Cases / Plastic waste and recycling claims · Multiple countries · 2024
World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The World Bank's US$100 million, seven-year Plastic Waste Reduction-Linked Bond, dated January 2024, ties investor returns to sales of Verra plastic and carbon credits. For nature, the question is whether those credits pay for less plastic waste, which the sources reviewed do not measure.
What?
The World Bank issued a US$100 million, seven-year, principal-protected Plastic Waste Reduction-Linked Bond in January 2024. Packaging Europe
Where?
Ghana (ASASE) and Indonesia (SEARcular) initiatives Packaging Europe
When?
January 2024 Packaging Europe
Who?
Gained
- Bond investors — principal protection; returns tied to credit sales Packaging Europe
Lost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Returns tied to Verra plastic and carbon credit sales from initiatives run by Plastic Collective. Packaging Europe
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Packaging Europe reported that the World Bank bond is principal-protected and that its returns are tied to Verra plastic and carbon credit sales.
Packaging Europe also reported that Citi was lead arranger and that Plastic Collective runs the Ghanaian ASASE and Indonesian SEARcular initiatives.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Unclear Whether plastic waste was reduced by the funded initiatives is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- Product Overview: Plastic CreditsWorld Bank ·
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- 1991 World Bank memo signed by Lawrence Summers on pollution in Africa Africa (regional) · 1991–1993
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Institution that issued the internal memo
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: certification body that suspended accounts
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Registry; suspended the projects
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Cambodia fills Phnom Penh's Boeung Kak lake with sand under 99-year lease Cambodia · 2007–2011
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: lender whose land-titling programme was reviewed
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Results-based carbon payer
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Signed a carbon-credit agreement with the Green Belt Movement
- Ho Chi Minh City canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households Vietnam · 1993–2012
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: lender of the first-phase loan
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Lender
- Jamaica catastrophe bonds and the Hurricane Melissa payout Jamaica · 2021–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Issuer and arranger of the catastrophe bonds
- Jamaica's World Bank catastrophe bond did not pay after Hurricane Beryl Jamaica · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Brokered the bond
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Funder of a project in the Badia East area
- Mbeubeuss landfill plan to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers Senegal · 2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Inspection Panel finding on Boeung Kak land titling; lending freeze 2011
- Mongolia index livestock insurance Mongolia · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Author of the presentation describing the programme
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Funder of carbon payments (Forest Carbon Partnership Facility)
- Net Zero Banking Alliance exits and closure International · 2023–2026
- Citi (Bank) — here: lead arranger; there: Left NZBA
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Financier; its Inspection Panel reviewed the resettlement
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Rabobank co-financed a Brazilian eucalyptus carbon plantation contested by locals Brazil · 2003–2008
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: operator of the carbon fund
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Funder of an earlier forest project (2007)
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Source of the paddy yield figure
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Lender (USD 800 million, October 2025)
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: lender; policy operation and REGROW financier
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Funder of the Kenya project; hosts the Inspection Panel
- World Bank inspection panel registers complaint over Rogun dam financing Tajikistan · 2024–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: financier
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Financier of the REGROW project
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Lender of the US$600m loan
- World Bank-backed Colombo flood work turned Beddagana wetland into a park Sri Lanka · 2010–2018
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: issuer of the bond; there: Funder whose support backed the programme
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold; there: Registry