Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol
- International bodies Multilateral Fund, "Our impact" page: The Fund "has been instrumental in the complete phase-out of CFCs, CTC, halons, methyl bromide and methyl chloroform". Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol
- Researchers Montzka et al., Nature (2018): CFC-11 emissions rose by 13 ± 5 gigagrams per year since 2012 "despite reported production being close to zero since 2006"; the increase "suggests unreported new production". Nature (Springer Nature)
- Researchers WMO/UNEP Scientific Assessment (2022): "A large fraction of the unexpected emissions originated from eastern China"; the later drop "suggests the elimination of most of the unexpected emissions occurring in the years after 2012". WMO / UNEP / NOAA / NASA / European Commission (hosted by NOAA Chemical Sciences Laboratory)
The Multilateral Fund, financed by contributions from developed countries since 1991, pays developing countries' costs of phasing out ozone-depleting substances; its own page reports US$5,142,603,539 pledged and 510,094 ODP tonnes phased out. A 2004 external evaluation found the Fund very successful, the peer-reviewed 2022 WMO/UNEP assessment found the Protocol effective at reducing atmospheric ODS, and a 2018 Nature paper reported unreported new CFC-11 production after 2012.
The Fund's own figure from its "Our impact" page, which carries no date; no independent verification of this total was found in the sources reviewed. The 2022 WMO/UNEP assessment measures atmospheric abundance and does not mention the Fund.
Status As of June 2026: the Fund reports 10,584 approved projects and US$4,489,718,894 approved cumulatively to 2025; a 2024-2026 replenishment of 965 million dollars was set in 2023; no independent verification of the Fund's phase-out total is on record.
- Article 5 (developing) countries — Grant-funded phase-out projects: about 4,600 projects and activities in 134 developing countries by December 2003 Ozone Secretariat, UNEP (note by the Secretariat)
- Article 5 (developing) countries — 10,584 approved projects in 144 Article 5 countries by June 2026, 86% completed, on the Fund's own page Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol
- Contributing (Article 2) countries — Paid nearly US$1.6 billion by December 2003; 20 of 51 donors had outstanding contributions for 1991 to 2003 Ozone Secretariat, UNEP (note by the Secretariat)
- Stratospheric ozone layer — Antarctic ozone recovery continued to progress and no statistically significant Arctic trend was detected for 2000 to 2021; unreported CFC-11 production after 2012 was reported in 2018 WMO / UNEP / NOAA / NASA / European Commission (hosted by NOAA Chemical Sciences Laboratory)
What happened
The financial mechanism of the Montreal Protocol, including the Multilateral Fund (MLF), was established by the Fourth Meeting of the Parties in November 1992, after an Interim Multilateral Fund created in 1990 that operated until December 1992, according to a 2004 external evaluation prepared by ICF Consulting. The mechanism was set up to meet, on a grant or concessional basis, the incremental costs that developing-country Parties (Article 5 Parties) incur to comply with the Protocol's control measures. The Fund's own totals run from 1991.
The Fund's "Our impact" page reports, cumulative from 1991 to 2025, US$5,142,603,539 pledged, US$4,489,718,894 approved and US$3,901,448,327 disbursed. It reports 10,584 projects approved "till June 2026" in 144 Article 5 countries, 86% of them completed, and 510,094 ODP tonnes (ozone-depleting-potential tonnes) of ozone-depleting-substance (ODS) consumption and production phased out since 1991; for 1991 to 2021 it reports more than 756,000 metric tonnes of baseline ODS consumption. The page also gives the Fund's own estimates of climate benefit, among them 51.1 gigatonnes of CO2-equivalent avoided from Article 5 countries in 1995 to 2021 and a cost of US$0.07 per tonne of CO2-equivalent. The Fund's homepage gives different totals ("$4.3 BN" in grant funding and 10,198 approved projects), and neither page carries a date.
Independent material addresses parts of this record. The 2004 evaluation, requested by the Parties and prepared by ICF Consulting, found that the Multilateral Fund "has been very successful in phasing out ODS and enabling compliance of Parties operating under Article 5 of the Montreal Protocol". It reported that by December 2003 nearly US$1.6 billion in contributions paid by Article 2 countries had supported about 4,600 projects and activities in 134 developing countries; that projects approved through 2002 were anticipated to result in the phase-out of about 127,890 ODP tonnes of consumption and about 52,260 ODP tonnes of production; that over 92 percent of agreed contributions for 1991 to 2003 had been paid, disputed contributions excluded; and that 20 of the 51 donors had outstanding contributions. The evaluation stated that its performance grades were the result of ICF's judgment. In the 2022 Scientific Assessment of Ozone Depletion by WMO and UNEP, whose chapters were peer-reviewed by over 100 expert reviewers, the Protocol "continues to be effective at reducing the atmospheric abundance of ODSs"; total chlorine entering the stratosphere declined by 420 ± 20 ppt (11.5%), and total column ozone was expected to return to 1980 values around 2066 over Antarctica, about 2045 over the Arctic and around 2040 for the near-global average. The assessment found no statistically significant Arctic ozone trend for 2000 to 2021 and does not mention the Multilateral Fund.
