Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Chevron's Gorgon LNG plant in Western Australia was approved in 2006 on condition that it bury at least 80% of its reservoir CO2 over any five-year period, and it missed the target. The shortfall was closed by buying more than 5 million carbon credits, and the sources reviewed do not quantify the net climate effect.
- Chevron — operator of Gorgon LNG; closed the storage gap by buying credits IEEFA
- Australian federal government — contributed A$60m to the facility RenewEconomy
What happened
Western Australia's 2006 approval required at least 80% of reservoir CO2 to be buried in any five-year period, and in the first four years 12.2 million tonnes came out and 2.7 million tonnes (22%) were buried, Boiling Cold reported in 2020.
Chevron acknowledged in July 2021 that it had missed the target, attributing the failure to reservoir pressure and a system blocked by sand, RenewEconomy reported.
In 2023-24 about 1.6 million tonnes were captured, 30% of the target and the lowest year since 2019, and about 10 million tonnes were injected over 2019 to 2024, RenewEconomy reported in 2024.
IEEFA reported that Chevron bought more than 5 million credits to close the gap, at a cost of up to $184 million.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Chevron's fact sheet gives over 11 million tonnes injected from 2019 to May 2025 (company statement).
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: gas production began in 2016 and carbon injection in August 2019 (IEEFA summary).
- Insufficient The exact credit count of 5.23 million appears in search results only and is not verified.
- Insufficient Gorgon's 2024-25 figures are not verified in primary sources.
- None on record Penalty status: none on record in the sources reviewed.
- None on record Net climate effect of the shortfall: not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Expensive failure: flagship Gorgon CCS collects less CO2 in worst yearRenewEconomy · 2024-12-03
- Chevron faces little grief from Gorgon LNG emissions missBoiling Cold · 2020-11-26
- Chevron concedes CCS failures at Gorgon, seeks deal with WA regulatorsRenewEconomy · 2021-07-19
Communities and civil society
Connected cases
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: agency client
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: agency client
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: agency client
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Client at the time of COP27
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Client at the time of COP27
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- Chevron owns Richmond's 'local news' site, which carries no leak reporting United States · date not stated
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: owner of the news site
- Chevron pleads no contest to six counts over 2012 Richmond refinery fire United States · 2012–2013
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: company that pleaded no contest
- Chevron, Texaco and the Lago Agrio judgment: the RICO ruling and the Donziger cases Ecuador · 1995–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: Defendant in the Ecuadorian judgment; plaintiff in the US RICO case; claimant in the arbitration
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Client in 2025 per the record
- ExxonMobil completes USD 4.9 billion purchase of Denbury CO2 pipelines United States · 2020–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Acquirer of Denbury for USD 4.9 billion, completed 2 November 2023
- ExxonMobil cut and restored Kearl oil-sands reserves as oil prices moved Canada · 2016–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Reporting company
- ExxonMobil sues California attorney general and four green groups for defamation United States · 2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Plaintiff in the defamation suit
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Listed a Conservation International director in its 2026 proxy
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hess agreed to buy at least $750m of Guyana forest credits Guyana · 2022–2032
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: acquired Hess
- Isle de Jean Charles relocation and a $744.6m Chevron coastal-loss verdict United States · 2016–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: Defendant in the Plaquemines Parish coastal-loss case
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Kivalina village in Alaska still awaits relocation after 2008 suit against ExxonMobil United States · 1992–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Defendant in the 2008 suit
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Defendant, acquitted
- Mobil advertorials cast doubt on climate science; media studios later sold oil content United States · 1970–2023
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Ran Mobil and ExxonMobil advertorials and sponsored content
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Northern Lights partner
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Paraquat litigation (Syngenta/Chevron) and the Paraquat Papers United States · 1958–2026
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: US distributor of paraquat, 1966 to 1986
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- Study finds Exxon's internal papers accepted warming; its advertorials cast doubt United States · 1977
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: company whose documents and advertorials were analyzed
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Defendant in California suit; six registered lobbyists at Geneva
- US budget law cuts fossil fuel royalties and sets 4 million coal acres for leasing United States · 2025
- Chevron (Company) — here: operator of Gorgon LNG; there: Named inauguration-fund donor
- US chemical recycling plants run far below capacity, and some have closed United States · 2024–2025
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: Operator of the Baytown plant
- US SEC switches oil reserve pricing to a 12-month average in 2008 United States · 2008–2021
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: reported reserve reductions (not verified)
- US Supreme Court hears Boulder County's climate suit against Suncor and Exxon United States · 2018
- ExxonMobil (Company) — here: Gorgon partner (IEEFA); there: defendant and petitioner