Fukushima nuclear damage compensation financing (Japan)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
After the March 2011 Fukushima Daiichi accident, Japan financed compensation through government bonds to be repaid by utilities and electricity consumers. Courts acquitted three former TEPCO executives and, in 2025, overturned a shareholder judgment against four former executives.
Cumulative grants from the NDF to TEPCO were ¥11.4148tn as of September 2025.
Status As of September 2025: NDF grants to TEPCO ¥11.4148tn; the shareholder judgment was overturned in June 2025 and the acquittals became final in March 2025.
- Electricity consumers and utilities — Repay the bonds; a ¥2.4tn past shortfall is collected through grid fees over 40 years from FY2020. Cabinet Office, Japan
What happened
After the Fukushima Daiichi accident in March 2011, Japan relied on the Nuclear Damage Compensation Act of 1961 and a fund set up in 2011 (the NDF). Operator liability is unlimited; required financial security is ¥120bn (since 2010). Compensation was financed after the harm through government bonds, levies and grid fees.
The NDF government-bond ceiling was raised from ¥13.5tn to ¥15.4tn in the FY2024 budget. The allocation was compensation of about ¥9.2tn, decontamination of about ¥4.0tn and interim storage of about ¥2.2tn. The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) raised its total cost estimate from ¥21.5tn to ¥23.4tn in December 2023. Cumulative NDF grants to TEPCO were ¥11.4148tn, plus ¥188.9bn in government indemnity, as of September 2025.
Repayment comes from utility contributions and the energy special account. A ¥2.4tn past shortfall in contributions is being collected through grid fees over 40 years from FY2020, at about ¥0.07 per kWh, according to a 2020 government presentation.
A Congressional Research Service summary compares this with the United States, where the limit per incident is about $16.1bn and anything above needs Congress. It states that Fukushima damages exceeded $90bn in media reports, and that a comparable US three-reactor accident would have a $47.3bn limit.
In the courts, the Tokyo District Court acquitted former TEPCO chairman Tsunehisa Katsumata and two deputies of professional negligence causing death and injury in 2019; the High Court upheld this in 2023 and the Supreme Court made it final in March 2025. In a shareholder case, a first-instance court in July 2022 ordered four former executives to pay ¥13.32tn; the Tokyo High Court overturned that on 6 June 2025.
- 2008A TEPCO affiliate calculated a tsunami height above 15 metres for the plant (court records, as reported)
- 2011Fukushima Daiichi accident (March); NDF set up
- 2012¥1tn of public money injected into TEPCO; the state held 50.11% of voting rights
- 2019Tokyo District Court acquits three former executives
- 2020¥2.4tn past shortfall begins to be collected through grid fees over 40 years
- 2022Shareholder case: first-instance order of ¥13.32tn against four former executives (July)
- 2023METI total cost estimate ¥23.4tn (December); High Court upholds acquittals
- 2025Supreme Court finalises acquittals (March); Tokyo High Court overturns shareholder judgment (6 June); NDF grants to TEPCO ¥11.4148tn (September)
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
A TEPCO affiliate calculated in 2008 a tsunami above 15 metres and presented it to the then nuclear division deputy head, Sakae Muto, who declined to adopt the estimate without giving reasons.
Acquitted Katsumata, Takekuro and Muto of professional negligence causing death and injury.
Overturned the shareholder judgment: the forecast was not urgent data and the wave was not foreseeable.
JURISTHow it looked
Shown
Recorded
- Operator liability under Japanese law is unlimited; required financial security is ¥120bn (since 2010).
- Government-bond ceiling raised from ¥13.5tn to ¥15.4tn in the FY2024 budget: compensation about ¥9.2tn, decontamination about ¥4.0tn, interim storage about ¥2.2tn.
- METI total cost estimate rose from ¥21.5tn to ¥23.4tn (December 2023).
- Cumulative NDF grants to TEPCO ¥11.4148tn, plus ¥188.9bn government indemnity (September 2025).
- ¥2.4tn past shortfall in contributions collected through grid fees over 40 years from FY2020 (about ¥0.07/kWh).
- Japan's Board of Audit found in April 2016 that TEPCO wasted more than a third of ¥190bn; one ¥18.4bn machine ran for 5 days (as reported by the Associated Press).
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2025-03Defendant wonCriminal case against former TEPCO executivesTokyo District Court; High Court; Supreme Court · Criminal · Prosecution → Tsunehisa Katsumata, Ichiro Takekuro, Sakae Muto (former TEPCO executives)
Acquitted in 2019 of professional negligence causing death and injury; upheld in 2023; Supreme Court made it final in March 2025.
- 2025-06-06Overturned on appealJPY 13320bn ¥13.32tn ordered at first instance (July 2022), overturnedShareholder case against four former TEPCO executivesFirst-instance court; Tokyo High Court on appeal · Civil · TEPCO shareholders → Four former TEPCO executives
First instance ordered the payment in July 2022; the Tokyo High Court overturned the judgment on 6 June 2025. JURIST
Insurers
- 2010No policy foundJPY 120bn ¥120bn required financial securityNot specified in the sources reviewed → Nuclear operators in Japan (required financial security)
Required financial security of ¥120bn since 2010; operator liability unlimited.
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
Insurers
- Unclear Not specified in the sources reviewed: no decision on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Was the tsunami foreseeable by TEPCO's executives?
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that a ¥650bn decontamination budget went to joint ventures led by Taisei, Kajima, Obayashi and Maeda, and that Asahi reported radioactive waste dumped into rivers and falsified photographs in reports.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a 2016 government panel raising the Fukushima cost estimate to about ¥22tn.
Did the harm stop?
Not assessed in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Under the financing structure described, government bonds are to be repaid by utilities and electricity consumers; a ¥2.4tn past shortfall is collected through grid fees over 40 years from FY2020.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Nuclear power plant accident liability (CRS In Focus IF10821)Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport · 2024-01-25
- Nuclear damage compensation implementation documentMinistry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) · 2023-12-22
- Presentation on the past shortfall in contributions (ANRE, August 2020)Cabinet Office, Japan · 2020-08-07
Press and investigations
- Japan audit: Millions of dollars wasted in Fukushima cleanup (AP, via Atomic Age blog)Associated Press via University of Chicago Atomic Age blog · 2016-04-16
- Nuclear liability protocols ratified to strengthenWorld Nuclear News ·
Connected cases
- Fukushima treated water discharge and Chinese seafood ban Japan · 2023–2025
- Government of Japan (Government) — here: Issuer of bonds; held 50.11% of TEPCO voting rights from 2012; there: Authorised the discharge; set up seafood funds
- Japan plans cross-border CO2 storage in Malaysia by 2030 Malaysia · 2026–2030
- Government of Japan (Government) — here: Issuer of bonds; held 50.11% of TEPCO voting rights from 2012; there: plans the storage and the deduction
- Onagawa and Fukushima Daiichi site elevation decisions Japan · 1967–2011
- Tokyo Electric Power Company (TEPCO) (Company) — here: Plant operator; recipient of NDF grants; there: Operator of Fukushima Daiichi