A peer-reviewed paper by Montzka and colleagues (Nature, 17 May 2018) reported that the decline of atmospheric CFC-11 slowed by about 50 per cent after 2012 and estimated an increase in CFC-11 emissions of 13 ± 5 gigagrams per year (25 ± 13 per cent) since 2012, "despite reported production being close to zero since 2006", which the authors wrote "suggests unreported new production". The 2022 assessment states that "A large fraction of the unexpected emissions originated from eastern China" and that "This drop suggests the elimination of most of the unexpected emissions occurring in the years after 2012". For 2024 to 2026 the Parties' Decision XXXV/1 (27 October 2023) set a replenishment of 965 million United States dollars, of which 525.6 million dollars are new contributions, at 175.2 million dollars for each of 2024, 2025 and 2026.
- 1990Interim Multilateral Fund created; it operated until December 1992
- 1991Start of the period for which the Fund reports cumulative totals
- 1992Fourth Meeting of the Parties establishes the financial mechanism, including the Multilateral Fund (November)
- 2003By December, nearly US$1.6 billion in contributions paid by Article 2 countries had supported about 4,600 projects and activities in 134 developing countries (ICF evaluation)
- 2004ICF Consulting external evaluation circulated to the 16th Meeting of the Parties as UNEP/OzL.Pro.16/11 (5 October)
- 2018Montzka et al. report unreported new CFC-11 production after 2012 (Nature, 17 May)
- 2022WMO/UNEP Scientific Assessment of Ozone Depletion 2022 finds the Protocol effective at reducing atmospheric ODS abundance
- 2023Decision XXXV/1 sets a replenishment of 965 million dollars for 2024-2026 (27 October)
- 2026Fund page reports 10,584 approved projects "till June 2026"
What was said
“The Fund has contributed to the successful implementation of the Montreal Protocol and gone beyond.”
“The Fund has been instrumental in the complete phase-out of CFCs, CTC, halons, methyl bromide and methyl chloroform”
“The Multilateral Fund has been very successful in phasing out ODS and enabling compliance of Parties operating under Article 5 of the Montreal Protocol.”
“the Montreal Protocol continues to be effective at reducing the atmospheric abundance of ODSs.”
“this suggests unreported new production, which is inconsistent with the Montreal Protocol agreement to phase out global CFC production by 2010.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
US$4,489,718,894 approved cumulatively to 2025; "US$4.5 billion" allocated "As of June 2026"; 10,584 projects approved "till June 2026".
Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol"$4.3 BN" in grant funding and 10,198 approved projects.
Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal ProtocolThe Fund "has been instrumental in the complete phase-out of CFCs, CTC, halons, methyl bromide and methyl chloroform".
Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal ProtocolCFC-11 emissions rose by 13 ± 5 gigagrams per year since 2012 "despite reported production being close to zero since 2006"; the increase "suggests unreported new production".
Nature (Springer Nature)"A large fraction of the unexpected emissions originated from eastern China"; the later drop "suggests the elimination of most of the unexpected emissions occurring in the years after 2012".
WMO / UNEP / NOAA / NASA / European Commission (hosted by NOAA Chemical Sciences Laboratory)How it looked
Shown
- The Fund described as having "contributed to the successful implementation of the Montreal Protocol and gone beyond", with 510,094 ODP tonnes phased out since 1991 and 10,584 approved projects.Multilateral Fund · Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol
- Climate benefit estimated at 51.1 gigatonnes of CO2-equivalent avoided from Article 5 countries in 1995 to 2021, at US$0.07 per tonne of CO2-equivalent, and a claimed US$2 trillion in societal savings based on a US$40 per tonne social price of carbon.Multilateral Fund (own estimates) · Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol
Recorded
- The Fund reports US$5,142,603,539 pledged, US$4,489,718,894 approved and US$3,901,448,327 disbursed, cumulative from 1991 to 2025.
