Burkina Faso mine rehabilitation fund collected 29.59% of expected contributions in 2023 and 49.55% in 2024
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Industrial mines, semi-mechanised mines and industrial quarries in Burkina Faso pay into the FRFM, a fund for rehabilitating land affected by extraction. The fund collected CFA 7.22bn of CFA 24.39bn expected in 2023 and CFA 13.73bn of CFA 27.71bn in 2024; the government announced firmness toward non-paying operators.
CFA 7.22bn of 24.39bn expected in 2023; CFA 13.73bn of 27.71bn in 2024 (L'Economiste du Faso).
Status As of October 2026: 2025 contributions of more than 14bn FCFA collected; interministerial report on the fund validated; operators in arrears not named.
What happened
The Fonds de rehabilitation et de fermeture des mines (FRFM, the Mine Rehabilitation and Closure Fund) receives contributions from industrial mines, semi-mechanised mines and industrial quarries to finance rehabilitation of land affected by extraction. On 13 October 2021 the Cour des comptes (Court of Audit) presented a performance audit of environmental monitoring and rehabilitation of mining sites for 2015-2019. It found that the Ministry of Environment lacked functional mechanisms for environmental feasibility opinions; that state bodies lacked capacity for inspections, environmental audits and monitoring of environmental and social management plans; that reports were unavailable or unpublished; that none of the five communes covered included rehabilitation monitoring in its development plan; and that the lack of rehabilitation funds was linked to the absence of bodies to validate rehabilitation plans. The sites covered included Poura (a closed former SOREMIB mine), Wahgnion, Youga, SOMISA (Sanbrado) and Orezone Bomboré, in the communes of Niankorodougou, Poura, Zabré, Boudry and Mogtédo.
A report of the Ministry of Energy, Mines and Quarries, received by the Council of Ministers on 14 February 2024, stated that as of 31 December 2022 six industrial mines had not paid their FRFM contributions and 49 industrial quarries were also behind; the government did not name them. FRFM resources stood at CFA 57.13bn at December 2022, and the unpaid amount for the six mines was CFA 7.53bn (about USD 12.26 million, as converted by Ecofin).
On 20 November 2025 the Council of Ministers reviewed the joint annual FRFM reports for 2023 and 2024, presented by the Ministry of Environment, Water and Sanitation. In 2023 the fund expected 24,390,112,439 FCFA and collected 7,218,359,131 FCFA (29.59%) from three industrial mines; 14 semi-mechanised mines and 31 industrial quarry companies paid nothing. In 2024 it expected 27,708,991,244 FCFA and collected 13,731,554,442 FCFA (49.55%) from seven mining companies; 17 semi-mechanised mines and 34 industrial quarry companies paid nothing. The government announced firmness toward non-paying mining companies and industrial quarry operators and an obligation to submit rehabilitation and closure plans, and sought unpaid contributions of more than CFA 31bn for 2023-2024 (USD 54.8 million, as converted by Ecofin).
In the week before 12 October 2026 an interministerial report on the fund's 2025 contributions was validated in Ouagadougou. More than 14bn FCFA were collected in 2025; of 17 industrial mines subject to the fund, 10 paid, as did 4 of 11 semi-mechanised mines and 3 of 44 industrial quarries, according to the Direction générale des mines et de la géologie. A new Mining Code was adopted in July 2024.
On 9 July 2026 the Council of Ministers granted the SOPAMIB Bouboulou industrial gold mine permit in Yako commune, Passoré province. Its report lists an expected direct contribution of 34,510,513,827 FCFA to the state budget, 4,418,183,589 FCFA to the mining development fund and a forecast rehabilitation and closure contribution of 965,569,966 FCFA, with 7.27 t of gold over 15 years and 1,272 jobs.
