Cases / Space debris and re-entry · United States · 2022–2026
Papahānaumokuākea marine debris removal collected 298,180 lb in 2024
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Marine debris collected from the Papahānaumokuākea monument in 2024 totalled 298,180 lb, of which 191,860 lb was nets, under a $12 million programme for 2022–2026 funded by NOAA and philanthropists. The sources reviewed do not say what the removal did for the monument's wildlife.
What?
Marine debris, including nets, was collected from the Papahānaumokuākea monument in 2024. Maui Now
Where?
Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument, Hawaii. Maui Now
When?
2024 removal season; programme period 2022–2026. Maui Now
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Debris removal funded by NOAA and philanthropists under a $12 million programme. Maui Now
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who
What happened
The record, in order.
Marine debris collected from Papahānaumokuākea in 2024 totalled 298,180 lb, of which 191,860 lb was nets, Maui Now reported.
A programme for 2022–2026 is funded at $12 million by NOAA and philanthropists, the same report said.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record Effect of the removal on the monument's wildlife: not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record Who holds the removal contracts and how the funds are split: not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Co-funder of the 2022–2026 programme; there: Lead scientific trustee agency
- Deep-sea mining: TMC, NORI, the NOAA permit and the ISA International waters (Pacific Ocean) · 2022–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Co-funder of the 2022–2026 programme; there: US regulator receiving the application
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Co-funder of the 2022–2026 programme; there: Federal agency reporting on residual oil
- Gulf of Mexico dead zone (Mississippi nutrient runoff) United States · 1985–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Co-funder of the 2022–2026 programme; there: Funds and reports the annual survey
- North Atlantic right whale deaths and US vessel-speed rule withdrawal United States · 2017–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Co-funder of the 2022–2026 programme; there: Regulator and publisher of the Unusual Mortality Event page
- The Metals Company deep-sea nodule mining in the Clarion-Clipperton Zone (NOAA permit route) International waters (Pacific Ocean) · 2011
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Co-funder of the 2022–2026 programme; there: US regulator handling the permit route
- US quits 66 international bodies including the IPCC; NOAA disaster database closed United States · 2025–2026
- NOAA (Public authority) — here: Co-funder of the 2022–2026 programme; there: Target of the budget and staffing cuts; its disaster database was closed