- ICF Consulting (2004) recorded that by December 2003 nearly US$1.6 billion in contributions had been paid and that over 92 percent of agreed contributions for 1991 to 2003 had been paid; 20 of 51 donors had outstanding contributions.
- The 2022 WMO/UNEP assessment recorded a decline in total stratospheric chlorine of 420 ± 20 ppt (11.5%) and no statistically significant Arctic ozone trend for 2000 to 2021.
- Montzka et al. (2018) recorded a slowdown in the decline of atmospheric CFC-11 after 2012 and an emissions increase of 13 ± 5 gigagrams per year.
- No source reviewed gives an independent verification of the Fund's 510,094 ODP-tonne total.
In nature's name
Promised
- “The Fund has contributed to the successful implementation of the Montreal Protocol and gone beyond.” — Multilateral Fund (undated page, read 21 October 2026) Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol
- “the incremental costs incurred by Article 5 Parties to enable their compliance with the control measures set out in Articles 2A through 2E of the Montreal Protocol” — ICF Consulting, describing the purpose of the financial mechanism (5 October 2004) Ozone Secretariat, UNEP (note by the Secretariat)
Money moved in nature's name
| What | Kind | Amount | Period |
|---|---|---|---|
| Funds pledged to the Multilateral Fund, cumulative Contributing countries Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol | Pledged | $5.1bn | 1991–2025 |
| Funds approved, cumulative Executive Committee of the Multilateral Fund Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol | Budget | $4.5bn | 1991–2025 |
| Funds disbursed, cumulative Multilateral Fund Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol | Paid out | $3.9bn | 1991–2025 |
| Contributions paid by Article 2 countries Article 2 countries Ozone Secretariat, UNEP (note by the Secretariat) | Raised | $1.6bn | 1991–December 2003 |
| Replenishment for the 2024-2026 triennium Parties to the Montreal Protocol Thirty-Fifth Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol (via InforMEA) | Budget | $965m | 2024–2026 |
What was measured
The peer-reviewed 2022 WMO/UNEP assessment, an independent measurement of the atmosphere, found that the abundance of ozone-depleting substances is declining and that Antarctic ozone recovery continues to progress, and credits actions under the Montreal Protocol; it does not separate the Multilateral Fund's contribution from the Protocol's. The Fund's own phase-out total (510,094 ODP tonnes) is the Fund's figure and not independent, and the 2004 evaluation's phase-out figures were projections. A 2018 Nature paper found unreported new CFC-11 production after 2012.
Operation Ongoing · A replenishment of 965 million dollars was set for 2024-2026. Thirty-Fifth Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol (via InforMEA)
Findings on record
- Official audit ICF Consulting, external evaluation of the financial mechanism, circulated by the Ozone Secretariat for the Parties (2004-10-05) · UNEP/OzL.Pro.16/11, Evaluation of the financial mechanism of the Montreal Protocol: Executive summary: “The Multilateral Fund has been very successful in phasing out ODS and enabling compliance of Parties operating under Article 5 of the Montreal Protocol” Ozone Secretariat, UNEP (note by the Secretariat)
- Peer-reviewed study WMO/UNEP Scientific Assessment Panel (chapters peer-reviewed) (2022) · Scientific Assessment of Ozone Depletion: 2022, Executive Summary: “the Montreal Protocol continues to be effective at reducing the atmospheric abundance of ODSs” WMO / UNEP / NOAA / NASA / European Commission (hosted by NOAA Chemical Sciences Laboratory)
- Peer-reviewed study Montzka et al., Nature (peer-reviewed) (2018-05-17) · Nature 557, 413-417: “this suggests unreported new production, which is inconsistent with the Montreal Protocol agreement to phase out global CFC production by 2010” Nature (Springer Nature)
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Multilateral Fund (undated page, read 21 October 2026): States that it "has contributed to the successful implementation of the Montreal Protocol and gone beyond" and reports 510,094 ODP tonnes phased out and 10,584 approved projects. · Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol
- Executive Committee of the Multilateral Fund (May 2025): Approved an evaluation policy for the Fund at its 96th meeting in May 2025; the Fund's evaluation page lists a final report on the external assessment of its evaluation function (9 October 2024) and a management response. · Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
- Disputed Whether ozone-depleting-substance production continued after the agreed phase-out
Figures
- Self-reported only Odp tonnes phased out: Fund's own figure; not independently verified.