- 2015Period covered by the Court of Audit's performance audit begins (2015-2019)
- 2021Court of Audit presents its performance audit on monitoring and rehabilitation of mining sites (13 Oct)
- 2022Six industrial mines and 49 industrial quarries behind on contributions at 31 December
- 2024Council of Ministers receives the report on unpaid contributions (14 Feb); new Mining Code (July)
- 2025Council of Ministers reviews the 2023 and 2024 FRFM reports (20 Nov)
- 2026SOPAMIB Bouboulou permit granted (9 Jul); interministerial report on 2025 contributions validated (week before 12 Oct)
What was said
“We really must be able to impose sanctions and bring those who have not paid to comply.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
10 companies paid over 20bn FCFA in 2023-2024.
L'Economiste du FasoThree industrial mines paid in 2023 and seven mining companies in 2024; the article does not reconcile the two.
L'Economiste du FasoHow it looked
Shown
- Government (Council of Ministers communiqué, as reported): resource mobilisation 'insufficient'; firmness to be applied to all mining companies and industrial quarry operators.
- Interministerial report validated in Ouagadougou, October 2026: more than 14bn FCFA collected in 2025.
Recorded
- 2023: 29.59% of expected contributions collected, from three industrial mines.
- 2024: 49.55% of expected contributions collected, from seven mining companies.
- 2025: 10 of 17 industrial mines, 4 of 11 semi-mechanised mines and 3 of 44 industrial quarries paid.
- Court of Audit (2015-2019): monitoring reports unavailable or unpublished; communes lacked data for citizen oversight.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- burkina-faso-gov (2025-11-20): The Council of Ministers described resource mobilisation as insufficient and announced firmness toward non-paying mining companies and industrial quarry operators and an obligation to submit rehabilitation and closure plans. · Ecofin Agency
- burkina-mines-ministry (2026-10): Its Secretary General, Doulaye Sanou, said sanctions must be possible to bring non-payers to comply. · APA News
- burkina-cour-des-comptes (2021-10-13): Recommended resources for monitoring, independent accreditation of environmental assessors and an operational interministerial committee for rehabilitation plans (Jean Baptiste Bouda, acting first vice-president; Ahmadé Nour Guenda presented). · Sidwaya
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
- Disputed How many companies paid in 2023-2024?
Record
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the names of the mines and quarries in arrears and the reasons they did not comply; the government named none.
- None on record None on record: a response from any company in arrears.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the measures the government will adopt to compel payment; their nature was not specified.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: monitoring reports on rehabilitation, which the Court of Audit found unavailable or unpublished for 2015-2019; communes lacked data for citizen oversight.
- None on record None on record: a measured area of mining-damaged land, hectares rehabilitated or pollution data in the audit and government reports.
- Disputed Disputed: L'Economiste du Faso gives 10 companies paying over 20bn FCFA in 2023-2024 in its summary and three (2023) and seven (2024) in its body.
Did the harm stop?
None on record.
Who paid?
Contributions of CFA 7.53bn (end-2022) and more than CFA 31bn (2023-2024) were reported unpaid; the government has said it will pursue payment.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Compte rendu du Conseil des ministres (PP-G N°023-2026) (Council of Ministers report)Primature du Burkina Faso, Porte-parole du gouvernement (hosted by Burkina24) · 2026-07-09
Press and investigations
- Burkina Faso: Six gold mines fail to meet environmental fund obligations, govt seeks solutionsEcofin Agency · 2024-02-27
- Burkina Faso pursues $55 million in unpaid mine rehabilitation feesEcofin Agency · 2025-11-21
Connected cases
- Burkina Faso Forest Investment Program project: 3.78 million tCO2eq in emission reductions estimated with an ex-ante tool Burkina Faso · 2014–2021 Related matter
- Government of Burkina Faso (Government) — here: Council of Ministers reviewed the reports and granted the Bouboulou permit; there: Refunded USD 0.9 million of ineligible expenditure in 2020
- Great Green Wall: USD 19bn tracked, USD 2.5bn disbursed by March 2023, and a restored area reported at between 1.66 and almost 18 million hectares Sahel (11 countries) · 2007–2026 Related matter