Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project
- Press and investigations AP satellite analysis: Yearly forest loss rose from 262 ha before the project to 572 ha during it. AP via KSAT
- Company or project CIMA, park manager: The project “supports all efforts to avoid deforestation”. CIMA
- Standard-setters and registries Verra: Said the project's carbon savings were clear.
Shell and TotalEnergies paid more than $80 million for credits from a Peruvian park. A satellite analysis found forest loss more than doubled during the project period.
Satellite analysis for AP.
- Shell and TotalEnergies — Used more than 30 million credits, bought for more than $80m (about $2.67 per credit, estimate), to offset emissions; Shell used the park in billboard campaigns. SourceMaterial
- CIMA (park manager) — Carbon revenue covers about 90% of park operating costs; the absolute amount is not stated. AP via KSAT
- Verra — Registration fees of about $3m (estimate).
- Credit intermediaries — Margins not disclosed.
- Kichwa community of Puerto Franco — Says it lost free access to hunt, fish and gather in the park; no document shows a community share of carbon revenue. AP via KSAT
- Forest in and around the park — Yearly forest loss of 262 ha before the project and 572 ha during 2009–2021, according to a satellite analysis for AP. AP via KSAT
What happened
The non-profit CIMA manages Cordillera Azul National Park, about 1.35 million hectares, and runs a REDD+ project there since 2008. About 90% of park operating costs come from carbon revenue.
More than 28 million credits were sold. Shell and TotalEnergies paid more than $80 million for more than 30 million credits. Shell used the park in billboard campaigns.
A satellite analysis for AP found yearly forest loss of 262 hectares before the project and 572 hectares during it. Verra said the project's carbon savings were clear.
The Kichwa community of Puerto Franco says it lost hunting, fishing and gathering rights. A court ruled in its favour in December 2024; a higher court reversed it; the Constitutional Court heard the case on 17 July 2026. No ruling has been found.
- 2008REDD+ project begins
- 2014Loan secured against carbon credits announced at COP20
- 2021Shell billboard campaigns
- 2023AP satellite analysis
- 2024Bellavista court rules for Kichwa community
- 2026Constitutional Court hearing (17 July)
What was said
“…supports all efforts to avoid deforestation.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Yearly forest loss rose from 262 ha before the project to 572 ha during it.
AP via KSATSaid the project's carbon savings were clear.
Ordered land titling, prior consultation and benefit-sharing; later reversed by a higher court.
Forest Peoples ProgrammeHeard the case on 17 July 2026; no ruling found.
Forest Peoples ProgrammeHow it looked
Shown
- 1.35 million hectares protected
- Water resources conserved
Recorded
- Forest loss rose from 262 to 572 ha a year (AP analysis)
- No documented community benefit-sharing
- Intermediary margins undisclosed
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2024Overturned on appealKichwa community of Puerto Franco v. Peruvian stateBellavista court · Civil · Kichwa community of Puerto Franco → Peruvian state
In December 2024 the court ordered land titling, prior consultation and benefit-sharing from the carbon project; a higher court reversed the ruling. Forest Peoples Programme
- OngoingPuerto Franco case at the Constitutional CourtConstitutional Court of Peru · Appeal · Kichwa community of Puerto Franco → Peruvian state
Heard on 17 July 2026; no ruling found. Forest Peoples Programme
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed Did the project reduce deforestation?
Money
- None on record Park operating costs covered by carbon revenue — About 90% of costs; amount not stated.
- Not disclosed Intermediary margins — Not disclosed.
Accounts
- Disputed Does the park override the Kichwa community's rights?
- None on record Constitutional Court of Peru: Heard the case on 17 July 2026; no ruling found.
Record
- None on record The final Constitutional Court ruling.
- None on record Intermediary margins.
- None on record Any community share of revenue: no document found.
Did the harm stop?
No.
Who paid?
The Kichwa community of Puerto Franco, which reports losing access to its territory.
Sources
Company or project
- Cordillera Azul REDD projectCIMA · current
Press and investigations
- Shell drive carbon-neutral claims in doubt after forest scrutinySourceMaterial · 2021-10-25
- Indigenous community wins, then loses path to reclaim landAP via KSAT · 2023-06-14
Communities and civil society
- Kichwa community of Puerto Franco wins historic victoryForest Peoples Programme · 2024-12
- Case study: Cordillera AzulRainforest Foundation UK · 2023-07
- Puerto Franco case to be heard by Peru’s Constitutional CourtForest Peoples Programme · 2026-07
Connected cases
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024 Related matter
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Claimant against Greenpeace France
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Credit buyer
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Northern Lights partner
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Northern Lights partner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Amsterdam votes to ban fossil fuel and meat adverts; Paris court faults TotalEnergies Netherlands · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Defendant; the Paris court found its 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Majority shareholder (62%)
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Total SA: criminal liability upheld and held civilly liable (2012); could not rely on CLC channelling
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gabon planned 187 million sovereign carbon credits as TotalEnergies took a timber stake Gabon · 2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Client at the time of COP27
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Later employer of the assessment's project manager
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Offshore wind wake effect disputes (Ørsted, UK and Germany) United Kingdom · 2020–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Lobbied on German tender rules
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Paris court finds TotalEnergies' 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading France · 2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Company found to have misled consumers
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Facility owner
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- The Hague's fossil fuel advertising ban took effect in 2025 after court upheld it Netherlands · 2021
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Defendant in the Paris court ruling on carbon neutrality advertising
- TotalEnergies Batéké acacia carbon project (Congo) Republic of Congo · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Sub-lessee and carbon-credit sponsor of the plantation
- TotalEnergies reportedly abandoned Congo carbon plantation at 12.5% of target Uganda · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: developer of Tilenga and sponsor of the Batéké plantation
- TotalEnergies v Greenpeace France France · 2022–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Claimant
- TotalEnergies’ Tilenga oil fields in Uganda: biodiversity claims and insurance Uganda · 2021–2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Developer of the Tilenga oil fields
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry