explosions at Rubizhne, 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2024
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Notified suspicion to five Russian officers; stated the damage and ammonia figures
- Ministry of Defence of Russia (Government) — here: Reported taking control of the plant area; said radiation was normal; there: Gave an opposing account of the Sumy release
- Almaty CHP-2 coal-to-gas conversion, Kazakhstan Kazakhstan · 2017–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn
- Arctic Sunrise seizure at the Prirazlomnaya platform: ITLOS bond, PCA arbitration, 2019 settlement and ECtHR judgment Russia · 2012–2023
- Greenpeace International (NGO) — here: Published radiation readings, July 2022; there: Organisation behind the protest; received EUR 2,700,159.16 under the 2019 settlement
- Askania-Nova Biosphere Reserve under occupation, 2022– Ukraine · 2022–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court
- Carpathian beech, IKEA's supply chain and FSC certification: Earthsight's 2020 findings and the responses Ukraine · 2018–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Notified officials of suspicion in 2025 logging cases
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Criminal proceedings; ICC data
- Energy Transfer v Greenpeace (Dakota Access) United States · 2017–2026
- Greenpeace International (NGO) — here: Published radiation readings, July 2022; there: Defendant in the North Dakota suits; claimant in the Amsterdam anti-SLAPP case
- French nuclear tests in the Algerian Sahara: buried waste, maps and compensation Algeria · 1960–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE; there: 1999 fact-finding mission; 2005 report
- Fukushima treated water discharge and Chinese seafood ban Japan · 2023–2025
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE; there: Assessed the discharge plan
- Great Man-Made River Project (Libya) and the Nubian Sandstone Aquifer Libya · 1983–2019
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE; there: Assessment of the Nubian Sandstone Aquifer System
- Greenpeace ends all engagement with APP and Sinar Mas over deforestation links Indonesia · 2018
- Greenpeace International (NGO) — here: Published radiation readings, July 2022; there: ended engagement with APP and Sinar Mas
- Greenpeace ends all engagement with APP Sinar Mas over deforestation Indonesia · 2013–2018
- Greenpeace International (NGO) — here: Published radiation readings, July 2022; there: NGO that ended engagement with the company
- Indorama Agro cotton project (Uzbekistan) Uzbekistan · 2021–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Lender; operator of the accountability mechanism handling the complaint
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Memorandum signatory 2009; stated it was not financing the first stage
- Oyu Tolgoi copper-gold mine: Gobi water, Undai River diversion, herder complaints and project finance Mongolia · 2004–2025
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Lender and arranger; Project Complaint Mechanism
- Sakhalin-2: 2006 approval revocation, Gazprom stake purchase, 2009 damage-claim settlement and lender exits Russia · 2005–2009
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Stopped considering the financing in 2007
- Sary-Shagan test range lease to Russia: rent, a 1992–1996 compensation clause and an ecological commission Kazakhstan · 1992–2016
- Ministry of Defence of Russia (Government) — here: Reported taking control of the plant area; said radiation was normal; there: Operator of the range (929th State Flight Test Centre ranges nearby)
- Semipalatinsk test site: measured contamination, land reallocation and the Nuclear Safety Zone Kazakhstan · 1949–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE; there: 1998 assessment of radiological conditions
- Semipalatinsk test site: state compensation to residents under Kazakhstan’s 1992 law Kazakhstan · 1949–2025
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE; there: 1998 assessment of radiological conditions at the site
- Strikes on Iranian nuclear sites, 2025 and 2026: IAEA statements on contamination and the Bushehr reactor Iran · 2025–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE; there: Source of statements on contamination and risk
- Suspicion notices over UAH 49.2 million in farmland demining contracts, Mykolaiv oblast Ukraine · 2024–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Notified six people of suspicion
- Turkish holdings' coal expansion alongside renewables (Cenal, Akbelen, İçdaş) Türkiye · 2021–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Lender
- Ukraine’s criminal proceedings over wartime environmental harm Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Charged the Neutron Source officers; reported the Askania-Nova conviction
- Ukraine's Joint Implementation credits and Kyoto unit sales to Japan and Spain, 2008–2021 Ukraine · 2008–2021
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025); there: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018)
- Usinsk pipeline spill (Komi, 1994) and the World Bank and EBRD emergency loans Russia · 1994–2004
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Lender: US$25 million loan to the Russian Federation
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Lender to Indorama Agro (USD 70 million)
- Western gray whales off Sakhalin and the company-funded IUCN advisory panel Russia · 2004–2022
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant; there: Lender whose conditions shaped the panel process before leaving the financing