Accounts
- Disputed Totals reported by the Fund
Record
- Self-reported only None on record: an independent verification of the Fund's total of 510,094 ODP tonnes phased out. The sources reviewed contain the Fund's own figure and the projections in the 2004 evaluation.
- Not measured Not measured: the share of the atmospheric change in ozone-depleting substances that is attributable to the Multilateral Fund as distinct from the Protocol as a whole; the 2022 assessment does not mention the Fund.
- Disputed Disputed: totals on the Fund's own pages differ. The impact page gives US$4,489,718,894 approved (to 2025) and "US$4.5 billion" (as of June 2026); the homepage gives "$4.3 BN" and 10,198 projects against 10,584. The pages do not explain the difference.
- None on record None on record: the amount of contributions unpaid today. The 2004 evaluation recorded that 20 of 51 donors had outstanding contributions for 1991 to 2003.
- Unclear Unclear: the content of the October 2024 external assessment of the Fund's evaluation function, which the Fund lists on its evaluation page.
Did the harm stop?
The 2022 WMO/UNEP assessment reports that the atmospheric abundance of ODSs is declining and that unexpected CFC-11 emissions identified after 2012 appear largely to have ended; it detected no statistically significant Arctic ozone trend for 2000 to 2021.
Who paid?
Contributing (Article 2) countries pay into the Fund: the 2004 evaluation recorded nearly US$1.6 billion paid by December 2003, and the Fund reports US$5,142,603,539 pledged cumulatively to 2025. Decision XXXV/1 set a 2024-2026 replenishment of 965 million dollars, including 525.6 million dollars of new contributions.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Earth's Ozone Layer on Track to Recover Within DecadesNASA Science · 2023-01
Researchers
- Scientific Assessment of Ozone Depletion: 2022, Executive SummaryWMO / UNEP / NOAA / NASA / European Commission (hosted by NOAA Chemical Sciences Laboratory) · 2022
- An unexpected and persistent increase in global emissions of ozone-depleting CFC-11 (Montzka et al.), Nature 557, 413-417 (copy on ozone.unep.org)Nature (Springer Nature) · 2018-05-17
International bodies
- Our impact (Multilateral Fund)Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol · n.d. (read 2026-10-21)
- Multilateral Fund homepageMultilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol · n.d. (read 2026-10-21)
- Evaluation (Multilateral Fund)Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol · n.d. (read 2026-10-21)
- Evaluation of the financial mechanism of the Montreal Protocol: Executive summary (UNEP/OzL.Pro.16/11, ICF Consulting)Ozone Secretariat, UNEP (note by the Secretariat) · 2004-10-05
- Decision XXXV/1: Replenishment of the Multilateral Fund for the Implementation of the Montreal Protocol for the trienniumThirty-Fifth Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol (via InforMEA) · 2023-10-27
Connected cases
- Scripps reported a new source of illegal CFC-11 emissions China · date not stated Related matter
- Global Environment Facility Trust Fund: replenishments and independent evaluation Global · 1991–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Agency (14 percent of cumulative approvals in the Trustee's chart)
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Agency with the largest share of cumulative approvals (36 percent in the Trustee's chart)
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Trustee of the GEF Trust Fund; Agency
- Afforestation of the dried Aral Sea bed in Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2018–2026
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Publisher of the trust fund's financial report (UNDP MPTF Office)
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Donor of the restoration-value study
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Rapid Environmental Assessment and sediment assessment
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Co-author of RDNA3 and RDNA4
- Global Fund for Coral Reefs (GFCR) Global · 2020–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Named in the Fund's reporting
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Named in the Fund's reporting
- Kunming Biodiversity Fund (China and UNEP) China · 2021–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Co-established the fund; interim secretariat housed at UNEP
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Named partner and recipient of project funds
- Venezuela tree cover loss, 2001–2024, and international forest finance Venezuela · 2001–2024
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Agency for GEF projects 3609 and 3865 and GCF readiness
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Agency for GEF project 2103
- 1991 World Bank memo signed by Lawrence Summers on pollution in Africa Africa (regional) · 1991–1993
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Institution that issued the internal memo
- Amazon Region Protected Areas programme (ARPA) and the ARPA for Life Transition Fund, Brazil Brazil · 2002–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Channel for GEF funding to ARPA
- Artisanal gold in Mali: mercury use and its money (Minamata National Action Plan) Mali · 2018–2020
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Executing agency (UN Environment)
- Asiatic cheetah conservation project in Iran: 25 years of funding and a count of 26 animals Iran · 2000–2026
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: GEF agency for Phase I; led Phase II; support ended December 2017
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Lead scientific trustee agency
- Burkina Faso Forest Investment Program project: 3.78 million tCO2eq in emission reductions estimated with an ex-ante tool Burkina Faso · 2014–2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Administered the grants; completion report and rating
- Cambodia fills Phnom Penh's Boeung Kak lake with sand under 99-year lease Cambodia · 2007–2011
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: lender whose land-titling programme was reviewed
- Canaima National Park: fire suppression for the Guri catchment, mining pressure and the UNESCO decisions Venezuela · 1981–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Implementing agency of GEF project 2103
- Caspian sturgeon and caviar: trade suspensions, fishing bans and the move to farmed caviar Caspian Sea (Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Iran) · 1998–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Took part in the 2001 Geneva meeting; spokesman quoted
- Chad–Cameroon pipeline and Doba oil fields: World Bank conditions, revenue law, Inspection Panel and 2023 nationalisation Chad · 1999–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Lender; set the revenue-law and safeguard conditions; withdrew in 2008
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Nominated the programme for the Earthshot Prize
- Darvaza gas crater: orders to extinguish the fire, wells drilled, methane measured Turkmenistan · 1971–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: International Methane Emissions Observatory, co-affiliation of the preprint authors
- Deep-sea mining: TMC, NORI, the NOAA permit and the ISA International waters (Pacific Ocean) · 2022–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: US regulator receiving the application
- DuPont CFC phase-out and the ozone treaty United States · 1974–2019
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Hosts the Montreal Protocol ozone secretariat
- Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments Iran · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Published the 2023 diagnostic citing the IMF subsidy estimate
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Federal agency reporting on residual oil
- Gaza reconstruction and the Board of Peace's first contract Palestine (Gaza Strip) · 2024–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Estimated rubble clearance time and cost
- Global Biodiversity Framework Fund (GBFF), hosted by the GEF Global · 2023–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Trustee
- Great Green Wall: USD 19bn tracked, USD 2.5bn disbursed by March 2023, and a restored area reported at between 1.66 and almost 18 million hectares Sahel (11 countries) · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Committed USD 5.6bn in the 11 countries
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Signed a carbon-credit agreement with the Green Belt Movement
- Gulf of Mexico dead zone (Mississippi nutrient runoff) United States · 1985–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Funds and reports the annual survey
- Half-Earth and 30x30 advocacy funding (Wyss Campaign for Nature) Global · 2016–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Co-author of the Protected Planet Report 2024
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Implementer of the EU-funded project
- Ho Chi Minh City canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households Vietnam · 1993–2012
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: lender of the first-phase loan
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Lender
- Iran associated-gas flaring and flare-gas recovery contracts Iran · 2012–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Publishes the satellite-based flare estimates and tracker report
- Iran's 2026 war-damage estimate of about USD 270bn and its calls for compensation and environmental accountability Iran · 2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil
- Jamaica catastrophe bonds and the Hurricane Melissa payout Jamaica · 2021–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Issuer and arranger of the catastrophe bonds
- Jamaica's World Bank catastrophe bond did not pay after Hurricane Beryl Jamaica · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Brokered the bond
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Author of the 2011 Ogoniland assessment
- Kerch Strait storm, November 2007: Volgoneft 139 fuel-oil spill and sulphur-ship sinkings Russia · 2007–2018
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Post-disaster needs assessment with the European Commission
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Funder of a project in the Badia East area
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Implemented the Japanese-funded phases
- Loess Plateau Watershed Rehabilitation Project (World Bank, China), 1994 to 2005 China · 1994–2005
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Financed the project through an IDA credit and IBRD funding and published the case study and summary note
- Mbeubeuss landfill plan to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers Senegal · 2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Inspection Panel finding on Boeung Kak land titling; lending freeze 2011
- Messok Dja ecoguard abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2008–2020
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Implementing agency of GEF project 9159; investigator (SECU0009)
- Methane super-emitters in Turkmenistan's oil and gas fields Turkmenistan · 2017–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: MARS alerts; confirmed 8 stopped leaks
- Mongolia index livestock insurance Mongolia · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Author of the presentation describing the programme
- Mongolia's 2009 ban on mining at river headwaters and in forests: licence cancellations, compensation duty, 2015 amendment and artisanal gold-mining programmes Mongolia · 2009–2025
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: planetGOLD Mongolia
- Mongolia's dzud winters and degraded pasture: emergency funding for herders Mongolia · 2010–2024
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Carcass removal and income generation, 2010
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Funder of carbon payments (Forest Carbon Partnership Facility)
- Net Zero Banking Alliance exits and closure International · 2023–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: UN body whose statement on the 2023 insurer exits was reported
- Net-Zero Insurance Alliance collapse and insurers’ fossil underwriting Global · 2021–2025
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Convener of NZIA
- NOAA certifications of Mexico for loggerhead bycatch in the Gulf of Ulloa Mexico · 2013–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Identified and certified Mexico under the Magnuson-Stevens Act; port-denial notice
- North Atlantic right whale deaths and US vessel-speed rule withdrawal United States · 2017–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Regulator and publisher of the Unusual Mortality Event page
- Nowruz oil-field spill, 1983–1985 Iran · 1983–1985
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Source of one account of the spill (IncidentNews)
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Financier; its Inspection Panel reviewed the resettlement
- Papahānaumokuākea marine debris removal collected 298,180 lb in 2024 United States · 2022–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Co-funder of the 2022–2026 programme
- Persian Wildlife Heritage Foundation conservationists: arrests, a death in custody and prison sentences, 2018–2024 Iran · 2018–2024
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Employer of Niloufar Bayani as a consultant; called for clemency
- Pillay panel finds no proof WWF directed ranger abuses it supported Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2006–2020
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: UN agency; draft investigation of Messok Dja
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Original owner of the tree campaign
- Rabobank co-financed a Brazilian eucalyptus carbon plantation contested by locals Brazil · 2003–2008
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: operator of the carbon fund
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Funder of an earlier forest project (2007)
- Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics: environmental pledges and the Mzymta valley Russia · 2007–2018
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Expert missions, declaration of commitments, advisory role
- Socio Bosque programme, Ecuador: payments for forest conservation since 2008 Ecuador · 2008–2026
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Prepared the 2018 Environmental and Social Assessment for the Green Climate Fund proposal
- Soviet whaling catches and the reports to the IWC, 1948–1979 Russia · 1948–1994
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Authors' institution; funded the reconstruction
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Source of the paddy yield figure
- Strikes on Tehran fuel depots, March 2026: smoke, black rain and Iran's "ecocide" claim Iran · 2025–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Statement of 13 March 2026 on inhaled smoke
- The Metals Company deep-sea nodule mining in the Clarion-Clipperton Zone (NOAA permit route) International waters (Pacific Ocean) · 2011
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: US regulator handling the permit route
- Tree felling under the Tashkent moratorium: damage assessments, prosecutor cases and ministry counts Uzbekistan · 2020–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Tashkent air quality assessment (context)
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: RDNA damage and needs assessments
- Ulaanbaatar winter air pollution: stove programmes, the 2019 raw-coal ban and subsidised briquettes Mongolia · 2008–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Ulaanbaatar Clean Air Project
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Convenes the negotiations; issued the announcement of the new chair
- UNEP estimate: about 2,000 tons of depleted uranium used in Iraq Iraq · date not stated
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Estimated the quantity of uranium used (about 2,000 tons)
- US quits 66 international bodies including the IPCC; NOAA disaster database closed United States · 2025–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Affiliation of the Montzka et al. (2018) authors; hosts the 2022 assessment summary; there: Target of the budget and staffing cuts; its disaster database was closed
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Lender (USD 800 million, October 2025)
- Venezuela 2026 twin earthquakes insurance gap Venezuela · 2026
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Source of the $6.7 billion damage estimate
- Venezuela gas flaring and methane from oil and gas Venezuela · 2012–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Publishes the Global Gas Flaring Tracker; changed its method in June 2026
- Wadi El Ku catchment project, North Darfur Sudan · 2013–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Co-publisher of the 2022 assessment; named as Treasurer in the 2004 evaluation; there: Implementer
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: issuer of the bond
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: lender; policy operation and REGROW financier
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Funder of the Kenya project; hosts the Inspection Panel
- World Bank inspection panel registers complaint over Rogun dam financing Tajikistan · 2024–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: financier
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Financier of the REGROW project
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Lender of the US$600m loan
- World Bank-backed Colombo flood work turned Beddagana wetland into a park Sri Lanka · 2010–2018
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Funder whose support backed the programme
- WWF-funded ranger units accused of torture and killings in Asia and Africa Multiple countries · 2006–2023
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Investigation into the Messok Dja park programme (leaked draft)
- Zagros oak forests: the UNDP/GEF Central Zagros project, its evaluation and the fires of 2024–2026 Iran · 2005–2026
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Implementing agency named in the 2004 evaluation; there: Implementing agency of the Central Zagros project